1st working day in a new company, what should i do? meet new friend,etc..
TSapple_juice
May 28 2006, 02:52 PM, updated 20y ago
hallo...can u guys share some experiences, special event happen when u working in a company at very first day? what would u do at that day? introduce urself to some new friends who work in same company, chatting with boss, surf net, etc....
lanusb
May 28 2006, 04:40 PM
first day go thru the company manual about staffs requirements, benefits, operations and regulation..
casper04
May 28 2006, 06:03 PM

First day at work all you have to do is follow instructions and SMILE
Thrust
May 28 2006, 06:05 PM
1st day will be a darn boring day. You will need to familiarize yourself with new staffs and the environment. Will need to be down to earth too
TSapple_juice
May 28 2006, 06:11 PM
what are suitable topics can talk to all the staff? (in addition to ask their name..  )
Thrust
May 28 2006, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(apple_juice @ May 28 2006, 06:11 PM) what are suitable topics can talk to all the staff? (in addition to ask their name..  ) Maybe just tell them a bit about your past (working place i mean) You can also ask them about the office culture as well as do's and don't in the office
yiivei
May 28 2006, 07:45 PM
be the 1st to greet every of ur staffs, dun just sit there waiting for them... this will should a very good impression towards them in a sense u r friendly and easy to get along with~
cheers
TSapple_juice
May 28 2006, 08:25 PM
ya...be the first to greet every of the staff is 1 of the best way let them know ur the easy get along person, but have to find a good and suitable topic la  any interesting topic can chat with them after asking their name...???
=--ChoonG->>
May 28 2006, 10:40 PM
remember to keep the  face
skyloon
May 28 2006, 10:54 PM
dun go back home so early although u r very free..
dsiew
May 29 2006, 09:18 AM
first week go home early is ok... since EVERYBODY knows u have nothing to do
anyway, just keep cool and just get to know everybody
finally good luck!
:: n|c ::
May 29 2006, 10:17 AM

ask everybody around about their salary..XD
Ido
May 29 2006, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(:: n|c :: @ May 29 2006, 10:17 AM) ask everybody around about their salary..XD So direct. You might be dissapointed if you are the lowest paid..First day already no mood. Cham loor...
Mavik
May 29 2006, 03:32 PM
Patience is a virtue
Where will you be working at? If it is a Japanese company they might ask you to give a speech to the entire department
lawsh
May 29 2006, 03:33 PM
had a big pile of books to read almost fell asleep in the first week found that there are seniors sleeping in toilet during tea time  coz i heard them snoring in the toilet This post has been edited by lawsh: May 29 2006, 03:34 PM
sunbeams
May 29 2006, 11:42 PM
1. Find out who the Human Resource manager is. He/She will be the person you will be seeing most. Talk to him/her and get enough insight about what your rights and benefits are. As mentioned by someone earlier, get a copy of the company handbook. Read through it meticulously. Pay more attention to the fine prints.
2. Know your team (if you are to be assigned one). Break some ice, take the initiative to start a conversation. Show confidence in yourself, coz someday, you are gonna lead this team. What better way than to spray a scent of leadership around.
3. Be friendly with those sitting around you (most likely, your team, but not always). Be nice to them. They will spare you office gossip as you move on. Start off on a wrong note, and you'll be the target of back-talk.
4. Don't be too cocky. It's your first day.
5. Familiarise yourself with the environment. Know where the pantry is. Know where the toilet is. Know where the smoking parlour is.
6. Ask around about essential conveniences. Maybe your colleague knows where to park the car for free and remain unspotted by blue-suit ticket agents. Or where the best teh tarik can be found.
7. Make friends with the "kakak" or "makcik" or "ah-sow" who takes care of the pantry. You'll find yourself getting surprise gifts or biscuits or coffee on some occassions. She might even let you sneak out that Oreo cookies that is only for the boss's consumption.
8. Last but not least, please please please find out what you are supposed to do. If by the end of the first week you are still clueless as to what your role or purpose is, it signifies that you have worn the "John Doe" sign on your back.
P.S. Avoid office politics. At all cost.
Suet
May 30 2006, 09:57 AM
Ahems.  a) Switch on pc, do a thorough check. Delete anything unsavoury like porn lol. Oh yeah install MSN lol. b) Get to know your nearest cubicle mates. Go to lunch with them. Chat but don't be too nosy or annoying. c) If you wanna go home fast, make sure you have nothing else to do. Start going home promptly (operative word here is prompt, NOT early) on Day One and you will be quite used to it. Should be go home late everyday, once you want to go home early, it'd look out of ordinary lol. Tht's what I did anyway.  Good luck!
Suet
May 30 2006, 10:00 AM
Dang double post! =_=
This post has been edited by Suet: May 30 2006, 10:02 AM
Suet
May 30 2006, 10:05 AM
OF COURSE cannot go home early. Work ends 6pm you wanna go home 5pm??  lol. You can go home PROMPTLY and on time if you want Ask around be brave and tell them you've got nothing to do. Do your colleagues need help? Or your superior needs you to complete a task? If all is done, wish them good-bye-see-you-again-tomorrow-tata!  It's a sad Asian mentality. Going home promptly doesn't mean we are not hardworking. Au contraire, it means we've finished our jobs!  QUOTE(skyloon @ May 28 2006, 10:54 PM) dun go back home so early although u r very free..