load:62 (Orthos)
weather: Sunny day
Air Co0ling Thread, AIR HSF(tm) thread
Dec 8 2006, 10:36 AM
3,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Paradise |
ok here is mine:
idle: 52 load:62 (Orthos) weather: Sunny day |
Dec 8 2006, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 8 2006, 10:43 AM) yeah. maybe my air flow in the case not good guah or my room quite hot then. or maybe the mounting of ultra120 got problem. last time got faced one big problem, idle at 55-56c. i took out the ultra then found out the center of the base dont have any TIM on it also. only 2 sides got the TIM i think now 52c not really perfect lah buthen as long as it is stable then ok d |
Dec 8 2006, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(kitkat @ Dec 8 2006, 11:05 AM) basSist, Now using CoolerMaster Centurion5mind to share with us what casing are you using? and how is the air flow inside, i mean how many fans you using now. intake: 1x80mm fan comes with casing exhaust: 1x120mm fan comes with casing, 1x80mm fan (PSU). that's all how's the air flow eh? i am not really sure eh but i believe that when i add one 120mm for intake at front would be improved the overall air flow. btw i can get as low as 54c while loading Orthos during rainy day (yesterday evening!) |
Dec 8 2006, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(kitkat @ Dec 8 2006, 11:25 AM) open casing just drop 1-2c only. it is not recommended case opened as the air cannot be circulated follow the path.QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 8 2006, 11:29 AM) No wonder why you're temps is damn high... haha.. yeah it is negative pressure for my case. i need to concern about my environment temp too. if hot noon the temp high but for cool nite the temp goes low. negative pressure is better than positive pressure in terms of cooling (if and only if the environment is cold and not too hot so that the cold air can be suck from the front's holes) but not in dust prevention. That Centrurion 5 casing is too cramped in... Stupid CoolerMaster engineers uses 80MM for the intake fans, and for the exhaust, they use a 120MM fan, that makes the airflow go negative, think, how can you get a good airflow when the intake fans is much much smaller than the exhaust? The grills do help a lil bit in the airflow, but, it's just some lil numbers... This post has been edited by basSist: Dec 8 2006, 11:37 AM |
Dec 8 2006, 02:40 PM
Dec 8 2006, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 8 2006, 03:56 PM) Seems like the temperature of OC result is giving the HSF tough time....... yeah hehe. ya i think my room quite hot plus the air flow of my case not really good.the cooler should be able to perform better .... or ur room is really massive hot like hell..... 1x80mm(case) intake and 1x120mm exhaust(case) + 1x80mm (PSU). using a CM 120mm Silent LED fan for ultra. any suggestions to improve the air flow? except a new case suggestion |
Dec 11 2006, 06:14 AM
QUOTE(deric88 @ Dec 8 2006, 07:11 PM) woah it should be quite noisy to use that QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 8 2006, 07:48 PM) Remember, Cool the case first. Running 400x8=3.2Ghz @ 1.375v with Ultra-120 + CM 12cm LED silent fanTo see what a cooler case will do for you, just remove the case covers and watch CPU temps. If it drops measurably, then your case cooling needs attention. Cool the CPU next. Stock coolers do work, but there are more efficient designs around. Don't neglect the power supply. These need good airflow too. And don't fret too much over hard drive heat. Yes there is a limit, but its not nearly as critical as most of the other components in your case. If you follow these tips, you'll get a lot out of air cooling. Now if money is no object, get yourself an aluminum case with water cooling. And if money is really not an object.. Buy me one too! Source: OverClockers.com & look for "It's the Case Stupid..." dunno it'll help u a lot or not, cause it sure helps me open 2 folding = 57c (case closed) open 2 folding = 56c (case opened) idle = 51c (case closed) idle = 51c (case opened) not really drops if case opened also QUOTE(deric88 @ Dec 9 2006, 07:29 AM) why so few ppl here use Gigabyte G-Power? i heard tht it's good from few members and reviews(beating cm hyper 6+,Vortex, xp-90 etc etc).... high db for G-Power iianm any comments? |
Dec 11 2006, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Dec 11 2006, 09:17 AM) Agree with bassist there, GPower is NOISY. I can hear my rig from upstairs at night. Cooling power I suppose is petty decent for that price bracket ya... hehe will try to drop my clocks later. but for me as long as not over 65c then it is good enuf Bassist: Why don't you drop your clocks to stock, and take a temp reading? By the looks of it, it may just be that its hot due to o/c rather than anythig else. (since your temps no change if remove case cover). |
Dec 11 2006, 09:50 PM
Dec 12 2006, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Dec 11 2006, 09:58 PM) vantec thermoflow eh? will check it out later QUOTE(niwde @ Dec 12 2006, 11:41 AM) sorry, noob here yes it is worldwide shortage. u only can get it through some online pc shop. the price is about RM200-RM250.wonder where i can get thermalright ultra 120 in lyp? heard there is worldwide shortage izzit true? and btw wat is the price? |
Dec 19 2006, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 18 2006, 10:54 PM) hi, just wanna share my experience here with my new 'aftermarket heatsink'! u are in air cond room right? btw u having a nice vcore for ur proc.. 1.2v only >.< Thermaltake BigTyp 120VX @ 2000rpm (stock fan) Rig: Intel c2d e6300 @ 2.8ghz 1.2v vcore Gigabyte 965 ds3 Idle = 45c Load= 54c (10 minutes ++ with orthos) closed case = Gigabyte aurora 3d Used AS5, so i guess, hopefully the results will be better in 60 hours time? Happy camper for now. Thanks to sup3rfly and lolhalol for doing the heatsink review 60 hours only? i tot is like 200 hours |
Dec 19 2006, 02:45 AM
http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruc...l_dual_wcap.pdf
quoted out from the link: Break-In Period Due to the unique shape and sizes of the particles in Arctic Silver 5 conductive matrix, it will take a up to 200 hours and several thermal cycles to achieve maximum particle to particle thermal conduction and for the heatsink to CPU interface to reach maximum conductivity. (This period will be longer in a system without a fan on the heatsink or with a low speed fan on the heatsink.) On systems measuring actual internal core temperatures via the CPU's internal diode, the measured temperature will often drop 2C to 5C over this "break-in" period. This break-in will occur during the normal use of the computer as long as the computer is turned off from time to time and the interface is allowed to cool to room temperature. Once the break-in is complete, the computer can be left on if desired. |
Dec 20 2006, 02:52 AM
Easytune is showing correctly as the CPU temp showing is really the CPU temp. TAT is showing Core temp not CPU temp.
Core temp usually more than CPU temp about 10c |
Dec 20 2006, 01:53 PM
other than dual core proc, they probably measured in cpu temp and not core temp. u try to find a c2d and other single core proc, place ur finger to test the temp of the hsf (let it load 100%). i tested mine and my fren. my core temp around 60c(core temp) and his also around 60c (cpu temp). my fren's hsf is much more hotter than mine.
As for c2d, it's good we can concern about the highest temp we got. since our proc got the ability to measure for core temp then we have the chance to bring it down and not only cpu temp only. as u bring down the core temp the cpu temp will sure to be lowered down too |
Dec 20 2006, 02:34 PM
@ianho
sorry about my poor explanation. hehe of coz i knew cpu is not the big box thing. i just wanna make a assumption for the difference between cpu and core temp. core temp is measured by the internal thermal diode inside the cpu. cpu temp is measured by the motherboard's sensor itself. http://www.heatsink-guide.com/content.php?...t=maxtemp.shtml QUOTE Intel Pentium D (dual core) Pentium D 820 (2.8GHz) 63°C Pentium D 830 and 840 (3.0-3.2GHz) 69.8°C Note: Pentium 4 and Pentium D temperature specifications indicate the maximum cover temperature, which is typically lower than the temperature reported by the internal thermal diode. Therefore, your system may be running fine even if the reported "CPU temperature" in the BIOS is higher than the temperature specified here. This does not mean that you're on the safe side, though. Sorry if i got anything mistaken again This post has been edited by basSist: Dec 20 2006, 02:37 PM |
Dec 20 2006, 09:47 PM
@vassalle
Easytune5's reading is CPU temp not core temp. TAT & coretemp's reading is Core temp that measured by internal thermal diode inside the proc. |
Dec 27 2006, 05:27 PM
or u can try folding@home to test for ur CPU full load temp.
26c izzit the cpu cover temp? mine also around that with stock vcore and clock speed. |
Dec 27 2006, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 27 2006, 05:27 PM) http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm i think he should use sp2004 or prime95 and not the orthos since orthos is mainly for dual core proc download this and run it.. your processor will run at 100% leave it for like 15 mins and the temp you see is your full load temp. btw running game wont push your processor to the max because most of the game dont use that many processing power. just leave your computer for like 15 mins or more then the temp you see is the idle temp of your comp This post has been edited by basSist: Dec 27 2006, 05:36 PM |
Dec 28 2006, 01:17 AM
@vassalle
wow u got nice temp there~! |
Jan 14 2007, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jan 14 2007, 12:32 PM) hahaa.. cool. same as me lastime, but currently no more since im using xp90 same problem wif urs. my xfx gc's hsf is more noisy.. but only during heavy graphic processing like games,photoshop etc. normal surfing and chatting the fan will automatically spin in low speed even my standard gfx hsf noisy than processor hsf |
| Change to: | 0.0387sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:40 PM |