QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 19 2014, 04:51 PM)
Firstly, soon all Direct Access cards will be converted to CIMB cards.
The Clear Card is good for movies. If your application is still not shown in the system next week. Go apply online directly via Citibank website. But please be aware, the Clear Card FREE Movie Benefit is really good if you go to the movies every week with a partner but many have reported it is tough for the annual fee to be waived for subsequent years. So, if you really go to the movies every week, the savings you get is much more than the annual fee and you would be more than happy to pay it. But if you go to the movies once a month, then different story, no point getting the card. And Citibank do have many promos for shopping and dining but that is to entice you to spend more.
For general usage and on weekends, the Maybankard 2 Gold card is really good for spending up to RM1000/month. The MBB2 Amex earns you 5% cash back every Saturday and Sunday plus 5X UNLIMITED Treats Points everyday. The 5X TP itself is already very good. It works out to be 2% cash back based on 12,500 TP = RM50 cash voucher.
Click here to read my article The Best Cash Back Credit Cards Combination 2014.ronnie did an excellent job compiling places that accepts AMEX,
click here to see where AMEX cards are welcome.If you decide you want to get the MBB 2 Cards,
click here to Maybankard 2 Cards Thread, and read at least the first 2 pages and most of the answers to your questions will be answered.
Hi Gen-X thanks for your response. Yeah, actually I applied online. An agent followed up with me, submitted the application form + 3 mths payslip + EPF statement + copy of offer letter. It's already 2 weeks. Yep, I go to cinema for at least 5-6 times per month that's the card I am looking for, but wouldn't know will get approve or not.
Yeah I checked CIMB website that it will be rebranded to CIMB cards. TnC for application remains the same. Would like to know from those who are familiar with CIMB, whether this Platinum DA can be applied at Sunway Pyramid branch and get 1h approval, rather than keep waiting for another 2 weeks like CTB.
AMEX is one of my consideration too, will check out tonight. Which location would provide the fastest to approve as I just dun wan to waste so much time waiting and waiting again.
Let's see if the CTB's agent will call me again tmr.