QUOTE(PcWork @ Dec 30 2006, 09:05 PM)
u in miri now? I'm staying in sarawak too.. but not Miri ler.. PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age
PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age
Dec 30 2006, 11:46 PM
798 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Dec 31 2006, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 31 2006, 03:06 PM) QUOTE(lAh0S @ Dec 31 2006, 04:24 PM) But at last i also invest in MX5021, and gave my ATP3 to my gf. My gf also love ATP3 very much, i mean love me more la, ATP3 lesser a bit. When i ask why, she said don't know. QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 31 2006, 04:44 PM) QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 31 2006, 08:48 PM) Don't you guys think recent ATP3's feels a bit 'cheap'? both sound and material wise.. |
Dec 31 2006, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 31 2006, 09:39 PM) Come on lah Bro, for less than RM170, what do you expect? MX5021 quality? ATP3 ain't that bad, it's still better than most competing brands and has won many awards before. I mean recent batches ler.. QUOTE Don't you guys think recent ATP3's feels a bit 'cheap'? both sound and material wise.. |
Jan 2 2007, 11:35 PM
I think MX5021 is being phased out in the US market.. check the US website, they still list it, but it stated there as 'outdated'...
hopefully it's still available here.. want to get MX5021 soon... real soon.. like tomorrow.. |
Jan 3 2007, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 3 2007, 12:04 PM) Dun panic, it will be a while before it is phased out here. Why do I say so? Well, like AL ATP 3, is has been phased out for a long time in other countries but you can still get a new one here and it's still available here. I highly doubt that MX5021 will disappear from the market just like that and many shops still selling it so don't worry. Confirmed one unit.. should be arriving around the middle of January... Well, FX6021 is a little too sharp for my liking but there's a successor to FX6021 in the US and it is priced around RM1000 plus but not available here yet. Shocking price but I don't really know how does it sound like, hopefully, it's audiophile quality. The FX6021 'successor' model is PT6021.. from specs, it has a lower power rating than the FX6021.. and I'd remember it is listed under professional audio section some time ago... *edit* found the official PT6021 page.. http://www.alteclansing.com/product_details.asp?pID=PT6021 The 'professional audio' version SLS6221 page is here.. http://www.altecpro.com/products/powered/index.htm strangely, they both look similar and have similar specs... This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Jan 3 2007, 07:01 PM |
Jan 27 2007, 08:59 PM
Finally got my own MX5021.. will write a mini review later..
BTW.. anyone knows how to remove the cloth grille on the sats and the sub? |
Jan 28 2007, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 28 2007, 12:43 AM) Well, use your finger nail to ply it open, not too difficult but when it's new, it's harder to remove, that's normal, not to worry. Without the grill, the sound is slightly better. I'd try it when I'm free.. But I think i'll be leaving it on most of the times because dust might stain the drivers and the surface.. plus I don't want my friends poking the drivers out of the sudden.. Okay.. my initial comments on the MX5021.. just after a few hours of usage.. First impressions of the speakers to me was how big and impressive the whole set looks, although it wasn't that big if u really measure it.. maybe I just wasn't used to seeing big speakers or probably it was placed next to other dwarf-lings.. Placement of the sub isn't what you call a wall hugging setup already.. it's a few feet from the walls, but still at near-corner position.. sats are placed around 3 feet apart, and 3 feet from me.. Onto test drive.. using my own Acer TravelMate 3202XCi laptop.. currently still using the onboard AC'97 Played a few MP3's, FLAC and CDs.. techno/electronic music sounds different on the Altec when compared to my old Edifier X600 boomer.. the bass is more taut/tight.. but I can get used to that.. Tried some oldies CDs.. they just sound clear and nice.. with emphasis on the vocals.. can't really comment much coz they're oldies.. and they sound they sounded just like what it should sound.. (whatever that means..) Rock songs seems to be a little too harsh on the MX5021.. some of the softer snares seems recessed into the background (maybe recording error?).. All in all, I'd prefer to have the treble turn a little less than half of the max.. and bass at the level 3-4.. but turned up to 5 when I need the oomph.. The bass produced gives more low end thump than a hum.. and with so much power under the hood, I didn't notice it was already so loud (can hear the bass and vocals clearly outside my room and downstairs) that my ears started to get a little painful just with 2-3/5 volume levels.. (Windows settings at ~50%).. and the sound stage is really nice.. compared to X600.. and watched an episode of DVD-quality Happy Feet, the bass doesn't kick in in places that X600 starts to hum.. but in scenes like the part where mumble was alone and attacked by the seals (was that a seal? Will continue using it for a while and unite it with PSC805 soon more comments coming soon.. This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Jan 28 2007, 01:13 AM |
Jan 28 2007, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 28 2007, 01:14 AM) The speakers need to warm up first, after a few hundred hours, the sound will be more open and the bass won't be too stiff and artificial. Believe me, you'll notice the difference, just keep on feeding it with some music and movies. I knew about the whole 'burn in' habit of most speaker enthusiast.. been there, done that.. so I'd agree burning in does gives it a 'more complete' sound.. so i'm planning to play it as usual first.. maybe turn up the volume a bit for some head banging session.. This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Jan 28 2007, 01:26 AM |
Jan 28 2007, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 28 2007, 10:12 AM) Bro, where did you get your MX5021 from? How much is it? I'm glad that there's another happy MX5021 user Got it in Sarawak.. A black coloured unit.. retail pricing here is around RM600 for MX5021.. really expensive due to the transportation fees added in... Thanks I really admire the looks.. |
Jan 28 2007, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(s[H]sIkuA @ Jan 28 2007, 08:08 PM) Dunno how to explain.. hehe.. something that i'm not used to.. probably because of too much listening to my old Edifier X600 set.. Overall is a good set.. the bass is similar to the old ACS45.1 system.. a very low end thump (maybe the result of low crossover point) but is more defined and more 'accurate' ![]() plus the mids and treble are good.. still in the process of burning in.. |
Jan 28 2007, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 28 2007, 10:07 PM) Wow, really? I asked the shops at Summit but they are selling at RM570.. Seems like the price had been hiked a little compared to last year.. Btw, anyone tried pairing the MX5021 with the Little Dot 2+? How does is perform? Little Dot 2+? I thought it's an headphone amp? In my opinion, you should pair it to an amp that has more midrange and treble warmth since MX5021 has a little too much treble and mids emphasis to my taste.. so it's more listen-able all-rounder.. Probably I'm just not used to speakers emphasising on mids and treble.. This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Jan 28 2007, 10:20 PM |
Jan 30 2007, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 30 2007, 11:33 AM) ahahaha...now oso got dy...but my 1st gf is still my cs21 la....2nd is my real gf...hehehehe sorry to budge into the conversation between u two.. thats y la...so kedekut to give cuti... in ur opinion,wat is the best 2.1 speaker that is resonable and superb?? i mean overall...all brands... and,does 5.1 speaker have sound better than 2.1 speaker system?? but in my opinion, everyone has their own taste of speakers.. I realise it when I got my own MX5021.. for example.. some might love MX5021 because it has strong mids and highs and a taut bass.. while some like Logitech/Klipsch for its 'rounder' boomier bass reproduction.. so everyone have their own definition of 'best speaker'.. QUOTE(narkon @ Jan 30 2007, 11:33 AM) ahahaha...now oso got dy...but my 1st gf is still my cs21 la....2nd is my real gf...hehehehe For me, there's no point of up-mixing a stereo source for 5.1 playback right? so if what you do is listening to music, a 2.1 set would be sufficient.. getting a 5.1 setup (together with the cable mess) is only worth if you're serious in surround movies and gaming.. thats y la...so kedekut to give cuti... in ur opinion,wat is the best 2.1 speaker that is resonable and superb?? i mean overall...all brands... and,does 5.1 speaker have sound better than 2.1 speaker system?? Heck, for movies that's downloaded from BT sites, they're good enough for 2.1 sets already... |
Jan 30 2007, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Jan 30 2007, 07:15 PM) If I'm not wrong, tweeters are supposed to be responsible for producing high frequency sounds (I think these makes the sound clearer and sharper). Logitech speakers do not have them, thus the sound produced is on the muffled side. Logitech speakers usually incorporate the so called 'phase plug' technology into their full range drivers, which are supposed to be something similar to a tweeter, but I don't think it's as effective as an actual tweeter though.. |
Jan 31 2007, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(miliardo83 @ Jan 31 2007, 06:57 PM) Wow~~ I have try the Q Acoustic 1010 in SS2 here... Excellent speaker... with excellent treble and middle... excellent "punch" of bass, with a soft bass... You can go and try it... <RM1,000's speaker... Altec MX5021 and CS21.. and Aego M (some people recommend it for its excellent mid-treble range sounds) could be under your consideration.. MX5021 and CS21 has more 'punch' that you want I suppose.. The cons is the bass is too soft... it need to pair with a good subwoofer... |
Feb 1 2007, 12:27 AM
Feb 3 2007, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(Aquanox28 @ Feb 3 2007, 11:02 PM) I went to LYP today hoping to get a set of MX5021 at a reasonable price. But was I disappointed. I heard from some forumers that this model is being sold at around RM530. So, I asked around the shops to see if I was able to get the price. However, they were offering RM545-570. I think the price has been hiked up this year.. retail around Sarawak is something around RM6xx++.. One of the shop who offered me thr pricetag of RM545 even said, "At this price, I only earn RM10". Is it true? If it is, I should have just bought it at the area nearer to my place, instead of spending half my day to go down to LYP.. I hope to get enlightment regarding the prices of this MX5021.. |
Feb 7 2007, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(Faint @ Feb 7 2007, 12:48 AM) Hi all Altec Lansing owners, can i know is it Altec Lansing MX 5021 got 2 model? 2 models? 2 colours have lar.. Usual one is black.. MX5021.. white one is called MX5021-WHT.. if got, Can post some photo? lAh0s have the white version while I have the black one.. from comparison, the only obvious difference is 1. the colour, and 2. the sub on the white coloured one doesn't come with a cloth grille while the black version comes with a cloth grille.. Added on February 7, 2007, 1:07 am QUOTE(themagnificentman @ Feb 7 2007, 12:28 AM) its bass reproduction is different from, for example, Klipsch GMX or Logitech Z-xxx.. it's tighter, more thump and less hum.. This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Feb 7 2007, 01:07 AM |
Feb 7 2007, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(Faint @ Feb 7 2007, 01:27 PM) Oh, thanks for ur information!!!! Either colour gets stained easily.. by fingerprints and dust of course.. the sats are covered with a glossy finish.. so it's a fingerprint magnet.. I prefer black color coz its include clothe grille With this, i think spekaer will not easily get dirty!!! |
Feb 8 2007, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(incinerate @ Feb 8 2007, 04:50 PM) Hi guys, I'm on a lookout for 2.1 speakers and came across Altec FX4021. Anyone owns one? Would like to know the comparison between FX4021 and MX5021 Never heard FX4021 personally, but many said it's much inferior to the MX5021.. Thanks Specificication wise, MX5021 pwns FX4021.. FX4021's sub is in isobaric configuration.. which (according to Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isobaric_speakers) delivers the same amount of frequency response with a smaller volume of enclosure space.. but many said it's not that effective.. design flaw maybe? This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Feb 8 2007, 05:55 PM |
Feb 8 2007, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(xtreme_paladin @ Feb 8 2007, 06:04 PM) Mids - tie, but I feel both of them has certain hollowness in some vocals (both uses polypropelene material). no wonder some tracks sounded weird.. QUOTE(xtreme_paladin @ Feb 8 2007, 06:04 PM) Some models of MX5021 has static hiss, changing the cable helps a lot. Altec speakers are notoriously known for static hiss. There is one more speaker I feel is more balanced and worth looking, the CS21 (disadvantage is that it has no remote control and no treble adjustment). But none of these models can match 621 and 641 models. I'd agree there's a considerable amount of hiss emitted form the tweeter, especially listened from less than 1 meter distance.. I wonder where you get the information that changing cable can help with the hiss? This post has been edited by ATI.Bob: Feb 8 2007, 06:12 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0406sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:06 PM |