NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS) V2

The Wonder
post Dec 27 2013, 04:45 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

Sifus, is the transfer rate like this healthy (PC to NAS)?

Am using DNS-327L + Asus RT-N56U.

This post has been edited by The Wonder: Dec 27 2013, 06:04 PM
The Wonder
post Dec 29 2013, 04:33 AM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Dec 28 2013, 09:23 AM)
Green AV is good for single drives operations, means no RAID or whatever RAID equivalent for the drives.
But Mrbob point out that Green AV is good under RAID1 so you may start with that.
Is that a constant speed from your PC to your NAS (60MB/s+), looks pretty fast, what's your setup for your NAS? RAID0? RAID1? hmm.gif
Glad that you says it's fast biggrin.gif
Constant speed about 60-65MB/sec, RAID0. I even saw the thing hit about 74MB/sec (for about 30-40secs) before dropping back to 6x.

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 28 2013, 02:33 PM)
That is amazingly fast!!! Looks like local copy via USB 3.0!!!! I can barely hit 12MB/s when copying over to my DLiknk 320L....sad.gif
I was quite concerned about the speed when I looked at the 320L, and furthermore no USB3! That's how I ended up with 327L.
The Wonder
post Dec 29 2013, 01:23 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 29 2013, 07:49 AM)
How much is the 327L??
RM 385 from Thundermatch, Low Yat.
The Wonder
post Dec 31 2013, 03:11 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Dec 29 2013, 06:16 PM)
OH!! RAID0!! No wonder. sweat.gif
Have you tried non-RAID before? Before you decided on RAID0, or RAID1 transfer speed?  hmm.gif
Anyway I assume you have a huge backup around, RAID0 is only for speed, no redundancy to back it up in case a drive fail.
Have not try non RAID yet tongue.gif
The Wonder
post Jan 1 2014, 04:30 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 1 2014, 04:23 PM)
Bought a new Dns-327L...much better writing speed...around 60MB/s....unfortunately, streaming HD from this device is still a no-no...video will halt momentary every now and then just like the DNS-320l. I don't think it's a bandwidth or read speed not fast enough issue.

If i share a folder from the NAS and stream from my PC using TVERSITY, then there is no issue and can play smoothyly...
This will even use up more bandwidth with data transfer from NAS->PC--->Android Box, yet it does better.

My conclusion: Forget about NAS streaming HD movies....they don't have the processing power to do it or the streaming application sucks.... Haiz...Maybe those high-end NAS will do better.
Bro, since we're using the same NAS perhaps you may help me with this. Can I share my NAS with a friend remotely but only limited folders? I am facing difficulty to set this up.
The Wonder
post Jan 1 2014, 04:48 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 1 2014, 04:44 PM)
Don't think have this feature...i have used a higher end Thecus N4200 in the office, that has this feature.

Solution: Google Drive lah... biggrin.gif
Ah..... Thanks smile.gif
The Wonder
post Jun 3 2020, 02:02 PM

Bang Bang Club
1,059 posts

deleted....

This post has been edited by The Wonder: Jun 3 2020, 05:25 PM

0.0184sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:26 PM