Mechanical Keyboard Thread Reload V15

SUSHuman10
post Sep 28 2013, 10:23 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Sep 28 2013, 07:19 PM)
It's ok, can change any time ma. hahaha
Filco case need pry pry yo, nanti one day broken or tercalar no fun liao.
SUSHuman10
post Sep 29 2013, 02:18 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Lotus1109 @ Sep 29 2013, 01:17 AM)
If malaysia has this then I don't have to pay extra RM13 postage fee liao sad.gif
still kinda sakit for that extra rm13
simply not worth it
The cheapest international shipping is probably global.pchome, 10USD for 3kg. Used to be 5kg. You pay with paypal, so no need agent. The shipping is fast too last time.
http://global.pchome.com.tw/?mod=store&fun..._NO=DCAH21&tm=u

Sadly, its keyboard section is among the least choices one (except duckies).

This post has been edited by Human10: Sep 29 2013, 02:30 AM
SUSHuman10
post Sep 29 2013, 02:55 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Lotus1109 @ Sep 29 2013, 02:52 AM)
the reason I am feeling sad is because I heard that f104 is roughly about 2.6kg so I thought I can buy some keycap to fill in the 0.4kg but then end up 3.25 kg sad.gif

feeling idiotic to my stupid idea
So your parcel actually reached already?

I still can't believe that addition of a few keycaps (not even fullset) will increase the weight by 700g.

May be those Chinamen using their nuke-proof packaging again...
SUSHuman10
post Sep 29 2013, 05:16 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Sep 29 2013, 05:04 PM)
Tidak ada kb sudah bang... sad.gif I try to take photo the other day but I can't get a good comparison shot. The difference is very minimal. Around 2-3mm. The stem have friction with the cherry stab. I think if I just cut the stab frame, maybe this will solve the problem.
I noticed it on the ikbc too, but somehow it still manage to compatible both spacebar with about 1mm different in distance.

Regarding your question on china backlit tkl, I think I wi suggest either plum87 or noppoo choc mid for you due to using costar stabiliser, which is a rarity for backlit board.
SUSHuman10
post Sep 29 2013, 05:49 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Sep 29 2013, 05:42 PM)
Quality okay ka bang for those two.... I afraid layout issue again. sweat.gif. Btw for oni, I almost break the stab frame. Haha... taobao keycaps stuck, unable to go back at all. Vortex keycaps stuck halfway. I never thought 2-3mm can make a difference.
I think plum87 will be fine. Plum's keyboard had being doing great so far.

If you interested, a member here named xaphier had it.
SUSHuman10
post Sep 29 2013, 07:05 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Sep 29 2013, 05:56 PM)
I can say keycool is very good as well, the gen 2 87 keycool I got was surprisingly well with quality, and it's kinda low height too. I still haven't tried changing the spacebar yet, but abang china human10 say can, then I think it's a good pick up. Very good price and quality IMO. Definitely top china board with plum. I will get one plum soon.
Actually your review set is gen2? The one with different mode of lighting?

BTW, I don't recommend him Keycool as backlit keycool is using Cherry Stabiliser.

This post has been edited by Human10: Sep 29 2013, 07:06 PM
SUSHuman10
post Sep 29 2013, 07:32 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Sep 29 2013, 07:27 PM)
Why? He prefers costar stab? And yes, it's the one with different mode of lighting.
Nope, given to me.
Yup, he don't like Cherry stab.
SUSHuman10
post Sep 30 2013, 12:59 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Sep 30 2013, 11:23 AM)
you guise have tracking-fetish ?  tongue.gif
btw, which spring should I swap to get ergo clears? should I harvest them from the browns or blues.
I know red's are viable as well.
Minimumly, try stock black's spring.

Blue or brown is too soft for clear stem and may cause sticky issue.
SUSHuman10
post Sep 30 2013, 07:14 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 30 2013, 06:55 PM)
Now I'd say 1mm makes whole lot of difference.  sweat.gif
When I view the video, filco fits perfectly.
What 1mm? HPE and filco is 1mm different?
SUSHuman10
post Sep 30 2013, 10:01 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Sep 30 2013, 07:52 AM)
Human10 Sir, if you were given choice which one will you opt for the china kb? Noppoo, keycool or plum? Ignoring the stab choosing... And may you tell why?
I can't give a fair recommendation here, since I persoanlly more inclined towards Plum, followed by Keycool and later others if by brand reputation.

Thus, I think I simply list it out the selling points of each and let you judge yourself. OR you simply want to be safe, I believe abang Krymian's recommendation and Keycool's previous reputation till now is more than enough to make you select Keycool.

Plum87
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...840165edcd783de
Pros: BL/Non-BL version, wireless/wired Costar stabiliser, no keycaps compatibility issue AFAIK, non-bl version come with stock POM keycaps, more media/shortcut keys
Cons: Macam no brown switch, board only black color, stock keycaps fugly font

Choc Mid 87 BL:
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...&id=21403731142
Pros: The board is specially made like a filco clone, hence it should have high compatibility with filco even the case (yet proven), macam macam switch and LED color option
Cons: Non user detachable wire just like Filco, board only black color

Keycool 87 BL gen2
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....ene=taobao_shop
Pros: cheapest backlit board among the 3 for non-black switch, Should be real solid, more advanced backlit mode and ability to mix multi voltage LED, the curvy keycool shape is really nice to use compared to sharp and edgy case
Cons: Cherry stab

After all the points above, I think after you have special need like filco clone's look or wireless/media shortcut, I think it is clear that your choice is Keycool. At current rate, it should still be under RM340 shipped to EM.

SUSHuman10
post Sep 30 2013, 10:07 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 30 2013, 09:32 PM)
So is custom plate 1mm different from HPE or filco too? hmm.gif
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 01:06 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Oct 1 2013, 12:32 AM)
Thanks for the detail answer... May I know why you prefer PLUM? Just asking... biggrin.gif Seems like Plum is my choice. Wireless, backlit, costar, mediakey. I wonder if Plum face same issue with keycool regarding stuck switch etc by local forumer... hmm.gif
Bang for bucks (one of the most features/values rich non-gaming boards) + active/responsible maker? Plum's maker - A大 actually survey the market needs in forums and helping those ppl that request for replacement spare parts.

Afaik, no. Details may be you should ask xaphier since he is the latest here to get a plum. Even for the keycool's case, I never heard it being documented as a problem b4, may be just some unlucky isolated kes, lol.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 01:07 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Sep 30 2013, 10:25 PM)
The keycool multi voltage LED feature is really a plus, not easy to find it in other board, but I have to stress that Cherry Stab is not a Con. At least for me lol
What if I tell you razer BWU got? icon_idea.gif

Regarding cherry stabiliser, the uncertainties are too huge.

By default having 2 types, plate mounted and pcb mounted. Later different brand different feel some more. If being installed improperly or sub par stabiliser then the feel may even become more sucky.

Better get costar style, at least mostly it works well, at most only squeaky issue that is somehow solvable with applying excessive amount of lube, lol.

Worse still, at least it is easier to find and install replacement.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 1 2013, 01:13 AM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 08:01 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Oct 1 2013, 02:03 AM)
Is this him?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=128457

So abang Xaphier, mind to share some opinion with us?

BTW, I actually afraid that recurrent case for odd cherry stab like I faced with Oni. doh.gif  And somehow I think Costar more universal than cherry after the previous issue. And no LED color choice for morphling?
Yar, no choice for led, so I suggest you to get the POM version and sent to Kai/016 to mod the led. If the led holes are not presoldered as in poker, ONI and ikbc, then it isn't as much works, hassle or difficulty to mod it.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 1 2013, 08:10 AM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 09:20 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:06 AM)
Hoho... This is where Keycool win right as the can change the LED. I'm surprised with Noppoo design, looks like Filco. sweat.gif
If you DIY, all board shall be able to change led, though some might need adjustment to the resistors.

For keycool, it is special for being able to mix different color (voltage) led, which is quite a rare things in backlit board.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 10:27 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Xaphier @ Oct 1 2013, 09:38 AM)
LOL, got summoned all of sudden. Yea, I am using Morphling Plum-87. So far so good, serve me pretty good, the only complaint is the key fonts, they are using some kind weird combination of lower and upper case, which looks pretty...ugly TBH, and it annoy people with OCD like me tongue.gif That's why I was looking for a new good looking keycap set. I already ordered one keycap set and it should reach me by the end of the month. Will post some photo update by then.

You can see some photo of the keyboard right here.
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry62833560

Oh yea, the other things you might want to take note of is the space bar key, it tends to get a little bit squeaky if you tap them fast enough. And the battery life of this keyboard is about 3 weeks with two normal AAA batteries. Also yea, as what Human10 has said, I don't recommend you to get the BL version, since you will change the keycap eventually anyway  biggrin.gif 
Nah, Plum-87 does come with Brown, am using brown one right now.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thx for the feedback.

So it does has brown huh? Macam taobao no availability dy, lol.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 10:30 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Oct 1 2013, 09:41 AM)
that font....i rmbr seeing this post by you like month(s) ago...
i'd take vortex's italics anytime if i were to choose between morphling's and vortex's.

actually...i'm curious about what keycaps set you are getting? tongue.gif
Sci-fi and razerish fonts, good what? whistling.gif
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 11:11 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Xaphier @ Oct 1 2013, 11:02 AM)
Fugly font right?  brows.gif

Just a normal ABS custom keycap set from WASD, they are not very expensive. PBT double shot is out of my league at the moment tongue.gif
Human10 mentioned once that this keyboard is easily moddable to became LED backlitted. If you get the backlitted one then when you change keycap you have to get the backlitted compatible keycaps liao biggrin.gif Anyway, if wireless is not in your criteria, then you might as well go for other brand, since backlit is not working during wireless mode anyway.

Yes, the squeaky sound, I have yet to try lubing, the sound is not annoying enough to make me do it yet so it's still alright tongue.gif
Custom printed abs by wasd? That cost over what a ds pbt will cost what? rclxub.gif
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 04:49 PM

6,774 posts

Wrong.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 1 2013, 04:50 PM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 1 2013, 04:51 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Oct 1 2013, 04:14 PM)
YES!! package has arrived!