Unifi TMnet Streamyx/Unifi & IPv6, Now live!

Kiding
post Oct 23 2013, 10:51 PM

1,135 posts

Finally got my TP-Link TL-WR841ND v7 with OpenWRT 12.09 IPV6 working properly after two nights of studying and troubleshooting.

Now my Windows, Solaris, iPad and Android phone are getting ipv6 flex.gif laugh.gif

Too bad TM not giving fixed ipv6 address sleep.gif
Kiding
post Oct 25 2013, 10:04 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(maxiscool @ Oct 25 2013, 09:12 PM)
I'm doing further test on the setup of IPv6 despite having 10/10 result on test-ipv6.com.

I disable the IPv4 interface and left the IPv6 turn on only. (reboot router and windows interface just in case), and i get an IPv6 address.

And when I try to ping www.google.com, it request time out, is this the expected results?
I just did the same test, disable ipv4 protocol in the interface, and access lowyat forum again, no problem, but I couldn't access most of the sites due to not ipv6 enabled web site

I can see your post in lowyat does have the IPV6 tag, your ipv6 should work.

Kiding
post Feb 7 2014, 05:57 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(warlove3 @ Feb 7 2014, 04:48 PM)
I think there's nothing much I can do now, since the DHCPv6 on my router seems to be the culprit for it.

hopefully ASUS will fix this...
Direct Dialer from Windows 7 has no problem at all...(btw one unifi account can be connected 2 times on the same time - one on router, one on direct pppoe dialer on OS, not sure why but it works)
You may try some custom firmware such as DD-WRT.
Kiding
post Oct 11 2014, 03:27 PM

1,135 posts

Upgrade to Barrier Breaker final version, and configured native IPV6 with radvd enabled only, the WAN interface able to get the ipv6 address, but all clients behind my TPlink WR841ND router is not able to get ipv6 address, I used 'ifstatus wan6' and found out TM didn't give ipv6prefix, the prefix field is empty, and the router system logs keep posting error message 'Server returned IA_NA status 2 (NoAddrsAvail)'
Kiding
post Oct 15 2014, 11:46 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Oct 15 2014, 11:39 PM)
I'm using 1043nd with barrier breaker (0.12+svn-r10530). I did not change much on ipv6 area, my router able to get v6 address, i'am able to ping to ipv6.google.com from the router.

However, my client in LAN, not able to get v6 address from TM v6 range. Need to read more.
I think the prefix delegation in barrier breaker may have compatibility issue with Unifi, the dhcpv6 is not able to get the prefix from unifi, hence, it couldn't propagate the ipv6 prefix to the LAN client. I have tried to force request the prefix in the /etc/config/network WAN6 section, unfortunately ended up even worst, unable to get ipv6 address at all.
Kiding
post Dec 6 2014, 04:28 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(darrenliew96 @ Dec 6 2014, 12:25 AM)
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=54355

Refering to this forum thread, is it ISP problem? Since I get only one IPv6 address for the router only.

I check with "ifstatus wan6"

"ipv6-prefix" is empty []
Openwrt barrier breaker (14.07) has issue with Unifi IPV6, it's not able to get ipv6 prefix delegation, I have tried it countlessly and I flashed back to attitude adjustment (12.09).

To enable IPV6 on attitude adjustment (12.09), you need to install following packages

1. ip6tables
2. kmod-ip6tables
3. radvd
4. wide-dhcpv6-client

use the following command to install

CODE

opkg update && opkg install ip6tables kmod-ip6tables radvd wide-dhcpv6-client && fw restart

Edit the /etc/config/network

CODE

config interface 'lan'
option ifname 'eth0'
option type 'bridge'
option proto 'static'
option netmask '255.255.255.0'
option ipaddr '192.168.1.1'
option gateway '192.168.1.1'
option stp '1'
option mtu '1452'

config interface 'wan'
option ifname 'eth1'
option _orig_ifname 'eth1'
option _orig_bridge 'false'
option proto 'pppoe'
option username '*********'
option password '********'
option mtu '1452'
option ipv6 '1'
option peerdns '0'
option dns '8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4'

Edit the /etc/config/radvd

CODE

onfig interface
option interface 'lan'
option AdvSendAdvert '1'
list client ''
option ignore '0'
option IgnoreIfMissing '1'
option AdvSourceLLAddress '1'
option AdvLinkMTU '1452'
option AdvDefaultPreference 'medium'

config prefix
option interface 'lan'
list prefix ''
option AdvOnLink '1'
option AdvAutonomous '1'
option ignore '0'

config route
option interface 'lan'
list prefix ''
option ignore '0'

config rdnss
option interface 'lan'
list addr '2001:4860:4860::8888'
list addr '2001:4860:4860::8844'
option ignore '0'

config dnssl
option interface 'lan'
list suffix ''
option ignore '1'

Edit the /etc/config/dhcp6c

CODE

config 'dhcp6c' 'basic'
option 'enabled' '1'    # 1 = enabled; 0 = disabled
option 'interface' 'wan'   # This is the interface the DHCPv6 client will run on
option 'dns' 'dnsmasq'    # Which DNS server you run (only dnsmasq currently supported)
option 'debug' '0'    # 1 = enable debugging; 0 = disable debugging

# Send options (1 = send; 0 = do not send)
option 'pd' '1'     # Prefix Delegation
option 'na' '0'     # Non-Temporary Address
option 'rapid_commit' '1'   # Rapid Commit

# Request options (1 = request; 0 = do not request)
option 'domain_name_servers' '1'
option 'domain_name' '0'
option 'ntp_servers' '0'
option 'sip_server_address' '0'
option 'sip_server_domain_name' '0'
option 'nis_server_address' '0'
option 'nis_domain_name' '0'
option 'nisp_server_address' '0'
option 'nisp_domain_name' '0'
option 'bcmcs_server_address' '0'
option 'bcmcs_server_domain_name' '0'

# Override the used DUID, by default it is derived from the interface MAC
# The given value must be uppercase and globally unique!
#option 'duid' '00:03:00:06:D8:5D:4C:A5:03:F2'

# Script to run when a reply is received
option 'script' '/usr/bin/dhcp6c-state'

# Define one or more interfaces on which prefixes should be assigned
config 'interface' 'loopback'
option 'enabled' '0'    # 1 = enabled; 0 = disabled
option 'sla_id' '0'    # Site level aggregator identifier specified in decimal (subnet)
option 'sla_len' '0'    # Site level aggregator length (64 - size of prefix being delegated)
      # e.g. /60 from ISP -> 64 - 60 = 4

config 'interface' 'lan'
option 'enabled' '1'
option 'sla_id' '0'
option 'sla_len' '0'

and last but not least, reboot the router, you should be able to get ipv6 for your LAN
Kiding
post Apr 20 2016, 10:58 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ericling @ Apr 19 2016, 04:03 PM)
Hi guys, on Streamyx 8mbps.

Router has IPv6 on by default, speedtest ok, getting 8mbps.
However, youtube is EXTREMELY slow, 360p also need buffering.

I then did some google, found out it could be due to IPv6. I then turned off IPv6 in 192.168.1.1 Youtube is working really well however, other downloads are very slow. Speedtest is very inconsistent with high ping too.

Both IPv4 and IPv6 DNS is on Google DNS.

Any sifu can help?
Currently on IPv4, youtube loading fine but slow downloads.

Addon: I also realized such youtube problem DO NOT happen during off-peak, midnight and morning. Modem is Innacomm W3410N.
mtu = 1452
Kiding
post Feb 11 2017, 04:42 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Kanuki @ Feb 11 2017, 01:17 PM)
Because the topic name is TMnet Streamyx/Unifi & IPv6.
Exactly.
Logically, two conditions must be true in order to post in the thread because of the & operator, hence, only IPV6 in Unfi/Streamyx environment are allowed to post here. brows.gif

0.0347sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:23 AM