sniper on the roof
May 23 2014, 11:19 AM
Guys, wanna ask your opinion on this.
My company is doing the annual chemical warfare again ie spraying disinfectant. Last time when this happened, it totally nuked my office tank killing everything inside even though I covered the top of my tank with newspaper.
So this time I'm thinking of the following
- removing the filter and air pump - put the filter media into a bag and put it into the tank - add charcoal as precaution. - turn off lights - seal the tank with plastic food wrap.
Tank info - 30cm tank with plants (anubias, massimo algae and frogbits) - small population of 1 snail, 4 adult and 2 juvenile cherries.
Do you guys think this will work for 48hours?
sniper on the roof
May 24 2014, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(arrow @ May 24 2014, 12:25 AM) ???
sniper on the roof
May 24 2014, 04:27 PM
Anyway... tanks sealed. Wish me luck
sniper on the roof
May 25 2014, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(lily64my @ May 25 2014, 12:45 PM) Yeah.... they should finish with the chemical warfare in a couple hours. Maybe I'll drop by the office this evening to remove the wraps.
sniper on the roof
May 26 2014, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(lily64my @ May 25 2014, 12:45 PM) QUOTE(jirochl @ May 25 2014, 08:55 PM) All the best  I'm pleased to announce that sealing the tank worked. No casualties thus far.
sniper on the roof
May 30 2014, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(lily64my @ May 30 2014, 03:19 PM) Good to hear!! I got many casualty lately. Seems iam stress and the shrimps too! I did get one unrelated casualty though.... it went all adventurous and climbed up the charcoal media bag I have on the filter outlet and became dried shrimp.
sniper on the roof
Aug 15 2014, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 15 2014, 10:13 AM) wao. it's been a month folks ~ no update? How's your shrimps ??  For some unknown reasons, my previously thriving floating plants are all but dead. The shrimps themselves are doing ok and my battle with leeches still wages on. Still see them once every couple of days or when the shrimps make sudden jumps.
sniper on the roof
Aug 15 2014, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 15 2014, 11:22 AM) YOUR.TANK.IS.SO.CLEAN Good to hear from you. I used to have floating plants on shrimp tanks as well. But due to the water flow way too strong, the floating plants can't stand with it and breaking off piece by piece, as for my case, only YAMATO that jump and fly away from tanks, for fire red, i never have such case before Where got clean... the shrimp poo all over the place Also cos its summer here = massive evaporation = massive top up = massive rise in TDS But so far this setup has been pretty maintenance free lah
sniper on the roof
Aug 15 2014, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(whitehawk @ Aug 15 2014, 03:15 PM) what type of floating plants that usually used in shrimp tank??? I had frogbits
sniper on the roof
Aug 15 2014, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(jirochl @ Aug 15 2014, 04:35 PM) Didn't top off with RO water? No worries about TDS rise if you do that. RO water a bit difficult since my tank is in the office.
sniper on the roof
Aug 17 2014, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(arrow @ Aug 16 2014, 01:35 AM) leeches ? you may try Seachem Paraguard , shrimps safe. Can Kill BGA too. Most place don't carry full range of seachem stuff here. Any alternative methods?
sniper on the roof
Aug 19 2014, 01:36 PM
Share some photos of the office tank again. My view  Visitor's view
sniper on the roof
Aug 20 2014, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 20 2014, 10:21 AM) lovely. But your moss balls seems not quite happy about it  photo filter? Shot with potato The lighting I'm using (with separate RGB channels) looks adjusted to normal normal white light to my eyes but from photos gives this ridiculous purple tint.
sniper on the roof
Jul 3 2015, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(lily64my @ Jun 30 2015, 03:50 PM) Sharing this useful DIY for shrimp tanks:- http://shrimpkeepersforum.com/forum/articl...umentation/diy/http://shrimpkeepersforum.com/forum/articl...-tank-fans-r30/I have made my shrimp tank temp low at 24-25C with small fan and wrap around with the aluminium kinda insulator paper (sold at daiso)! So taking care of shrimp not necessary expensive. Photos not showing on the link. Got pic of ur setup?