TSskyfei
Jun 2 2006, 09:37 PM, updated 20y ago

Hi I'm new here ;
I'm an undergraduate student waiting for my Diploma in Computer Studies. While waiting for my Diploma (not knowing my overall GPA result), I'm hunting for a job right now. I wanted to start my carrer as a web programmer but I can't manage to get one till now. Starting to feel frustruated.
All this while, now I'm thinking maybe i should try my luck on other kind of carrer. The problem is, I'm not sure with my qualification what type of job will be suitable for me. I'm thinking to go for marketing coordinator but I'm not sure about the it future.
I need some guide or maybe any website that can show me the direction?
sguy
Jun 2 2006, 09:43 PM

u can continue ur study for Bachelor Degree, its like a passport tat can let u go to anywhere. or u can study those ccna or professional cert if u like networking.. if u think ur programming skill is good enuf, no need study degree oso can, when go to interview, pass and can do a good test that they give, should be no problem
littlebug85
Jun 2 2006, 09:58 PM

what sguy said is correct...mayb you should continue till your degree...it will be much easier for you to get other jobs just in case you can't get the job you wan...or mayb you still need to work hard to find in the newspaper to look what you want...why not try go to kelly services where you apply the job of what you want..
sani_2020
Jun 3 2006, 12:03 AM
anyone has contacts for a job in IT related field? pls pm me....
TSskyfei
Jun 3 2006, 12:07 AM

Continue studying might be a problem for me coz my family alr hurrying me to bring back some cash home~~~~~~
Programming skill still on the beginner stage..... sei lor??
What should I do? Kinda stress out leh. Family been calling almost everyday asking whether I've been employed or not
casper04
Jun 3 2006, 12:13 AM

easy, find work and at the same time study part time. there u go, u can hit 2 birds with one stone.
u get working experience + a degree at the end.
but u have to struggle real hard, coz it's not easy to study part time.
TSskyfei
Jun 3 2006, 12:20 AM

What type of job I should be working as while studying part time?
Ryosuke_82
Jun 3 2006, 10:09 AM
Computer Operator, IT Helpdesk/Call Operator, IT Support for small local company, Freelance programming (if you are good) etc. Better avoid those promoter, sales assistant kinda job...it doesn't help if you are going for IT path in the future.
This post has been edited by Ryosuke_82: Jun 3 2006, 10:11 AM
TSskyfei
Jun 3 2006, 08:57 PM

QUOTE(Ryosuke_82 @ Jun 3 2006, 10:09 AM) Computer Operator, IT Helpdesk/Call Operator, IT Support for small local company, Freelance programming (if you are good) etc. Better avoid those promoter, sales assistant kinda job...it doesn't help if you are going for IT path in the future. What if I work as a Sales coordinator/marketing coordinator in an IT distributor company? Will it get me to the next level?