PC Audio Altec Lansing Fans Club (approaching 90 members), Sound Leadership For The Digital Age

junclj
post May 6 2008, 12:39 AM

2,348 posts

Human audible frequency also call acoustic, 20hz - 20khz (20,000hz). Ultrasound is above 20khz.

Human cannot hear the sound which lower than 20hz and higher than 20khz. For example, if a sound deliver in 21khz, we cannot hear the sound because it is beyond our audible limit.

However, some animals are able to listen the sound beyond 20khz. For example, 20 - 30khz such like rodent, mouse, mosquito, fly and small insects. 50khz such like cockroach, flea, beetle and ticks. 65khz such like mite and bee. Bat can hear the sound up to 100khz. Even dogs also can hear higher frequency than human.

Acoustic, whatever human can listen is call acoustic. A music, a songs which playing by instruments and sing by a singer all are acoustic.
Of course the higher the frequency, the higher of treble and the lower the frequency the deeper of bass.

This is an example of an equalizer which shows the frequency.

Frequency below 1khz are more to bass and frequency above 1khz are more to treble. The higher frequency shows the more sharp of the treble. But usually for a song or music are between 30hz to 16khz (http://www.dak.com/reviews/Tutorial_frequencies.cfm). So, the treble for your speaker is sharp enough for those have 18khz and above. But don't forget this, you cannot hear the sound which over 20khz.

Below are Altec Lansing PC speakers shows their frequency response.
Altec Lansing - frequency response
VS2121................50hz - 18khz
VS2221................35hz - 20khz
VS2321................35hz - 20khz
VS2420................80hz - 20khz
VS2421................35hz - 20khz
VS3251................40hz - 17khz
VS4121................25hz - 15khz
VS4221................40hz - 20khz
BXR1120..............100hz - 20khz
BXR1121 .............30hz - 20khz
FX4021................32hz - 20khz
FX5051.................30hz - 20khz
FX6021................30hz - 18khz (Neodymium Magnet)
MX5021................30hz - 22khz
GTR5051..............33hz - 20khz
ATP3....................40hz - 18khz

This post has been edited by junclj: May 6 2008, 12:48 AM
junclj
post May 6 2008, 10:44 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM)
@ junclj
hah, don't know what you talking about...
hahahaa...
This is our basic science knowledge. Since we have studied in secondary school before. If you dunno about this you will lack of speakers knowledge.

Go to lelong and buy one pest repeller, bring back home and test the pest repeller. Then you will start to understand the theory of sound frequency.

watch this short video
http://sharebee.com/38f0f445

This post has been edited by junclj: May 6 2008, 10:51 AM
junclj
post May 7 2008, 03:49 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 6 2008, 05:18 PM)
Wow, junclj knows a lot of technical stuffs about sound. Does that mean when choosing speakers, we need to go for one which gives a higher frequency or the other way round?
Choose a speaker just like choose a computer, if we know well about the details then you will get benefits from it. I now just realize that VS4121 maximum frequency just 15KHz, no wonder you guys say it treble is suck.
junclj
post May 7 2008, 07:54 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(:+:[J]erR[y]:+: @ May 7 2008, 05:33 PM)
Do you ever hear the sound with frequency of 15Khz and 20Khz? Do you have special software?  blink.gif
I dun have special software, but you can try with a long plastic ruler. The higher frequency show the faster wave. You can try to use a long plastic ruler, put the ruler on the side of table. I dunno how to say, see picture.

Low Frequency

High Frequency

Low Frequency more to bass, high frequency more to treble.
junclj
post May 8 2008, 08:55 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(:+:[J]erR[y]:+: @ May 8 2008, 07:45 PM)
Hmm.. I'm science student and i know this as well.
What I wanna ask is about the relationship between the sound quality and the frequency.
Are our ears sensitive enough to differentiate the sound with frequency of 15Khz and 20Khz?  hmm.gif
You try adjust and play around the media player equalizer in your PC, the amplifier in the car or the equalizer of your house home theatre then you will know. One software you can use to test the frequency (Sony SoundForge). Sometimes you can use it to cut mobile phone mp3 ringtones.
junclj
post Nov 9 2008, 02:03 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Nov 9 2008, 12:11 AM)
So that means I won't be able to use the surround speakers? =(
Guess what is my model, this is my laptop with Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 and my speaker Altec Lansing FX5051 5.1 speaker.

This post has been edited by junclj: Nov 9 2008, 02:20 AM
junclj
post Nov 9 2008, 05:22 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Nov 9 2008, 04:33 PM)
... Oh. Any suggestions for a budget sound card? I'd like a good and cheap one. =)
You can either buy a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 or Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit External. Both external sound card are 24bit and support for 2.1, 4.1 and 5.1 speakers.

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 is RM250
Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit External is RM200

Just plug as simply as like that.

Or if you feel too expensive, you can buy others brand - Trust SC-5500P 5.1 External Surround Sound Card which is RM140.
This one can satisfy yourself with the lowest price and the sound is pretty good. This sound card have provide a CD to you to install and also you can modify and improve your sound through their sound utility. And also you can set your speaker to virtual 7.1 surround with their utility program. Not bad but the sound output just is 16-bit not 24-bit. 16-bit is enough for you listen to CD quality music.

junclj
post Nov 9 2008, 07:23 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Nov 9 2008, 06:32 PM)
Wow. Thanks for the detailed info jun, ... but... what's the difference between 16 and 24 bit? Sorry, I'm a newbie into the speakers division.
Simply say, digital sound is a wave sound which transfer in "bit". A bit different to analog which you listen n years before with your cassette.
16-bit is something like a CD sound quality. 24-bit is is something like a DVD sound quality.

But when you compare by digital with analog sound. Sometimes in digital wave sound, you cannot listen to some details in the music. Some of the sound listen like not nature, maybe the voice when you talking then after record into digital wave was change to another voice.

Analog sound is more details and more nature but a big problem is when you playing it such like a cassette. Sometimes fast and sometimes slow and also the big disadvantage is low fidelity.

If you obtain a Creative sound cards, you set their sound quality to 24-bit and 96KHz. You will feel that sound is better than a CD music. The sound is improved to more details during you listen a song. Higher bit generate more detailed voice. You will feel the sound is more nature than 16-bit.

But usually its not much different, you still can listen a high quality song at 16-bit. My own conclusion is, there have no different between 16-bit and 24-bit. I cannot listen out what are their difference with my sound card. Still 16-bit is a good standard for a digital wave sound.

I cannot explain too much because I not very expert about this.

This post has been edited by junclj: Nov 9 2008, 07:29 PM
junclj
post Nov 10 2008, 01:33 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ Nov 9 2008, 11:58 PM)
just got myself a vs4121 today.. hm.. i would say it is good enough for that price range... got try edifier m3300.. hmm.. not quite like it.. but the downside for vs4121 is that the bass is not solid enough...and the satellites are kinda choppy.. due to the stand design smile.gif

my 3rd altec lansing.. haha... though it is not as good as klipsch gmx.. but its cheaper! hehe
Another vs4121 victim. last time dunno who is so anti vs4121 here.
To prevent war begin, i better go back to trade zone section discuss international shipping issues. Actually I was bought that Trust SC-5500p from United Kingdom.
Of course, I am buying all the goods from overseas.
junclj
post Apr 30 2009, 12:33 AM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(lordvega08 @ Apr 28 2009, 09:21 PM)
hi all, i'm using FX4021 2.1 channel model, so fa so good
satisfied with the sound, and the bass is quite awesome
luv it biggrin.gif
Last time I forgot which Edifier fan guys always come in altec lansing section here insult the altec lansing speakers. Hope these guys won't be existed in here again. I think that guy is creating several duplicate accounts to incite the Altec Lansing users go to his Edifier fans club and lure all the Altec Lansing users go choose for the Edifier brand.
junclj
post Apr 30 2009, 03:34 PM

2,348 posts

Only support for Altec Lansing speakers.

Altec Lansing speakers nice in crisp and clean sound even though the subwoofer not as powerful as the others brand 12" inch subwoofer.

The main purpose for choosing Altec Lansing because we don't want the sound deliver from speakers were covered by the annoying subwoofer bass sound.

AL is a nice choice for users who did listen for pop, pop rock, ballad music.
junclj
post Apr 30 2009, 04:31 PM

2,348 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Apr 30 2009, 03:58 PM)
sweat.gif  shocking.gif  sweat.gif

btw, ears don't lie  cool.gif trust nobody but your ears.
Thats why i heard the Edifier sound in computer shops already.

This post has been edited by junclj: Apr 30 2009, 04:32 PM
junclj
post May 1 2009, 11:44 AM

2,348 posts

Frankly speaking, the Edifier speakers sounds too light. You know what I mean? I just speak out of my mind.

Of course, I'm not talking about the high end Edifier like S530 and S550, I just talking about the RM200-300 Edifier.

0.0410sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:57 PM