NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2

corad
post Jan 9 2014, 10:48 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,401 posts

For a light user ; just file storage, auto backup and media streaming

caveat is I've guests who drop by quite frequently and don't want them to have instant access to my files.

what would be the recommendation ? Network with a mix of Macs and Windows. Been looking at synology , reviews have been good but any tips for the sifus here ?

p/s: previously was looking at apple time capsule so ease of setup is a must tongue.gif
corad
post Feb 13 2014, 10:23 AM

2,401 posts

Planning to get a synology but there's so many of them rclxub.gif

Going to need a minimum of 2 bays, and only light home use (1-2 user video streaming & file backups). Is DS213air the right choice ?
corad
post Feb 14 2014, 08:54 AM

2,401 posts

Using this http://www.synology.com/en-global/support/nas_selector

It recommends DS214play & DS713+ . After reading reviews I'm leaning towards to DS214play since it's marketed as a home media NAS and I don't really need the expansion ports of the DS713+.

Appreciate any comments before I take the plunge smile.gif

corad
post Feb 17 2014, 10:42 AM

2,401 posts

Going to go for the Synology 214play biggrin.gif

What drives should I pair with it ? Was recommended WD Red
corad
post Mar 13 2014, 11:11 AM

2,401 posts

Anyone knows a good retailer for Synology in Malaysia ?

Preferably online unless retail store has good pricing too
corad
post Mar 25 2014, 10:39 AM

2,401 posts

Finally got down to ordering the Synology 214Play.

Just checking with the sifus if :

Synology 214Play @ RM1300
WD Red 2TB @RM 350

is a fair deal ?
corad
post Apr 13 2014, 10:19 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Apr 9 2014, 02:15 PM)
I have Synology mobile app, DS Video installed in my iPhone / iPad.
Open the video from the DS Video app and you will see the Casting button on the top right. Then you can choose which chromecast to play the video in TV.

However, I have observed the below limitation of chromecast:
- It not supporting AVI and RMVB file format, i haven't try the MKV yet.
- Playing full HD (1080p) is a bit lagging and could be due to the reason Chromecast is running on Wifi or poor performance of Chromecast.
Where can I get the chromecast in Malaysia ? Tried searching and Groupon seems to be the only place but deal is over.
corad
post Oct 30 2022, 11:10 AM

2,401 posts

planning to get a Synology 1522+, so far cheapest I found is RM3.8k from Mono Digital on Lazada.

what HDD should I get for this? seller suggest 4TB Ironwolf
corad
post Oct 30 2022, 10:01 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Oct 30 2022, 07:44 PM)
Ok doing early survey on this APC which also connected to my Router & Hub on the rack  hmm.gif
I've been using APC brand for around 5 years, didn't survey but bought just because my local computer shop stocks it and sells the same as online price.

Have a few 625VA and a 950VA. Only 1 625VA had a bad battery after a year but still under warranty. Since all the equipment I connect to them are running fine, no complaints from me.
corad
post Oct 30 2022, 10:04 PM

2,401 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 30 2022, 03:39 PM)
Seagate Ironwolf or WD Red Plus or Toshiba N300
All these for NAS usage, all don't have reliability issue.
If heavy usage, a lot of read and write everyday, consider getting enterprise model such as Ironwolf Pro.

HDD size, if count by TB per RM, actually almost same price. It's better to get higher capacity so that still have empty bays for future need. Example get 8TB x 2 instead of 4TB x 4.This of course means higher chance for 8TB HDD to die first than 4TB due to more usage per drive and higher cost to replace drive. Really it depends on your requirements and storage needs.
thanks, so skip Synology's branded HDD ? read somewhere that these are Toshiba OEM.

Between Seagate Ironwolf and WD Red, read that Ironwolf is really noisy ? The Synology will be in the same office as me, so the quieter the better tongue.gif

0.0175sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:25 AM