19 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 >Bottom

Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

H2D
post Dec 1 2013, 02:59 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 1 2013, 02:49 PM)
The kastam is ridiculous.  They were asking about what size is my bike.  I say 20" and he say below 25" got 30% tax.  Bigger bike no tax! WTF

yes road racing bike (fully assembled?) is tax free,
mtb.. other bicycles are taxable...
H2D
post Dec 2 2013, 02:00 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(X-LaW @ Dec 2 2013, 11:44 AM)

Just bot a KHS last 2 month for my wife before the Fbike promotion, damn dulan..

promotion... mebe just one bike up for grabs..... biggrin.gif
H2D
post Dec 2 2013, 02:14 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ Dec 2 2013, 02:11 PM)
waah eigge, is  the bike the same red bike that u bought months ago? now blue alrd...
no i think he is selling his daughter's bike.... biggrin.gif

the red one is triple crank...
H2D
post Dec 8 2013, 04:00 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 8 2013, 03:31 PM)
I can't seem to pump any air icon_question.gif as it seems like the bicycle pump is not compatible? Or I use wrong method to pump?
u need the dunlop/woods adapter bro...
some presta adapter can fit... need to check...

this is how we used to pump....

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_lgjkp7t8WGA/SpDv...-h/P1000427.jpg

This post has been edited by H2D: Dec 8 2013, 07:13 PM
H2D
post Dec 8 2013, 04:05 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 8 2013, 03:35 PM)
After that I lost the cap for it doh.gif

The above post is how it looks like with the cap, here's how it looks like without.
huh? like this ur tayar still got air??
H2D
post Dec 8 2013, 06:14 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 8 2013, 05:41 PM)
Completely no more edi lol
Then change both the tubes to american valve, no more susah payah... smile.gif
H2D
post Dec 8 2013, 07:14 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 8 2013, 06:28 PM)
Cost how much?
not more than RM20 per tube....?
H2D
post Jan 1 2014, 12:23 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Dec 31 2013, 11:58 PM)
Careful ladies..

And happy new year 2014  flex.gif
so what difference if it is black brown beige white,,, etc,,,,???

still looks like a colourful dik right? biggrin.gif
H2D
post Jan 8 2014, 11:17 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 6 2014, 09:36 PM)
Over budget bang. Bicycle pun only bcoz of wife. My heart still on motorcycle.  biggrin.gif
ur wife cycle with her frens?

i suggest that you borrow her frens' bikes. diff brand n model etc. to have a ride.
to get a feel of it...

bike with small wheels feels different..
90kg on a folding bike feels diff than 60kg on a folding bike....

mebe u get so used to twisting the throttle... on two wheels...

having the need to crank that leg muscle up the hill ... may be too 'potong stim... ' biggrin.gif
H2D
post Jan 8 2014, 11:37 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(omisa @ Jan 8 2014, 11:29 PM)
so what type of helmet do you guys use?

is it MTB style? or like the skaters style? or any helmet would do?  tongue.gif
the nutcase wan mebe very the hot... cos tak banyak hole....
d design not aero.... , air dun easily flow into the holes....

good helmet like specialized.. u feel like not wearing a helmet.... biggrin.gif
H2D
post Jan 8 2014, 11:48 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(omisa @ Jan 8 2014, 11:42 PM)
I believe specialized is a brand, no?

care to share any specific model, if any.  thumbup.gif
yes brand..
but not cheap oh...

less than RM 100 helmet, n look a bit decent is prowell.. n tht oso taobao price...
here mebe susah to get under rm 100...

vs

u wan model...

check out this wan... not very expensive...

http://www.prowellhelmets.com/2012/f4000r.html

This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 9 2014, 01:47 AM
H2D
post Jan 9 2014, 01:16 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 9 2014, 12:57 AM)

She has a java fit. I am fine with small bikes mainly i dont plan on riding fast and yes the main purpose is to get me sweating and exercising, so even if the bike is heavy and i had to ride harder than a 26" mtb or 29" roadie, so be it.. Plus as added benefit when i get slimmer and reduce my body weight, the power to weight ratio on the bike improves too smile.gif
if u feel ok with the java fit.. then shud be ok la with others...

some heavy rider will feel that some 'cheaper' bike is not solid enuf..
there is a difference when the rider is heavy... esp foldie, where there are joints on frame n post...
long seat post doesn't help.. ..
brake oso tak makan when down slope...
when cranking force is high, cheaper component oso takut nanti break....

but when ur main purpose is to exercise,.. then all those 'feel' are kinda pointless...
just ride man.. the more difficult the bike rides.. the more u will loose weight... just don't cancel it with extra food... biggrin.gif

when food is the sole purpose of/motivation of cycling... then susah to loose weight liddat...
H2D
post Jan 13 2014, 12:57 PM

598 posts

look properly at the pics la... haiyo.. biggrin.gif
can see the double chain ring...

This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 13 2014, 12:58 PM
H2D
post Jan 16 2014, 12:05 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jan 15 2014, 11:47 PM)
Am joining ocbc comunity ride this coming sunday. Anyone else here riding?
wow u joined before you got ur bike..... ? rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
H2D
post Jan 16 2014, 10:25 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(kcwo @ Jan 16 2014, 12:27 PM)
Hmm.... I am thinking to change to Dahon Dash P18. Road bike feel and foldable. My KHS F20-T is good but lack of gear to climb hill. Anybody has dash P18 experience? rolleyes.gif
i have a dash p18, don't expect it to have road bike feel cos it is still a small wheel... biggrin.gif

road bike wheel 700C, the handling n ride quality is different...

if u r a heavyweight, mebe u will feel it is more 'solid' compared to normal folding bikes with long seat post n handle post..

folded size is big, so not for everyone.... biggrin.gif
H2D
post Jan 17 2014, 12:09 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(kcwo @ Jan 16 2014, 11:42 PM)
Folded size should be ok. As long as it can be folded. But let wait first. I think more model will come in as folding bike getting popular now.  tongue.gif
folding bicycle with traditional diamond frame ... very few n rare...
very unlikely they will invent something new...

the dahon lockjaw hinge is very unique...

old model dahon matrix.. 26 inch wheel....

Dahon Cadenza... same frame.. big wheels...

due to ppl said 'mafan' ? ( the joint ).. dahon dun produce these anymore.... laugh.gif doh.gif

instead they made ' expresso '... doh.gif

another reason might be a lot of ppl complained about the lockjaw.. on the cadenza n matrix..
guess they trash it too hard n also heavy rider...

Doppelganger Squalo 806
full size 700c folding bike...
can the joint compare to the lockjaw??

close-up of the squalo hinge here ... https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...20&p=57709014&#

Change Bike
they are producing a 700c road bike frame....

This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 17 2014, 12:42 AM
H2D
post Jan 17 2014, 12:43 AM

598 posts

they say steel won't break like this.... biggrin.gif

H2D
post Jan 17 2014, 12:48 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(omisa @ Jan 17 2014, 12:47 AM)
wow. what happened?  blink.gif
http://www.cyclechat.net/threads/broken-da...n-ankle.112112/
H2D
post Jan 17 2014, 12:55 AM

598 posts

can always get a china hummer n convert like this.. biggrin.gif

copied from another forum...

" Borrowed zipp 303 wheelset from one of my friends to take this picture. There are still some clearance between frame and rear wheel, so I think I can use up to ~42c tires without problem.
Used FMF BMX brakes for 26" to 700c conversion, and Speen's toppull converter to use road front derailleurs for toppull cabling. I also machined 2.2mm thick aluminium spacer to fit rear wheelset to MTB frame.

Current weight is 8.38kg or 18.5lbs. I can shave ~200g by switching to carbon steerered MTB fork (Ritchey / Trigon makes one) and further by switching to 700c carbon fork, so it is theoretically possible to build a 7.7kg folding road bike if you really need one. But I won't go that far. "

This post has been edited by H2D: Jan 17 2014, 01:01 AM
H2D
post Jan 17 2014, 01:00 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(omisa @ Jan 17 2014, 12:56 AM)
so the seat post length is important right? must obey the warning level then.  nod.gif

this should be pointed out for all cyclist.
heavyweights have to be more careful ..... biggrin.gif

19 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 >Top

0.0519sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:57 AM