PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

PcWork
post Jan 5 2007, 03:32 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Jan 2 2007, 12:59 AM)
Okay, troubles occured, i mean me.
What's a Van den Hul CS122 Hybrid speaker cable?
In simple is it a Stereo to Stereo cable?
If yes, i also changed it already.
I use PcWork DIY cable, the name show be Carane, or something like that.
And how you changed the wiring inside the subwoofer?
Very interested to know.
van de hul is another brand, but much more expensive than canare. i personally tested van de hul clear water cable. doesn't really impressed me. that cable sell for RM 74 per meter. just bare cable. =P

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Jan 3 2007, 12:29 AM)
IMO, get FX6021 instead.
Cause more cables choice, can use stereo output, and RCA output.
I think RCA would be nicer than stereo.
RCA and stereo theorically no different, and IMHO 6021 sucks big time, compare to MX5021...

QUOTE(vpam5221 @ Jan 3 2007, 12:51 AM)
Just bumped in to this forum...... which reminds me..

i own 45.1 and ACS 295........ damn good speakers.. mu opinion better that a lot of todays speakers...

But, i have i problem
THe subwoffer for my ACS 295 had stop firing...... the satellite works fine but the subwoofers is just making buzzing sound... opened up to look, nothing broken,,,,,,,

Anyone can know this can be repaired or not?????? or where to repair????

HELP
yay finally there's some one also owned ACS295. i have two set, one set working find, but another set, the transformer coil had burned out. no power.. =(

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 3 2007, 12:04 PM)
Dun panic, it will be a while before it is phased out here. Why do I say so? Well, like AL ATP 3, is has been phased out for a long time in other countries but you can still get a new one here and it's still available here. I highly doubt that MX5021 will disappear from the market just like that and many shops still selling it so don't worry.  smile.gif
Well, FX6021 is a little too sharp for my liking but there's a successor to FX6021 in the US and it is priced around RM1000 plus but not available here yet. Shocking price but I don't really know how does it sound like, hopefully, it's audiophile quality.
Why not sending it back to Ban Leong to get it repaired, they're the authorized distributor of Altec Lansing products in Malaysia. You can go to their website and and find their contact details.
ACS 295 and ACS 45.1 is not even brought in by ban leong... =P not sure the company exits or not during that time.

recently i open back my ATP3 from box.. and had an listening session, and i found out that song comming out from the ATP 3 has more "plastic" sound than my recent hear speaker (even compare to an oldies sony speaker (2.0) i got from saunato.)
and people singing from ATP 3 seems like having slight running nose.. =P not sure it's damage or not, but i gived the ATP 3 to my eldest brother for gaming purpose.
through observation, the unit is working prefectly find, no cable degradation and so on.. =) not even a scratch on it.

and the PT6021 is no different with an usual FX6021 except for the universial remote control that included in the package.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jan 5 2007, 03:37 PM
PcWork
post Jan 28 2007, 08:59 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

it is retailed at that price. anyplace also u can get.
the mines selling RM 530-RM 540.

PcWork
post Mar 18 2007, 06:22 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

New ATP3 satelite.

Old ATP3 Satelite

difference :
1. Old satelite is taller, roughly 1 inches.
2. Old satelite has thicker plastic
3. Old satelite doesn't tilt on the bottom. they just jack it up with sponge, but not the plastic itself to have angel the mid range.
4. Old ATP3 is very heavy. Old ATP3 Woofer alone is heavier than whole set of New ATP3 including box.
5. Old ATP3 woofer is 18W all right. New ATP3 has lower watt on the woofer, according to what i search, it's using 14-15W But new ATP3 still include the old ATP3 user manual, which written 18W RMS of the woofer.
6. Old ATP3 satelite and woofer driver have dot pattern on it. while new ATP3 is smooth driver, which is softer.
7. Old ATP3 sounds much better. bass is really deep and powerful. new ATP3 woofer can shake seriously when you blass it slightly louder.

From what i see, even though the model name is the same, but i think the design is totaly different. and it is higher possibilities that the new ATP3 is produced by different factory owned by Altec.
from what i listen, older ATP3 can "almost" fight the sound quality of MX5021. and it definately on par with CS21, or 601.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Mar 18 2007, 06:25 PM
PcWork
post Mar 18 2007, 07:23 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Mar 18 2007, 07:05 PM)
Okay since you all talking about ATP3, i'm going to tell the owners something really cool.
Do you all notice that when you all listening on someone singing, the singer sounded like he/she is having a running nose? laugh.gif
Try on some high vocal tracks, you all will notice it.
YEAH the nose sound is so heavy..
hahahahaha..

PcWork
post Apr 10 2007, 08:28 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Apr 10 2007, 12:23 PM)
Hey another ACS 45.1 Black user here. Got it in 2002 Disember in PWTC Pc fair. Still having it & love it so much. Maybe because its the first stuff i ever bought using my own my money in my life. Bass still rocks but the tweeter seems to lose performance compared to my Edifier R401.

Worth every pain n sweat in my first job to own this speaker.  icon_rolleyes.gif
ACS45.1 doesn.t come with a tweeter, it only has a mid range.
how ever ACS295 does, it's an upgrade version of ACS45.1 with same woofer, same mid range but added tweeter.
R401 also has a physical tweeter, hence it can produce better high.

PcWork
post Aug 22 2007, 08:28 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 22 2007, 08:25 PM)
Altec Lansing is speaker expert, but totally not for headphones, just forget about it...  cool.gif  sweat.gif
no lah

i am proud owner of altec lansing IM716
hehehe
very nice
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
IM716 user Reporting in.
got it for RM 380 from walabies.
worth every single cent i paid..

This post has been edited by PcWork: Aug 22 2007, 08:29 PM
PcWork
post Sep 4 2007, 12:02 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 22 2007, 08:31 PM)
What aspect u proud for???because it can show u are a rich guy??? hmm.gif  hmm.gif haha, kidding only... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif I owner of this speaker too... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Added on August 22, 2007, 8:37 pm
Wa, rich... sweat.gif  sweat.gif can u share more about this headphone???like its sound quality or something u wan to say... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(xiong91 @ Aug 22 2007, 09:22 PM)
Respect Altec Lansing... great job for human's ears... will keep supporting Altec Lansing product.. but Altec Lansing IM716 headphone reli too expensive lah..RM380 for a headphone=.= ...
with this price, u can find many others brand good quality earphone adi....
the im716 sound quality is even easily overtake several headphone that cost more than RM 1.4K.
think about that.
this im716 using etymotic ER4P driver which the ER4P is selling at around RM 800.
to be honest. below RM 1K there's seldom a headphone / earphone that can overcome IM716 in term of sound accuracies, spatial sound stage, and the DETAIL.
try it and u will know.
imho, according to so many headphone i have. not even one can fight IM716, except Sennheiser HD580 which the price is currently around RM 900 new. that's different sound signature. and i won't say hd580 is better than im716.

however, mark my word that above statement were based on modded im716 (mod in term of removing the volume control and replace it with 27-33 ohm resistor.
with price of RM 380.. other headphone/ earphone within this price range is far far behind Im716 to be honest.
FAR.
and the price is very cheap for the sound it produce. other brand (etymotic / shure) offering same sound quality stuff will be around RM 800-RM 1099.
ngbh is selling shure E4C which cost RM 1299 before discount. and that things sound on par with im716 with different sound signature.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Sep 4 2007, 12:07 PM
PcWork
post Nov 13 2007, 10:26 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(H-TWO-O @ Nov 13 2007, 10:09 PM)
ACS295 user here....

this is an old speaker and i bought it 8 years ago...
it stll performing well...
yo
i oso have acs295.
it's really not bad.

PcWork
post Jul 4 2008, 01:47 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 15 2008, 11:39 AM)
ya, last semester i really can't enjoy movie and songs in my room, for me the bass is cukup cukup only, but when the bass pass through the wall it become more stronger and gave impact to my neighbour sad.gif ...

Woofer placement will affect the bass outcome, change audio cable won't affect the bass sound and you are misleading ppl here... mad.gif
changing cable to higher impedance and lower capacitance can increases the bass respond. take the cable as a series resistor which connects between your speaker and woofer.
the cable will alter the balance of treble / bass.
if your cable is naturally lack in high frequencies,. then you will get impression of stronger bass. while using better cable, might as well pull outs the mid and high. so you don't need such high volume to get the actual volume, hence u will feel the bass is decreased.

but on some specific cable. bass can be reduce / enhanced.
for example. silver cable usually has less bass as compared to copper cable which has better bass extension.

0.0188sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:15 PM