PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

PcWork
post Jul 13 2006, 11:02 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

Altec Lansing ACS295
Altec Lansing ATP3

User Reporting.

PcWork
post Aug 23 2006, 12:49 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(chocobee_2707 @ Aug 23 2006, 10:26 AM)
altec bass not so powerful. why dont u try GMX series. if u really want altec, and ur priority is bass, u can try ada885/890 (4.1 system) thumbup.gif .good for games and movie, but music sweat.gif
intruder alert. this is altec lansing fans club lah....

PS : for me, i think MX5021 sounds much more better than klipsch
klipsch is just like car audio. boomy bass all over the way.
narrow sound stage some more.

PcWork
post Nov 8 2006, 01:37 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(kweng84 @ Sep 1 2006, 04:26 PM)
AM2100 user here, i think 4100 is a better buy because the remote has more functions like bass level controller and etc..subwoofer is better also... i think i will go for 4100 if i were to buy speakers...
i really like how the 2100 looks and sound. not bad speaker. it's sound stage is very wide.probably as wide as mx5021

QUOTE(cheejun85 @ Nov 8 2006, 04:45 AM)
i am modifing an acs 45.1, any suggestion?
what you wanna modify?

PcWork
post Dec 11 2006, 02:29 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 11 2006, 02:16 PM)
so do u say dat atp3 is better then vs4121 and 4221?
different ppl got different taste. i personally like atp3 more than other model listed above.
reason : my song collection were more to vocal, voices, slow jazz, and instrumental.
PcWork
post Dec 12 2006, 02:31 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Dec 10 2006, 02:41 PM)
im not rich la... need to save $$$ one ok...
narkon maybe u r right la... i heard from my frens oso... buy Rm200++ one enuf d...
those other expensive soundcards only make alot of different for 5.1 or 7.1...
so its Soundblaster Audigy 4 ok ??
not nessecery. EMU0404 is a stereo card. not multichannel.

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 12 2006, 01:50 PM)
same with me...at first the treble r to loud rite??...after using dfx n adjust the equalizer...then satisfied...mango,how do u adjust??...can u teach me??
usually i prefer listen song with all EQ and dfx off. i found it is more natural and beautiful.
if on eq, especially software EQ. it will some how shrink sound stage and the "fullness" of the midrange. sound very metal/ digital..

PcWork
post Dec 12 2006, 11:53 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 12 2006, 11:16 PM)
smile.gif if your speakers is good enough to produce accurate music, then there's no point tuning the equalizers. For me i just set all EQ to flat and turn my bass knob to minimum.

EMU0404 you can get it from ALL IT. The price is RM500+ smile.gif Manufacturer is from Creative, but this is not average Joe's card though... they don't label it "Professional" for nothing. If you were to get this card, be prepared to fork out another RM100 to get a custom breakout as the 0404 doesn't come with standard 3.5mm jack.
lol i don't make it anymore. perhaps ask other ppl DIY can also..
=P

by the way.... i always turn my EQ off even on AC97.
weiredo, i think akabane EMU soundcard is NOT from creative.. it's from EMU itself...
just knew EMU also a brand , bought by creative... hehehe

PcWork
post Dec 15 2006, 10:32 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 13 2006, 12:19 AM)
smile.gif i'm very sure the 0404 is from Creative though, as i still have the original box which bears the "Creative" name on it. Maybe Creative bought up this E-MU company years ago.

My box is same with this except the Japanese wordings
akabane drjacker's EMU is from EMU brand itself
i did some search and found out, that creative bought over the whole EMU company and comes creative EMU Series, while before this creative were famous for it's live series.
and IMHO, the built quality of EMU brand looks better than Creative version of EMU.
and some review also conclude that EMU from EMU is better than EMU from creative.. WTF i am talking.. laugh.gif

Thread starter, put me in the list
i have TWO acs295, and one ATP3

This post has been edited by PcWork: Dec 15 2006, 10:39 AM
PcWork
post Dec 15 2006, 02:14 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 15 2006, 01:46 PM)
hi all...may i ask...is all sound card can compatible with all type of speaker???...eg:AL only can use certain tpe of sd,edifier only can use certain type of sd...can sum1 explain??....thanx biggrin.gif
no. normally sound card will use standard 3.5mm mini stereo plug, which is sort of Universal for all headphone / earphone.
though some headphone might come with big stereo plug (1/4" Stereo)
but they will comes with adapter so that u can plug it into3.5mm
some special soudcard like ESI / EMU0404 uses some different plugs, ESI using standard RCA line out, and emu0404 has it own custom breakout which built from D9 (serial port) plug.

but nothings else to worry, u can buy speaker, then change the cable.
for good example, i had sold some EMU0404 D9 breakout, and some Stereo-Rca plug for people use with AEGO M (which takes RCA) and stereo-stereo (standard speaker-sound card) and some RCA-RCA (ESI to Aego M).

hope this help.
normally we see RCA out, Stereo out, and on EMU0404 is D9 out, EMU1212 is phono plug (Big Mono plugs)
however, except EMU, RCA and stereo out is very common (perhaps 98% in the market, and can be changes through cable easily, and widely available.)
while EMU0404 and EMU1212 is a bit rare, but still common plugs we can find and do it ourself incase the plugs is damage/ missing.
so
Teorically, all sound card can support ALL speaker
except u can't put a 7.1 speaker into a 5.1 soundcard.
or EMU0404 (stereo, 2.0/2.1) into edifier R501 MKII (5.1) else u will only get two channel sound.
PcWork
post Dec 15 2006, 02:49 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 15 2006, 02:29 PM)
but if 5.1 sd use for 2.1 speaker no prob rite/??...better to buy7.1 sound card terus for future use???or if 2.1 sound card give more/optimum performance  for 2.1 speaker?
no problems.
but it's not how many channel u should put in first place. normally people will buy soundcard according to it's sound quality.
and the spec. because most of sound card in market is mostly 5.1 already.

PcWork
post Dec 15 2006, 03:02 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 15 2006, 02:56 PM)
okay...thanx.. biggrin.gif
perhaps u can get philips pc805.
it perform pretty well and it's a multichannel soundcard (5.1)

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 13 2006, 12:11 AM)
laugh.gif i'm quoting the price of Midi Specialist leh, your cables are much much cheaper smile.gif

EMU not from Creative? The full name for the 0404 card is "Creative Professional EMU0404" wo laugh.gif
i will be very appreciate rclxm9.gif if u want to pay me extra or same amount as midi specialist.. =P

This post has been edited by PcWork: Dec 15 2006, 03:24 PM
PcWork
post Dec 15 2006, 09:26 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 15 2006, 05:34 PM)
icon_idea.gif lolz you'll never stop persuading me to get a cable from you!
well i didn't
=)
at least i stop making cable now.
=P
no point on keep poison u. while i can't offering u the cable.lol

PcWork
post Dec 16 2006, 11:20 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Dec 16 2006, 03:38 AM)
AegoM is for mid-range freq. enthusiast's only.. laugh.gif
if u has a chance, go and have a listen. it's tend to emphasis slightly on mid range.
does not mean it only produce mid range, and has bass and treble weak...
it's treble and bass is consider one of the best already.
=)

PcWork
post Dec 16 2006, 09:46 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 16 2006, 12:04 PM)
I saw the latest Altec Lansing  FX4021, it was a tad more expensive than MX5021 but I was wondering how good is the sound quality, the shop refused to let me listen to it unless I wanted to buy. Any comments on this new model? How does it compare?
IMHO, i go to a shop in ikano there.
there's one big computer shop has MX4021, not as impressive as MX5021.

PcWork
post Dec 18 2006, 05:29 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(yEsorNo @ Dec 18 2006, 05:27 PM)
Calling all MX5021 owner..

mind to share how you place your speakers and its setting?

Probably can arrange this way..
sound card -> setting -> software -> setting -> arrangement

my humble arrangement will be:
SB Audigy 2 value -> nope -> ttplayer -> nope -> satelites are wall mounted (slightly higher than my ear level) and sub at left hand side, near corner.

Maybe by sharing this way of arrangment, we can have better way of experiecing the musics....
what is the nope in between?
PcWork
post Dec 26 2006, 06:48 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Dec 26 2006, 10:43 AM)
hey guys...merry christmas... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

as u all know i have cs21... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i wnna make the sound more nice....and wat i had in my mind is :

1. buy external sound card or]
2. buy atp3 so i use 2 speaker at 1 time....

both in the same range budget....sifu's, advice please.... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
i suggest buy external sound card, such as optoplay or pc805.
make it sounds better.

PcWork
post Dec 27 2006, 08:44 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 27 2006, 01:13 AM)
biggrin.gif normal import-from-China ones will do lo... Yulong is quite reputable and it won't cost an arm.
aiks... for me, yu long cost me an leg already.. i am poor though..
=P
zhao lu is cheaper right?
paring it with HD600 and KSC75 is REALLY REALLY REALLY good..

PcWork
post Dec 29 2006, 11:04 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

weired, should dont have a different between stereo and RCA out...
=P

PcWork
post Dec 30 2006, 11:57 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(eddychstu @ Dec 30 2006, 11:34 AM)
the difference is there when u use PCwork's Audio cable  laugh.gif
lol... =P
iklas or not oh...
=P
hahaa anyway, hope u are happy with those cable i made. spend several hours on it.
PcWork
post Dec 30 2006, 09:05 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(ATI.Bob @ Dec 30 2006, 12:58 PM)
LOL... if PC Work's wires are that good, maybe I should really consult u for my replacement wires once I got my MX5021... biggrin.gif
haha, u may come to try when i go back to KL.

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 30 2006, 05:25 PM)
Hi Bro,

I guess you can open an audio cable company liao seeing that you got good references from the members here. Just remember not to forget about me once you become famous when your cables are rated 5 stars by What Hi-Fi UK 2007 ya.  rclxms.gif
lol. i am just too "un-mature" to start an company, either for my skill / and my sosial relation...i just tried my best to make good cable, and bring it with affordable price to our friends who need an upgrade / custom cable.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Dec 30 2006, 09:06 PM
PcWork
post Dec 31 2006, 01:09 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Dec 31 2006, 12:45 AM)
You just need a stereo to stereo cable, correct me if i'm mistaken.
I'm using a MX5021 too, with PcWork stereo to stereo cable, attached to an Audigy 2 ZS.
I'm very happy with the sound, compare to the stock cable of course.
When i'm playing NFS:C, the engine sound go boom boom laugh.gif
you are right pals. glad u like'em
=)

0.0431sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:21 AM