Android SmartWatch V1, Discuss Any SmartWatch Here ...

joytest
post Nov 9 2014, 01:25 PM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

A post on G+ showing all stock faces

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JoyTestwick/posts/UgpfUDFM23o
joytest
post Nov 28 2014, 06:23 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(wwoosy @ Nov 28 2014, 05:50 PM)
thumbup.gif
But it needs to be paid.
Well, that's how the dev makes money to support themselves....buying the Pebble at such a discount has already saved you money, you can invest a very small part back to devs who support your device.
joytest
post Dec 18 2014, 10:04 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(pendekar7 @ Dec 18 2014, 01:11 PM)
endless possibilities with super stand alone smartwatch
just finish customizing the home screen  biggrin.gif

not to mention its detachable from the strap  thumbup.gif
Nice, but dude, it's a little too little of everything it tries to be.

Fantastic concept though. When they have 5 day batteries at this size, more powerful CPU and a better screen, I might get something like it. tongue.gif
joytest
post Dec 19 2014, 11:30 AM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(pendekar7 @ Dec 19 2014, 07:11 AM)
ofcos we are expecting high after using high end smartphone (eg: Z3) but this device really the best in its own class. not even comparable to other smartwatches.  imagine a mini phone u put in armband when go for gym. while this far far better idea. ni hv no regrets losing    my omate truesmart. detachable is the real deal. anyway still cant depending on it as primary phone tho. when ppl asking me wats on ur wrist. pager. end of conversation tongue.gif
IINM, it's the only device in its class at the moment, very much like the Gear S is as well.

My view is that for devices with small screens, the limit is the screen size. It's like a Nintendo DS (or whatever model it was a few years back), your UI interaction is limited.

Even if the Pine has the same power as a, say, S5 <or your fav high end Android>, you will only be able to interact with 1 hand since it is on your wrist, and god forbid someone wants to read a 100 page PDF manual on it.

Web surfing on the Nokia N8 with 3.5" screen was painful for me. I can't understand how some platform decided that 3.5" was the holy size, and kept denying the truth about the utility of a larger screen.
joytest
post Mar 3 2015, 11:53 AM

13,188 posts

Fundamentally, as of now, Android Wear is simply an extension of your notification area in Android, and is designed for personal network connections (ie Bluetooth).

That is why it does not support standalone calling and network connectivity.

Hopefully this can change, but it will impact Android phone sales if that happens.
joytest
post Mar 3 2015, 12:05 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 3 2015, 11:58 AM)
standalone call means kena buy another sim card lol...

then we will see got certain type of people just wear watch enough, just for calling and view sms? not sure how to type with that puny screen on watch if can do task standalone without phone hahaha...
We just might....anything is possible and there are all kinds of people in the world. tongue.gif

I can type out short texts using the Gear S.

0.0435sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:29 PM