19 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

ARO-MANIACS in da house, Red,24k Gold,RTG,XBack,Green,Pearl,YT...

madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 10:13 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

errr...i think 4 X 2 can fit my KIA Spectra sweat.gif
unless the stand is detachable
madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 10:35 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(aljebat @ Dec 12 2006, 10:20 AM)
of course detacheable la bro....
KIA spectra 5 feet pun boleh masuk... but under one condtion... JANGAN BAWA AMOI LAAAAA...... HAHAHAHAHA
The last time i brought my 3 X 1.5 feet, i can't detach the stand but still managed fit the spectra with 1 cover together...
If that so, Jalan Pasar!!! Here i come this 20th (gaji masuk maaa laugh.gif laugh.gif )

nak beli tank, nak beli tank! hahahahaha

BTW, centipede sell at Jalan Pasar how much aaa?? ChelseaFan??

This post has been edited by madstone: Dec 12 2006, 10:38 AM
madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 11:51 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

near my plce dun have centipede, only mealworm n small fish
have to find pellets for my silvaro

how much u guys bought for aro pellets aaa? what brand available in market? the best brand so far?
madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 12:52 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

so far i fed my silvaro with mealworms n small fish
but my friend told me that mealworms hot for Aro
roach gonna raise disease at aro's body

dunno laaa
madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 01:46 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

near my house sell for 30 crickets for RM1

err....do u guys detach the long leg (jumping leg) of the cricket or just put it in the tank anyway?
madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 03:46 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

will try feed my silvaro cricket today, RM1 per 30 crickets...
madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 07:53 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Snyy
i saw the fish shop near my house sell aquarium 4 X 2 with filter border+wooden cover+lamp+stand=RM302.80
4 X 2 tank with stand+wooden cover+lamp (no filter border)=RM268.80
both have to find our own filter system

no plastic cover for 4 X 2, the max size for plastic cover is 4 x 1.5 feet (complete with lamp)

just fed my silvaro 2 crickets already so far so good sweat.gif whistling.gif smile.gif
madstone
post Dec 12 2006, 08:18 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Mutiara Genting Plaza??

Here's the address: Wisma Mutiara Genting, Jln Genting Kelang, 53200 Kuala Lumpur

sweat.gif
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 01:00 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(jaspery27 @ Dec 12 2006, 09:56 PM)
all bros, i nvr feed my pearl with centi, the tail need to chop off ahh? or just thro it in tank only?? me very scare the centi le  shakehead.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Near my place got no centipede, got to buy it at Jln Pasar i guess, where else got centipede aa? Puchong? Subang Jaya? Saif_bear? Any fish shop selling centipede in Puchong?
QUOTE(saif_bear @ Dec 12 2006, 10:38 PM)
no need to cut the centipede sting 1st ar?
Btw, madstone how is your jardini?  biggrin.gif
Jardini? Hahahahaha
dunno laaa, i think the fish will be transported somewhere next week
got to buy new tank 1st lor blush.gif blush.gif sweat.gif
QUOTE(ChelseaFan @ Dec 13 2006, 12:26 AM)
Bro Stone,
Congratulation on ur "Super Red Jardini" acquasition.
Thanks thanks hihihihi
blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif sweat.gif
QUOTE(Snyy @ Dec 12 2006, 11:31 PM)
which fish shop is that? the price is cheap compare to subang fish shop. do you know how much they charge for doing c0c0nut type of filter? need to make hole. or what filter you planning to use?
Y not u use cannister or external filter?
The shop is near my house, Dengkil, near Putrajaya
extra hole? i think the shop don't do that coz the shop only sell tank, not customade them sweat.gif

err...guys, how am i going to transport 1 feet jardini from Seremban to Dengkil aaa?
using toyogo plastic container can ka?
the journey will be around 45 to 60 minutes, depends on traffic

BTW, one brother wanna sell 2 tanks of 4 X 1.5 X 1.5 for ONLY RM35!!!!
tanks only, no stand no cover, damn! so damn cheap!!
location Sri Kembangan, near Jusco, not far away from my house sweat.gif sweat.gif
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
New 4 X 2 feet OR 2 tanks of 4 X 1.5 X 1.5???

This post has been edited by madstone: Dec 13 2006, 01:05 AM
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 01:23 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Thanks ChelseaFan, great help...
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

errr, BTW, what is FS (sorry, i'm totally new here, dunno certain shortcuts hmm.gif blush.gif blink.gif )
is it at Jalan Pasar??

This post has been edited by madstone: Dec 13 2006, 08:41 AM
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 08:58 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

why aaa my silvaro always tercungap-cungap??
open n close it's mouth all the time while swimming?
seems like so damn tired, just finished a marathon i guess sweat.gif
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 09:58 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Dec 13 2006, 09:24 AM)
If you ask me, ill opt for 2 tanks. But since you rearing aro's, 4 x 1.5 x 1.5 is a no no minimum width should be 2 feet
I think so...1 tank is enough since i already have 1 tank of 3 X 1.5 feet sweat.gif
QUOTE(ChelseaFan @ Dec 13 2006, 09:40 AM)
FS = Fish Shop
btw. Jardini can put in 4' x 1.5' since when full grown it's smaller than Asian Aro.
Full grown JAr in captivity around 20" whereas Asian exeed 2' +
Really? Nevermind though coz i really wanna go for 4 X 2 feet tank thumbup.gif

madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 10:40 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(aljebat @ Dec 13 2006, 09:54 AM)
do u try black water bro??
ur fish is totally stable or still "takut"?
Last night, I asked the FS near my house, the towkay said, the used of black water is for making the water like natural water condition, is it true
i thought it for calming your aro?
before put the black water must put the anti chlorine 1st, correct me please..
QUOTE(Snyy @ Dec 13 2006, 10:34 AM)
cannister filter is quite expensive rite? anyone is using it? what filter are you guys using?
I'm imaging the cannister price is around RM100++ to RM300, is it?
think wanna pay a visit to Serdang FS laa for viewing pleasure, for gaining info of course whistling.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: Dec 13 2006, 10:43 AM
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 10:54 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

hang ping pong balls at the tank cover, sure your aro will look up lahh

BUT i read somewhere that, lowered eyes cause by bad water PH, food we feed 'em and genetic
gonna dig more for info about lowered eyes

This post has been edited by madstone: Dec 13 2006, 11:05 AM
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 11:06 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Gnoof @ Dec 13 2006, 10:58 AM)
Just went to Kim Kang(king kong) saw their big YT quite nice. Got purple colour on its back scales.
Anybody here know what is XO red/golden aro?
I thought that YT is Jebat's right?
He traded it with RTG i think,
err....jebat, correct me

madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 03:09 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

i was thinking to built an overhead filter like c0c0nut style
but put it on top of the tank under the cover
the probs is, the customade filter will be not to big but wider (height is like normal WF)
have 3 space for the filters things (gravel etc etc etc)
the filter itself will made from glass, order from glass shop lah

errr...i'll try to sketch it tonite n post it
need everybody advice on this

may be it's too small, just forget it, hahahahaha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: Dec 13 2006, 03:17 PM
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 03:54 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Is it the RM180 cannister ok c0c0nut from your POV
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 04:16 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

From Aquacommunity.com
Silver Arowana

The Silver Arowana is of the genus "Osteoglossum bicirrhosum," were recognized as a new fish species in 1829 in France, by zoologist Georges Cuvier. They are classified as Bony-Tongued Fish which are fish that go back to somewhat pre-historic times. In fact, in Greek, Osteoglossum is bone-tongued and bicirrhosum is "two barbels."

Silver Arowana are found naturally in white and black water floodplains of South America in the freshwaters of the Amazon River Basin and River, maybe in the Rupununi and Oyapock Rivers, and in some still waters of Guyana as well. There is indication that they don't go through rapids, as they haven't promulgated further upstream. Most of the Silver Arowana are found in the swamp and flooded areas in the shallower water.

Silver Arowana are primitive, prehistoric fish. They actually have teeth on their tongue that comprise the bite they have for their food. Other relatives of Arowana in general include the Butterfly fish and Elephant fish.

Silver Arowana are among the cheapest Arowana available, and the least restricted to import/export. They come small, but look out, they grow rapidly. It is wise to get them at 4-8 inches/ 10-20cm when they are hardier and easier to handle. This will give you a better chance of success keeping them.

The natural environment of the Silver Arowana is from about 75 to 82 degrees F (24-28 C) warm in the water. In the wild, Silver Arowana may reach upwards of 4 feet /120 cm in length, and a little over ten pounds in weight.

They require good water condition to flourish. You must keep Ammonia and Nitrites close to zero. Silver Arowana create a lot of waste, so the filtration system needs to be strong and efficient. Changing at least 25% of the water per week is advisable. Some even recommend as much as 50-75%. The pH of the water (soft and acidic) is best kept between 6.0 and 6.9. Water hardness level for an ideal environment is about 1-8dH.

Their body are covered in very big, strong, and bony scales, and at the lower jaw, 2 barbels. Silver Arowana have a large, bony tongue. The dorsal and anal fins are nearly connected to the caudal fin. Adult Silver Arowana is silvery usually whereas the juveniles often have a yellow-orange bar on the side. They have longer fins than the other Arowana species from Australia, Asia, and Africa.

The growth rate in the Silver Arowana is about two inches (5cm) a month during their first year.

Silver Arowana requires a larger aquarium tank that needs to be well covered to prevent the fish from jumping out if the aquarium to their deaths. The size required depends on the size of your Arowana but should as a rule be at least twice and preferable more than 3 times the length of the fish. Decorated the aquarium so that a lot of open space is created to allow your Silver Arowana fish space where they can swim freely. Silver Arowana like their space to move about in. You will however probably want to give them a couple of places where they can hide. While some tank mates may be good for dinner, you might try some other large fish that are hardy and slightly aggressive fish such as Catfish to keep with your Arowana.

Silver Arowana fish demands a varied diet. They are usually fed guppies in the stores where they are sold and whatever it takes upon acclimation to get them to eat other things is wise and necessary to get them to do so. Getting them to eat non-live food can be a good thing too, as it expands your options for variety. They will usually eat things such as frozen raw shrimp, squid, scallops, and fish fillets. They will also accept a number of live foods such as, smaller fish, plankton, crickets, bloodworms, other insects, and mosquito larvae. If trained, they will eat nearly anything they can get their hands on. Goldfish might be suggested as a snack, however they should not make up a too large part of your Silver Arowana's diet. Another aspect, if you dare, is to attempt to get them to fetch food from your hand which can result in some painful bites until the Arowana learns it.

One condition that is often seen in Silver Arowana is called "Drop Eye", where an eye appears to look downward. It seems this may be the result of over breeding at the breeders though it might also come from fatty tissues behind the eye. Less fat in their diet may help to minimizing or preventing this.

Make sure the top of your tank is well secured. Silver Arowana are Jumpers, and may wind up dead on the floor otherwise.

They can be shy, and easily spooked. For example, when turning on the lights, it is wise to turn on the room lights first. Then after a few minutes, turn on the tank lights. Otherwise, your Silver Arowana might get spooked and injure itself. It is good if you can get some sunlight to them in the day as well, but not constant or you might wind up with an algae problem.

It is suggested for filtration to use adequate Mechanical, Chemical, and Biological filtration to cover the amount of water in the tank. Multiple units might not hurt considering the volume of water you need for your Silver Arowana, and it does provide backup in case one system fails.

On a closing note, you should also remember, Silver Arowana's are not for the poor, or the inexperienced aquarist. However, they are very interesting fish to watch grow, and live. They will undoubtedly give you many hours of enjoyable scenery, and experiences. If you choose to get a Silver Arowana, it is wise to do a lot of research to become even more experienced with these great living examples of Amazon Basin.

madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 04:56 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

top filter need to change water at least 20% to 30% per week
like me also, 2 weeks already but only once change the water 30%
quite hard wooo to do WC sweat.gif sweat.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

Article about WC
http://arowanaclub.com/stories.php?story=05/08/31/8874658

This post has been edited by madstone: Dec 13 2006, 04:58 PM
madstone
post Dec 13 2006, 06:57 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(c0c0nut @ Dec 13 2006, 05:43 PM)
for me is aro i will go for better brand la...fish so exp use better quality stuff lo
That's what i'm thinking of

sweat.gif sweat.gif
1 set of new 4 X 2 ft tank will cost me RM268.80 rclxub.gif
err...i think i'll start with OHF 1st, later change lor sweat.gif sweat.gif

19 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:49 PM