Why is Vios no good ? So many bashers

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:37 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Ray9300 @ Sep 19 2013, 02:00 AM)
Why are so many people bashing vios ?

Some said its a car for ahbeng ahseng , and god spec and many more.

I visited paultan website today reading about the new 2013 vios , when I go to the comment section , so many people complaining the car lack of safety over priced and using the same engine for more than 10 years , isn't Nissan gtr also using same rb26 engine for r32 r33 r34 . And some more complain about the old 4 speed auto gear box.

Hmm I really hope someone can write me a detail explanation of what is going on .
To me, Vios is the one and only best cars selling in Malaysia.
Reason:
realiable
good handling
safety rating good
comfort
NVH the best, even better than a 5 series
cheap to maintain
maybe no need to maintain, Toyota won't spoil one
good pick up
good performance
and finally, good RV. some will buy Toyota cars as an investment. buy RM80K, 2 years later sell RM100K.

So i'm in the same boat as you, why are so many people bashing vios ?
only true car lovers and car experts will love the Vios.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:40 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Sep 19 2013, 09:29 AM)
yup, the keyword == proven technology

being it 20 or 50 years, proven means reliability  whistling.gif
Correct.
Proven technology

When something is already perfect, there's nothing else to be improved/changed.
Same goes to this Toyota engine and gearbox. Proven good. It's already perfected.

Some may think that cars that always come out with new engine is good.

So why some are complaining that Toyota cars are still using the same old engine and gb?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:41 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(hyperspeed @ Sep 19 2013, 09:40 AM)
daylight robber la toyota, so mahal. Can get preve tebo what with same range
Why some cars need tebo?
Because the engine is not powerful enough. Hence need tebo.

Toyota engines are powerful. Hence dun need tebo.
get it?

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:43 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Sep 19 2013, 09:26 AM)
so many basher ?
4 speed gbx toyota known its reliability n perform well with its current engine.. well its FC its good until now..
quality is good, well there would be some lemon but still acceptable
after sales service depend on place.. but mostly is very good..
as for ESP or other safety thing, even without it still they have a very good sales, so why need to bother? (for them la i think)
if we demand those gadget n safety features, we need to show to toyota so they would know..
i use vios from 2008, so far no major problem.. only 1 wheel bearing n 1 pair absorber been replaced..
CORRECT!

the 4 speed gearbox is a perfect invention. Well engineered. So no need anymore improvement.

ESP? Who needs ESP when the car is well designed and stable? Cars with ESP are cars that are not stable, etc etc.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:46 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(NINJIAO @ Sep 19 2013, 07:33 AM)
Waaaaaaattttt they still give 4 speed autobox? Lolz wat a rip off.
What's wrong with 4 speed? The car can still move from A to B. Yes?

why some cars need 6 speed la, 8 speed la?
because of their lousy design...lousy ratio.

Toyota gearbox are well known for being efficient. Engineered to perfection. Ratio well calculated.
Hence, it just need a 4 speed.

More over, less gears = less shifting = less moving parts = less problems = NO PROBLEM!

get it?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:46 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Sep 19 2013, 09:45 AM)
ESP are for sissy who know nuts about handling

tongue.gif
CORRECT!
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:47 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Sep 19 2013, 08:40 AM)
If u want to fly suddenly or overturn turtle, please buy a Vios. Don't say we didn't warn u.
Bull shit.
Those pics are photochopped.

F1 cars also can turn turtle.
So are you saying that F1 cars are no good?

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:49 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Sep 19 2013, 09:47 AM)
I am not sure how anyone could have such opinion but I've test driven the Vios, it's handling is bad, NVH is worse than many, pick up is terrible and performance is bad
I know vios is not a bad car but as you can see, Iphone 5c and 5s is not bad either but while other keep on improving and LISTEN to consumers but Vios keeps standing on the same ground for YEARS, and that sucks
NVH is worse?? Are you sure? or maybe i have hearing problem. tongue.gif

Handling is the best so far. SO many cars i've tested, Vios gives me the confidence to sweep the corners at 40kmh. Stick to the road like a train on the rail. Best!
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:51 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 19 2013, 09:49 AM)
Agreed. Nothing much wrong with 4 speed.

Except that if u are those "racer" that likes to speed, then it will eat more petrol compared to 5 gear or more gear box.
But then again, how fast can u drive?
For example, my Altis has 7 speed but i doubt its running at 6th gear when im driving at 140kmh
Agree!!!!
I will be happy if the next Vios or altis comes with two speeder...forward and reverse.
like I said, less gears = less shifting = less moving parts = less problem = NO PROBLEM.

Agree?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 09:55 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(hyperspeed @ Sep 19 2013, 09:44 AM)
is it? so all subaru and lambo not powerfull la?? tebo is extra added option to give power la. if vios get tebo then how much the cost then? 100K??
who needs tebo when the engine is already so powerful? want the car to fly to the moon is it?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 12:13 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(pallmall @ Sep 19 2013, 10:47 AM)
nice sarcastic  tongue.gif
what sarcastic ???!!!

I AM BLOODY SERIOUS HERE mad.gif
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 12:15 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(efzet @ Sep 19 2013, 10:41 AM)
spec wise - vios is entry level for toyota...that's why toyota doesn't seems care to 'upgrade' the new engine, just use the old one then just put new face on it.

So does that make Camry as an entry level too?
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 12:16 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(brianccg @ Sep 19 2013, 10:55 AM)
Apart for fuel consumption, I dont see why I want Vios and so regret to get this car.

I am driving it since last year May and now there are noise coming out.

Prior to vios, I am driving Getz and Matrix which do not gv me problem for 5 years.
Toyota...regret? noise? How can? Impossible!
user problem.
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 12:27 PM

157 posts

good power...

good handling....

two great cars challenging neck to neck....

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 12:29 PM

157 posts

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 12:30 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(fumoffu_sanchai @ Sep 19 2013, 12:24 PM)
Yeah and my mother is the Queen of England.

SHE IS?!!!!

notworthy.gif
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 01:27 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(donker @ Sep 19 2013, 01:12 PM)
Haha, so sarcastic lerr...  thumbup.gif
You think i'm trolling around?
Let me ask you. You got a Vios?
Those comments i made about a car is from my experience of owning a Vios for the past 12 years.

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 01:32 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Sep 19 2013, 01:31 PM)
and i bet you spend RM0 to maintain it right?
just do regular engine oil change and gearbox ATF change

SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 02:16 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Sep 19 2013, 12:32 PM)
wa, a flying toyota up here !!!

say, if i just awnt a small family acr, Vios would be a good choice right? i dont understand engines, but only need a decent (jimat minyak and easy to drive and reliable car) car to move around short distance. so Vios is 'ok' right?
OK.
thumbup.gif
SUSskyblu3
post Sep 19 2013, 03:00 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(donker @ Sep 19 2013, 01:45 PM)
Now this is Super Sarcastic! rclxub.gif Why do you hate Vios so much? Yes, it's overpriced a bit, the handling is not so good and lack modern safety features, but to be fair it does quite well as a point A to B car and and very reliable too.
me hate Vios? why you say that?
I've one at home..black color. 1st gen.
still as good as new, until today.

0.0291sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:07 AM