Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v2, 3rd gen of the best phablet

TSjoytest
post Sep 10 2013, 03:03 PM, updated 13y ago

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - v2

officially announced on 04 September at IFA 2013 Berlin.

Announced to be available on 25 September in 149 countries, with Japan and US in October.

So this means that we should this hitting us at the end of this month (September 2013) !!!

Let's hope for good telco deals.

===========================================

MEDIA LAUNCH on 20 Sep 2013 - benny888/hooh888
>source<

Probable availability is 25 September, but it may even be available on launch day (20 Sep) or a few days later

EXPECTED PRICE RM2299 for Qualcomm LTE - hooh888
>source<

LTE confirmed for Malaysia. No Exynos
Source - 2013-09-11 - Painhacker

TELCO PRE-ORDER/REGISTRATION OF INTEREST
Digi ROI - 2013-09-09 - Azrage

VOTE FOR YOUR FAVORITE COLOR
Vote via Google Form and see the results in the link below.

FAVORITE NOTE 3 COLORS

RESULTS

Variants known:
Available as:
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 3 N9000
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 3 N9002 with dual SIM card support
  • Samsung Galaxy Note 3 N9005 with LTE connectivity.
OFFICIAL SPECS

Pretty good writeup by Mobilesyrup, a Canadian mobile news site, on the GN3

The Samsung Galaxy Note 3 is the most interesting smartphone released this year. Here’s why

*my summary of the key headings*
  1. It’s the first phone with USB 3.0
  2. It’s the first non-Nexus phone with Android 4.3
  3. It sports a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor and 3GB of RAM
  4. It comes standard with 32GB of internal storage
  5. It’s one of the first devices to support Category 4 LTE, also known as LTE-Advanced
  6. Most of its new software features are actually useful
  7. Despite having a larger screen, it’s actually more compact than the Note II

SPECS IN DEPTH

Link to download the Note 3 User Guide (77Mb PDF) - wkho555

The CPU(Snapdragon-LTE)

3Gb RAM - gogo2

USB 3.0 - Micro USB 3.0 - world first !!!!

The Screen

Notification LED

LTE power efficient Radio

Knox - Enterprise Security !!!

Ultra Low Power Wireless Sensors for Sporting Use - KTCY

Android Authority - Samsung Introduces The Galaxy Note 3 In A Super-Detailed 6.5 Minute Video

GSMArena Hands on with Multi-Vision --- expand your screen ACROSS several Note 3s !!!!! - Andrewtst

=============================

For the Note series, the main differentiator is the S-Pen using a Wacom active digitizer, and Samsung's nicely packaged software to take advantage of it across the OS. I personally like the workflow enhancement you get when your device can actually replace the paper notebook, so I am very keen for active digitizer devices, of which currently only the Note series has it in the smartphone/phablet form factor. Larger devices with active digitizers (Wacom or N-Trig) tend to be very expensive (RM5k++) tablets/convertibles from notebook manufacturers.

First off, I want to put things in perspective. I must state that we can no longer think of our devices as "phones" but COMPUTERS. Therefore, since computers have been around for the last 60 years or so, there is nothing "new" or "innovative" to expect from our devices, except for "faster, better, cheaper". Maybe not cheaper but we have seen ASP (Average Selling Price) falling across the board.

And because it is a computer, you have to treat it as such, ie regular backups, some periodic cleansing/factory reset and practice safe computing habits.

Note that of course it is not to be compared with the CISC type computers of the Intel x86 desktop/notebook genre, but it is still a computer nonetheless of the RISC variety, specifically the ARM family, with a huge number of variations across manufacturers. The focus of ARM is for performance per watt, which allows low power computing on the go which has been the dream of computing since its dawn.

Anything else, feel free to contribute.

Information will be added as it becomes available.

This post has been edited by joytest: Sep 16 2013, 06:41 PM
TSjoytest
post Sep 10 2013, 03:04 PM

13,188 posts

CHANGELOG
I will attempt to log changes here as an indication of new material that I've added. I won't log cosmetic changes. Some posts will also be excluded from the changelog (eg Accessories) unless noteworthy.

The changelog will begin from 1 in each new topic version. Changelog link for prior topic versions posted at the bottom.

No.DateDescription of ChangePostSubsection
122013-09-
112013-09-
102013-09-
092013-09-
082013-09-
072013-09-
062013-09-
052013-09-16Added details on Ultra Low Power Wifi ANT+, by KTCY 1 Specs in Depth
042013-09-16Added Hands on and Q&A on Note 3 - HWZone SG - 2013-09-16, mzabu 3
032013-09-15Added link to download Note 3 User Guide, by wkho555 1 Specs in Depth
022013-09-15Added video of Unboxing and Hands On by GSMArena 3
012013-09-15Confirmed presence of notification light by mzabu and destEX 1 Specs in Depth

This post has been edited by joytest: Sep 16 2013, 06:33 PM
TSjoytest

13,188 posts

Links to Tweets, Reviews, Hands on, articles etc.

Lowyat.Net Twitter confirming availability on 25 Sep in Malaysia
Confirmed: the Galaxy Note 3 and Galaxy Gear are all coming to Malaysia on September 25

SoyaCincau on availability, also *possibly* 25 Sep - Xeactorz

COMPARISONS

Engadget's Comparison with Note 2 - blacktubi

Note IINote 3
Dimensions5.95 x 3.16 x 0.37 inches (151.1 x 80.5 x 9.4mm)5.95 x 3.12 x 0.33 inches (151.2 x 79.2 x 8.3mm)
Weight6.35 oz. (180g) 5.92 oz. (168g)
Screen size 5.5 inches 5.7 inches
Screen resolution 1,280 x 720 pixels (267ppi) 1,920 x 1,080 (386ppi)
Screen type HD Super AMOLED Full HD Super AMOLED
Battery 3,100mAh 3,200mAh
Internal storage 16 / 32 / 64GB 32 / 64GB
External storage microSD (up to 64GB) microSD (up to 64GB)
Rear camera 8MP 13MP
Front-facing cam 1.9MP 2MP
Video capture 1080p 1080p, 4K/UHD* (only in some markets)
NFC Yes Yes
Radios HSPA+, LTE HSPA+, LTE Advanced
Bluetooth Version 4.0 Version 4.0
SoC 1.6GHz quad-core Exynos 2.3GHz quad-core processor / 1.9GHz octa-core processor (varies by region)
RAM 2GB 3GB
MHL Yes Yes
Operating systemAndroid 4.1 Jelly Bean Android 4.3 Jelly Bean

A comparison of various Samsung phone sizes from S1 thru Note3 - Andrewtst

Hands on and Q&A on Note 3 - HWZone SG - 2013-09-16 - mzabu

Unboxing and Hands On by PhoneArena (with narration) - 2013-09-17 - mudkipryan94

Unboxing and Hands On by GSMArena - 2013-09-13

A preliminary review from Reddit !!! - 2013-09-10 - blacktubi
>>> As a few of you asked me to do, here's a crude "field test" of the Samsung Galaxy Note 3's battery <<<

Coldfustion's preliminary review !!! - 2013-09-05

Official First Hands On for Note 3 and Gear - Xeactorz

Very interesting for the charting functions in the new S-Note version. 18 minutes long.

PocketNow hands on with various cases - Xeactorz

*Cases
*Wallets
*Covers (with S-View window)

Engadget Note 3 flip cover hands on - WiLyi

==========================================

Sammobile - Hands-on Galaxy Note 3, Galaxy Gear and Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 edition - 2013-09-08 - Xeactorz

The article also has a comparison of the Note 3 4k video vs the Note 2 FHD and S4 FHD videos.

8:39

TechRadar - Hands on: Samsung Galaxy Note 3 review - 2013-09-05 - mudkipryan94
A short review, but I would like to highlight one of the comments. I am not being a Samsung fanboi but surely a review should be as objective as possible, and personal bias should be stated up front.

nellymosserFri 11:38
This is a fairly ridiculous review - and in fairness, not very helpful. The article seems peppered with your own personal tastes. We're not reading this to see if it suits you, we're reading it to see if it suits us. It is for us to decide on the leather look. And your comment, "Most people will never use multi-window, as nine times out of 10 you'll find you're using it for the sake of it." Actually, is for us to decide if we like the multi-window option or not to - Pinterest/Facebook/Twitter users, people who actually do like to look at links on the web but not lose their threads - already find it useful in Notes 1 & 2.

Instead of your own personal tastes, how about telling us what we need to know? What about battery life? That battery sounds massive. Is it? How about telling us about sound quality? Connectivity? Any changes to the home page? How it feels to hold? Can you drop it? Does it have gorrilla glass? What is the point/function of the octo core - how good is the super HD filming?

Different people want different things from a smartphone - that's why there are so many. How about you try to think about your spectrum of readers - your customers - when you write. At least that something that Samsung is trying to do here.
Android Authority - Galaxy Note 3 vs LG G2 vs Xperia Z1 vs Xperia Z Ultra – Spec battle
.....These smartphones are all top of the range devices, and the bar has been set extremely high. There are very few perceivable differences between the four of them and personal preference might be the biggest factor that makes you prefer one over the other. What we do know is that with such great options from a wide variety of manufacturers, the competition will compel OEMs to make even better devices which is a win for you, the consumer.

It’s a battle royale, and these are the most latest and most advanced smartphones in the world.

Engadget - Samsung Galaxy Note 3 preview - WiLyi
Nice and fairly in depth overview, with 40 pics.

Verge - Samsung's Galaxy Note 3 is bigger, faster, thinner, and lighter, but is it any better? - WiLyi
An EXTREMELY short writeup but there's a hands on pics, AND 330 comments and counting, as of 17:30 on 05 September.

PocketNow's Taylor Martin on Five reasons we want the Galaxy Note 3 - benny888

The first benchmark scores of the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 are in - Xeactorz

IFA 2013: Samsung overview
...The S-Pen is what actually makes the Note lineup so special, and Samsung has surely provided the Note 3 with even more S-Pen compatible apps, handwriting-recognition features and drawing tools.

There is also one more thing different about the new Note - it arguably looks better than ever (if though not everybody here at the office agrees). Samsung has its entire back to look like leather and the Note 3 looks just amazing....

CNET - Samsung's Galaxy Note 3 has new leather-and-stitching look and more multitasking (hands-on)
.....As phones get bigger and tablets get more ubiquitous, it's good to see a device do something different that actually justifies the increased size. The Samsung Galaxy Note 3's multitasking features are particularly well-thought-out -- but whether you think it looks good in leather is up to you.

Slashgear - Samsung Galaxy Note 3 hands-on

Phonearena - Samsung Galaxy Note 3 specs

This post has been edited by joytest: Sep 17 2013, 08:23 PM
TSjoytest

13,188 posts

Owners' List

Self Service Form Here!!!

THIS FORM IS IN BETA UNTIL 19 Sep. Around 00:00 on 20 Sep 2013, I will CLEAR ALL DATA and the form will be LIVE

Please input your LYN username, SME/AP, Model, Capacity and Color, and any optional information you wish, and hit "Submit" on the form.

> CLICK HERE for Owners' SUBMISSION FORM < - started on 2013-09-20

> Owners' List spreadsheet < - full list of owners here.

This post has been edited by joytest: Sep 15 2013, 01:17 AM
TSjoytest
post Sep 10 2013, 03:05 PM

13,188 posts

OTHER LINKS

XDA Note 3 thread

Summary of 20 Best features of Samsung GALAXY Note 3

Jean-Baptiste Queru (JBP) speaks about 64 bit processing in mobile devices

Money to burn? Innovative and Cool Bluetooth Necklaces

This post has been edited by joytest: Sep 17 2013, 06:40 PM
TSjoytest

13,188 posts

reserved
TSjoytest

13,188 posts

reserved
TSjoytest
post Sep 10 2013, 03:06 PM

13,188 posts

reserved

Ok start posting
SUSgogo2
post Sep 10 2013, 03:07 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Lag or no lag.

iPhone lag but different way of lag. You have confident in control the UI in iPhone. You know when you swipe left, it'll go there. But for Android, its different. You're not under control anymore. You feel helpless when Android lag.

But seriously, I'm ok with Android lag. I've been using 1GB RAM device with single core and I just need to suit myself to their lag.

Congratulations in the new thread.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Sep 10 2013, 03:09 PM
Andrewtst
post Sep 10 2013, 03:10 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

iPhone also can be terrible. I had seen a terrible one.

Sometimes a phone run smooth or not depends on the user as well.

How the user organize is important rules.
Andrewtst
post Sep 10 2013, 03:12 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,763 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 10 2013, 03:03 PM)
Note 3 v2
As I am on mobile I will paste up the info later this evening.  Give me 8 posts reserve.
Hahaha! The most blank thread I ever see. tongue.gif

Mobile also can copy and paste and edit.

I always handle thread at night via mobile only. Hehe.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 10 2013, 03:13 PM
SUSgogo2
post Sep 10 2013, 03:13 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 10 2013, 03:10 PM)
iPhone also can be terrible. I had seen a terrible one.

Sometimes a phone run smooth or not depends on the user as well.

How the user organize is important rules.
Even though terrible, you feel you're in control. You just press home button and voila, you're back to home.

In Android, you're stuck.

Anyway, I think we all agreed that iOS is lagfree because its OS give 100% priority to touch. So there's nothing to discuss about with the way Android OS is written.
singa89
post Sep 10 2013, 03:15 PM

long live play
1,204 posts

i think new high end android have no lag issue anymore??
SUSdestEX
post Sep 10 2013, 03:15 PM

oink oink
3,432 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 10 2013, 03:06 PM)
It lag but not the way Android lag.
From my knowledge, their lag is related to the loading time, while our lag is bcoz we have instantaneous response and the lag will be obvious

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 10 2013, 03:07 PM)
Who say it doesn't crash? laugh.gif
Crash is app problem BTW

Anyway, iPhone 5 will lag sometime on Lowyat reply page, too many GIF I guess
dude, it sarcasm laugh.gif .

Anyways hope NOTE 3 is satisfactory all round.
antt00
post Sep 10 2013, 03:16 PM

RescuE
10,873 posts

QUOTE(singa89 @ Sep 10 2013, 03:15 PM)
That will be a wrong assumption.
SUSgogo2
post Sep 10 2013, 03:17 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

Will have. Its part of the Android OS design.

QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 10 2013, 03:15 PM)
From my knowledge, their lag is related to the loading time, while our lag is bcoz we have instantaneous response and the lag will be obvious
dude, it sarcasm  laugh.gif .

Anyways hope NOTE 3 is satisfactory all round.
The lag we're talking now is instantaneous response. That's our Android problem now.
Andrew_1980
post Sep 10 2013, 03:19 PM

6,196 posts

Wrong idea. High end android just not easily get lag.
singa89
post Sep 10 2013, 03:19 PM

long live play
1,204 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 10 2013, 03:16 PM)
That will be a wrong assumption.
i duno... see my bro s4 performs decently

s3 oso ok.. xperia s after update to jellybean oso not bad

jz my opinion though

my note 1 on ics is not very smooth though
Leo the Lion
post Sep 10 2013, 03:20 PM

6,358 posts

You need corei7 ultra so no lags anymore.
Leo the Lion
post Sep 10 2013, 03:21 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(guanchung @ Sep 10 2013, 04:20 PM)
what TW ?????
TW = TouchWiz.

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1787sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:35 PM