Water Cooling 101, How to Build a Water Cooled System
Sep 5 2013, 07:37 PM
785 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
bro...put some related links based on topic. for instance, infernoaswen's tube reviews in your tubing topic. overall, when people start to discuss things here, i think this gonna be another w/c thread
Sep 5 2013, 11:14 PM
2,808 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(Zzorro @ Sep 5 2013, 04:19 AM) QUOTE(unequalteck @ Sep 5 2013, 06:51 PM) Thanks guys. QUOTE(qwe13 @ Sep 5 2013, 07:37 PM) bro...put some related links based on topic. for instance, infernoaswen's tube reviews in your tubing topic. overall, when people start to discuss things here, i think this gonna be another w/c thread Yep, his thread is linked in the tubing section already. New guys can come here to learn and the other one to chill! |
Sep 6 2013, 02:40 PM
1,298 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Great !
This thread is really helpful ! |
Sep 20 2013, 10:16 AM
310 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Very Informative ! Pro-modder-watercooler ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Oct 4 2013, 03:38 PM
2,313 posts Joined: May 2009 |
I'm totally new to water cooling and this guide actually lead out the most basic and most important things that I need to know instead of packing up with links that I dun understand. Nice guide TS! Will add to my bookmark for reference in future ^^ Good Job! ^^
Oct 7 2013, 01:31 AM
1,350 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
radiator question:
low FPI means thin rad, High FPI means thick rad? how much is the ideal CFM for FPI and ideal static pressure for FPI? is the temp will be much different between pull/push method? |
Oct 7 2013, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(melvintcs @ Oct 7 2013, 01:31 AM) radiator question: Not necessarily. There are low FPI rads that are thick, like Alphacool's nexxxos UT60, which is about 60mm thick. Same goes for high FPI rads, there are thin ones from XSPC and HWLabs.low FPI means thin rad, High FPI means thick rad? how much is the ideal CFM for FPI and ideal static pressure for FPI? is the temp will be much different between pull/push method? I don't think there is an ideal air flow and static pressure rating for radiators as both thickness and FPI have to be considered when choosing fans. Your best bet is to search for reviews on the radiator you're interested in. But a good rule of thumb is that for high FPI rads, prioritise static pressure while for low FPI rads, prioritise air flow. Depending on the components in your loop, the difference between push/pull/push-pull is probably only about 1-3 degrees or so, depending. There shouldn't be much difference of temperature between push and pull, but YMMV if the fan you choose has issues in either configuration. Like for example the noiseblocker e-loop has been know to create a humming noise when used in a pull configuration. Ppl choose pull over push for easy dust handling, but it's totally up to you really. |
Oct 12 2013, 10:12 PM
btw TS would u mind add one more part, as in what type of temperature we should be expecting in water cooling?
pristine This post has been edited by gxthelord: Oct 12 2013, 10:15 PM |
Oct 12 2013, 10:16 PM
362 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kluang, Kajang, Serdang |
Kooolll Make me droolll looking at those WC stuff..
Oct 12 2013, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 12 2013, 10:12 PM) btw TS would u mind add one more part, as in what type of temperature we should be expecting in water cooling? Hi bro, I didn't include that part as there isn't a proper range that I can reference. The temperature range varies a lot because of the different parts that go in the loop, the case + ambient environment, clock speeds, real core temperatures and a whole lot of other things.And also, if you were to compare the top of the line air cooler and a budget AIO water cooler, on occasion, you'd get similar temperatures. |
Oct 12 2013, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(pristine @ Oct 12 2013, 10:17 PM) Hi bro, I didn't include that part as there isn't a proper range that I can reference. The temperature range varies a lot because of the different parts that go in the loop, the case + ambient environment, clock speeds, real core temperatures and a whole lot of other things. yup I was wondering cuz I read alot reviews and many shows similar temperature. Let's just take an example of comparison of All In One and full water cooling? Would we able to see temp as low as 20C in our heaty country in a full water cooling setup?And also, if you were to compare the top of the line air cooler and a budget AIO water cooler, on occasion, you'd get similar temperatures. This post has been edited by gxthelord: Oct 12 2013, 10:22 PM |
Oct 12 2013, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 12 2013, 10:21 PM) yup I was wondering cuz I read alot reviews and many shows similar temperature. Let's just take an example of comparison of All In One and full water cooling? Would we able to see temp as low as 20C in our heaty country in a full water cooling setup? Even for AIOs, with the existence of Swiftech's H-series, it's quite interesting as it's pretty modular, and easy to change stuff. If you were to compare the top end AIO solution (not kit) with a full out customed or even a good kit, the custom or kit solutions would give you better control over the temperatures you're getting simply because there's things you can change out and add. If you compare a H100/110 to a kit, chances are the temperatures will be only a few degrees from each other.You won't be able to get 20C, unless your room itself is below 20C, say maybe 15C? 20C idle maybe. 20C load, no way. Even then, no promises you'll hit 20C unless your cooling setup is THAT good. |
Oct 15 2013, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(pristine @ Oct 12 2013, 11:43 PM) Even for AIOs, with the existence of Swiftech's H-series, it's quite interesting as it's pretty modular, and easy to change stuff. If you were to compare the top end AIO solution (not kit) with a full out customed or even a good kit, the custom or kit solutions would give you better control over the temperatures you're getting simply because there's things you can change out and add. If you compare a H100/110 to a kit, chances are the temperatures will be only a few degrees from each other. Ohh No wonder... So I guess in our heaty country the best temp could achieved in non-air cond room would be roughly 26-30C then. You won't be able to get 20C, unless your room itself is below 20C, say maybe 15C? 20C idle maybe. 20C load, no way. Even then, no promises you'll hit 20C unless your cooling setup is THAT good. On a Side issue, would be getting my parts soon. EK DCP 4.0(OTW), EK DCP 4.0 RES COMBO(OTW), XSPC RAYSTORM INTEL(OTW), EKGTX660 GPU BLOCK(Already with me) RX360/EX360(waiting quotation? So what I've read from TS page is I think I still need some compression fittings(I prefer these to barbs they look much tougher and safety-er), and tubings that's all right? |
Oct 15 2013, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 15 2013, 12:46 AM) Ohh No wonder... So I guess in our heaty country the best temp could achieved in non-air cond room would be roughly 26-30C then. Fittings, tubing, fans...coolant? HahaOn a Side issue, would be getting my parts soon. EK DCP 4.0(OTW), EK DCP 4.0 RES COMBO(OTW), XSPC RAYSTORM INTEL(OTW), EKGTX660 GPU BLOCK(Already with me) RX360/EX360(waiting quotation? So what I've read from TS page is I think I still need some compression fittings(I prefer these to barbs they look much tougher and safety-er), and tubings that's all right? |
Oct 15 2013, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(pristine @ Oct 15 2013, 12:50 AM) Fans already standby when last time using my AIO. xD SP120, maybe will get another pair (cuz it looks better) Coolant I read that those distilled water in bottles from Petrol Station would work fine? On the safety side I rmb reading we can use non-conductive koolant which are safer is it? For my tubes I will be going for colored/uv reactive tube, then using colourless koolant I guess. |
Oct 15 2013, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 15 2013, 12:59 AM) Fans already standby when last time using my AIO. xD SP120, maybe will get another pair (cuz it looks better) Yes, distilled water will work fine. Just make sure you don't end up buying something else. Coolant I read that those distilled water in bottles from Petrol Station would work fine? On the safety side I rmb reading we can use non-conductive koolant which are safer is it? For my tubes I will be going for colored/uv reactive tube, then using colourless koolant I guess. You can also use coolant, which has all the anti corrosion and what-nots already mixed in, complete with colour even. Good choice on the coloured tube, but I'm guessing your res will be transparent, so might want to consider coloured coolant or dyed water. |
Oct 15 2013, 01:20 AM
QUOTE(pristine @ Oct 15 2013, 01:16 AM) Yes, distilled water will work fine. Just make sure you don't end up buying something else. lol what type of other things I might end up buying? >< You can also use coolant, which has all the anti corrosion and what-nots already mixed in, complete with colour even. Good choice on the coloured tube, but I'm guessing your res will be transparent, so might want to consider coloured coolant or dyed water. Err damn i totally forgotten the res is transparent~! LOL... So are there coolant that are non-conductive n coloured??? I'm thinking of going colourless cuz from many reviews I read those premixed coolant or dye will make the tubing deteriorate faster than distilled water :/ |
Oct 15 2013, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 15 2013, 01:20 AM) lol what type of other things I might end up buying? >< Deionised water, RO water, Mineral water. Err damn i totally forgotten the res is transparent~! LOL... So are there coolant that are non-conductive n coloured??? I'm thinking of going colourless cuz from many reviews I read those premixed coolant or dye will make the tubing deteriorate faster than distilled water :/ Pretty much most coolant will be "non-conductive", but not all of them mention how "non-conductive" they are. Personally, I'd recommend XSPC's EC6, a formula based on Thermochill's excellent EC6 coolant which you can google up and read about. I have EC6 in stock if you're interested. Else, there's always Mayhems, but from infernoaswen's results, seems like the dye breaks down as well. But you can try Mayhem pastel coolants, haven't heard of issues so far. Deteriorate? |
Oct 15 2013, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(pristine @ Oct 15 2013, 01:28 AM) Deionised water, RO water, Mineral water. ohh~~ just make sure it stated distilled water then? XD Pretty much most coolant will be "non-conductive", but not all of them mention how "non-conductive" they are. Personally, I'd recommend XSPC's EC6, a formula based on Thermochill's excellent EC6 coolant which you can google up and read about. I have EC6 in stock if you're interested. Else, there's always Mayhems, but from infernoaswen's results, seems like the dye breaks down as well. But you can try Mayhem pastel coolants, haven't heard of issues so far. Deteriorate? So distilled water are not "non-conductive" then eh? :/ EC6 eh? I'll do some digging, definitely will pm u if I need'em |
Oct 15 2013, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(gxthelord @ Oct 15 2013, 01:36 AM) ohh~~ just make sure it stated distilled water then? XD Yes, be sure it's stated distilled.So distilled water are not "non-conductive" then eh? :/ EC6 eh? I'll do some digging, definitely will pm u if I need'em Like it or not, everything will still be conductive. Just a matter of how much. The purpose of using Distilled and not anything else is coz it's pretty much pure in the sense that there's nothing, or at least very, very little things in it since it's considered dead water. Sure bro. Consider your case size and then figure out your tube size. Be warned that if you choose to go 1/2" 3/4" tubing, you might have an issue with compression fittings when assembling on WC parts that have the ports next to each other. |
| Change to: | 0.0194sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:59 AM |