NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2
viqq
Mar 6 2023, 12:13 AM
Hi guys I'm planning to get a NAS for backing client datas for my freelance computer repair services, but can't decide between getting a HDD or SSD for backups, SSD for the speed so I can back up the data at the fastest speed and start working on the hardware, or HDD for the price and capacity, any computer repair professionals care to enlighten me?
viqq
Mar 6 2023, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Mar 6 2023, 08:20 AM) u do repair service n u dint know remote nas... then better dun do.. ppl put ssd into nas for cache.. maintaining nas is not easy unless u put effort into study it I seriously have no clues at all in dealing with NAS backups as I've never owned them before, I always do it the old school way which is backing up to an external HDD, cloning to another HDD etc. and I usually ask them to backup their own data. But recently getting more interests from friends and family asking me for repairs, thus considering getting a NAS for back ups and up the ante. My idea is to back up customers data at the fastest speed, and start working on the hardware / OS reinstallation. Guess my idea wouldn't work then?
viqq
Mar 7 2023, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(edministrator @ Mar 7 2023, 09:43 AM) no matter ssd or hdd, you will be bottlenecked by your NAS LAN speed. Alright I get the point. Thanks for the input guys, appreciate it.
viqq
Mar 8 2023, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 8 2023, 09:36 PM) Fastest speed would be to backup on external SSD or NVME SSD in external enclosure that support 10Gbps USB connection or higher. That is 1 gigabytes of data copied per second. SSD also more suited for on the move while HDD need to be more delicate. If you want some protection to the copied data in case of drive failure you can get DAS or docking station that support RAID 1 or 5. But I see most of these only have 5Gbps USB connection speed. If backup over local network you'll be limited to the network speed which usually is 1Gbps. If backup over the internet will be even slower. Nice , thanks for the heads up guys, appreciate it!
viqq
Mar 9 2023, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 9 2023, 12:41 AM) Backup to NAS more suitable for constant incremental or scheduled backup. Incremental are such as using Google Drive where the changes you made to the file is immediately uploaded to NAS. Scheduled is at the set time or situation it will auto backup to NAS. Both no need for manual interaction. This more like general backup as protection for their data in case of drive failure or laptop missing or Windows can't boot anymore. Using external drive that I mentioned earlier is suitable for adhoc backup, where it only going to be done one time when you fix the computer. Very good explanation brother, thanks for taking the time to explain it. Knowledge gained $$kaching$$