PC Audio How to full disable woffer bass ?, PC speaker V 4121

TSMaxieos
post Aug 23 2013, 06:46 PM, updated 13y ago

3,765 posts

I need quite some help.Last time I did post before I am having problem with my PC speaker having wooooooo sound when I reduce more the bass.(The more I reduce the more wooooo sound it came out from my woffer)
And recently it getting louder .I was wondering whether there's a way to disable the woofer to run on satellite only on my speaker.Since it's an old speaker , altec lansing vs4121 , hopefully there is way to do that.The reason I seek help from audiophiles people here . notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Many thanks smile.gif
power911
post Aug 23 2013, 07:14 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

either you disassemble the backplace and remove the wires of the woofer by cutting it or you bring it to an electric shop to repair it for bass~
k3lvinNdad
post Aug 23 2013, 07:16 PM

Uulala
511 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 23 2013, 06:46 PM)
I need quite some help.Last time I did post before I am having problem with my PC speaker having wooooooo sound when I reduce more the bass.(The more I reduce the more wooooo sound it came out from my woffer)
And recently it getting louder .I was wondering whether there's a way to disable the woofer to run on satellite only on my speaker.Since it's an old speaker , altec lansing vs4121 , hopefully there is way to do that.The reason I seek help from audiophiles people here .  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Many thanks smile.gif
disable the woffer is just simply cut off the wire i guess lol...troubleshoot just try to open up the woffer box see the amplifier got any bad cap or not smile.gif
lex
post Aug 23 2013, 07:46 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

Does the sound appear when you disconnect the sound source (ie. unplug the audio cable and leave it disconnected)? Is there any scratchy/rumbling/crackling sounds when turning the bass control knob? hmm.gif

And recently it getting louder .I was wondering whether there's a way to disable the woofer to run on satellite only on my speaker.Since it's an old speaker , altec lansing vs4121 , hopefully there is way to do that.The reason I seek help from audiophiles people here .  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
To disable the wooder, simply open up the subwoofer enclosure and disconnect the wires to the woofer either by cutting or de-soldering. Remember to use wiring tape to cover the ends of those wires to prevent short circuit across the woofer power amplifier output. With only the satellites running, the speakers will sound like those el-cheapo RM20 speakers (all highs and hardly any bass at all). Anyway, before deciding to disconnect the woofer, check for any signs of failed components such as badcaps... wink.gif

TSMaxieos
post Aug 23 2013, 09:17 PM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Aug 23 2013, 07:14 PM)
either you disassemble the backplace and remove the wires of the woofer by cutting it or you bring it to an electric shop to repair it for bass~
QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Aug 23 2013, 07:16 PM)
disable the woffer is just simply cut off the wire i guess lol...troubleshoot just try to open up the woffer box see the amplifier got any bad cap or not smile.gif
Any easier method , it's too technical for me to open the speaker. cry.gif
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 23 2013, 07:46 PM)
Does the sound appear when you disconnect the sound source (ie. unplug the audio cable and leave it disconnected)? Is there any scratchy/rumbling/crackling sounds when turning the bass control knob? hmm.gif

To disable the wooder, simply open up the subwoofer enclosure and disconnect the wires to the woofer either by cutting or de-soldering. Remember to use wiring tape to cover the ends of those wires to prevent short circuit across the woofer power amplifier output. With only the satellites running, the speakers will sound like those el-cheapo RM20 speakers (all highs and hardly any bass at all). Anyway, before deciding to disconnect the woofer, check for any signs of failed components such as badcaps... wink.gif
Opening the woofer , can it run back after I assemble back ?

The problem is , I just wanted back cheapo RM 20 speaker because the woofer really having wooooo sound all way long which really disturbing once you turn on.Yep having loud cracking sound when press the power button.

Can guess what's the problem ? I asked before once around years ago , they mention it's about the bass which I set it to middle too long.Once I tune down/up it will produce more woooooo noise.It's because it already use to the middle already.

Any video on how to dissemble ? because I worry i'd mess up with the speaker.
lex
post Aug 23 2013, 09:39 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 23 2013, 09:17 PM)
Any easier method , it's too technical for me to open the speaker.  cry.gif

Opening the woofer , can it run back after I assemble back ?
As long as all the correct wires are still in place... wink.gif

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 23 2013, 09:17 PM)
The problem is , I just wanted back cheapo RM 20 speaker because the woofer really having wooooo sound all way long which really disturbing once you turn on.Yep having loud cracking sound when press the power button.

Can guess what's the problem ? I asked before once around years ago , they mention it's about the bass which I set it to middle too long.Once I tune down/up it will produce more woooooo noise.It's because it already use to the middle already.
Not talking about the power button as that "crack" is quite common in budget speakers. The one in concern is the bass control knob. Is there any other sound when turning the knob? As for the problem, as mentioned earlier, first have to visually check for failed components. Not sure whom you've spoken to about that problem, but that is not the correct answer given at all. Even without any sound source, the speaker should not be humming or generating the "wooooo" sound as you had described. If you're still not familiar then try sending it for repair. hmm.gif

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 23 2013, 09:22 PM)
Any video on how to dissemble ? because I worry i'd mess up with the speaker.

Just remove the screws at the back, then slowly pull out the back piece assembly containing the circuit board attached. Here's an example from a review: Neoseeker : Articles : Audio : 3 Piece Systems : Altec Lansing VS4121 Review... icon_idea.gif

Your speaker is just 2.1 system only thus considered easy (less cables and connections to deal with). Imagine 7.1 system, with multiple cables and boards, such as my repair example here: Special Interest -> Home Entertainment -> Audiophiles -> Creative GigaWorks S750 7.1 speaker repair, A short guide and info with pictures... (PC Audio) , if you had missed it... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Aug 23 2013, 09:48 PM
TSMaxieos
post Aug 24 2013, 12:22 AM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Aug 23 2013, 09:39 PM)
As long as all the correct wires are still in place... wink.gif

Not talking about the power button as that "crack" is quite common in budget speakers. The one in concern is the bass control knob. Is there any other sound when turning the knob? As for the problem, as mentioned earlier, first have to visually check for failed components. Not sure whom you've spoken to about that problem, but that is not the correct answer given at all. Even without any sound source, the speaker should not be humming or generating the "wooooo" sound as you had described. If you're still not familiar then try sending it for repair. hmm.gif

Just remove the screws at the back, then slowly pull out the back piece assembly containing the circuit board attached. Here's an example from a review: Neoseeker : Articles : Audio : 3 Piece Systems : Altec Lansing VS4121 Review... icon_idea.gif 

Your speaker is just 2.1 system only thus considered easy (less cables and connections to deal with). Imagine 7.1 system, with multiple cables and boards, such as my repair example here: Special Interest -> Home Entertainment -> Audiophiles -> Creative GigaWorks S750 7.1 speaker repair, A short guide and info with pictures... (PC Audio) , if you had missed it... icon_rolleyes.gif
Yes , the knob or the bass which you can tune , no matter how , once I turn to non it comes up with the "wooo" sound.I increase it and same "wooo" sound.The lowest I can get is at the middle which I use to be.But I still notice the "wooo" sound even on middle.

Still I hope not to break the speaker.Can you guess what problem it cause.I am finding my old thread , hopefully I will found it , it's like years ago.
k3lvinNdad
post Aug 24 2013, 12:48 AM

Uulala
511 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 24 2013, 12:22 AM)
Yes , the knob or the bass which you can tune , no matter how , once I turn to non it comes up with the "wooo" sound.I increase it and same "wooo" sound.The lowest I can get is at the middle which I use to be.But I still notice the "wooo" sound even on middle.

Still I hope not to break the speaker.Can you guess what problem it cause.I am finding my old thread , hopefully I will found it , it's like years ago.
maybe oxidized potential meter? hmm.gif
but i dun think so unsure.gif
lex
post Aug 24 2013, 04:14 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

That means there are no effect with the bass control potentiometer. Sometimes if one side of the potentiometer is disconnected from GND line then you may get some humming problem (e.g. if you ever study audio circuits then you should know that often one side of any sound level controls is usually connected to GND). Rather than badcaps, very often the humming and/or buzzing problem was due to broken GND connection usually at the input side. This creates floating inputs with no virtual return GND and when connected to a sound source then the humming/buzzing will occur (which is the reason I asked about disconnecting the sound source earlier). Its not uncommon to see broken GND problems, as I've fixed quite a number of them before. Below is an example of a recent one... hmm.gif

Missing GND at the 3.5mm stereo socket AUX input is re-connected another existing GND connection.

Nope, unfortunately from the symptoms described you may have to open up the speaker system to check. As for possibility of broken GND problem, you can try checking them at the audio connectors. At least a digital multimeter is required to troubleshoot. If you feel its "too technical" for you then as I've mentioned earlier send it to repair... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Aug 24 2013, 04:55 AM
TSMaxieos
post Aug 24 2013, 02:52 PM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Aug 24 2013, 04:14 AM)
That means there are no effect with the bass control potentiometer. Sometimes if one side of the potentiometer is disconnected from GND line then you may get some humming problem (e.g. if you ever study audio circuits then you should know that often one side of any sound level controls is usually connected to GND). Rather than badcaps, very often the humming and/or buzzing problem was due to broken GND connection usually at the input side. This creates floating inputs with no virtual return GND and when connected to a sound source then the humming/buzzing will occur (which is the reason I asked about disconnecting the sound source earlier). Its not uncommon to see broken GND problems, as I've fixed quite a number of them before. Below is an example of a recent one... hmm.gif

Missing GND at the 3.5mm stereo socket AUX input is re-connected another existing GND connection.

Nope, unfortunately from the symptoms described you may have to open up the speaker system to check. As for possibility of broken GND problem, you can try checking them at the audio connectors. At least a digital multimeter is required to troubleshoot. If you feel its "too technical" for you then as I've mentioned earlier send it to repair... wink.gif
really big thanks for the help on the guide.I saw your troubleshoots. I will try and open it and snap a few picture out.
Btw , are you doing any repair service for speaker ? if really can I send in my speaker for fixing ?

And I would like to know which other 2.1 speaker brand have an option button to disable the woofer ? Like I doesn't want bass , I just off the woofer and only run the 2 satellite speaker ?
Thanks , hope someone can recommend me a speaker like it and of course , a budget wise one.Not those high end 2.1 speaker.
lex
post Aug 24 2013, 03:07 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 24 2013, 02:52 PM)
really big thanks for the help on the guide.I saw your troubleshoots. I will try and open it and snap a few picture out.
Btw , are you doing any repair service for speaker ? if really can I send in my speaker for fixing ?
Some snapshots will help. Make sure your camera is in macro mode (for very close up shots). And yes, I do repair speakers. Just PM me for details... wink.gif

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 24 2013, 02:52 PM)
And I would like to know which other 2.1 speaker brand have an option button to disable the woofer ? Like I doesn't want bass , I just off the woofer and only run the 2 satellite speaker ?
Thanks , hope someone can recommend me a speaker like it and of course , a budget wise one.Not those high end 2.1 speaker.
Not sure what is your budget. If not so high end, then can try Edifier M3300 or Edifier M3300SF which has a sub-bass control. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Aug 24 2013, 03:15 PM
TSMaxieos
post Aug 24 2013, 04:10 PM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Aug 24 2013, 03:07 PM)
Some snapshots will help. Make sure your camera is in macro mode (for very close up shots). And yes, I do repair speakers. Just PM me for details...  wink.gif

Not sure what is your budget. If not so high end, then can try Edifier M3300 or Edifier M3300SF which has a sub-bass control. icon_rolleyes.gif
Oh really , you know how to repair good to know biggrin.gif

Yeh around that budget speaker , but I wanted more on movie/music type with less bass if possible able to have a button to switch off the bass only running satellite or unplug the bass wire cable.
I am less technical , what's the different between M3300 vs M3300SF ? remote control tuning ?

lex
post Aug 24 2013, 04:54 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 24 2013, 04:10 PM)
Oh really , you know how to repair good to know biggrin.gif
Can do repair, upgrades and modifications. wink.gif

Yeh around that budget speaker , but I wanted more on movie/music type with less bass if possible able to have a button to switch off the bass only running satellite or unplug the bass wire cable.
Those Edifier speakers are more suited for music and movies. Its bass is a little different than current Altec Lansing generation ones. Edifiers are more of a thumper (tight bass) than a boomer (loose bass) like Altec Lansing. If you're fed up with Altec Lansing over-top boomy bass, then the Edifier is very surprisingly different and welcome change. As for bass control, its on the subwoofer itself unfortunately. Just turn it to your prefered settings and leave it there. nod.gif

I am less technical , what's the different between M3300 vs M3300SF ? remote control tuning ?
The satellites for M3300SF are slightly higher wattage but less "bright" than the M3300. Excerpt from a review here: Overclock3D :: Review :: Edifier M3300SF 2.1 Speaker Set Review :: Testing and Conclusion:... cool.gif
The first thing that strikes you is how full the aural experience is. The inclusion of dedicated tweeters on the satellites mean that the main speakers on them can be tuned more towards the midrange and this really enhances the sound scape. Highs are crisp and voices clearly audible whether you are listening to the quite exposition of a blockbuster, or your team-mates screaming orders in the middle of a firefight.

One thing that is a particular highlight is the linear nature of the bass dial on the rear of the subwoofer. Rather than have a very small usable 'window' the M3300SF goes from no bass all the way through to enough to re-arrange your internal organs. What is most impressive though is that in the 12 o'clock position it's nearly the perfect balance which shows a nice attention to detail in how the entire suite works together.

In testing we, as always, run the full gamut of media from the intensity of Dirt 3 and Iron Man to the more measured tones of Bastion and Up. The M3300SF not only look the part, but they are capable of handling anything you choose to throw at them. The bass is tight rather than woolly and the sound has a really nice balance to it with everything rendered in a crisp and clear manner, even right at the volume limits.

TSMaxieos
post Aug 25 2013, 07:15 PM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Aug 24 2013, 04:54 PM)
Can do repair, upgrades and modifications.  wink.gif

Those Edifier speakers are more suited for music and movies. Its bass is a little different than current Altec Lansing generation ones. Edifiers are more of a thumper (tight bass) than a boomer (loose bass) like Altec Lansing. If you're fed up with Altec Lansing over-top boomy bass, then the Edifier is very surprisingly different and welcome change. As for bass control, its on the subwoofer itself unfortunately. Just turn it to your prefered settings and leave it there. nod.gif

The satellites for M3300SF are slightly higher wattage but less "bright" than the M3300. Excerpt from a review here: Overclock3D :: Review :: Edifier M3300SF 2.1 Speaker Set Review :: Testing and Conclusion:... cool.gif
Yeh , I remember there's once I heard the speaker old old white altec lasing ACS which gives a good tight bass.
Btw , since there are so many speaker brand ,may I know which speaker can turn off the bass fully left a alone the satellite ? Just asking for model to google excluding the budget.

Thank you
lex
post Aug 25 2013, 11:28 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 25 2013, 07:15 PM)
Yeh , I remember there's once I heard the speaker old old white altec lasing ACS which gives a good tight bass.
Did you mean the ACS45.1? Played/toyed around with these before, even fixed/repaired one belonging to one of my friends. brows.gif

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 25 2013, 07:15 PM)
Btw , since there are so many speaker brand ,may I know which speaker can turn off the bass fully left a alone the satellite ? Just asking for model to google excluding the budget.
An example would be Klipsch ProMedia 2.1, which has subwoofer bass control on one of the satellites. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Aug 25 2013, 11:29 PM
TSMaxieos
post Aug 26 2013, 02:26 AM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Aug 25 2013, 11:28 PM)
Did you mean the ACS45.1? Played/toyed around with these before, even fixed/repaired one belonging to one of my friends. brows.gif

An example would be Klipsch ProMedia 2.1, which has subwoofer bass control on one of the satellites. icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeh , ACS45.1 , while years ago , the best speaker I ever hear before a tight bass but less treble.I hope to have both, does the MF3300 same as it ?

Sorry , maybe I didn't type correctly .
Speaker which can turn off the woofer but not the satellite like I cut off the bass question.Not the minimum maximum on bass only. On off minimum maximum tune bass.Got on off switch.
Sorry I still worry having the wooo sound again on other speaker.

This post has been edited by Maxieos: Aug 26 2013, 02:28 AM
SUSbeggarmaster2000
post Aug 26 2013, 08:38 AM

1,254 posts

the powerfilter cap is dead (25v 4700uf)
if problem still persist after replacement...its the transformer (common problem)
but i think it will be not economical to repair it in any event unless you are diyer yourself
please go to a electronic repair shop or buy a new set =)

use the recommendations section above if you are looking for a something
and nope, no multimedia speaker will sound good if you disconnect the subwoofer
if unsure or you don't have any knowledge, please don't save rm30. go to the electronic repair shop...
don't risk your life trying to save rm30

This post has been edited by beggarmaster2000: Aug 26 2013, 08:50 AM
lex
post Aug 26 2013, 10:56 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Aug 26 2013, 02:26 AM)
Yeh ,  ACS45.1 , while years ago , the best speaker I ever hear before a tight bass but less treble.I hope to have both, does the MF3300 same as it ?
The M3300 is way better than the ACS45.1 in terms of clarity, and also bit better when it comes to deep bass (e.g. can clearly hear sound effects such as low rumbles and "thuds", unlike the Altec which can be kinda soft). cool.gif

Sorry , maybe I didn't type correctly .
Speaker which can turn off the woofer but not the satellite like I cut off the bass question.Not the minimum maximum on bass only. On off minimum maximum tune bass.Got on off switch.
That Klipsch speaker has a subwoofer bass control (ie. set the volume of the subwoofer bass), and not a generic bass control. I don't remember seeing any multimedia speaker systems out there that has an on/off for its subwoofer bass control. hmm.gif

Sorry I still worry having the wooo sound again on other speaker.
That "wooo" is actually due to faulty speaker system. Usually there should not be any sound from the subwoofer at all if there is no audio signals. Thus if there is a hum, buzz and/or crackling sounds then very likely some problems already (such as broken GND, bad capacitors, etc)... icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 26 2013, 08:38 AM)
if problem still persist after replacement...its the transformer (common problem)
If not mistaken, that Altec Lansing VS4121 uses a 6800uF capacitor instead. Plus the power supply board is actually mounted on the transformer itself (separate from the main power amplifier board). If transformer problem then the whole unit would be dead (e.g. no power at all, and no sounds from any speakers). wink.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Aug 26 2013, 10:57 AM
TSMaxieos
post Aug 26 2013, 07:58 PM

3,765 posts

QUOTE(beggarmaster2000 @ Aug 26 2013, 08:38 AM)
but i think it will be not economical to repair it in any event unless you are diyer yourself
please go to a electronic repair shop or buy a new set =)

use the recommendations section above if you are looking for a something
and nope, no multimedia speaker will sound good if you disconnect the subwoofer
if unsure or you don't have any knowledge, please don't save rm30. go to the electronic repair shop...
don't risk your life trying to save rm30
Ok noted , i actually not going to try it since i have less knowledge on electronic parts.
QUOTE(lex @ Aug 26 2013, 10:56 AM)
The M3300 is way better than the ACS45.1 in terms of clarity, and also bit better when it comes to deep bass (e.g. can clearly hear sound effects such as low rumbles and "thuds", unlike the Altec which can be kinda soft). cool.gif

That Klipsch speaker has a subwoofer bass control (ie. set the volume of the subwoofer bass), and not a generic bass control. I don't remember seeing any multimedia speaker systems out there that has an on/off for its subwoofer bass control. hmm.gif

That "wooo" is actually due to faulty speaker system. Usually there should not be any sound from the subwoofer at all if there is no audio signals. Thus if there is a hum, buzz and/or crackling sounds then very likely some problems already (such as broken GND, bad capacitors, etc)... icon_idea.gif

If not mistaken, that Altec Lansing VS4121 uses a 6800uF capacitor instead. Plus the power supply board is actually mounted on the transformer itself (separate from the main power amplifier board). If transformer problem then the whole unit would be dead (e.g. no power at all, and no sounds from any speakers). wink.gif
Wow , really details.Thanks , will try and have a look on the speaker first and listen to the sound .Mostly I think everyone will do the same right before purchasing.
Kilpcsh is very expensive , out of budget .MF3300 would be nice.

I'll decide again later sometimes it get louder and sometimes doesn't maybe use to it already.
Will let you know then

0.0200sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:04 PM