The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

ghoss
post Oct 20 2013, 12:52 AM

975 posts

can someone confirm whether I set the filter correctly ?

First time and my friend just passed me the tank sweat.gif

or the other tube need to point into the water?

This post has been edited by ghoss: Oct 20 2013, 12:52 AM
ghoss
post Oct 20 2013, 10:09 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(whitehawk @ Oct 20 2013, 02:54 AM)
hi
i think u need to add more water until water level same as water outlet
this is to avoid waterfall effect and to avoid disturbance to the soil if u have
ok got it thumbup.gif
ghoss
post Oct 21 2013, 10:23 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Oct 20 2013, 10:07 PM)
Omg...u are making teh tarik...lol
noob ma ~ now atleast better already laugh.gif

Cos didn't know how to control the water
ghoss
post Oct 21 2013, 10:58 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 10:57 AM)
These fellas damn funny... they keep moving food out of the feeding dish.  vmad.gif

LOL ~~ Guess they want to bring it back

I wonder how long does it take for my tank water to be clear sweat.gif
ghoss
post Oct 21 2013, 12:15 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 21 2013, 12:02 PM)
They're damn messy eater.

Still haven't found a solution to keep the tank clean without too much housekeeping.

Btw, if nothing disturbs the substrate and with the filter running, won't be long maybe a day or two.
Great thanks ~
ghoss
post Oct 21 2013, 12:45 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 21 2013, 12:41 PM)
got a front photo shoot of your tank , picture too dark , can't really see how it look like.
Tonight I try to upload again. First time doing this tank for shrimp sweat.gif
ghoss
post Oct 26 2013, 10:59 AM

975 posts

Water cleared , I think I better replace the plants my friend gave me laugh.gif

already not so nice color
ghoss
post Oct 26 2013, 02:55 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 26 2013, 02:42 PM)
Your moss look yellowish, not healthy, can due to high temp, not enough light or fert.
yea going to change it when I go .

Anyone know any shop to go in Penang ?

By the way , I need to use real soil or just those decorative stones also can ? icon_question.gif
ghoss
post Oct 28 2013, 12:01 PM

975 posts

I'm curious , does anyone rear lobster ? hmm.gif
ghoss
post Nov 4 2013, 10:42 PM

975 posts

My tank so far so good . just dropped 5 red cherry to test first .

Still no plant as the person told me quite troublesome , is it ? hmm.gif
ghoss
post Nov 5 2013, 12:27 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(lily64my @ Nov 4 2013, 10:46 PM)
Cant put plant after you put in cherry. The will be stress and go heaven...lol
That's why lor sad.gif

Nvm , have to go buy some decor to put liao else too empty
ghoss
post Nov 5 2013, 08:11 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 5 2013, 12:32 AM)
You can try moss or non-rooted plants so you can just slowly place in the tank without making a mess and use floating plant to absorb excess nutrients.
Maybe should look into floating plant

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 5 2013, 02:23 AM)
can put but make sure your plant/moss source is pestcides/fert/planaria free..hehe. to be safe , put new plant/moss in a small bowl/bucket
put a shrimp inside to test like 30min, if no died then ok else discard those plant/moss. planaria hard to prevent as those hitchhiking is tiny and their eggs sticking on the plant/moss.

This is the result of pesticides/fert leeched plant.
normally where to find ? ask the shop clearly first ?

RIP....
ghoss
post Nov 5 2013, 10:41 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 5 2013, 10:21 AM)
Lfs cant confirm whether their plant are shrimp safe or not .
They just sell only.
Thanks for the advice , have to wait till I got more shrimp to test.

How long does it normally takes to breed ? hmm.gif
ghoss
post Nov 6 2013, 10:18 AM

975 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 6 2013, 01:04 AM)
Cant tell. Really. Very subjective.
But the following criteria need to have in order for any chance for them to breed.
-must have both male and female shrimp(some shrimp like fire red only female be sold in lfs) try get a cherry male to mate.
** if you want to know why there is no male fire red for sell, answer is fire red male dont justify the price of a fire red. It look like a cherry with pale color. Majority of buyer(newbies) will complain and wont pay the fire red price for it.
-minimum or stress less environment. Try minimize threat to them like mixing them with big fish.
-have enough food but dont think smart and overfeed. Shrimp are natural scavenger.  Moss will provide lot of surface area for them to scout for lodged food. Shrimplet will find comfort in them as well.
-they able to stay alive long enough(a well cycled tank  with stable parameter.) Dead body only breed germ.
-easy shrimp like cherry,  fire red, palmata will breed more readily with basic criteria meet.
Thanks a lot for the tips ~~

notworthy.gif
ghoss
post Nov 9 2013, 01:52 AM

975 posts

2 out of 5 shrimp dead cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Not sure why ,saw one today flipped over , thought it's molting . came back saw 2 dead
ghoss
post Nov 11 2013, 06:28 PM

975 posts

Guys...how do you replenish the water ?

Store some tap water in the bottles first ? cos I was told fresh tap water is dangerous .
ghoss
post Nov 12 2013, 05:47 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Nov 12 2013, 05:35 PM)
Using RO in my case. Usually fill it up on the UP Aqua 6L bucket and necessary amount of Prime for 6L... stir, cover it with saran wrap and wait for the next wc. The bucket is really useful IMO... it's quick to drain the water out, but takes me 2hrs+ to refill it back as I only turn the tap slightly.
Nice... what shrimp is that?
How you doing Sis? Still active here I see...  biggrin.gif

This ?

What's WC ?
ghoss
post Nov 13 2013, 02:44 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(GTBlackIce @ Nov 13 2013, 01:09 PM)
Do try to invest on test kit if you can.  wink.gif
IF you want TDS pen too... look at ebay. I got mine from there...cheap!

Think you can get a wider view of the stones you have in there? If it's still in the tank that is...
What shrimps you have/intend to have in it?
It seems around less than $10 for the pen , but all from china sweat.gif

Tried to find it locally but can't get it .

ghoss
post Nov 14 2013, 09:39 PM

975 posts

my shrimps just molted rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Should I take the skin out ? unsure.gif
ghoss
post Nov 15 2013, 01:26 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 15 2013, 12:08 AM)
just left it there, the shrimp will eat it.
Thanks a lot ~~ Finally all 3 surviving shrimp molted . Time to buy more this weekend

0.0565sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:54 PM