NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2
qwerty79
Jan 7 2014, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(thankyou @ Jan 3 2014, 03:19 PM) I bought it around the first batch of microserver so RM900 incl. keyboard/dvd-rom/mouse, It's using the non-standard PSU size and it's costly! http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-150W-Microserve...=item20dd34d7deI will DIY if my PSU mati... for the next question, it really depends on what you are looking for... I'm looking for something more towards power effecientcy which Microserver helps alot! for torrent/file server it's more than enough... I wanted to get the card, but come to think of it, I don't know when the server will die since it has been running for 3 years +... the addon is good to manage the server remotely since my box is not connect to any LCD/Keyboard. It is hard to troubleshoot if I couldn't reach the microserver on OS level. Gen8 microserver built in HP iLO which has been management than this card. Still thinking about upgrading the box  If N40L for RM800 is okay or expensive? Only the server, no kboard and dvd-rom. Actually planning to buy dlink NAS (320l or 327L) but after reading some of the comment in this thread, specially with streaming HD movies, thinking of add more to my budget and get this micro server. I read some where that total load for this server only <20w.
qwerty79
Jan 8 2014, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 8 2014, 12:12 AM) Hard to say. Depending if you're desperate enough to want it. How much memory and what's the size of the boot drive? But then again, for that money, you cannot find anything close to it in terms of flexibility and power. You should be able to do what you intend to do. Wah, you're underutilising your Microserver man. Yeah, I have 2 DVDROMs. With USB thumbdrives, DVDROMs nowadays redundant. Thinking of building DIY NAS but with price of hardware here in Kuantan much more expensive than KL, thinking of buying this microserver. Here Dlink 320 (Old model) price at rm380, imagine the price for qnap or synology. Not much choice here. The microserver price I get is from lelong. Only 2 left.
qwerty79
Jan 11 2014, 09:17 PM
Finally I bought N40L. Installed 4.3 DSM (Xpenology) in it and it works!
Not so hard, pretty straight forward with a bit of minor problem at the beginning. I can't detect the microserver but after that, everything run smooth.
Currently only run with one 250Gb hard disk. Surely will add more in the coming week/month. Thinking of running 2 small capacity hard disk with raid 1 (for important data), and 2 x 3TB with JBOD (movies, etc). But don't know to get just green or go to red hd? Hard disk is pricey here, 2TB already reach rm350 for WD Green (not av).
qwerty79
Jan 12 2014, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jan 11 2014, 11:34 PM) Where you bought your N40L from? How much it cost? What media you used to boot the DSM? USB pendrive?  Yup, bought from lelong. Double from my original budget.  . But it really worth it if compare to other 4-5 bay NAS out there. I just followed guide from Xpenology forum. You need Usb thumdrive to boot and of course a hard drive. Another thing, you also need another pc installed with synology assistant (get it from their website) connect to the same LAN with the microserver.
qwerty79
Jan 12 2014, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 12 2014, 05:51 AM) Wah, congrats ! Never knew you would take the Microserver and Xpenology advise seriously. Anyway, for NAS, go for WD Red. Avoid WD Green if you can. I think he mentioned it earlier? 800 from Lelong? With the Xpenology, I believe you need to boot from Pendrive. Actually, I want to buy the server since last year but need to fund other project first. Only this time have enough budget  . Plus, this is my first time I read it can run on Synology DSM, so eager to try it. I got poison by you lah  .
qwerty79
Jan 12 2014, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 12 2014, 09:18 PM) Hmm..but all this hacking thingy...will the data be safe in the event of crash and recoverable????  About that, I done some reading in Xpenology forum. Lots of people had use the setup for over a year without any problem. A good thing about late comer is most thing already sort out. But because this is not official from Synology, any can happen. I believe it is safe to use. DSM is base on linux system. So if anything happen, some data can be access with other linux pc.
qwerty79
Jan 13 2014, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 12 2014, 05:51 AM) Wah, congrats ! Never knew you would take the Microserver and Xpenology advise seriously. Anyway, for NAS, go for WD Red. Avoid WD Green if you can. I think he mentioned it earlier? 800 from Lelong? With the Xpenology, I believe you need to boot from Pendrive. I plan only to switch on my microserver when ever I'm available at home, 6pm-7am and don't plan for 24/7. So, will Green do the job or still better go for RED? Red is non existent here, even for Green AV is hard to get here.
qwerty79
Jan 16 2014, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Jan 16 2014, 09:44 AM) You do not need to get WD Red specifically. Everyone used WD Green in their N36L and N40L for years before the Reds came to market. I have been using Green and I leave mine on 24/7 without issue I can see in your siggy, you want to sell your hd and ram? Still available?
qwerty79
Jan 17 2014, 08:10 PM
I bought 3TB Red Western Digital for my N40L. But my bios can't detect the hard disk. It can detect normally the 250Gb HD.
This is what my bios show during startup
HP System BIOS - 041 (10/0102013) .. .. Auto-detecting AHCI Port 0..IDE Hard Disk ------ 250GB Auto-detecting AHCI Port 1..IDE Hard Disk ------ 3TB (Take very long time, 1 minute). . . 403-AHCI Port1 Device Error
Anyone have the same problem?
qwerty79
Jan 17 2014, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 17 20:27 PM) That's under beta right? Most new ones do. Just look for it. IEEE 802.3af compliant. Some of my comments; Even though in beta the Synology supports 49 cams, I would still split the load to 2 NAS. Try out with one unit of DS-713+ first and perhaps later on add another later to get better performance. For me, the bigger problem is the Wifi connection. I know due to logistics that wireless is unavoidable but the reality is any wireless type connection concerning video will not end up well especially if you're using 30 IP cameras as input. Sorry to tell you this but that's a fact. You can try but I don't think it will work. After a lot of investment and hard work only to find out that the Wifi connection is not up to it is downright wasteful. Anyway, how are the IP cameras powered? Logic says that if they can be powered, then you can get wired network connection to it. Hook the drive up in another PC and format the drive as a GPT drive. This problem is due to the 2TB limitation of the N40L BIOS. I check that other user doesn't have this problem. Can detect the hd with latest bios. I already connect with other pc. The pc bios can detect but in windows 8, no hard disk device. During start up, I heard clank sound... spinning... clank... spinning.... but silent when windows loading up. BTW, how to format as a GPT drive?
qwerty79
Jan 17 2014, 11:24 PM
I think, it hard disk problem. In disk management, the hard disk doesn't appear. In device manager also not. When I connect the hard disk, my pc become very slow to boot up. Will try with other pc.
I check N40L wiki page, 3TB is supported.
qwerty79
Jan 18 2014, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jan 18 11:47 AM) It was a while ago since I installed my WD Red 3TB onto my N36L. If I recall, I did not have to do anything to it for the Microserver to detect all 4 of them at bootup. Because of the non existent TLER, it is recommended NOT to use WD green drives. Of course some people manage tMondayit because their green hardisk did not experience write error situations which would require the drive to pause and take more time to handle write errors. When that happens, the RAID controller thinks there is an error recovery to be made and drops the whole hardisk. This is a nuisance when the drive falls out of the RAID array and forcing rebuilds. Thank you. Your answer clarify everything. At first I thought have to install certain bios but after reading through N40L experience, others don't get problem install 3TB like me. So, probably the hard disk rosak because some miss handling during postage. Already contact the seller, and he ask me to wait till Monday so he can clarified with his vendor.
qwerty79
Jan 24 2014, 02:56 PM
My problem with hard disk, solved. Hard disk problem. Today I received new hard disk from seller and it works without any mod with my N40L.
This post has been edited by qwerty79: Jan 24 2014, 02:57 PM
qwerty79
Jan 31 2014, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jan 31 2014, 09:58 AM) where can i order hp proliant server online? cos my local shop dont have and they also dont know about it... I bought mine from lelong.com.my but a bit expensive. Anyway, those who have N40L, what is the transfer rate between pc and N40L connected through wired line? Mine only 11mbs max.
qwerty79
Feb 2 2014, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jan 31 2014, 10:29 PM) may i know which seller? also around what price? thanks. In lelong, just search N40L. Seller name is cylan. QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Feb 1 2014, 08:46 AM) Are you using swtich and is your switch 1Gbps capable? or Are you connect crossover from your PC to your N40L? Chances are you're connecting through a 100Mbps switch, bottleneck, buy a 1Gbps switch and your problem solved, probably can reach 60~90MB/s depending on your hard disk speed. Connect with adsl wifi modem router 150Mbps. I guess it not a gigabit router. Usually how does ppl connect their NAS with streamyx line? Buy seperate adsl and router?
qwerty79
Feb 19 2014, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Feb 18 2014, 08:18 PM) Hi, those who use N40L. Is RAID working properly if I run XPEnology DSM? I would it worth more than DS413J qwerty79I'm sorry, I haven't try raid yet but it should work properly.
qwerty79
Feb 23 2014, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Feb 22 2014, 09:07 PM) Where you bought yours bro? Anyone know where can I buy this apart from lelong From lelong. Not much choice here.