Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V6, 4.3 currently available for LTE model

Cavino
post Oct 3 2013, 10:52 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(blaze91 @ Oct 3 2013, 10:31 AM)
i can go online but wen im on call it drops from 4G to H+ blink.gif
If I'm not wrong, our 4G network cannot support call, so, have to drop to 3G to make or receive calls.
Cavino
post Oct 9 2013, 09:18 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(kagamistar @ Oct 9 2013, 09:08 AM)
Haiya..just bought 2 weeks ago at senq..
Now, the led indicator keeps red while charging..100% charging, and never fully charged lately.out of sudden yesterday the backside so hot..i just read e-papers only.
Should i send it back to senq?
What is the possibilities problem for the phone?
Waaaa:'( .i have 4 years warranty by senq. But i dont know what is terms&conditions..
How many times i can change the phine,etc
No, chances are there are some background apps running. Install CPU tracker such as watchdog lite, etc. Set CPU warning for any program exceeding....let say 40%.

When your phone suddenly go very hot, check the CPU program and do real time tracking immediately to see what program is currently running your CPU down. Last time stock video media did that although I don't use them. If its your installed apps doing that and its not a critical app, uninstall them.

If you fully charge your phone and it can't reach 100% and remained hot after a while even after charging complete (charger still connected, trickle charging), some apps are definitely running your battery down on the background.
Cavino
post Oct 9 2013, 01:11 PM

842 posts

Actually 4.3 got any noticeable improvement to our 4.2 meh !!!
Cavino
post Oct 9 2013, 03:04 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(nerozx2 @ Oct 9 2013, 02:43 PM)
Hey guys any solutions to solve out of storage problem ?
S4 internal space just had 8GB+ and after install a few games and social apps and it getting out of storage  cry.gif
but i having a 64gb sd card lol , kinda suck that those games' obb can't move to sd  hmm.gif
Actually can partially move via application manager. Besides that most of us solve the space issue by opting for the LTE version with 32GB storage instead of the 3G version.
Cavino
post Oct 10 2013, 08:59 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(kagamistar @ Oct 10 2013, 12:47 AM)
Overheat occurs during googling for about 5-7mins, make call...

Now what i think i shud do is turn off my s4 while charging.just tried it.haha.then i have fully charged and led im greem color!!

So how about widget clock problem?
I think you mean only hot, not overheat. Normal when surfing or using apps like games. Based on what you say on off charging, definitely some background apps is running. When your phone is fully charge even overnight, your phone will be cold during trickle charging after that.

If it is still hot, one hour after charging complete, background apps is seriously whacking your battery. Check either watchdog lite for current CPU usage (if very very hot) or battery stats tracker like Gsam battery app to see what program uses the most battery even when you're not actively using them. It will gives you clue to what apps to uninstall and check to see if its helps after that. If it still happens, continue do the same when uninstall next apps that consume battery when you did not activate them.
Cavino
post Oct 11 2013, 08:59 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(kagamistar @ Oct 11 2013, 08:49 AM)
Im not sure the degree..but since b4 this using iphone..so i can say the temperature of samsung is higher..huhu
Thanks!! Im glad to hear that!!yeay
Yep hot.but there is once very hot..then i off the phone and opend the backcase.haha. i will dlod gsam like u said sifu!!thanks!!
Now i choose to off my phone while charging..is it 2hours the phone will fully charge?
Gsam can also show phone temperature inside the apps.

For charging, ya it usually takes me abt 2 hours to charge from abt 10% with 4G on. Using Note 2 2A charger. Got slight buzz sound on charger.
Cavino
post Oct 11 2013, 09:16 AM

842 posts

I will be targeting for Note 4 by then so apa S5 also ok. My wife now waiting for my S4 liao coz S2 although still "new" to her newbie learning, its getting a bit too small on the screen size.

Still very satisfied with S4, a bit small when looking at news pages but overall sharp. Combined with satisfyingly super smooth glass.t nano screen and my Slim Armor View case, it somehow still wow me when I look at it and use it.

Anyway, yesterday night, when taking photo with auto night mode on (activated), the processing time on every take is abt 2-3 second (can see the word "processing" with progress bar). Have to wait for completion of the progress before snapping another photo.

Today testing again on morning (now), it seems almost instantaneous (no processing word, just snap and can snap another one almost straightaway.

Does night mode slow down processing time after every photo click? Also since update to the latest OTA update (when it was release...somewhere last week or so kuah), camera sometime will stop running. Have to reboot system.
Cavino
post Oct 17 2013, 09:54 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Oct 17 2013, 09:42 AM)
I know. Not polished.
But u can't. Try use back a few days on small screen and see.
Even after using S2, I can barely read in ipong 5....now with S4, I cannot read in ipong 5 anymore. Really like ipong 5S design especially the gold colour but as I say before, no matter how beautiful is the phone, slap a cool cover on it, apa good look also tak guna, same with HTC One.

Anyway, for one handed use, S4 is till a great phone to use. Yesterday, with hands carrying lots of stuff and phone rings (important whatapps message) and I cannot put my things down (cannot stand on floor, tumpah), I switch all to one hand.

Using 1 hand, I can flip the armor view cover (using my middle finger press on the hook, push up from the back cover), flip the cover to the back (easily done with Armor View due to its cover hinge design) and use thumb to activate whatsapp. Tot with armor view hook cover lock, have to use 2 hands to open and operate....turned out my decision to get S4 earlier instead of waiting for Note 3 due to needs of 1 handed operation is not a mistake.

Just screwed Samsung for its initial S4 LTE pricing mistake. Profit taking to the max. Drop RM700 in 3 months is a big deal. Anyway somehow lost interest in Note 3, just don't wow me anymore.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Oct 17 2013, 10:05 AM
Cavino
post Oct 17 2013, 10:18 AM

842 posts

Anyway last week, I saw 1 nice looking young woman holding a 7"/8" tab or something making calls on it with the tab pressed against her ear.

I know last time ppl use Note 1/2 makes calls looks a bit ridiculous due to its big size but honestly when one using it is a bigger size person, it still looks fine, very normal although a bit big...

However to see a chick using 7 or 8" making calls pressing it on ears instead of speaker call, is outright funny. I can help but grin widely when I pass her. She's quite voluptuous honestly but with that thing on her ear speaking, I just cannot avert my eyes from that look on her face vs phone instead of appreciating her other "assets".

This post has been edited by Cavino: Oct 17 2013, 10:18 AM
Cavino
post Oct 22 2013, 06:01 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ Oct 22 2013, 04:48 PM)
Kawan kawan,

Probably this has been asked to death haha, but still wana ask.
Is it worth to upgrade my S3 to S4?
I compared the pictures taken from my fren's S4 and feels that it is only 'slightly' better than my S3 haha.
I played the old MC4 on my S3 the other day and noted some occasional stalling during the gameplay

S4 worth ah? New one is 15xx only. Tempting
Unless you're those that have to get the latest, I would suggest to skip 1 generation to make your phone usage worthwhile.

Display is noticeably upgraded, not slightly (I have another S3 user at home), much sharper especially when playing HD games and movies. I would not suggest S4 Octa. As mentioned, it is much hotter, battery lasting slightly shorter, only 16GB and without LTE, much harder to sell next time coz practically all new models are LTE based liao.
Cavino
post Oct 24 2013, 07:32 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(CoupD'Etat @ Oct 23 2013, 04:23 PM)
why u prefer note3 > s4 ?

juz curious. because my friend offer to trade his note3 with my s4 (octa).
Take it, take it......32gb vs octa 16gb storage space, MUCH faster CPU, 3GB vs 2GB octa ram, LTE vs octa 3G.

If vs LTE S4, you may want to consider retaining S4 if you want the 5" form factor but vs octa.......
Cavino
post Oct 24 2013, 09:01 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 24 2013, 08:24 AM)
my s4 still faced auto restart issue even after full factory reset, don't know what's wrong. sad.gif
Once in a while mine also auto restart without warning. Not too frequent tho.

Anyway since the latest update quite a while ago, my camera sometimes stop working. Have to reboot phone to reactivate. Did not happen b4 latest update. Going back to the constant camera hang days of ICS 4.0 for my S2.
Cavino
post Oct 24 2013, 09:48 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Oct 24 2013, 09:09 AM)
You have a problem...honestly i dont have that since updating to 4.3. Even on custom roms on my 4.2.2 octa, it was gone. You better take it to the service center
I'm hoping 4.3 OTA when it comes, will solve it since it does not happen before the lastest update. Believed it might be software coz my S2 camera hang headache was finally solved by JB OTA after over a year of suffering camera hangs after only a few shots.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Oct 24 2013, 10:01 AM
Cavino
post Oct 24 2013, 10:03 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ Oct 24 2013, 09:52 AM)
Morning guys..I've the following issue:

I'm on stock OS from Samsung, no mods done whatsoever...SanDisk 32GB SDCard

I was still able to take photos and store it onto my memory card yesterday night

This morning I woke up and open my gallery to share a photo..only to find the "Camera Photo [with SD Card Icon]" missing..

I checked under settings and able to see my SD card still mounted and reading available space of approximately 19gb

Opening the "MyFiles" explorer..I find that the folder Lost.DIR is now filled with unreadable files..however the sizes represents the normal image file size (3~4MB each)

Any way to recover this? I'm lucky that I have DropBox installed =/
You're san disk card was screwed. Try to read them thru PC. If cannot, have to reformat. That is what I feared most when using Class 10 32GB sandisk sd card, either that or totally cannot detect.

That's why I copied all my pics to pc once in a while for backup.
Cavino
post Oct 30 2013, 03:05 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ahbong999 @ Oct 30 2013, 03:04 PM)
how 4.3 doing now aftr factory reset?
do we really need to do factory reset after updte?
No. Only reset if you encountered problems that can't be resolved.
Cavino
post Oct 31 2013, 02:27 PM

842 posts

Anyone has video player hitting over 50% cpu threshold even when not used? Has happen constantly since upgraded to 4.3 especially during charging.
Cavino
post Nov 1 2013, 10:10 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Nov 1 2013, 10:02 AM)
if software reset fail, go back SC, they'll take your s4 for 3 working days to check it out.
Have you tried factory reset AND don't install any apps yet? See if still hang when surfing. If it does, then take back to SC. Also check if you install ext sd card if it keep scanning, just in case.

0.0556sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:39 PM