Sony XPERIA™ Z1, Official Thread V2, 5"FHD, 20.7MP-GLens (lossless D. Zoom)

stringfellow
post Sep 24 2013, 09:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Getting mine, hopefully tomorrow.
stringfellow
post Sep 24 2013, 09:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 24 2013, 09:30 PM)
Not getting iPhone 5S?
Grown tired with the iPhone already. I've come to a point where I dont even bother to try to get it early. Plus, all the scalping and cutthroat pricing made me disgusted with the iPhone scene already.
stringfellow
post Sep 24 2013, 09:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kaisergan @ Sep 24 2013, 09:44 PM)
Iphone 5S: But but.....you can unlock me with your nipple, take me home please  sad.gif
Dont get me wrong, I'll still get one, but I'm more excited about Z1 + QX100 combo than the 5S. Am going to Frankfurt on 26th, planning to scour Saturn and MediaMarkt there for the QX100. Release date QX100 is tomorrow in Germany.
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 05:42 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Hoyeah! Just checked Saturn and MediaMarkt in Frankfurt, they have stock for QX100! WOOHOO! Going in less than 48 hours! Perfect addon for the Z1! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 25 2013, 05:43 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 06:02 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 25 2013, 05:56 AM)
doh.gif convert to RM?
If you had to ask the price...tongue.gif It's for me anyway, those who want cheap, then I suggest wait for it to come to Malaysia. I don't base my purchases on Malaysian releases timetable.
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 08:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup, mine was promised today got delayed all the way back to October 4th. Then it's no different than the actual release date given to my Sony Style contact. Might as well stick buying from them. The only allure of getting from my current seller is that he promises release today. If that is not the case, might as well either I get one faster elsewhere as AP, or wait ori from authorised Sony centers.

Sigh, this country everything also slow......
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 08:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(+ @ Sep 25 2013, 08:16 PM)
no need pay deposit meh
My seller pay back my deposit. I made a point against him that I've asked him to confirm with me TWICE that he can get it today, else I wasn't interested. He said yes. The very act that he cant do so, means I get my deposit back as well.

I dont like waiting. I never stick to slow local releases. My phones are mostly AP units that I make sure they work with local bands. Especially critical now since I am using LTE with my phones. My Lumia 1020 however is a special case, I got it for the phone, so even though its LTE band doesn't work here (Mine is AT&T Lumia 1020), I'm fine with HSDPA on it.
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 10:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(lilzany @ Sep 25 2013, 09:40 PM)
true.. same Gameloft games are needing 3GB. quite crazy but won't they install to SD?

I haven't been playing games for a long time now so I am immune to it...but mobile games bores me easily so I can see uninstalling the games I don't play. what I really need now is fast switching between whatsapp, GPS, phonecall, and browser without the super  ohmy.gif lag...

so wow yeah I can't wait haha
I've relegated my Android gaming platform from phone to my Nvidia Shield. 16GB for normal apps should be enough. Not that I dont welcome bigger capacities though. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 10:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Folder Mount works, but you have to root your Android device. I've installed more than 20GB worth of games onto a 64GB microSDXC card when I had my SGS4 with its paltry 7GB free internal memory.

Problem is, rooting the Z1 now, at least when reported a few days back, will mess up the Z1 camera. http://www.xda-developers.com/android/unlo...-breaks-camera/
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 11:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Correct me if I'm wrong then, but why would anyone unlock bootloaders other than to install custom ROMs and run rooted apps? In which this case, Folder Mount need root permission to do so?
stringfellow
post Sep 25 2013, 11:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kaisergan @ Sep 25 2013, 11:34 PM)
Root a phone and you have administration access such as changing the system file and stuff, therefore allow you to use rooted apps. But for unlocked bootloader, you able to change the rom and kernel, kernel is like windows bios, which is whole lot different story, it defines how the machine communicate with the software, thus allow overclocking and stuff like that. Sorry if my explanation is not clear enough. sweat.gif
So, in the context of what I posted against the previous restrictions of limited internal storage and expansion using Folder Mount, I was correct then, wouldn't you agree? The Folder Mount recommendation was in response to this conversation below:

QUOTE(lilzany @ Sep 25 2013, 10:30 PM)
this is what I don't like. before Jellybean all games knows how to self install into SDcard. now they are not doing this?
QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Sep 25 2013, 10:32 PM)
Not AFAIK unless you use a root/hack method to partition your MicroSD card for installation/app usage etc.

Correct me if I am wrong.
And to use Folder Mount, root access is required, in which also implies unlocking bootloader. And unlocking bootloader = messed up Z1 camera. So where does this fits in your post, and I quote below:

QUOTE(kaisergan @ Sep 25 2013, 11:05 PM)
unlocking bootloader and rooting is whole different thing, don't worry
Simply put: internal storage low. Cant install apps on SD card. Use Folder Mount. Folder Mount need root access. To root, need to also unlock bootloader. To unlock bootloader on Z1 = messed up camera.

I dont really care about the definition of rooting versus unlocking bootloader, just the fact that to alleviate the problem of low internal storage, you need Folder Mount, and Folder Mount needs rooting, rooting needs the Z1 to be bootloader unlocked.

stringfellow
post Sep 26 2013, 12:19 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Sep 26 2013, 12:03 AM)
You do not need to unlock bootloader to root a device
Okay, I guess I stand corrected. All these while I thought they both go hand in hand. All the instructions I went through to root my devices involves unlocking bootloader.
stringfellow
post Sep 26 2013, 12:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Sep 26 2013, 12:20 AM)
This usually when you are changing kernel or custom roms
there's some custom roms that can be done with locked bootloader.
In the case of having the to install Folder Mount app that requires root, would bypassing the need to unlock bootloader works? Coz of the camera issue mentioned previously.
stringfellow
post Sep 26 2013, 06:59 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

thanks. I don't understand half of that, I'd rather follow simpler steps on how to install apps, and most of them require bootloader unlocking.

Forlder Mount was a suggestion for the previously discussed conversation between the two people I quoted before. I'm happy with my 16GB.
stringfellow
post Sep 26 2013, 09:25 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(toda_erika_II @ Sep 26 2013, 09:17 AM)
do you mind linking the instructions? let me have a look at what you have been looking at.
I mean the instructions to root.
Long time ago, last rooted device was HTC ONE. Can't remember which.
stringfellow
post Sep 26 2013, 01:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

ROI just started at Sony Malaysia www.sony.com.my website. Exactly a week before launch date of October 4th.
stringfellow
post Sep 26 2013, 07:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'll just leave these here. could not wait for the ori anymore.

Two. One for the phone, the other for the QX100 I'm getting from Frankfurt tonight.

Top two cameras on smartphones.

Smile!

Gotta go. Packing for work.

stringfellow
post Sep 28 2013, 02:08 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sony Xperia Z1 and Sony QX100 is a match made in heaven. Got the QX100 in Frankfurt today. Carl Zeiss optics. One tap NFC and it's paired for life. Image is saved both onto the SD card on the QX100 and the Z1 SD card. Requires PlayMemories app.

EU449. After tax refund of EU48, final price EU401.

stringfellow
post Sep 28 2013, 02:18 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tried it with the iPhone 5. Looks kinda weird with the QX100 overpowering it in size. Z1 size is just nice.

stringfellow
post Sep 28 2013, 02:34 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I didn't realize some folks are so much reliant on the opinions of others when buying their smartphones these days. Have to show friends to get their reactions before finalizing purchase. I thought the money you spend is for your own use and enjoyment?

I came from HTC ONE. Nothing is better, IMO, than HTC ONE's exquisite screen. But I look at the big picture when it comes to Z1. And that big picture is much sexier than the fixation on the screen alone. Contrary to the reactions some posted here about Z Ultra, my friends and me gets a "blerrgggh" impression at the Z Ultra, completely turned off by its humongous size. I don't want to answer a phone call and having it looked like I'm slapping my cheeks with a piece of side-face covering plastic. No thanks. The very same reason why I burst out laughing in public when I see folks using Galaxy Tab to answer phone calls. laugh.gif Irregardless of how beautiful the screen it.

What's the old adage says? "There's more than meets the eye". And the beauty of the Z1 to me is more than skin deep, its skin being the screen. The internals and the awesome snappiness of it makes me change my perception towards previous Android devices I've used before.

Ending this post with the obligatory: My two Euro cents.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 28 2013, 02:36 AM

0.0398sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:26 AM