post Oct 5 2013, 04:14 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 4 2013, 09:36 PM)
wow drool.gif can i have the ang pao?

want to spread some poison i found brows.gif
please think twice before press the spoiler or link biggrin.gif

If I strip out from all other sets, I have all the motors, remotes, cables, lights, etc. brows.gif
Parts can source from Bricklink. M-motors can buy several 8293 sets, or dismantle from 8043, which I don't plan to dismantle.
But the bad news for most will be the L-motors. As of now, no parts available and the only way is to strip (even from Bricklink) from 9398 or 41999 or 42009 set (can't recall if any other sets has L-motor). Unless you have spare sets, else you have to take the others apart.
I have a spare 9398 striped out brows.gif

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 4 2013, 11:19 PM)
at first i though just simply add on those parts but from the instruction, this RC MOC require to build the MK2 from start...
for us who already finish the MKII, require to disasemble it...
well, u can find more info at this link

i did not have sharp eyes but from the video, I did not see much different from original other than the receiver...

this is what i found on this link about the MOC of MKII:

Funtions that were improved:
* Boom extends further. Max boom-length 96 studs
* Boom retractrs further
* Better steering-lock
* Solid metal hook
* Increased lifting power
* Faster outriggers
* More efficient drivetrains
Oh, it's from Jurgen again. The ultimate-8043 comes from him also, which I already did and it's more functional. Most probably I will mod-42009 with new-source parts sweat.gif which means more 8293 sets.
And yes, I dismantle nearly whole 8043 for the ultimate-8043.
Therefore, it won't be that difficult to do the same for 42009, although this is a huge set.

Also, finally coming back to KL over this weekend icon_rolleyes.gif ... at an hour where most of you are sleeping, I'm working doh.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 8 2013, 10:11 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 5 2013, 05:27 PM)
well, not sure about this but maybe can replace the L motor with others motor...
With M-motor, yes, but the power will lack a lot.
XL-motor most likely too large to replace L-motor.
icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 7 2013, 08:07 PM)
sorry for off topic notworthy.gif

OT, my favourite game! I still not yet get PS3 version ... 100% going to in coming weekend...

Anyway, back to work in KL today icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 9 2013, 12:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(leo730 @ Oct 8 2013, 05:27 PM)
Quick question, i remember someone mentioned about lego stores in SG, i understand that the price doesn't vary much of a difference, or perhaps slightly higher. However, are there any shops which are worth visiting? Wouldn't want to travel far from central too.
I usually wait for SG Metro/Robinsons 20% sale, and with member, extra 5%.

QUOTE(ryucando @ Oct 9 2013, 11:55 AM)
Good Morning AFOLS,

Since I personally do not have many interesting sets to look forward to for the rest of the year. I am thinking of getting my hands dirty on a technics set. So my question to those experienced technics kaki and sifus. What would be a good one and only set to own?

I am looking at playability  (the 4x4 crawler maybe).- zip around the house maybe outside (by the way would it be able to do outdoors?)

Have no idea on crane, flatbed and the rest??

I am breaking my own AFOL rule of staying away from technics (only 1 set to satisfy my curiosity)
You mention it, start with 9398 crawler. More playability. It's a big set.

If you want to start small, those 4200x series small/medium boxes, but you may lose interest very fast if you are not into technical, engineering, physics (fulcrum, joins, structural strength, force, mass, etc.). Since most of it are not motorized. Or just partial.
For Technics, there is nothing much to admire for the look, except the technicality and physics.

From then on, 8110 is an interesting set, about 2 years old.
42009 is the newest crane, can wait a while if you want.
42000 F1 car if you have interest in F1 car.

42008 is new also. The rest are filler sets or average/above-average (for me)

Flatbed, logging truck, ... these are kind of older, but some may still stock it.
I'm not going to mention exclusive or EOL-sets for now.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 9 2013, 05:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Oct 9 2013, 04:06 PM)
Wah! Taikun hands getting itchy! haha! laugh.gif

I'm no sifu but here's my dua sen:

9398: From what I gather it is really a crawler - CRAWLING speed so do not expect it to zip around the house like an RC car. Once you have that cleared from your expectations you will enjoy it from a Technic model point of view. It is a good model with plenty of room for modifications if that's your thing. Price has come down to quite a reasonable level too if I'm not mistaken.

8110: What can I say, I love this set eventhough I have yet to build it! doh.gif I'm a sucker for this sort of official merchandise (like 10220 VW Camper Van), more so that this is a Mercedes Benz merchandise! If I'm not wrong this set uses the most hydraulics, so it's something special I guess.... The reviews isn't perfect which could mean two things to you: Either it is going to suck because it's not going to function properly once built OR there is plenty of room for you to fiddle with to improve it. brows.gif

42000: You have to see the finished built to fully appreciate the size of it, it's huge! You can motorised this (and many other Technics) by buying the Power Function Kit (8293). If you're into cars this may be something to consider and it will look good as a display.

42009: I love Technic commercial and industrial vehicles so at the moment this is the best there is on offer at the moment. If you feel like burning some $$$ on EOL sets you can consider 8043 Motorised Excavator. smile.gif

Oh, final note. 8110 is due to go EOL by end of this year.

Hope this helps! icon_rolleyes.gif

ps. I highly doubt this is going to be a one off trip, it is the beginning of your Lego Technic journey.... whistling.gif
9398: yes, must set expectation as crawling speed. Then can marvel at how they design the servo-motor to steer, the motor to drive, and the gearing down. Also the Technic way to strengthen the beams to hold everything in place.

8110: not the most hydraulics (pneumatics), that title would goto 8455 which is a very old EOL set with 10x cylinder and 2x pump. 8110 is the first current-sets (IINM) to combine motor and pneumatics. Hydraulic uses liquid, pneumatic uses air tongue.gif

8043: is EOL already and getting expensive RM1k or higher. My favourite model so far.

Depends on individual preference, some do not like "Lego-with-holes" laugh.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 9 2013, 06:30 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Oct 9 2013, 06:19 PM)
Oops! You are right! doh.gif  My bad, it is pneumatics and not hydraulics. Ashamed to call myself an engineer! tongue.gif

8043 and 42009 are my favourites too. Currently sourcing parts to build the ultimate 42009... icon_idea.gif
Aiya ... My 42009 box is still in plastic bag ... but maybe I source for parts first, for the ultimate-42009.
My worry is on the number of M-motors ... cause I don't want to dismantle my 8043. sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 9 2013, 07:03 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Oct 9 2013, 06:45 PM)
lol! I also don't want to dismantle my 8043 so have to order everything new.... tongue.gif  M-Motors not that expensive but multiply that by 5 the numbers add up... rclxub.gif
Did a quick check at BL for those with >1 units
M-motor = usd8
L-motor = usd15

non-related
servo-motor = usd34
XL-motor = usd16

Not yet count delivery & our friendly local Customs 10% tax, which will be more due to motor-weight.

Doing any parts-CS ? tongue.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 10 2013, 10:37 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(photoshutterz @ Oct 9 2013, 07:29 PM)
just wondering,.. Is 42008 consider a good alternative to 8110 in term of pneumatics?
I have not open my 42008 box yet, so can't provide comparison.
42008 comes with LA (Linear Actuator) and 2x mini-pneumatic.
8110 comes with 2x pneumatic and 1x mini-pneumatic.

Both operates using same mechanism, using M-motor to power up the 6L pump (only exists in 8110 and 42008) for compressed air.

Therefore, on pneymatics alone, 8110 wins in my opinion.
As alternative, yes, I think 42008 as current set is good enough.

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Oct 9 2013, 08:10 PM)
I do not own the crawler, but Technic models are definitely not meant to be played outdoors. There's a video from Technic-bricks where they drove their crawler on the beach but they warn people against doing so. This is because dirt/sand might enter into the gearing and grind the gears out. The gears are all plastic and not meant for heavy usage. 

This is true for all Technics fans and to have the right expectation.
Most Lego Technics does not move at fast speed, except the one with RC-buggy motor (EOL already).

Also, any metal parts, even though it is coated thin layer, will eventually rust if use outdoor.
Worse are some moving parts like pneumatics cylinder.
Cleaning it up will also be troublesome.

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 9 2013, 10:04 PM)
is the ultimate 42009 the one that i shared before?
looks like i'm manage to spread the poison here biggrin.gif
let me share the link again brows.gif ultimate 42009
thanks for the details notworthy.gif
looks like a CS is coming soom
nice collection drool.gif and thanks for the info
that's even some nice old sets drool.gif

from your info, The 8110 is the 2nd model to have a compressor after its grandfather 8868 Air-tech claw rig, is that means the 42008 don't have compressor? i thought pneumatic require compressor to work hmm.gif
Yes, the link you shared before (Jurgen's)

Yeah, I'm planning to buy maybe few M-motor, PM Lego_Jason wink.gif

42008 also uses the same air-compressor method as 8110.
Previous Technics sets uses the manual pump method.

cute_boboi
post Oct 14 2013, 04:14 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ryucando @ Oct 14 2013, 02:18 PM)
Such a wealth of knowledge here !  rclxms.gif

A big thank you to all that shared their stories on technics (paanjang, jason, faish888, cute boboi, zemperor and many more).
After reading all your recommendations, it did take me a while (whole weekend and more) to research and look up those model number  rclxub.gif  that were mentioned.

all EOL sets... better stay away, don't even dare to look.
9398 - since it does not zip around..... a bit bleh....
8110 does looks like first option, but price  sweat.gif ??
42000 - again may not zip around for what it represents... maybe the engineering will be interesting.
42008 or 42009 hmmmm.... maybe start with the cheaper one  thumbup.gif

Thank you all again.
If you think price is expensive, try start with medium size like:
42006 excavator
42007 moto-cross

small size:
42004 mini-excavator

If may not trigger you to like Technic, although there are mechanical/engineering stuff involve, but just minimal.
However, at least it won't overwhelm you like the big sets mention earlier.

cute_boboi
post Oct 14 2013, 04:44 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ryucando @ Oct 14 2013, 04:30 PM)
i know the small ones will not give me the kick.
so i have more or less decided on 8110 (if still can find at good price). failing which will go for 42008 then maybe if like it - 42009.
sweat.gif

i'm wondering not many ppl recommended 8109 (looks nice.. but is it maybe not much playability??).
4200x are current sets.

4-digits are older batch, with 8110, 9398, 9397, 9396 ... as the latest end-batches.
8109 and others are slightly older (EOL ?). If the price is alright, it is a medium set.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Oct 16 2013, 10:26 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 14 2013, 07:12 PM)
just finish build mine last weekend and it got biggest wheels and gears (please correct me if i'm wrong)
it also comes with suspension, v2 engine and the chain thumbup.gif
hehe... I not yet build my 42007, but I think a motorbike is quite unique for Technic.
Big gear, yes. Biggest = no tongue.gif I think the biggest gear is about 30cm in diameter.

QUOTE(sherwin @ Oct 14 2013, 07:52 PM)
Speaking of Technic... some info on 1H 2014 Technic sets  whistling.gif

Very prelim info, good to know. icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 16 2013, 05:26 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Oct 16 2013, 04:57 PM)
oh... a friend told me S'pore metro has sale again.. got discount on Lego sets but I don't know how much lesser
Standard should be 20% wink.gif
If you got Metro card or SG UOB credit card, another 5% on top.
However, recent RM depreciation, SGD increase from 2.45-48 to 2.55, it maybe not that attractive anymore.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Oct 18 2013, 11:41 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Oct 18 2013, 11:09 AM)
hmm...wanna ask...
is there any major difference between 8885 Power Functions IR Remote Control  and 8879 Infrared Speed Remote Control

i read those details and cant seem to understand them
really noob me

http://powerfunctions.lego.com/en-us/ElementSpecs/8879.aspx

my purpose = remote control my train (for now)
8885 is full-power-on or full-power-off only. Like a digital controller 0 or 1.

8879 has 8-stepping of power (IIRC), which is more suitable to control trains. Also, 8879 has the red-button for immediate power cut-off, in the case of near-train-collission tongue.gif

Both can use to control up to 2 separate train without flipping the IR-channel switch.
If flip-switch, can up to 8x

icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 21 2013, 10:29 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Oct 18 2013, 02:12 PM)
wow....
ok. thanks..
will aim for 8879 now...
thanks for the simple to understand yet detail explanation .
i salute your determination and patience  thumbup.gif
sakit gigi
eh... if you don't have 8879 controller, and looking to find one, maybe just buy the 7938 passenger set.
More worth it, you get another train, parts/figs, tracks...
You can also re-use the motor, IR, controller to power up your other train for testing.

Each controller (red/blue) can control 2 trains.
icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 18 2013, 09:48 PM)
nice info
is the 8879 not suitable for RC a car? something like 9398...

i guess for RC a car for forward/backward and steering, only 1 8885 and 1 8884 is require (or 2 8885 and 2 8884?)

i'm also wondering is both 8885 and 8879 cannot use together?
Required both 8879 + 8884 combo,
or 8885 + 8884 combo for the remote to work.

8879 is a bit subjective for RC car (9398). For steering is not good. Too slow.
For driving (fwd/back), the lower steps (1-4) are normally not strong enough for the motor (whatever L, XL) to power up the gears and wheels. Remember 9398 (and others) are at least 1kg in weight.

Unless you have a powerful battery pack (mod), you can use both 8885 + 8879 (and 8884).
8885 for steering.
8879 for driving.
icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Oct 20 2013, 10:10 PM)
Hi All,

Would like to ask the tax for carrying(hand carry) LEGO toys across JB custom (into M'sia)?

Is it 10% for toys? and no tax if item value below RM500?

I kena 1 time the custom officer told me if I'm working in SG I am not entitled to get exemption even if the value of item below RM500, moreover the board notice in JB custom stated very unclear that 'all' goods will subject up to 30% tax except tobacco,liquor, drugs.

Thus, I kena 1 time 30% but I underquote my item since no receipt brought together.
There is tax, but I don't know and never get tax before. Last time I always de-box (Box keep at SG and ask friends to bring back in their car once a year CNY) and just bring the packs over. Not too much also, maybe just 1-2 "Tesco" plastic bags only, some put in backpack. All packs are not visible and not that obvious big-bump.

Just walk past "muka selamba" ... unless very yeong-sui (d@mn face laugh.gif )

But that was many years ago, at that time, the new JB CIQ is still ... public govt flat tongue.gif

Driving past is different story...
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 21 2013, 02:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Oct 21 2013, 11:01 AM)
I tried to keep my LEGO MISB  biggrin.gif
Then you should not make it visible as a NEW box. Anything new in mint-box is a magnet for Customs whistling.gif
Better to go through local sellers here, save all the trouble.

cute_boboi
post Oct 21 2013, 04:53 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Oct 21 2013, 04:14 PM)
Yea, but I am base in SG now.

SG also have quite some LEGO shops as well as good deal via online on hard to find/discont set.
Then keep in SG lah ... what for bring back to M'sia ? laugh.gif Keep and play in SG.

Or wait until someone drive in, then drive out with all the stuff. But that also depends if Customs will random pick to check your car or not ...
The same with taking flight.

cute_boboi
post Oct 21 2013, 05:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Oct 21 2013, 04:54 PM)
hmm...thanks for suggesting..
just order the PF parts... but 7938 passenger set is always on my radar...
hehe
but lately no money to get new set sad.gif
No money ? hmm.gif
PF parts also not cheap leh ... tongue.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 22 2013, 10:35 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(zemperor @ Oct 21 2013, 09:03 PM)
thanks for all the info biggrin.gif
i thought the two remote (8885 and 8879) will conflict if use together hmm.gif
No conflict. Can use up to 4x remote (with 4x IR) if you want. The ultimate-8043 (and 42009?) is using 3x remote.
Each IR set to different channel (1, 2, 3, 4).
Can mix remote also, whether is 4x 8885, or 4x 8879, or 2x each, as long as all on different channel.

To use 8885 and 8879,
option 1: same 1x IR on channel 1
- 8885 on channel 1, red
- 8879 on channel 1, blue
note: only one side of each remote can use. Otherwise over-ride / conflict. Only 2x control (e.g. steering & move fwd/back).

option 2: 2x IR (channel 1 & 4 each)
- 8885 on channel 1, both red & blue can use.
- 8879 on channel 4, both red & blue can use.
note: up to 4x control (can add additional control like winch, crane, boom, slew, grappler, etc.)

The problem with 8879 for steering is, at low-steps, not enough power to turn the motor. Even if motor turn, the steering is soooooo slow. Most of the time, need to do a 360 knob turn to turn left, then 720 to turn right.
With 9398 using 8885, a 90 degree turn, already achieve full left or right.

For trains, same channel also can for 2x remote. Sometimes used to over-ride the control of other people. tongue.gif Hand-of-God ... stop other people train to let my train go first tongue.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(falcon21 @ Oct 21 2013, 09:17 PM)
Home in Malaysia ma....here rented room, build liao no place display then keep back  sweat.gif
Bring back to M'sia, you not here, display also no use. Play also cannot. tongue.gif Keep all in SG better. When you decide to come back (or go elsewhere), just pack all into bags, put in carton boxes and ship icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 29 2013, 11:37 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Legolass @ Oct 28 2013, 08:49 PM)
hey technic lover..is the following combination rigid? will be abit shaky? please comment and share experience  icon_idea.gif

i need it as support structure for my own lego set  icon_rolleyes.gif

do advise if  got other method to reduce the pieces notworthy.gif
1) How high ? 30cm ? 100cm ? hmm.gif

2) Weight load on top ?

3) Total will have how many of these legs ?

4) Total surface area on top ? i.e. Length x Width ?

Overall, it should work. But best is to have diagonal support. Just go out and look at those construction tower cranes.

QUOTE(Legolass @ Oct 28 2013, 10:48 PM)
i worry that long beam will cause the structure to shake..thats why i shorten it hmm.gif

yeah i will put a flat plate  icon_rolleyes.gif

one more question:

sorry if ask too much question..i just want to make sure im designing correctly and avoid wasting money to buy pieces that cant work the way i want..thanks alot..

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
You need bushes to hold the worm gear in place. Otherwise, possibility of both worm-gear and toothed bar move.
Also, the toothed bar need to have support rail/guide at both sides. Otherwise it will move sideways when the worm gear rotates.

cute_boboi
post Oct 30 2013, 10:53 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Legolass @ Oct 29 2013, 07:34 PM)
1) & 2) & 4) i have not actually think how high and how big i want

3) 3 legs support a triangle structure..

Lego designer seems only show number of bricks hmm.gif

Height and width can only be estimated from the brick size hmm.gif

I thought of diagonal support but i cant find the suitable piece to use sad.gif
Thats exactly what i worry biggrin.gif maybe can put more bush at axle hmm.gif
notworthy.gif thanks for feedback
Without 1, 2, 4, it's quite hard to comment for the overall full structure stability and load bearing.

3 legs is kind of unstable, why not 4 legs ?

If your structure is long enough and heavy, it may need 6 legs or more.

Diagonal piece, best is 7 studs thin beam. If longer, can up to maximum 15 studs thick beam. But this looks ugly.
You can use axles as crossbeams also, together with various L-axle-connectors. e.g. 32013, 6536, 10197, 32039, etc.
But this is not secure, as the axle can slip out.

If you build the legs with beams instead of axles, better support connectors are available, such as 55615, 48989, etc.
Beams are thicker (ugly?) but can build stronger structure and load support than axles.

Another option ? Just go PAB at Legoland and use plain bricks. This should be the cheapest option.
icon_rolleyes.gif
cute_boboi
post Oct 30 2013, 02:32 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(buggeroff @ Oct 30 2013, 02:16 PM)
Hi all

I'm thinking of opening a robotic club in my school. it's a rural school and i think the kids will love to experience and learn something like robots!

unfortunately, i have zero knowledge on this. willing to learn tho. after googling around seems like the one use in Malaysia and those robotic competition (hopefully can one day enter smile.gif ) is the LEGO mindstorm series.

Is there anyone willing to share some info on this or at least show a bit of pathway to learn bout this? appreciate all help wink.gif
Get the education set series, it's much cheaper than standard RRP. The latest ones will be the newly release EV3. Previous sets are the NXT.
Mindstorm 2.0, 1.5, 1.0 are even older.

However, it maybe problem to source in Malaysia (and expensive). You can try source from SG or other countries, through the education line, and not the retail/commercial line.

The way to learn is buy a set, and play with it. Google search and Lego to learn more on it. It'll be easier to progress from Technic background, since it uses the same concepts of beams, axles, connectors, pins, joins, etc.

Anyway, even for an education set, it is not cheap. After all, the brand is Lego.
icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0309sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:05 PM