4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Tyre worn out in 4 months (7000km), what is wrong?

TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 02:15 PM, updated 13y ago

213 posts

i have just changed two new front tyre in mid Apr and have now run about 7000km, buy the tyre already botak!
i just noticed that becasue that day it was really slippery.
Any sifu can advise why they are so fast worn out? I did not have this problem earlier.
I asked around, some said the tyre too new (they are 0813) and some said is car suspension or alignment issue.
but i tot alignement will only caused tyre to worn out at one side? my tyres are like worn out entirely.
I changed the break disc and break pads and the tyres at the same time during Apr. Could that caused the problem? I also changed the suspension 2 weeks before changing the tyres.
need help. thx.
cry.gif
omnimech
post Sep 11 2013, 02:17 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

What car ?

What tyre ?

What size ?

Driving style ?
TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 02:18 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 11 2013, 02:17 PM)
What car ?

What tyre ?

What size ?

Driving style ?
Waja and Good year. i think is 15in. normal driving style only. just drive to work and go home. no long distance. average daily ~50km.
thx
omnimech
post Sep 11 2013, 02:22 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

There is definitely something wrong.

Is the tyre inflation correct ?

Car alignment and camber settings ?

Even with my hard style of driving, my tires can last on average 20, 000 km.

Mind you, that is quite bad already .

Applies to both my 18 inch tires on inspira and 17 inch on my 320i.
nap2617
post Sep 11 2013, 02:22 PM

182 posts

Tayar tiruan or tayar korek..wont last..
TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 02:26 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 11 2013, 02:22 PM)
There is definitely something wrong.

Is the tyre inflation correct ?

Car alignment and camber settings ?

Even with my hard style of driving, my tires can last on average 20, 000 km.

Mind you, that is quite bad already .

Applies to both my 18 inch tires on inspira and 17 inch on my 320i.
inflation is the usual around ~31 pound. not yet check the alignment and camber but will it cause the tyres botak entirely? i tot it will only make it worn out at one side?
really dont know what is happening.
TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 02:28 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(nap2617 @ Sep 11 2013, 02:22 PM)
they should be tulin ones. but slightly new 0813.
omnimech
post Sep 11 2013, 02:29 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Sep 11 2013, 02:26 PM)
inflation is the usual around ~31 pound. not yet check the alignment and camber but will it cause the tyres botak entirely? i tot it will only make it worn out at one side?
really dont know what is happening.
Inflation sounds about right.

You sure you got new tires and not some second hand refurbished ones ?

What kind of tires are you using ?

Should be those normal eco ones right ?

7000 is a bit much.

Even going ulu yam every other weekend, couldnt kill my tires as fast as yours sad.gif
TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 02:31 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 11 2013, 02:29 PM)
Inflation sounds about right.

You sure you got new tires and not some second hand refurbished ones ?

What kind of tires are you using ?

Should be those normal eco ones right ?

7000 is a bit much.

Even going ulu yam every other weekend, couldnt kill my tires as fast as yours sad.gif
they are Good Years. Should be new ones as they dont look like refurbish ones.
Also the shop is a franchise shop tayar shop. Should be ok gua?
omnimech
post Sep 11 2013, 02:36 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Sep 11 2013, 02:31 PM)
they are Good Years. Should be new ones as they dont look like refurbish ones.
Also the shop is a franchise shop tayar shop. Should be ok gua?
Good year is just a brand.

Whats the model and the exact size ?

15 / 185 / 60 ?

These information should be on the tire itself.

Whats your definition of botak ? totally no thread ?

at 7000 ?

Did you lend your car to a friend to do donuts ?

>.<
TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 02:41 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 11 2013, 02:36 PM)
Good year is just a brand.

Whats the model and the exact size ?

15 / 185 / 60 ?

These information should be on the tire itself.

Whats your definition of botak ? totally no thread ?

at 7000 ?

Did you lend your car to a friend to do donuts ?

>.<
only i am driving the car.
not sure about the types but is the normal waja 15in type.
not totally no thread but almost. when you see it, you will say "you need to fast fast change tyres liao" that kind of worn out.

Lil Kiasu
post Sep 11 2013, 02:46 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(nap2617 @ Sep 11 2013, 02:22 PM)
Sorry but what's tayar korek..?

They get worn out tires and carve grooves on them..? unsure.gif
cfa28
post Sep 11 2013, 02:50 PM

4,830 posts

Suggest that u go back to the shop for an inspection.

Tyres normally have a 3-yr warranty. If its bald within 4-mths of 7,000 km, something is either seriously wrong with your car or tyre.

When u mean bald, pls clarify. Bald on left side, right side or centre.

TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 02:55 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Sep 11 2013, 02:50 PM)
Suggest that u go back to the shop for an inspection.

Tyres normally have a 3-yr warranty.  If its bald within 4-mths of 7,000 km, something is either seriously wrong with your car or tyre.

When u mean bald, pls clarify.  Bald on left side, right side or centre.
they both bold across left right and center, although outer edge slightly more bold.
omnimech
post Sep 11 2013, 02:57 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Sounds like someone swap tires with him. ROFL.

You using stock waja rims ?
8lackheaven
post Sep 11 2013, 02:59 PM

145 posts

IMHO,

i think is nothing to do with your rims or car..

manufacturer defect.. every tyre company sure will have some defects on certain batches.

try to claim back with warranty.

TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 03:02 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ Sep 11 2013, 02:57 PM)
Sounds like someone swap tires with him. ROFL.

You using stock waja rims ?
not original rim. changed rim before. but the back two tyres are ok
by the way, i remember the current back tyres were from the front before i moved them to the back. they have been at the front for about 3 months and now they are at the back. looks ok.
cfa28
post Sep 11 2013, 03:03 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Sep 11 2013, 02:55 PM)
they both bold across left right and center, although outer edge slightly more bold.
If its across the whole type, it is most likely a manufacturing defect.

Hope u kept your receipt. Claim for Warranty for new tyres
TSchubbyken
post Sep 11 2013, 03:06 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(8lackheaven @ Sep 11 2013, 02:59 PM)
IMHO,

i think is nothing to do with your rims or car..

manufacturer defect.. every tyre company sure will have some defects on certain batches.

try to claim back with warranty.
QUOTE(cfa28 @ Sep 11 2013, 03:03 PM)
If its across the whole type, it is most likely a manufacturing defect.

Hope u kept your receipt. Claim for Warranty for new tyres
i tot so. However when i go to ask opinion from other shop, some said not due to tyre but due to car. that is why i am confused.
8lackheaven
post Sep 11 2013, 03:38 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Sep 11 2013, 03:06 PM)
i tot so. However when i go to ask opinion from other shop, some said not due to tyre but due to car. that is why i am confused.
some shop said so.. to prevent you from claiming from them.. as it will affect their revenue, business and image... put the blame on the car.. pfft yea right..

as a consumer, you have to stand firm on your grounds.. dont let this tyre shop ppl influence you too much.. believe only 20% of what they say.

just claim back from goodyear... shoot a letter to them..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:14 AM