NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2

mintgadget
post Oct 9 2013, 10:51 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Sep 29 2013, 12:37 PM)
Yeah after few hours searching ebay, i found out the cheapest 20TB setup is from Lacie Big5
http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/LaCie-5big-NAS-...#ht_8346wt_1157

That old lacie MacMini companion is so cute but they dont make that already
Seriously consider Synology, it is a great product and the OS is very mature. DS1512+ has expansion capabilities.
mintgadget
post Oct 10 2013, 06:24 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Oct 9 2013, 03:09 PM)
Except its not as fast as thunderbolt

Im waiting for Thunderbolt II Drobo. The reason why im leaning towards DAS instead of NAS cause of the thunderbolt speed. The current one already faster than the internal drive. Thunderbolt version II will be 20GBps in both direction. Thats like transfering the whole volume in one unit (4TB x 5 bay) in just one second and vice versa

Ill be using the same computer for torrent and file sharing and do work. Most of these DAS has two thunderbolt ports for daisy-link to at least 5 more units. That will be 100TB and with BeyondRaid you can atleast get 90% of space with Raid protection. And with the said computer linked to network, it'll be the NAS.

To be honest if you are looking for speed I totally agree DAS with Thunderbolt is the way to go. However you will only see the benefit if you copy out the files for "friends" provided they are on thunderbolt too. Torrents are no faster as you would probably know. On the other hand the NAS OS has so much more potential. You have to try it out to see the benefits beside just speed. The new boxes come with 4 lan ports which support LAG and theoretically can peak at 350MB/s read. But like you I too cant wait to try out TB2.

This post has been edited by mintgadget: Oct 10 2013, 06:26 AM
mintgadget
post Oct 11 2013, 10:43 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Oct 11 2013, 04:43 PM)
I wish LAG was simple and works in a straight forward fashion. 4 LAN port with teaming will only reach a peak like 350MB/s if you have 4 PCs equipped with 1 Gigabit NIC accessing the NAS simultaneously. Or 2 PCs with dual NICs each in teaming mode accessing the NAS simultaneously. Hope you get the picture. Oh, this assuming you have LAG enabled switch too.

1 PC with 4 NICs in teaming mode accessing the NAS with 4 ports in teaming mode will still give you 125MB/s traffic unfortunately.

At the moment, the only one with 4 port GBit NAS is the Synology DS1513+. If you want more bandwidth point to point, you need to go to 10GBe. That would be super expensive finding 10GBe switch and NICs and NAS with 10GBe connections.

setting up LAG is a piece of cake if your have a managed switch. Managed to achieved peak about 160MB/s on a single PC with 2 NICs and LAG enabled.

This post has been edited by mintgadget: Oct 11 2013, 10:51 PM
mintgadget
post Oct 14 2013, 02:30 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(muttly @ Oct 13 2013, 11:50 PM)
Hi all,

Am looking for NAS solution that can run Plex so I can stream directly to my SmartTV without the need for a computer. Any suggestions?

This is a tough one coz cost comes to play. The highest end NAS that can do transcoding will cost you a bomb. Computers are the cheapest solution to be the PMS (Plex Media Server). Running PMS on a NAS unless you have at least a Dual Core 2.4ghz NAS you probably can play 1080p content smoothly, needless to say that is for 1 stream. If you have a few people streaming from your PMS at one time. NAS processors are not powerful enough I believe at this point of time unless is a PC built NAS or the Enterprise level NAS. If you understand how Plex works you will get a better picture. However PLEX is really awesome, the people behind it are just plain "gods"... smile.gif

This post has been edited by mintgadget: Oct 14 2013, 02:31 PM
mintgadget
post Oct 14 2013, 05:13 PM

326 posts

I would personally recommend a mac mini if you have the budget otherwise and Intel NUC is ideal too.
mintgadget
post Oct 23 2013, 05:33 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Oct 23 2013, 07:37 AM)
Your office NAS seems to have an interesting problem. Have you tried renaming or move the problem files to lower folder down the tree before deleting them? Could be due to long filename that OS unable to handle.

Are either of your NAS aftermarket brands such as Synalogy, QNAP etc or own-build NAS? If we can share these info, we may be able to safeguard our data better either by avoiding buying problem NAS models or better data management practices.
It's interesting that Synology has SHR (Synology Hybrid Raid) unlike QNAP which is planning to implement this feature from my understanding. The cool part about SHR is you can use what ever size HDD you have and create a RAID 5 or RAID 6 with the largest disk size being the parity. See http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.php/W..._Hybrid_RAID%3F to have a better understanding.

You can upgrade your disk when needed although it might be a long process but is possible.

QUOTE(kinx @ Oct 23 2013, 04:54 PM)
thanks for information, currently my priority was backing up the photos and RAW files.  2TB  on RAID 1 should be sufficient for me at least for few years.

but the question is, synology, QNAP is pretty above the range compare with Buffalo, wester digital etc.  just need advice is worth to paid extra 200-300 for the QNAP and Synology features.
Not sure about QNAP's photo management but on Synology it has instant upload which means is somewhat similar to iCloud photo backup. Once you snapshot something on your phone it will auto upload to the NAS. For DSLR, look into using Eye-Fi card and running the Eye-Fi server on the Synology it will do auto backup once a snap shot is taken. These are all seamless once setup. If your objective is purely photos backup suggest you look at 3 or 4TBs on Raid 1, at least when you upgrade your camera and have bigger raw files it should be sufficient.

This post has been edited by mintgadget: Oct 23 2013, 05:39 PM
mintgadget
post Oct 25 2013, 01:29 PM

326 posts

try performing data scrubbing first. may be able to delete after that but bear in mind might take some time.
mintgadget
post Mar 25 2014, 09:47 PM

326 posts

The coolest part of DSM 5.0 - CMS. Perfect management tool. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mintgadget: Mar 25 2014, 09:53 PM
mintgadget
post Oct 6 2014, 08:09 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Oct 6 2014, 07:58 AM)
Personally, I have 2 Synology (DS410J & DS414) NAS. Instead of using backup, how can I create a schedule to copy files from one NAS to another?
Thanks in advance.
If you want the files to be identical you can try shared folder sync in the backup & replication. It will create another exact copy in your other diskstation.
mintgadget
post Oct 7 2014, 08:25 PM

326 posts

its very easy just create the server where you want the files to go to. then create the client and choose what you want to "SYNC" to the server of course network backup service need to be running on the server. Here server is referring to where the "backup" files to be stored. try it its easy.

mintgadget
post Oct 9 2014, 01:36 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(nitehawk @ Oct 8 2014, 04:47 PM)
I am unable to select sub folder. Does it support sub-folder sync?
no it has to sync the entire share folder. not just only one sub folder in a share folder.
mintgadget
post Feb 23 2016, 06:00 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Feb 21 2016, 08:04 PM)
So..as I was saying, if I use Plex, do I need to worry about transcoding? Do I need to choose a NAS with better processor?
Don't waste your time using NAS to do transcoding especially for iOS device. Unless they are at least i3 processors which probably can only handle a couple of high bit rate transcoding which defeats the purpose when you have several devices that requires transcoding. Use synology as a network share and get a decent at least i5 box to handle the transcoding.
mintgadget
post Feb 24 2016, 09:08 AM

326 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Feb 23 2016, 11:27 PM)
I'm actually wondering if I need transcoding in the first place. I know that if I play the videos on mobile device, then I will need transcoding, but apparently even if I'm playing on TV I still need transcoding to burn the subs to the video sad.gif

It would be a disappointment if I spent a lot on NAS..but in the end get laggy videos laugh.gif
Actually depends on your content ie file container (mkv, avi, MP4). I too have Plex app on my Sammy and it works via direct play with soft subs (no encoding required). The main point here is your requirements. Plex is a great media library organizer and also fantastic to share content over the Internet. If your media is purely for your own consumption to your setup as per your post then running Plex on the entry level NAS should be sufficient. DS video on the Synology is a far cry from Plex. But when your needs changes just get a dedicated box and move your library to it.

If you find out your love for Plex like me do support them it's really worthwhile getting Plexpass for tons of early access to features and local syncs to your devices. The Plex community is awesome.
mintgadget
post May 17 2016, 04:12 PM

326 posts

At least now you can use DSM 6. So many new cool features. Virtual DSM, file request <- this is long overdue. smile.gif
mintgadget
post May 17 2016, 04:39 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 17 2016, 04:28 PM)
I no expert. I also don't no what those new future use for.

But the speed did improve a lot. With the link aggregation.
virtual dsm can create another DSM with another network port good if say you want to run a dedicated VPN client for streaming rather than using your existing connection.

you can only see speed improvement on link aggregation if you have many users connected to it. i tried bonding 2 nics and pulling files from it don't see much improvement for 1 connection. make sure you have a managed switch else it is just redundancy.
mintgadget
post May 17 2016, 04:52 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 17 2016, 04:44 PM)
Compare the old NAS, it is huge different.

Just post -> https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=79999916
yes 2009 tech vs 2015 tech big diff wat... smile.gif

you should surpass the 100MB/sec mark per file copy easily. if everything is on gigabit (to be honest i personally think cat5e and cat 6 not much diff if short cables.
mintgadget
post Sep 11 2017, 07:16 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 23 2017, 03:18 PM)
No issue with the latches.

What's wrong with the latches? Your HDD case same as mind?

Same model la. So shiok meh, given you new model.

I think they modify the MB with some component solder on it.
I am contemplating sending my back too. As you know these C2000 series models are time bombs can die anytime. I received a RMA request from Taiwan but it is ridiculous to my unit there since is manufacturer defect.

Currently is working fine but can die anytime. Do you mind sharing how you got yours replaced.
mintgadget
post Jan 6 2021, 06:57 PM

326 posts

Personally, I think the best way is to disable all ports except https 443 & http 80 then use reverse proxy with let's encrypt certificates for all your "apps". Helps if you have a domain to configure the dns entries.
mintgadget
post Jan 7 2021, 09:50 AM

326 posts

quickconnect.to is connecting to synology relay first. furthermore you can't use it to do heavy transfers coz they limit it. reverse proxy is direct to you and synology does the port redirection

check out their white paper on this

https://global.download.synology.com/downlo...White_Paper.pdf

This post has been edited by mintgadget: Jan 7 2021, 09:57 AM
mintgadget
post Jan 7 2021, 10:10 AM

326 posts

security always comes with a price tag but i believe it is a small price to pay for the benefits of having your own.

0.0732sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:40 PM