The Shrimp Thing, All About Shrimp - Neocaridina & Others

bg2014
post Oct 20 2013, 05:48 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 19 2013, 05:57 PM)
quite ok, lot of space to view the shrimp, for future if you will to add in any new plant, test it a one shrimp in a bucket first before put
into your tank as some plant esp the HC seem to leech with pesticide and ferts that fatal to shrimps, you risk wipe out all the shrimp.
In the future you need to cover those filter intake with steel mesh or sponge to prevent shrimplets to be sucked in and killed.

Those fish if too big will target the shrimplets but will just reduce the breeding rate if you have enough space for some baby shrimp to hide.
else remove is also a good option, however you can keep them with smaller sized fish like dwarf or spotted rasbora.
The rule is if the fish mouth big enough to fit a shrimplet, they will eat them.
Of course aggressive in nature fish is a NO NO in shrimp tank.

Your temperature may on the high side as running two filter will contribute to higher temperature, and you may as well run a bigger filter.
adding a aquarium fan is always an option.
By HC do you mean Hemianthus Callitrichoides?
bg2014
post Oct 28 2013, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 28 2013, 02:38 PM)
yes, they also known as crayfish, their easy but mine all died due to neglect.
Does crayfish need filter and airpump?
bg2014
post Oct 28 2013, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 28 2013, 01:36 AM)
Me too.  rclxms.gif
Youliang , if you couple Malaya with palmata shrimp in one tank, you will have mutlicolor shrimp tank that wont cross/interbreed.
Malaya change color, Palmata born different color baby, what a opposite match.
Palmata Shrimp? heven't heard that before, can't find more info of it online as well. Do you have any website that talk about this shrimp? I wanna know more about it~

Thank you~
bg2014
post Oct 28 2013, 09:28 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Oct 28 2013, 06:33 PM)
Crayfish , Of course if have = better.  if not they make do without but need to frequent change water, don't like me neglect them till they died without water change for 4 mths.
~Palmata , mr.google will help -> http://swisstropicals.com/Neocaridina%20palmata.html
only got picture here, without a clear description , so far different site give different info, but from my experience in keeping/breeding them
they do give birth to different color baby.
~I got red , blue , black, green and chocolate baby from a green male and green female adults, you can selective breed them by separate a certain color babyin a tank to breed to get that particular color only, so far able to do that with black and blue color.
~Of course when i sell the juvenile palmata, i wouldn't give those black & chocolate as those fetch higher price then other color , market price is like rm12-20 for chocolate & black per tail.
are Malaya Shrimp and Palmata shrimp considered hardy shrimps like cherries?
bg2014
post Nov 10 2013, 09:43 PM

Hi guys,

just wanna ask is it ok to put this into the filter of my cherry shrimp tank or inside the tank?

It is some kind of volcano mineral stones, it's called 火山熔岩 in Chinese.

bg2014
post Nov 11 2013, 06:35 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 10 2013, 10:51 PM)
These are Lava rock(same as valcano rock) , bad as filter media cos low surface value for bacteria to colonize,
we normally use it as soil base to increase soil height or as base to tie moss and plants.
I see, sounds kinda useless.

So it's safe to use it in a shrimp tank right?

Does it affect the water parameters?
bg2014
post Nov 11 2013, 07:52 PM

QUOTE(ghoss @ Nov 11 2013, 06:28 PM)
Guys...how do you replenish the water ?

Store some tap water in the bottles first ? cos I was told fresh tap water is dangerous .
I normally fill up bottles and add a few drops of dechlorine for at least one day before using it. brows.gif
bg2014
post Nov 16 2013, 08:25 PM

Does anyone know if Malay shrimp and crystal red can be kept together?
bg2014
post Nov 18 2013, 08:43 PM

Have anyone heard of Tourmaline? For reducing ph in shrimp tank. Can anyone provide any info about this thing? I can't find any info about it from google.
bg2014
post Nov 20 2013, 08:05 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 19 2013, 01:06 AM)
ADA Tourmaline? if you want to reduce ph the safe and long lasting way, use plant or shrimp soil, if really Tourmaline can reduce ph! how many you need to dose and how long can it last?

Unless you are into keeping CRS , no need to worry much about PH especially for neocaridina type shrimp like fire red etc, they only require stable ph of range ph5.5 -8.2.
Actually it was call JBL Tormec Activ, I got the name wrong. I am going to get some CRSs next week, and I am worried they might be dead or infertile because of the PH problem...

I have seen people on internet said that their CRS breed normally even in PH 7.x tank, but I don't wanna take any chances.

Are there any "natural" ways to reduce water ph and has long lasting effect beside using soil and driftwood?

I was tempting to use PH down product.
bg2014
post Nov 20 2013, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Nov 20 2013, 04:23 PM)
although  JBL Tormec Activ like sera super peat can reduce ph when use as filter media, it is not a long term solution as it effect only last 3 to 6 mths and there is fluctuation when near end of his lifespan, which make it not that suitable for CRS tank which need constant stable parameter, shrimp soil can provide that stable ph buffering for at least 1 to 2 year. 
Don't ever use Ph down products for shrimp tank especially for crs as this ph down only provide temporary effect.
Any fluctuation in water parameter is proven fatal for sensitive shrimp like crs.
There is no shortcut in keeping sensitive shrimp like crs.
Thanks sifu~ XD

Can I buy Amazonia Soil and pour them on top of my current substrate about 1 - 2cm?

bg2014
post Nov 21 2013, 07:11 PM

Hi everyone, I got another questions about shrimps.

It's it true that Red cherry shrimps won't breed in high PH? Or high PH would greatly reduce the productivity of them?

And has anyone tried to keep Crystal red shrimps in high PH tank before? Did they thrived?
bg2014
post Dec 1 2013, 06:10 AM

Hi everyone, just wondering if it's ok to keep red cherry shrimp in a 2ft tank with no substrate at all, but only plants with no roots?
bg2014
post Dec 3 2013, 08:11 AM

Hi, to everyone and sifus~

I just got the first batch of Crystal red shrimp of my life a few days ago (29 Otc).

This morning I found one dead, and when I took out the body and touched it, the body feels soft.

Is this what people on the internet says, after molting, the shrimp released some kind of strong smell that draws other shrimps to attack it?
bg2014
post Dec 3 2013, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Dec 3 2013, 12:17 PM)
dead shrimp , after few hour body left in the tank, all will be soft and start to rot.
Shrimp died after molting the body will be soft and their body after molting is prone to attack from fish and affected more by tank parameter.
Shrimp normally mate after molting that why certain times a shrimp be swarmed by others.
Thanks~

Another question~ Can Malay Shrimp be kept in 2ft tank with no substrate at all? Would they thrive?
bg2014
post Dec 11 2013, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(arrow @ Dec 11 2013, 12:18 PM)
Third Try : Project Sulawesi.
NO coral stone/sand , with just lot of mineral and lot of algae.

Where do you get Sulawesi shrimps from? And normally how much do they cost in Malaysia?
bg2014
post Apr 29 2014, 04:29 PM

Hey guys, one of my tanks is very strange. It's a four months old 2ft tank with CRS living in it. Initially there were 10 CRS added to the tank when the tank is almost one and a half month old and there are 9 of them still alive at the moment.

When the tank was close to 2 months old, I put some Fire Yellow in to the tank and none of them last a month.

Last week I tried putting some Red Cherry, like 18 of them, into the tank and there were like 5 - 8 of them died within 2 days... Then I moved the rest of them to another tank immediately...

It seems like that 2ft tank is not able to keep Neocaridina shrimps, I wonder what's going on with my tank...

Has anyone experienced the same problem as mine? How did you overcome that?

I'd really like to keep some beautiful Neocaridina Shrimps with my CRS.

Thank you:D

This post has been edited by bg2014: Apr 29 2014, 04:31 PM
bg2014
post Apr 30 2014, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 29 2014, 05:05 PM)
Bro, how are you!

We need some info about this neocaridina killer tank, PH , GH , TDS ?
Neocaridina can adjust to different parameters readily , just that TDS if too low(below 160) can pose some problem
for them.
Its they died after molt?
I'm quite fine, but the Neo shrimps are not cry.gif

I only have PH and Ammonia tester now, PH is 6.0, Ammonia 0.

I'm sure the TDS should not be lower than 160 since I'm using tap water with Tension Gon anti-chlorine.

Some of them died after molt, some of them just died with no reason.

btw, Im thinking of buying a GH tester, any idea which of the brands out there should I buy? Some of my buddies said the API GH tester is very difficult to differentiate between colors while Sera is better, other said otherwise... So i'm kinda confuse now shakehead.gif
bg2014
post Apr 30 2014, 03:50 PM

Thanks for the replies biggrin.gif
any idea where can I get Sera GH tester online?
How much it usually cost? And what is the price of API GH tester?

bg2014
post May 4 2014, 07:01 PM

QUOTE(myak9 @ May 4 2014, 08:57 AM)
I am interested to start out with some "easy" shrimps...

can any1 tell me what is the different of...

Caridina cf. babaulti shrimps

Caridina Sp. Malaya shrimps

any1 have experience on breeding such shrimps...
I'd recommend you start off with cherry shrimps which are the cheapest shrimps in shrimps hobby, except for ghost shrimps. Then you could try some lower grades of Crystal Red Shrimps if your shrimps addiction getting worse XD

0.0533sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:42 PM