4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

ATI.Bob
post Feb 13 2007, 11:03 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Feb 12 2007, 12:12 PM)
haha... true... tested MX5021 before i bought CS21... and here is some review and comparison of both speakers...

http://www.behardware.com/articles/493-12/...er-systems.html

according to this website, overall sound quality CS21 get 8 and MX5021 got 6.5... but highest is FX6021 which are much more expensive...

anyway, shinjun, im using a SB audigy 4... i don't really recommend it but it comes with a remote and its sound much better than a intergrated SC...
Those reviews are very subjective.. maybe the reviewer just doesn't like the boom-boom-boom bass of MX5021..? plus there's definately a few noticable flaws with it.. like audible hissing noise from tweeter when listened close distance, and low rumble noise from the woofer when put in standby mode.. whistling.gif
ATI.Bob
post Feb 14 2007, 02:02 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

if you're a basshead, I'll advise you to go ahead and buy Logitech.. Altec's bass is not really suitable for bass heads anyway (based on my assumption of u using VS4121.. j/k) .. tongue.gif
ATI.Bob
post Feb 14 2007, 12:44 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Feb 14 2007, 10:14 AM)
haha... promoting logitech in Altec Lansing Fan thread... but you are a MX5021 user right ?? not satisfy with it ??
No ler.. just a suggestion.. haha.. tongue.gif I'm fine with my MX5021.. just that I miss my headbanging sessions with my old Edifier headbanger.. laugh.gif

MX5021's bass is loud too, just that the sub doesn't cut in too early to make R&B/techno music sound sweeter.. tongue.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 1 2007, 12:34 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Mar 1 2007, 11:40 AM)
As for Penang price, the lowest I bought for my MX5021 is RM530. I heard that the price went up a little as the supplier is running low on stocks. Another disturbing rumour is that MX5021 is gonna phased out, not sure whether it's true or not, maybe you guys can shed some light.
QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 1 2007, 12:04 PM)
Phased out?
Really mou? In ipoh, d lowest price is RM530 too..
When u bought this speaker?
priced was hiked up a little.. in Sarawak, it's retailing around rm600++.. sweat.gif

about the phasing out of MX5021's.. there's a slight chance that is PROBABLY true..
check the US altec lansing site (http://www.alteclansing.com/product_details_MX5021_OOS.asp) and see the MX5021 page, you'll see it's out of stock at the moment.. whistling.gif probably it's just out of stock, or they'll discontinue it eventually and replace it with the FX4021 models? shocking.gif doh.gif

and just for all Altec fan boiz.. The CS21 is most PROBABLY already being phased out.. so grab one while u still can.. sweat.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 1 2007, 12:41 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Mar 1 2007, 12:37 PM)
i saw MX5020 at Sri Computer's price list laugh.gif selling for RM378

small brother of the 5021...without the big mama subwoofer summore biggrin.gif
it's more like without the big mama subwoofer and minus another mid-range driver too.. laugh.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 3 2007, 11:53 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 3 2007, 02:33 PM)
FX4021 has dual coid subwoofer, isn't same with ada 885?
FX4021 (and the surround version) uses a twin woofer in an isobaric configuration.. which technically can produce lower bass at half of the cabinet space of non-isobaric woofers..

TECHNICALLY... laugh.gif

I think they messed it up somewhere.. rolleyes.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 7 2007, 09:37 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

From what I know, the Logitech only had wireless rear speakers.. tongue.gif

Please do strictly keep on the topic of Altecs only? biggrin.gif I suppose there's another equivalent forum for that kind of question too.. laugh.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 9 2007, 09:59 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 9 2007, 07:53 PM)
I just bought MX5021 not more than 1 week. I bought at Ipoh Yik Fong with RM530. Nice treble and nice bass. If u not require a heavy bass speaker, better u go get other speaker!
Altec Lansing MX5021 has THX certified. This speaker is good to watch movie and also listen music. But the only 1 thing is this speaker is quite expensive, if you bought MX5021 only use for Ipod to listen music, i think u shell get other speaker.
Considering those iPod speakers that cost more than the MX5021, while sounding not really producing sufficient bass, I'd prefer a full sounding multimedia speaker rather than those iPod speakers.. but for pure aesthetics, thos iPod speakers are real nice to compliment any living space.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Mar 9 2007, 10:00 PM
ATI.Bob
post Mar 13 2007, 08:11 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Mar 13 2007, 05:01 PM)
i wanna ask... CS21 specification in www.alteclansing.com wrote that it has a "Headphone Jack – For private listening."... i wonder where is it... coz buying a headphone soon... hehe...
If not mistaken, it's on the right satelite where the controls are..

CS21 users please reconfirm.. smile.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 18 2007, 08:39 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Mar 18 2007, 08:14 PM)
i own a VS4121, and old ATP3 and An MX5021..

no the old ATP 3 cannot fight the MX5021 at all. cause i tried it
Power, no.. clarity, given both are at the same volume within ATP3's limit, maybe.. if what PcWork said is correct.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nocar @ Mar 18 2007, 08:22 PM)
Please describe the sound of singing while having a 'runny nose'? I never heard it coz normally singer will not perform if he/she got a runny nose....
Try singing and cover your nose at the same time.. I suppose it's that kind of sound.. tongue.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 25 2007, 11:16 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(yukihatsu @ Mar 25 2007, 10:35 PM)
hi, i'm currently using AL VS2121 (cheap speaker) tongue.gif... my question is, will the sound be better if i use an external sound card? (using the on-board sound card now)..
Most probably not.. better get a better speaker.. heck, even MX5021 sounds nice on my iBook G4 built-in sound card, which I'm currently using it now.. laugh.gif
ATI.Bob
post Mar 26 2007, 12:32 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 25 2007, 11:50 PM)
You are using Apple laptop?
Occaionally.. but mainly using my main windows laptop.. smile.gif

Added on March 26, 2007, 12:34 am
QUOTE(Oxburg @ Mar 26 2007, 12:28 AM)
hmm y u say so le? when i buy FX i tested MX and FX both and tat time i figure out the MX clarity not so good and the max volume not ask high as FX while in the high volume some distortion is noticeable ......btw how ur opinion.
FX6021 has a clearer treble than MX5021.. while both can go loud, MX5021's treble can get harsh at loud volumes.. the only solution is to tune down the treble.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Mar 26 2007, 12:34 AM
ATI.Bob
post Apr 7 2007, 06:03 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

Anyone ever had problems with their MX5021 controller pods?

Mine's been acting weird recently.. it sometimes can't remember its bass and treble settings, even though the indicator is correct as my previous adjusted setting (treble @ 2/5 near 3; bass @ 3/5 nearing 4), the treble is way sharper and the bass is softer than usual.. a slight move to the control dial brings back the treble in the sound output.. sames goes with the bass..

This speaker is starting to rub on my nerves from the issues with the unavoidable hissing.. till the insensitive remote controller that i need to somehow wake it up from sleep sometimes (read: press twice after inactive for a long time)..

Now coming to this.. I just can't seem to tolerate that much for what I've paid for.. doh.gif

Guess out it goes to the retailer again.. doh.gif doh.gif vmad.gif
ATI.Bob
post Apr 7 2007, 06:40 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(DotA 5.84C -AR @ Apr 7 2007, 06:32 PM)
how long time u use your MX5021?
Less than 3 months.. doh.gif

Either mine is an isolated case, or Altec's starting the same method crap-sizing their speakers with shoddy materials.. (same fate as the legendary ATP3?)
ATI.Bob
post Apr 10 2007, 01:46 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Apr 10 2007, 11:12 AM)
Not that normal bap..it like small menthol break  hmm.gif
Sometimes i listen songs, the "bap" sound appear rclxub.gif
I suppose you left your bass setting to high.. the 'brap' sound that you mentioned might came from the sub's cloth grille.. which vibrates and hits the driver when it's on extremely loud volumes.. try holding the cloth back when it happens and see if it's the cloth grille that causes that noise..

And again.. anyone experience the MX5021's controller 'forgetting' the actual bass and treble settings (not on the indicator level)..? I hate to pack up the speaker to send it for warranty especially when I can't actually reproduce the fault consistenly.. However.. the problem does occur especially when the power is cut from the speaker set.. from the plug that is, not via the 'power' button on the control pod nor the remote standby button..
ATI.Bob
post Apr 10 2007, 11:05 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Apr 10 2007, 11:12 AM)
Not that normal bap..it like small menthol break  hmm.gif
Sometimes i listen songs, the "bap" sound appear rclxub.gif
Check the cloth grille at the subwoofer.. try holding it back next time u hear the 'bap' sound.. mine only have that kind of sound if i turn the volume really loud (3+) while listening to trance songs with hard hitting bass..

QUOTE(sunauto @ Apr 10 2007, 01:58 PM)
That's normal for MX5021, you need to connect the power cable to the mains switch without switching off the mains switch so that the settings won't lari. If not, you'll need to set the bass and treble settings again. It applies to all electrical items, including my Yamaha amp. You can switch off your MX5021 but do not switch off the mains switch.
The weird thing is the LED indicator is correct, just the sound coming out is wrong.. doh.gif does your MX5021 behaves like that?

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Apr 10 2007, 02:36 PM)
i hope this question has not been brought up but what is the difference between the MX5021 and MX5021WHT... sorry if its a repeated question
Aside from the colour difference, the white coloured version (a.k.a. MX5021WHT) doesn't have cloth grille covering the subwoofer while the black version have a cloth grille over the sub..

QUOTE(narkon @ Apr 10 2007, 08:03 PM)
not cs21 la...cs21 dont have that prob as far as i know... biggrin.gif
climacool use mx 5021 lor....
CS21 only have digital volume control.. bass settings is adjusted using an analog potentiometer.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Apr 10 2007, 11:07 PM
ATI.Bob
post May 21 2007, 01:14 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

MX5021 users here, could you guys post a picture of your satelite driver? There seems to be different types used.. doh.gif
ATI.Bob
post May 21 2007, 10:08 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 21 2007, 09:53 PM)
Yup, there are different types, my MX5021 is heavier than my uncle's MX5021 (just bought 3 months ago). It seems like the materials are not the same like last time. It's like comparing the original ATP3 with the latest design.
I presume current batches have smooth-curved satelite drivers while older batches have the 'bumped-in' look on the sat drivers (shown below)..

Why oh why Altec have to do this.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: May 21 2007, 10:08 PM
ATI.Bob
post May 21 2007, 11:53 PM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ May 21 2007, 11:16 PM)
Then which batch better? planning to get one la....But from the ap3 trend, i think i know the answer dy dry.gif
Not sure if it's right, but I don't suppose the sound quality is comproised much (hopefully).. if you're lucky, you still might be able to get the older batch if it's still around.. smile.gif
ATI.Bob
post Jun 12 2007, 11:46 AM

∞ possibilities™
798 posts

How I wish I could void my warranty and mod the sats.. laugh.gif Too bad that my controller just went busted.. IR sensor malfunction, configuration memory malfunction.. need to send back for warranty.. doh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0517sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:50 PM