HP
Levono
Dlink

This post has been edited by quadcube: Aug 21 2013, 08:08 PM
TSquadcube
post Aug 22 2013, 03:44 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Aug 21 2013, 10:43 PM)
Promise? What brand is that?
http://www.promise.com/default.aspx?region=en-global&m=72
apple store have their NAS(smartstor),super expensive brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by quadcube: Aug 26 2013, 02:53 PM
TSquadcube
post Aug 26 2013, 02:53 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 26 2013, 02:48 PM)
Just for clarification, the Pegasus R4 or R6 on Thunderbolt is a DAS and not a NAS.

But of course they also have NAS called SmartStor.
ops,my bad sweat.gif thanks for the clarification thumbup.gif
TSquadcube
post Sep 5 2013, 08:22 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Aug 31 2013, 11:51 AM)
another question, do i need to format the HDDs? i already have a 1TB drive full of stuffs.

quadcube
Why format? hmm.gif

QUOTE(hazremi @ Sep 3 2013, 10:42 PM)
thinking of buying wd mybook live 2TB..price is quite ok..my budget is around 500++..i know live duo  is better but the price is  too high 1k.

any opinion?
I bought mybooklive 2tb for only 350 bucks brows.gif
TSquadcube
post Sep 5 2013, 10:58 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 5 2013, 09:37 PM)
i dunno. bcoz some friends who bought NAS (not sure what model) had to format the drive because it has its own "file system".
NAS like mybooklive comes in both Mac,Linux n window usable,so those type does not need any headache..u only need other file system when your OS can't read the NAS data natively
TSquadcube
post Sep 6 2013, 08:04 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Sep 6 2013, 12:37 AM)
i bought mybooklive 2tb yesterday at jayacom for rm429..very happy with the nas
Yes,the NAS is very straight forward,no brainier brows.gif brows.gif
TSquadcube
post Sep 11 2013, 03:27 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(rmy @ Sep 8 2013, 09:15 PM)
I've been thinking of buying one cheap NAS for my office shared for about 30 staffs perhaps DLink or Promise or something less than RM1000. It's just for file sharing and storage.

Can I just buy and then plug it to the office router/switch and ready to be used?  blink.gif
for ready solution like WD,seagate...etc,just plug into router n go.no idea with Promise..btw,for 30 ppl to share the same network to access the drive,u better wire them up using gigabit network,better avoid wifi.the previous company i worked in,local area server just for file purpose,3 person connected and pulling file from the drive is already capable of crippling the whole wifi to a halt
TSquadcube
post Sep 15 2013, 09:42 AM

1,924 posts

oh damn sad.gif my WD NAS now vibrates when in operation...HDD working fine,just some random slow respond.
TSquadcube
post Sep 16 2013, 03:04 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 16 2013, 12:23 PM)
Hi guys,
I'm thinking of getting a Buffalo LinkStation Pro for home use. It says on the website that it offers simple network storage and backup for all PC and Mac.
Does that mean there will not be any problem for me to upload files to the NAS using a Mac OS and then download them on a Win OS right? What about Ubuntu?
probably no problem,using WD mybooklive,doesn't give me any problem on software related..should be no prob,if there's anything,just manually mount the drive
TSquadcube
post Sep 16 2013, 06:20 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 16 2013, 05:27 PM)
good to know. thanks for the info.
how's your mybooklive so far? happy with the performance? smile.gif
i've had bad experience using WD drives so i'm a bit skeptical about getting a WD mybooklive...
software is good,but i believe my drive is gonna fail me soon,haha! its vibrating while in operation,i think too much transportation knock because i just moved from KL to KK for university,must had bang it a lot even it was wrapped in a thick pillow.haven tested it gigabit capability,but 100mb line can get max theoretical speed biggrin.gif
in the end,software is quite neat,just plug n play,cloud capability is easy to set up,no brainer..but as u mentioned,HDD sucks laugh.gif
TSquadcube
post Oct 11 2013, 12:37 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Oct 10 2013, 03:23 PM)
What's the point of all that interface speed if your hdd can't even keep up with the speed?
siok sendiri? sweat.gif but then for future expansion maybe
TSquadcube
post Oct 14 2013, 11:42 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(XeMoAsLaM91 @ Oct 14 2013, 09:39 AM)
nas is wat?
NAS= network attached storage,something like a server that serve files to every client that connects to it instead of those usb ext HDD where only one user can access it at on time
TSquadcube
post Dec 31 2013, 08:15 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Dec 29 2013, 10:52 PM)
Just finished setup my new Synology DS213j 3TB (WD-RED) - RAID 1 last weekend and migrated all my files from my old D-Link DNS323 500GB - RAID1.
Tested the single file (5.29GB) transfer from my iMac to DS213j via Gigabit LAN. Time spent about 2 mins and the writing speed to NAS is average 60MB/s to 85MB/s, highest speed rate at 100MB/s.
I am very pleased with the result of my upgrade! smile.gif

[attachmentid=3791166]
[attachmentid=3791167]
wow...gigabit pan can reach such high speed? shocking.gif kesian my gigabit,only can reach around 50+mbps
TSquadcube
post Jan 20 2014, 11:59 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(Assassin @ Jan 20 2014, 11:17 AM)
Hi, I'm looking for a reliable NAS for my office that have these function.

1. File sharing through Internet and mobile phone
2. Storing database for UBS accounting and allow remote access
3. User access rights function

Anyone can recommend me any brand or model. Thanks
wd mybooklive sweat.gif have mobile app,user access right..very easy to setup thumbup.gif
TSquadcube
post Mar 13 2014, 12:12 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(McFazo @ Mar 12 2014, 11:59 PM)
hi guys, about a month ago i just bought wd mybook live 2TB on an impulse buy (i've meant to buy the much superior wd mycloud but all shops at lowyat then got no stock). so im stuck with this NAS that's quite slow and apparently outdated......is there any tweak/tips on how to increase its performance? i dont want it to be an expensive brick to baling anjing instead. sad.gif
true,when switching between files,it take quite a few second to respond,very sluggish,same problem here sweat.gif
TSquadcube
post May 13 2014, 11:19 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ May 10 2014, 04:35 PM)
Dear expert, I am newbie for NAS. May I know what NAS functioning? I just know for storage only. Thanks
network storage,for example if its connected to the wireless router in your home,everyone connecting to your network would have read n write access to it if there's no restriction placed
TSquadcube
post May 14 2014, 06:37 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ May 13 2014, 11:07 PM)
1) If I buy 2 bay NAS, can I mixed with surveillance hardisk?

2) NAS compatible any sound system?

3) NASA can use for surf net & torrent?
1) if everything is connected in the network,yes
2) no idea about sound system laugh.gif
3) torrent yes with custom software,surf net i dun think so
TSquadcube
post Aug 18 2014, 09:48 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Aug 12 2014, 03:30 AM)
Made a video to help those thinking of using Freenas to create Network share at home?

nice,thanks! thumbup.gif
TSquadcube
post Aug 21 2014, 11:05 PM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 21 2014, 03:56 PM)
hmm.gif I'm not so sure about the specification of the router but I can guarantee you will NOT regret spending on Gigabit performance, hitting hard disk bottleneck is another issue though. Transfer file like a breeze, 40MB file? You won't even see the transfer popup, just a flash through, few GBs in a minute...  whistling.gif
I did a transfer of 1.7TB in 8 hours... that's how fast Gigabit speed is, and yeah, the hard disk is kinda slow, between 60~80MB/s only sweat.gif
If you have SSD.. Gigabit LAN is the bottleneck, well.. new tech is kinda expensive so... we shall wait wink.gif
SSD NAS is gonna be so exp sweat.gif sweat.gif currently moving around 24GB to my NAS,7 hours doh.gif
TSquadcube
post Aug 22 2014, 10:14 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 22 2014, 07:41 AM)
Oh my... that's... so slow? shakehead.gif  Why so slow? Its only 24GB.. you can use external hard disk and it's way faster than that. 20 minutes top from PC to external hard disk and back to PC (USB 2.0).
Only 200Mbps? The spec itself is already bottleneck, going max theoretically 23MB/s so you won't fully utilize the Gigabit switch. There's some much powerful one out there, if you don't mind to spend more... well that depends on your usage. sweat.gif

I don't mind drilling holes and pulling cables in my home, one of my friend even want to use Cat6 cable of which is overkill, but I'll advise him again. doh.gif

@Homeplug sifu out there: Is there a risk of using Homeplug when there's lightning/thunder? Because even the phone line able to fry a modem...  sweat.gif My experience of see-ing my own modem hit by lightning and sparks lits up the room shocking.gif luckily the whole house was blackout (due to trip) before huge one hits it, otherwise my PC would have gone with it as well. cry.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif i think its the problem with the way OSX handle file transfer,when i move them one by one,its way faster

0.0705sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:54 PM