Bathroom waterproof

TSost1007
post Aug 23 2013, 05:15 PM, updated 13y ago

588 posts

Hi need your advice.
My contractor use kind of waterproof material that can mix with cement... then paint on top of floor tile. For the wall tile, it's only up to 1-2 feets. I don know the method he use is durable or not as I saw alot of method to do waterproofing in internet. My contractor said it's standard and it has no problem, but i still worry.... cry.gif

My question is.
1. Is the method durable?
2. How tall need to apply waterproofing in wall tiles?
3. Do we need to apply another materials onto wall edge and hole?

Really need your advice.
nakashimakazuma
post Aug 23 2013, 05:21 PM

189 posts

it call cementitious
TSost1007
post Aug 23 2013, 05:24 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(nakashimakazuma @ Aug 23 2013, 05:21 PM)
it call cementitious
I saw the contractor apply very thin the cement only on floor... That's why i worry.... could you advice me??
And he not really care about the join... just thin cement kau tim everything...
Solar freak
post Aug 23 2013, 07:32 PM

202 posts

I uses Bitumas Products and No regret for My 3 hses Roofing.Bathroom leaking. I applied bathrooms all walls Max Height to prevent any water able to leak to the wall on the other side. i even Extend to water proof the ground floor tiling/porch rclxms.gif Kena before Porch no water proofing ....cement joint/grout joint bulge out. i Also recommend water proof the both wall left and right in case neighbour Pipe Leaking into our wall. I Just get fed up previously Hses leaking here and there and ruined my Wall/Paint vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Solar freak: Aug 23 2013, 07:43 PM
TSost1007
post Aug 23 2013, 08:23 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(Solar freak @ Aug 23 2013, 07:32 PM)
I uses Bitumas Products and No regret for My 3 hses Roofing.Bathroom leaking. I applied bathrooms all walls Max Height to prevent any water able to leak to the wall on the other side. i even Extend to water proof the ground floor tiling/porch rclxms.gif Kena before Porch no water proofing ....cement joint/grout joint bulge out. i Also recommend water proof the both wall left and right in case neighbour Pipe Leaking into our wall. I Just get fed up previously Hses leaking here and there and ruined my Wall/Paint vmad.gif
Yes. Do you have idea how to test waterproof to ensure the waterproof is able to work accordingly?
Please help... I have verya big concern as Im staying in condo. I rather suffer at the first time instead of having trouble in future.

This post has been edited by ost1007: Aug 23 2013, 08:24 PM
Solar freak
post Aug 23 2013, 08:27 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ost1007 @ Aug 23 2013, 08:23 PM)
Yes. Do you have idea how to test waterproof to ensure the waterproof is able to work accordingly?
Please help... I have very big concern as Im staying in condo. I rather suffer at the first time instead of having trouble in future.
No actual specification to check waterproof is able work accordingly. Pls get Bitumas advise. You can go Bitumas in Bandar Puteri Puchong. They are waterproofing specialised. whole shop sell water proofing items only rclxms.gif
Axantas
post Aug 23 2013, 11:11 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(Solar freak @ Aug 23 2013, 08:27 PM)
No actual specification to check waterproof is able work accordingly. Pls get Bitumas advise. You can go Bitumas in Bandar Puteri Puchong. They are waterproofing specialised. whole shop sell water proofing items only rclxms.gif
So, this Bitumas is a shop, or a manufacturer brand, or a waterproofing contractor? How about Pentens, Sika and PYE?
Solar freak
post Aug 28 2013, 10:49 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Axantas @ Aug 23 2013, 11:11 PM)
So, this Bitumas is a shop, or a manufacturer brand, or a waterproofing contractor? How about Pentens, Sika and PYE?
It A shop and manufacturer brand, Sika is a reliable also. PYE and Pantens normal grade only
Jacobs on
post Sep 13 2013, 01:04 PM

161 posts

Can check with ponding test. 48 hours.
MugenK20A
post Oct 14 2013, 12:04 AM

1,244 posts

Atlas Coat.
enriquelee
post Oct 14 2013, 12:44 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

At shower area 1.8m high waterproofing at wall is recommended. Or else just skirting will do.
maxxon
post Oct 14 2013, 01:28 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(ost1007 @ Aug 23 2013, 05:15 PM)
Hi need your advice.
My contractor use kind of waterproof material that can mix with cement... then paint on top of floor tile. For the wall tile, it's only up to 1-2 feets. I don know the method he use is durable or not as I saw alot of method to do waterproofing in internet. My contractor said it's standard and it has no problem, but i still worry.... cry.gif

My question is.

Really need your advice.
My contractor did a 5 feet waterproofing for my bathroom's wall...coz water can be sipping thru wall when we shower..
Jacobs on
post Oct 17 2013, 11:45 PM

161 posts

Sharing.. torch on membrane/ water proofing.

This post has been edited by Jacobs on: Oct 17 2013, 11:48 PM
enriquelee
post Oct 28 2013, 10:54 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(Jacobs on @ Oct 17 2013, 11:45 PM)
Sharing.. torch on membrane/ water proofing.
At bathroom, cementitious will do. Don't need torch on membrane.
chubbyken
post Nov 4 2013, 05:12 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 28 2013, 10:54 AM)
At bathroom, cementitious will do. Don't need torch on membrane.
can share more regarding cementitious? Just apply the cementitious on top of the tiles without removing the tiles? thanks.
Jacobs on
post Nov 4 2013, 05:18 PM

161 posts

Cementious not suitable for expose..

Jacobs on
post Nov 4 2013, 05:20 PM

161 posts

Sharing membrane works..

chubbyken
post Nov 4 2013, 05:26 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Jacobs on @ Nov 4 2013, 05:18 PM)
you mean cementitious can only be used after removing the existing tiles right?
any recommended method which do not need to remove tiles?
Jacobs on
post Nov 4 2013, 05:59 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Nov 4 2013, 06:26 PM)
you mean cementitious can only be used after removing the existing tiles right?
any recommended method which do not need to remove tiles?
Where you wan to apply?
Membrane suitable for expose.
Liquid coating also suitable for it.
chubbyken
post Nov 4 2013, 06:05 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(Jacobs on @ Nov 4 2013, 05:59 PM)
Where you wan to apply?
Membrane suitable for expose.
Liquid coating also suitable for it.
is my toilet floor leak to downstairs. I suspect is the joint between wall and floor.
liquid coating means i can buy some liquid chemical to apply on it?
i plan to apply some thing call PYE KREK-SEAL
Jacobs on
post Nov 4 2013, 06:31 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Nov 4 2013, 07:05 PM)
is my toilet floor leak to downstairs. I suspect is the joint between wall and floor.
P.u injection
Jacobs on
post Nov 4 2013, 06:31 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Nov 4 2013, 07:05 PM)
P.u injection

Solar freak
post Nov 4 2013, 08:16 PM

202 posts

PU injection won't last as water will find empty cavity and flow where cavities found.
chubbyken
post Nov 5 2013, 08:53 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(Solar freak @ Nov 4 2013, 08:16 PM)
PU injection won't last as water will find empty cavity and flow where cavities found.
Normally how long can it last? Can last 2 years?
chingjern
post Nov 5 2013, 09:52 AM

Noob question: if the house newly completed by the developer, can i assume the bathrooms are already waterproofed? Thanks
faizal87
post Nov 5 2013, 10:02 AM

piko piko pong pong
1,384 posts

QUOTE(chingjern @ Nov 5 2013, 09:52 AM)
Noob question: if the house newly completed by the developer, can i assume the bathrooms are already waterproofed? Thanks
yess..unless there is a poor workmanship of labour,so the waterproofing bathrooms not so waterproof..but dun need to worry ,u can claim from the developer if got defect within 2 years period iinm
chingjern
post Nov 5 2013, 10:16 AM

Thanks. If i were to renovate the downstairs bathroom, waterproofing would come in before tiling? Or after tiling?
Jacobs on
post Nov 5 2013, 10:51 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(chingjern @ Nov 5 2013, 11:16 AM)
Thanks. If i were to renovate the downstairs bathroom, waterproofing would come in before tiling? Or after tiling?
Before tiling....

If ground floor no need to waterproof. .

chingjern
post Nov 5 2013, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(Jacobs on @ Nov 5 2013, 10:51 AM)
Before tiling....

If ground floor no need to waterproof. .
Even the walls? But then why would some ppl waterproof their groundfloor bathrooms?
enriquelee
post Nov 5 2013, 01:34 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Nov 4 2013, 05:12 PM)
can share more regarding cementitious? Just apply the cementitious on top of the tiles without removing the tiles? thanks.
Cementitious should be under the tile. Can not expose.

QUOTE(Jacobs on @ Nov 4 2013, 05:18 PM)
+1

QUOTE(Jacobs on @ Nov 4 2013, 06:31 PM)
P.u injection
This should be the best method for TS case.
chubbyken
post Nov 5 2013, 02:51 PM

213 posts

I guess if you are staying in apartment condo and having leaking problem from upper unit but the upper unit keep on delay and does not take action, the only solution is to use pu injection.
weikee
post Nov 5 2013, 03:08 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Nov 5 2013, 02:51 PM)
I guess if you are staying in apartment condo and having leaking problem from upper unit but the upper unit keep on delay and does not take action, the only solution is to use pu injection.
Can pu injection do bottom up? Usually I read is from top to bottom. Meaning need to apply from the affected floor. Not affected ceiling.
stevie8
post Nov 5 2013, 07:32 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(chubbyken @ Nov 5 2013, 02:51 PM)
Tak boleh, waste money and effort. If it can hold the water from coming down, the water will seep and "flow" to outside the bathroom like you room, living room, dinning room or kitchen ceiling.
stevie8
post Nov 5 2013, 07:35 PM

1,365 posts

When it is moist or wet, it attracts termite!
enriquelee
post Nov 8 2013, 03:51 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 5 2013, 03:08 PM)
Can pu injection do bottom up? Usually I read is from top to bottom. Meaning need to apply from the affected floor. Not affected ceiling.
I think can be done from bottom up. I have seen people doing that with Sikadur 52.
Jacobs on
post Nov 8 2013, 10:52 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 8 2013, 04:51 PM)
I think can be done from bottom up. I have seen people doing that with Sikadur 52.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
stevie8
post Nov 9 2013, 12:49 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 8 2013, 03:51 PM)
Only for crack. not for water dripping. How are you going to inject as there is no crack lines?
enriquelee
post Nov 9 2013, 09:47 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Nov 9 2013, 12:49 AM)
Only for crack. not for water dripping. How are you going to inject as there is no crack lines?
But for existing unit like chubbyken, usually the drip is due to crack line. What other reasons could it be possible? Punch through of slab?
simonyee
post Nov 9 2013, 09:57 AM

510 posts

Hi need your advice.

My question is.

Really need your advice.
Yes it work my house bath room is intact
up to the ceiling provided the contractor would drill hole or pound hole into the wall
the purpose of the hole is to hold the cement together.
yes perhap it would be best to the edge so that water would not seep in.

dillonyap
post Nov 11 2013, 10:51 AM

68 posts

if you are looking to have your grouting water repellent, you may email me at dillonyap@nanopro.my[COLOR=red]

I have a water based liquid to mix in the grouting in order to have the water repellent effects and stop the water from seeping in.

not only that, it prevents your grout from turning black too.

stevie8
post Nov 11 2013, 09:03 PM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(dillonyap @ Nov 11 2013, 10:51 AM)
if you are looking to have your grouting water repellent, you may email me at dillonyap@nanopro.my[COLOR=red]

I have a water based liquid to mix in the grouting in order to have the water repellent effects and stop the water from seeping in.

This thing does not work for bathroom.
chubbyken
post Nov 11 2013, 11:05 PM

213 posts

I think water is the most troublesome issue for a building. Especially for apartment. Electricity or wiring are still ok. But water and piping and water proof is a real problem.
kenlimfornication
post Nov 27 2013, 03:00 PM

729 posts

how high should the waterproof be applied?

my tile guy told me they will waterproof the floor and about 2 feet up the wall. and 3 feet around the shower area. is this enough?
enriquelee
post Nov 27 2013, 03:55 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(dillonyap @ Nov 11 2013, 10:51 AM)

It looks like a good product. Can it be used at external area?

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ Nov 27 2013, 03:00 PM)
how high should the waterproof be applied?

my tile guy told me they will waterproof the floor and about 2 feet up the wall. and 3 feet around the shower area. is this enough?
Shower are 1800mm height, non shower area 150mm high skirting enough.
staggerler
post Dec 4 2013, 09:30 PM

201 posts

Can anybody share a reliable waterproofing contractor around klang valley?
awdarr
post Dec 27 2013, 11:22 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 27 2013, 03:55 PM)
It looks like a good product. Can it be used at external area?
Shower are 1800mm height, non shower area 150mm high skirting enough.
I'm getting quotation from 2 contractors to apply waterproofing on my bathroom. 1 contractor said no point to waterproof the wall area but only the floor & another contractor said otherwise & need to waterproof the wall area up to waist length (~80-90cm). Am confused which is correct.

enriquelee
post Dec 29 2013, 06:33 PM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(awdarr @ Dec 27 2013, 11:22 PM)
I'm getting quotation from 2 contractors to apply waterproofing on my bathroom. 1 contractor said no point to waterproof the wall area but only the floor & another contractor said otherwise & need to waterproof the wall area up to waist length (~80-90cm). Am confused which is correct.
At shower area, better to do wall too.
Other area do up turn enough already.
backspace66
post Mar 18 2014, 04:38 PM

2,139 posts

water mark outside bathroom, is that an indication that the waterproofing is in adequate?
Jacobs on
post Mar 18 2014, 06:52 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Mar 18 2014, 05:38 PM)
water mark outside bathroom, is that an indication that the waterproofing is in adequate?
Water mark doesnt mean is waterproof problem.
May be is piping problem.
If really wan to check. Stop using for 3 day. If water mark gone, open back all water. Water mark coming back within 10 minute. percentage for piping problem is high.
backspace66
post Mar 18 2014, 07:25 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(Jacobs on @ Mar 18 2014, 06:52 PM)
Water mark doesnt mean is waterproof problem.
May be is piping problem.
If really wan to check. Stop using for 3 day. If water mark gone, open back all water. Water mark coming back within 10 minute. percentage for piping problem is high.
It actually happened at two corners of the bathroom. It also appear at the very bottom just above the top of skirting.
michaelck1838
post Jun 12 2014, 10:42 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(awdarr @ Dec 27 2013, 11:22 PM)
Hi awdarr, mind to share how much the contractor quoted you & using what method. Im facing similar bathroomwater seepage

beLIEve
post Dec 30 2023, 06:02 PM

三軍都督
7,815 posts

Hi need your advice.

My question is.

Really need your advice.
10 years later, for others' reference.

All contractors I came across says 1 foot. Many years ago, I research and found an Australian (i think it was Govt site) that says 6 ft or all the way to the ceiling. I did mine 6 ft near the faucet and somewhat lower near the door (finished entire bag of waterproof also not enough to cover 1 layer, beginning to feel the $$$ pinch). Behind the scene talk, sub-contractor told me he did 4 ft for his PDRM project.

Why 1 foot? Because everyone wants it cheap. Contractors already trained to do 1 ft. 6 ft means more materials and labor hours and most people not willing to pay. They end up going to a cheaper contractor who manage to convince them 1 ft is sufficient and the honest contractor lose business. I myself has been slammed so many times telling people minimum 6 ft and 1 ft is enough.

+1 Sika. If i dont have memory leak, Sika's HOWTO says 1 layer vertical and 1 layer horizontal. So you count the cost between 1ft x 1 layer and 6-10 ft x 2 layers lah.

Edit :
https://ncc.abcb.gov.au/editions/ncc-2022/a...a-waterproofing
The walls of the shower area must be waterproof not less than 1800 mm above the floor substrate (see Figure 10.2.2).

Maybe they will tell you that is Australia. Madani needs only 1ft.

This post has been edited by beLIEve: Dec 30 2023, 06:35 PM

0.0404sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:39 PM