Come with FW400, FW800 & USB2.0. This is the perfect external storage for pro user
come with 500GB & 250GB configuration.
Official Link
Go take a look PB, Macbook Pro & Powermac G5 user.
This post has been edited by wei: Jun 7 2006, 09:09 AM
FW800 External Storage from WD, yes... finally a FW800 drive!
Jun 7 2006, 09:08 AM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
![]() ![]() Come with FW400, FW800 & USB2.0. This is the perfect external storage for pro user come with 500GB & 250GB configuration. Official Link Go take a look PB, Macbook Pro & Powermac G5 user. This post has been edited by wei: Jun 7 2006, 09:09 AM |
Jun 7 2006, 02:26 PM
575 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: 1 Infinite Loop, Cupertino |
Bad timing la, just when Apple decided to take FW800 off from MBP!
Jun 7 2006, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(Deadman.Inc. @ Jun 7 2006, 02:26 PM) I dont think so. There's always market for FW800 products, since it's so hard to find.And there's plenty of Powerbook 15, Powerbook 17 & Powermac G4 & G5 users. Only Macbook Pro 15" don't come with FW800. The 17" still maintain it. Making even more exclusive for Pro. hehehe. |
Jun 7 2006, 07:19 PM
289 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(wei @ Jun 7 2006, 03:22 PM) I dont think so. There's always market for FW800 products, since it's so hard to find. I concur! And there's plenty of Powerbook 15, Powerbook 17 & Powermac G4 & G5 users. Only Macbook Pro 15" don't come with FW800. The 17" still maintain it. Making even more exclusive for Pro. hehehe. A bit off topic, I have an external Sony FW400 DVDRW, is it possible to buy one of those cable FW400 to FW800 so that I can connect it to my so far unused FW800 port on my Powerbook? That would save me the FW400 I'm using for my retro iPod. Tks! |
Jun 7 2006, 08:38 PM
your sony FW400 drive does not have 2 port? if you have 2 FW400 port, you can chain up another FW400 device. You can do so up to 30 devices i think.
If you are so unlucky to have single FW400 port on the Sony drive. Then yes, FW800 is backward compatible with FW400. Im using this method to utilise my free FW800/ FW400 port as well. But the cable wont be cheap and very hard to find locally. I bought mine from ebay for around RM60+ for the cable alone. |
Jun 8 2006, 03:46 PM
289 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Hi wei, my Sony DVDRW has 2 FW400 port, each different connector (or pin or whatever, like the shape is different but still FW400) and 1 USB port.
What I meant to say is, I use my existing FW400 for my iPod 40GB solely as external HD so when burning file, the iPod needs to be connected as well. Currently using USB for DVD burning, but it's kinda annoying to switch between my other USB external HD with the DVDRW everytime I want to burn a DVD while the FW800 is unutilized (the other free USB on the left is for my sad mouse, I use iCurve & wireless keyboard at home). I saw the cable in All IT Hypermarket in Low Yat recently, the "generic" cost around RM60 while the Belkin one (much nicer in white) cost about RM70-80 if I'm not mistaken. Good to know the FW400-FW800 is possible. Thanks! QUOTE(wei @ Jun 7 2006, 08:38 PM) your sony FW400 drive does not have 2 port? if you have 2 FW400 port, you can chain up another FW400 device. You can do so up to 30 devices i think. If you are so unlucky to have single FW400 port on the Sony drive. Then yes, FW800 is backward compatible with FW400. Im using this method to utilise my free FW800/ FW400 port as well. But the cable wont be cheap and very hard to find locally. I bought mine from ebay for around RM60+ for the cable alone. |
Jun 8 2006, 05:03 PM
Oh, i think the smaller FW400 port you mentioned are the mini FW400 or more commonly known as 4-pins Firewire (6-pin is the normal one, 9-pin is FW800). The cable are widely available because many camcorder uses this port. The cable might only cost you RM20-30.
I think what you should get is the 6-pin to 4-pin cable. And here's what i think you should do: - Firewire 4 to 6pin cable from your Mac to your burner. - Connect your iPod to the burner's Firewire 6pin port. and here's how they looks like: ![]() If you're lucky to get something like this. it's even better. |
| Change to: | 0.0137sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:27 PM |