Should be Tan Chong kena cheong already.
History of Malaysian Automotive industry
Sep 14 2013, 08:54 PM
481 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Should be Tan Chong kena cheong already.
Sep 14 2013, 09:01 PM
276 posts Joined: Jun 2012 From: Orient |
![]() |
Sep 14 2013, 09:18 PM
134 posts Joined: May 2012 From: Kluang, Johor |
Sep 14 2013, 09:34 PM
886 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 14 2013, 08:53 PM) Read the article lah brader. I already bolded the part of car prices after proton. And now you should give me the proof price before and after proton since you claim it is cheaper before and expensive after. http://www.eastasiaforum.org/2012/03/13/ma...omobile-sector/Why you must associate Proton = BN? BN people know shit about Proton. They using Proton, not helping Proton at all. PR people knows more about how tax structure works. And lot of PR supporters also working for Proton. Even the EX CEO also support PR. The reality is that Malaysia’s automobile sector is protected from foreign competition by elaborately constructed barriers of tariffs, investment-approval permits, differential excise taxes, subsidised credit, procurement arrangements and tax allowances. Much of this is designed to protect Proton (and its domestic component suppliers), the brainchild of former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad, and the spoiled child of his and subsequent administrations. Despite receiving substantial political, policy and financial support, Proton’s share of the growing Malaysian car market has been declining. The company now utilises only 45 per cent of its capacity and is steadily losing ground to its domestic and international competitors. Ok if you think Proton is not been protected ,and can stands on it feet, that is up to you. That is not going to change the fact. |
Sep 14 2013, 09:40 PM
3,345 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(CKKwan @ Sep 14 2013, 09:34 PM) http://www.eastasiaforum.org/2012/03/13/ma...omobile-sector/ Why proton is protected if ckds manufacturer receive the same treatment of excise duty rate? Proton is just a camouflage to the entire ecosystem. If government really want to help/proctect proton, give more RnD fund instead.The reality is that Malaysia’s automobile sector is protected from foreign competition by elaborately constructed barriers of tariffs, investment-approval permits, differential excise taxes, subsidised credit, procurement arrangements and tax allowances. Much of this is designed to protect Proton (and its domestic component suppliers), the brainchild of former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad, and the spoiled child of his and subsequent administrations. Despite receiving substantial political, policy and financial support, Proton’s share of the growing Malaysian car market has been declining. The company now utilises only 45 per cent of its capacity and is steadily losing ground to its domestic and international competitors. Ok if you think Proton is not been protected ,and can stands on it feet, that is up to you. That is not going to change the fact. AP system benefits to the AP holder, not proton. AP holder work closely with franchise AP. |
Sep 14 2013, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 14 2013, 09:40 PM) Why proton is protected if ckds manufacturer receive the same treatment of excise duty rate? Proton is just a camouflage to the entire ecosystem. If government really want to help/proctect proton, give more RnD fund instead. Why proton is NOT protected when AP is very limited, and it is sold at a huge price to car buyer?AP system benefits to the AP holder, not proton. AP holder work closely with franchise AP. |
Sep 14 2013, 10:00 PM
380 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: house above a tree |
we got a headstart yet thailand division for japanese carmaker has built some of the best cars in SEA.
Sep 14 2013, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(CKKwan @ Sep 14 2013, 09:50 PM) Who is the franchise AP holder? AP is not limited, is just a paper. There is not cost to it, but only few can have AP. These AP holders have no in interest in Proton at all. What they want is to sell the AP paper 30k each. |
Sep 15 2013, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 14 2013, 10:26 PM) Who is the franchise AP holder? You are trying to say "No Proton is not the one who created these laws, and it is not the direct beneficiary of these laws".AP is not limited, is just a paper. There is not cost to it, but only few can have AP. These AP holders have no in interest in Proton at all. What they want is to sell the AP paper 30k each. I will agreed with you if buy / sell Proton car also need AP, then we could say Proton hand is clean in this. But in fact it is NOT. The AP is created to *Protect* Proton. All other taxes are also created to *Protect* Proton since 1987. Tell me if there is no AP needed and no Import duties especially for non AFTA cars. Do you think Proton can still compete? So Proton is the *Direct Beneficiary* of these laws. And we as a citizen paid through our nose. |
Sep 15 2013, 07:36 AM
QUOTE(CKKwan @ Sep 15 2013, 07:22 AM) You are trying to say "No Proton is not the one who created these laws, and it is not the direct beneficiary of these laws". Which countries do not have import tax for vehicles? Even countries who do not have their own cars manufacturer do have import tax.I will agreed with you if buy / sell Proton car also need AP, then we could say Proton hand is clean in this. But in fact it is NOT. The AP is created to *Protect* Proton. All other taxes are also created to *Protect* Proton since 1987. Tell me if there is no AP needed and no Import duties especially for non AFTA cars. Do you think Proton can still compete? So Proton is the *Direct Beneficiary* of these laws. And we as a citizen paid through our nose. FYI, Some japan CBU already have 0% import tax. Even before the establishment of Proton, import tax already existed. Import tax is not that much. The excise tax that we need to worry about. Hybrid cars have no tax. But why there is price different here in peninsular and langkawi? Why hybrid cars in malaysia still expensive compare to outside? Who set the price? AP is not created to Protect proton. If there is no Proton, AP will still be here. The NAP is one of the mechanism to protect local automotive industry. When i say local automotive industry, it is the vendors. It doesnt mean Proton. Because this vendor supplied parts to all car manufacturers including Proton. AP is to maximize profit. The burden passed to consumers. Because they know, the one to be blame is not the dealer. That is why, no foreign company response when PR said they want to reduce car prices. But Proton CEO response with good faith to reduce excise tax. |
Sep 15 2013, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 15 2013, 07:36 AM) Which countries do not have import tax for vehicles? Even countries who do not have their own cars manufacturer do have import tax. You are still trying to rationalize that Proton is NOT the main beneficiary by saying AP will still exist even if Proton doesn't exist.FYI, Some japan CBU already have 0% import tax. Even before the establishment of Proton, import tax already existed. Import tax is not that much. The excise tax that we need to worry about. Hybrid cars have no tax. But why there is price different here in peninsular and langkawi? Why hybrid cars in malaysia still expensive compare to outside? Who set the price? AP is not created to Protect proton. If there is no Proton, AP will still be here. The NAP is one of the mechanism to protect local automotive industry. When i say local automotive industry, it is the vendors. It doesnt mean Proton. Because this vendor supplied parts to all car manufacturers including Proton. AP is to maximize profit. The burden passed to consumers. Because they know, the one to be blame is not the dealer. That is why, no foreign company response when PR said they want to reduce car prices. But Proton CEO response with good faith to reduce excise tax. But the fact is Proton is exist today, and it is STILL the main beneficiary of AP. And I agree with you, the burden passed to consumers. |
Sep 15 2013, 11:23 PM
76 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
| Bump Topic Add ReplyOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0165sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:22 PM |