QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2014, 06:12 PM)
Already got lots in FD, this one enter end Dec payroll to savings still have not touch...I am not old man leh..
This post has been edited by gark: Jan 16 2014, 06:36 PM
REIT V5, Real Estate Investment Trust
Jan 16 2014, 06:35 PM
12,534 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Penang, KL, China, Indonesia.... |
Jan 17 2014, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jan 17 2014, 10:33 AM) At the rate they are going.. with no decision back and forth, will be a long long time... maybe until you got 'cucu' already... So in the end we have to accept reality, and not worry too much about something that will be semi-permanent... |
Jan 17 2014, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 17 2014, 06:55 PM) Just give u a scenario... U have a stock trading at 10.00 but u prefer to buy at 9.00 cos u think that it COULD fall to 9.00 U wait... ...and wait... ...and waited... FINALLY! U caught the stock 9.00! Faster buy! But, u waited for a year for it to trade at 9.00...in the interim, the stock have already distributed cumulative dividends of 50 sen x 4 times You wait .. stock become RM 11 you wait longer.. stock become RM 13 You wait even longer.. stock become RM 15 Then you close book no eye see the stock anymore.. True story, happen to me many times. That is why i put the siggy to remind myself... This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2014, 07:12 PM |
Jan 17 2014, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 17 2014, 05:12 PM) Copied from gark's siggy I am not apa2 guru lah.. I myself lost great opportunity just because waited for a few sen cheaper even though the stock is fundamentally cheap in my calculations and thus lost many ringgit in the process."Far more money has been lost by investors preparing for corrections, or trying to anticipate corrections, than has been lost in corrections themselves." - Peter Lynch gark = guru Peter Lynch = mahaguru Oh.. and it never did comeback to my initial planned buying price although with the many market weakness along the way.... This i think is called paying tuition fees... This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2014, 07:18 PM |
Jan 17 2014, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 17 2014, 09:54 PM) Lesson: never close book, never close eye, but straight away grab it at Rm15..... Haha you are very right. That is why the best way to invest is to your homework and invest in companies you consider is reasonably valued.But then kaboom, plunge back to Rm10, cursing again. There is no failproof strategy, just don't let emotion overide the decision making, which enhance the chance of winning in stock market. No eye to see, counting paper loss after bought, those are making one's emotion worst that may prompt incorrect decision in the future. No need to worry on how the CI is doing.... And if a stock gets cheaper and the fundamentals still looks ok, buy more... cause its on sale. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2014, 10:13 PM |
Jan 18 2014, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 18 2014, 06:31 AM) ok. now my question is, is reit today consider "reasonably valued", or "down trend", or "overpriced"? This one depend on your own yield expectations and individual risk tolerance.In my opinion, it is reasonable priced now but not cheap enough yet to be considered undervalue.. |
Jan 19 2014, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jan 19 2014, 11:12 AM) I disagree with this sentiment. It implies that when the money is not invested, it is not earning a return. It is not a binary proposition, either keep cash or invest in stock A. Instead, there is a spectrum of possibilities. I may be interested in stock A and keeping an eye on it, but at the same time my cash could be in fixed deposits, or a bond fund, or stock B etc. Actually you misunderstood the statement. It means that to never time the market, and keep fully invested in your portfolio allocation be it cash, stock or bond. By timing the market you tend to make emotional decisions. It applies to all stocks in the market, not just reits.Waiting for something to drop or become cheaper and when it does not do so and instead goes up, you have oppurtunity loss. Although you are still earning fd rates, you could have earned much more. And never forget you need to earn more than 5% yearly just to match inflation and keep your purchasing power, anything less than that you will have inflation loss. Although it is great to see that your fd rates is earning 3%, but in reality you are losing at least 2% purchasing power. And some might argue real inflation is above 5%..... This post has been edited by gark: Jan 19 2014, 12:49 PM |
Jan 20 2014, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jan 19 2014, 10:22 PM) There is a snarky condescension in this post which I find slightly offensive. In any case, you have once again assumed without any input from me that the point of comparison is FD. In my case, it is two bond funds with Public Mutual, both of which have actually underperformed FD over the past year but have outperformed FD in previous years. The comparison isn't that clear cut now is it? Well if you think that you are on the right path, and think there is no changes necessary, then just go ahead with your asset allocation. If you are comfortable having a long term 4-6% pa returns on a bond fund is suitable for you then there is nothing more to add. You may continue with your investment journey and ignore the bottom. Your assumption of a 5% inflation rate directly implies that all investment in Malaysian government securities, in most bond funds and even in some local REITs cause a net loss in purchasing power since they do not pass that hurdle. You also ignore the prospect of risk and capital loss in making these statements. Finally given that your personal hurdle rate is so high, may I ask which investments do you personally undertake that allows you to comfortably exceed that rate with a reasonable degree of risk? The obvious answer is not to invest in any Malaysian markets at all but instead in capital markets denominated in a currency with an extremely low or zero expected inflation rate. Yes, I strongly think that all FD, MGS and bond fund ultimately will lose purchasing power to inflation unless you are living in deflationary country like Japan, because payment will be constant and the term is very long. And no, REIT is not the same as bond, because REIT actually have income/rental growth in addition to dividend yield so the yield will not be constant and will grow over time although at a slower pace or sometimes matching inflation. But not all REITs are the same so you need to do your homework. Risk in indirectly inverse to potential gain, so it is not ignored. You want better gain, then you need to have bigger risk tolerance, but not necessary risk exposure. But risk can be controlled if you pick the right instruments, at the right valuation and with proper diversification. Stocks picked with good valuation, high margin of safety is actual having much less risk than one thinks or the overall market. You can easily calculate if the 5% hurdle rate is correct or not, just take a item you buy everyday (Milo) for example and compared it to 10 years ago. The answer will surprise you. I have invested in both Malaysian, international stock & UT for more than >8 years even going through some rough patches during various financial crisis and I believe my IRR is way higher than then 5% inflation hurdle. But that is just me, not everyone is suitable to invest stocks and some might prefer lower risked instruments although just merely maintaining the purchasing power. Different people do have different needs and risk tolerance, that i agree. And your answer couldn't be more wrong and misguided. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 20 2014, 12:08 PM |
Jan 21 2014, 09:40 AM
Axis REIT research report
Summary :- 1. FY13 DPU 18.5 sen represents 6.5% gross yield, FY 13 total income growth is at a respectable 7.7% from rental revision. 2. FY14 expected DPU to be 21.5 cents (Including 2 sen from disposal of asset) 3. FY15-16 expected income growth to be steady at 4.5-5.5%
Axis_REIT_CIMB.pdf ( 451.94k )
Number of downloads: 16 |
Jan 21 2014, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 21 2014, 09:38 AM) AXREIT results out. Net rental income flat, but profit down significantly. Declared dividend also down. Not really...Will there by further selling pressure QUOTE For 4Q13, Axis REIT's revenues grew by 3.4% yoy and 2.5% qoq, driven by rental reversions in the previous quarters. PBT declined by 32% yoy, though this reflects the stellar revaluation gains of RM24.3m in 4Q12 vs. RM9.9m in 4Q13. Stripping out the revaluation gains, 4Q13 net profit was higher by 7.7% yoy. For the full year, Axis REIT's core net profit of RM84.1m represents a yoy increase of 7.7%, on the back of 6.7% revenue growth as operating costs remained stable. Rental actually went up Y on Y... profit down because of less revaluation gains which is no consequence to REIT investor.. |
Jan 21 2014, 09:50 AM
Jan 21 2014, 09:52 AM
Jan 24 2014, 09:57 AM
Jan 24 2014, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 24 2014, 09:59 AM) Here's the anal...they forecast 7.1 sen net divvy steady... steady... http://eresearch.bursamalaysia.com/downloa...1&type=research OT - Wah Kor weakness...drop below trend line Axis started to drop again.. This post has been edited by gark: Jan 24 2014, 12:47 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0530sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:44 PM |