PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

lAh0S
post Mar 20 2007, 12:05 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

No use to put a speaker stand for AL speaker la, unless your table is out of space la, then i nothing to say.
Speaker's stand is made for those bookshelf level speaker, cause they're huge and the sound/bass that came out may shake the table, so they used stand to stablize it. smile.gif
lAh0S
post Mar 22 2007, 11:43 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(DotA 5.84C -AR @ Mar 22 2007, 11:16 PM)
i choose MX5021 for the overall SQ. if u wanna show off to your up stair, down stair, left unit, right unit neighbour with the floor and wall shaking bass, go for Z2300  biggrin.gif
Nice one there, you got the point.
I personally like that phrase. biggrin.gif

lAh0S
post Mar 24 2007, 03:22 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(DotA 5.84C -AR @ Mar 24 2007, 02:13 PM)
GMX is not THX certified
You're right.
---
1 think i want to ask.
Why does the THX Certified thingy so important to you all?
Can give me 1 or 2 reasons?
lAh0S
post Mar 28 2007, 06:19 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 28 2007, 04:57 PM)
Any user of MX5021, can tell me what is the treble and bass setting of your MX5021? and what mode of equalizer that u using to pair with this speaker?
Mine 1 is:
treble 3+/5
bass 4+-/5
Equalizer Pop

Got anyone else use others setting?
Try to avoid equalizer setting.
Sometime it just screwed everything up.
I'm in T 2+/5, B 3+/5, no equalizer, cause i didn't install the PSC805 driver. laugh.gif
lAh0S
post Mar 28 2007, 09:01 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 28 2007, 06:46 PM)
Avoid it? If i don use equalizer, than what use for my sound card? If i enable my sound card equalizer, the sound is very clear and nice. If disable, the output will not good as if i enable equalizer.
Main reason of sound card is not for the equalizer, but is the main processor and the DAC.
Different processor and different DAC produce a different sound.
If your defination of sound card is to use to tune equalizer, then you can save it up, cause on-board sound card also allow you to tune the equalizer.

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Mar 28 2007, 07:19 PM)
smile.gif audiophile purists want to hear the original sound, that's why we tend to leave the equalizer flat or just off that damn thing.
Yup you got the point there.
The damn equalizer will mess up the original sound.
lAh0S
post Apr 11 2007, 11:44 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 11 2007, 10:23 AM)
to me,when i changed from Creative Soundblaster Vibra to Creative SB Audigy2 ZS, very big difference.
You're right.
I've tried both this sound card already.
Vibra might sounds a bit lame, but it tighten the bass.
A2ZS? Pair it with you ATP3 and play NFS:C then you'll know what happen. laugh.gif
lAh0S
post Apr 11 2007, 06:29 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Apr 11 2007, 01:51 PM)
yea,i enjoy playing NFS Carbon.the bass boost thing down there helps alot...
mine is PCMCIA version for laptops.desktop still using Vibra.thts y easy do comparison
OMG you are rich !!
Laptop version of A2ZS, that must be cost you a lot.
lAh0S
post Jun 12 2007, 09:35 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

sunauto, if not mistaken you've a modded set of MX5021 right?
Got time to do for me?
I back Penang stay liao. biggrin.gif
lAh0S
post Jun 12 2007, 06:29 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jun 12 2007, 10:36 AM)
Well, it's easy actually, you can check the speaker cables for a start. You try going to Hi-Fi Choice, 1-Stop Midlands, Penang. Get those good speaker cables from VDH, it will improve the sound quality of your speakers. Then, besides that, you can get a power conditioner for your speakers, if you're on a tight budget, the Belkin surge protectors offer A/C line noise filtering. It's effective too. I don't recommend you to open up the drivers unless you wanna take a risk doing so. For a start, these two upgrades will give you a much better sounding MX5021.
OMG I never know a surge protectors will improve a speaker sound.
Cable I'll get my own a DIY cable already don't worry.
I just need a further modding only, which is something like change caps, this and that, and whatever. tongue.gif

0.0216sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:09 PM