Human Resource Department

TSjdreamer
post May 30 2006, 05:42 PM, updated 20y ago

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Anyone currently working in this path ? Mind tell me more about what u normally do in the company and more about HR. Salary. etc .. Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jdreamer: May 30 2006, 08:34 PM
TSjdreamer
post May 30 2006, 08:34 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

No one work in HR team ?
Ritz Crackers
post May 30 2006, 08:37 PM

204 posts

blink.gif all I know is... I HATE the HR dept in the place I worked
GiNgEr^fIsH
post May 30 2006, 10:26 PM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

i am a HR application consultant.
considered?

Tehmh
post Jun 1 2006, 09:19 PM

233 posts

hmm HR ppl know the salary of other employees right? who determine their salaries and increments then...hmmm
kkseo86
post Jun 2 2006, 10:11 AM

Is HR very hatred by other departments? My fren told me that she is working in a marketing dpt but the allowance and incentives always been cut-down while she send up the claim form. I can see that she is very up-set with it as what she wrote in the form is the true amount. For me, i believe marketing is a central for a company, without it, where HR comes from? as they bring in business. (hehehe... revenge for my fren)
aLittleMisfit
post Jun 2 2006, 10:20 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

emm... all human resource ARE evil!
GiNgEr^fIsH
post Jun 2 2006, 10:26 AM

**got STImulation?**
1,684 posts

HR only manages the employee's salary, claims, leave etc.. but mind u, decisions are made but top level management. so dont always blame HR. as most of the users i train are HR executives, so i can conclude that they're authorities are quite limited. cheers

This post has been edited by GiNgEr^fIsH: Jun 2 2006, 10:27 AM
kkseo86
post Jun 2 2006, 10:38 AM

hmm... i undertsand that.. but let's say u r standing at the mktg side, ppl keep rejecting ya claim... very sad rite? people paid for what they contributed but kenot get any $$$ back frm the company... isn't it sad and demotivated?

whykay
post Jun 2 2006, 01:01 PM

20 posts

HR dept does more than salary, recruitment, etc
It's about managing people in the company - from A-Z i.e. from hiring to firing.

HR Management is a wide scope - hiring, firing, claims, employee-welfare, benefits, training, disputes, etc etc
Try to google 'HR Management' and you will find the scope..
darun
post Jun 2 2006, 02:18 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Jun 2 2006, 10:26 AM)
HR only manages the employee's salary, claims, leave etc.. but mind u, decisions are made but top level management. so dont always blame HR. as most of the users i train are HR executives, so i can conclude that they're authorities are quite limited. cheers
True, however a lot of companies use the HR department as the evil arm. Top level management will always say things the workers want to hear but when it comes time for bonus or increment or adjustment, its the HR department that does the dirty job of under cutting the employees. Its a smart strategy, management will always smile and say nice things but when it comes time to talk about money, HR is the one that does the dirty job. In fact, in some companies the KPI of HR executives are how well they can squeeze the employee.
ParaOpticaL
post Jun 2 2006, 02:41 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

HR are not evil dept.

what they are doing is actually looking after the benefit of the company and personnel.

claims that are cut probably not all work was done after checking by the HR or amount being over claimed.

HR does alot of things like the HR Exec. i hired. She frequently updates the job description + job function of my whole office.

discuss with me on recruitment and promotion policies. calculate the productivity of my workforce. Salary is a definite. they are integral part of the company. solves quite a no. of my worries.

hope this helps
Ritz Crackers
post Jun 3 2006, 12:58 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Jun 2 2006, 02:41 PM)
HR are not evil dept.

what they are doing is actually looking after the benefit of the company and personnel.

vmad.gif you got that right...
Human Resource Department is not really looking after the employees but employer... can't blame them lar, who pays their salary? The company mar not the staff... sweat.gif that is why HR Dept is always hated by employees in the company... natural thing mar.

So if you wanna be HR, be prepared to be hated lor.

Itu semua asam garam kehidupan! cool.gif

tunasandwich
post Jun 3 2006, 07:45 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Tehmh @ Jun 1 2006, 09:19 PM)
hmm HR ppl know the salary of other employees right? who determine their salaries and increments then...hmmm
although ppl hate the HR ppl, but they are treated friendly. because a lot of ur applications like medical leaves and annual leaves need to go through them...

so they might give u a hard time if you piss them off laugh.gif
normaldude
post Jun 3 2006, 10:04 PM

261 posts

Isn't medical leaves automatic once you have the MC for the doctor? And isn't annual leave should be approved by the respective manager? In my companies, claims go through finance and not HR.

So basically, the HR is pretty much useless in my company. They just screen through resume and give the particular manager a bunch of resumes to look at and the manager will tell them who they want to call. But since HR know nuts about technical skills, most of the time they cannot even pick the right candidates to shortlist.

Example: Manager says want someone well versed in Unix. Hence, a candidate which have tons of experience in Linux is not considered because the resume does not have the word "Unix".

This is just what I overheard from my manager
TSjdreamer
post Jun 6 2006, 09:24 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

Im actually heading for HR course, and will be working in HR dep. like in 5 years time. So, I'll be hated soon. laugh.gif
goliath
post Jun 6 2006, 11:24 PM

5,532 posts

yes.. yes.. everybody hates HR personnel because they delay employees pay cheque. laugh.gif . but pls give them a break because they got tons of payroll to deal within a week.. it is not easy to handle because i'm in that line now and i know how it feels tongue.gif
TSjdreamer
post Jun 7 2006, 12:32 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Jun 6 2006, 11:24 PM)
yes.. yes.. everybody hates HR personnel because they delay employees pay cheque. laugh.gif . but pls give them a break because they got tons of payroll to deal within a week.. it is not easy to handle because i'm in that line now and i know how it feels  tongue.gif
Mind tell us more about job ? laugh.gif
goliath
post Jun 7 2006, 01:17 PM

5,532 posts

like everyone said on previous posts, HR handles interviews, hiring, payroll as well as sacking. it depends what level are you in. it is not an easy job especially on payroll because you have to make do on both sides (employer and soon-to-be employee). at times, you need to get things done soon (hiring) because a department need people in there. all in all, i can say it is quite challenging job.
TSjdreamer
post Jun 7 2006, 03:32 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

That sounds pretty interesting. Exactly what my interest is. Looks like I didnt choose the wrong course. biggrin.gif

0.0184sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:31 PM