FW800 External Storage from WD, yes... finally a FW800 drive!

TSwei
post Jun 7 2006, 09:08 AM, updated 20y ago

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Come with FW400, FW800 & USB2.0. This is the perfect external storage for pro user biggrin.gif
come with 500GB & 250GB configuration.

Official Link

Go take a look PB, Macbook Pro & Powermac G5 user.

This post has been edited by wei: Jun 7 2006, 09:09 AM
TSwei
post Jun 7 2006, 03:22 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Deadman.Inc. @ Jun 7 2006, 02:26 PM)
Bad timing la, just when Apple decided to take FW800 off from MBP!
I dont think so. There's always market for FW800 products, since it's so hard to find.
And there's plenty of Powerbook 15, Powerbook 17 & Powermac G4 & G5 users.

Only Macbook Pro 15" don't come with FW800. The 17" still maintain it. Making even more exclusive for Pro. hehehe.
TSwei
post Jun 7 2006, 08:38 PM

6,496 posts

your sony FW400 drive does not have 2 port? if you have 2 FW400 port, you can chain up another FW400 device. You can do so up to 30 devices i think.

If you are so unlucky to have single FW400 port on the Sony drive. Then yes, FW800 is backward compatible with FW400. Im using this method to utilise my free FW800/ FW400 port as well. But the cable wont be cheap and very hard to find locally. I bought mine from ebay for around RM60+ for the cable alone.
TSwei
post Jun 8 2006, 05:03 PM

6,496 posts

Oh, i think the smaller FW400 port you mentioned are the mini FW400 or more commonly known as 4-pins Firewire (6-pin is the normal one, 9-pin is FW800). The cable are widely available because many camcorder uses this port. The cable might only cost you RM20-30.

I think what you should get is the 6-pin to 4-pin cable. And here's what i think you should do:
- Firewire 4 to 6pin cable from your Mac to your burner.
- Connect your iPod to the burner's Firewire 6pin port.

and here's how they looks like:

If you're lucky to get something like this. it's even better.

0.0137sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:59 PM