JPJ Number Plate Registration

woodentiger86
post Jun 11 2019, 04:03 PM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

Hi everyone,

Been reading up some posts in the thread to understand some processes to apply for number plate at JPJ.

Can anyone provide a guide or updated steps [against first post in this thread back in 2013?].

Plan to go JPJ in person and apply for a new number. Asides from filling up the form and getting queue number [and avoiding runner], is there anything else I need to note? I am worried I might overlook something like didn't photostat IC etc when I visit JPJ office.

As shared earlier, I am not really aiming for any particular set of letters/running numbers so I'm open to get the desired number on the day itself. Also, only cash payment accepted at JPJ?

Sorry for the noob queries. My first time applying for number plate on my own and not via bidding process.

Thanks in advance sifus!
woodentiger86
post Jun 11 2019, 04:48 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(ahlin @ Jun 11 2019, 04:33 PM)
Why don't you register an account from mysikap and buy your desired number there (assuming is current running number)? Just bring your photocopy IC and visit any JPJ say you want register a mysikap account.
Ah cool. Thanks for the suggestion. Will give it a try!
woodentiger86
post Jun 19 2019, 10:42 AM

2,414 posts

Just a quick update for readers since I can share my experiences [as a 1st time] buyer too:-

Visited JPJ PJ office last Friday morning. They open at 7:45am sharp. Queue formed outside Pintu A but it was not a really long wait to get the number and crowd dispersed accordingly based on what they needed to do [renew license, road tax, etc].

Told the officer who was manning the ticket counter that I was there to get new number plate and he asked whether I had filled in the form. I didn't so he just passed me a copy on the spot & asked for a photostat copy of my IC. Thankfully there was a small booth offering photostat services that opened early as well so I could settle that on the spot.

Filling up the form was a rather straight-forward affair, as I was only looking to get a particular number irregardless of state-alphabet prefix.

Once my number was called, I just handed the form with the desired number, and the officer asked me to indicate which state I wanted. My bad for thinking that he could check for all states in one go but eventually I realised that he needed to select the state from the dropdown list each time so I just rattled off a few states in the hopes that the number is available.

3rd try and it was successful - paid RM310 there and then. I was pleasantly surprised at how quick the whole thing was, I was done before 830am.

On a side note, I recalled some suggestions for me to get a MySikap account so that I can check on the available numbers in the future, so I also gotten my login details at the ticket counter before leaving the JPJ office.

As shared elsewhere, all they required was your email address and MyKad and they will ask you to check your email on the spot whether any email from Pentadbir JPJ was received.

All in all, a very productive and hassle-free visit to the JPJ!

Kudos!
woodentiger86
post Jul 15 2020, 04:25 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(PSS2020 @ Jul 15 2020, 02:46 PM)
Hi all,

Going to buy my first car.
Plan to buy the number plate on mySikap first.
It's valid for 6M?

After I book the car and get the loan, what's the next step?
Need to go JPJ for one time registration?

Thereafter 2nd year onwards only need to renew Road Tax? (can be renewed via Post Office?)

Bcoz I stay in PJ, but I prefer Vxx compared to Bxx.
If I select V, anything need to be done via JPJ I need to go JPJ KL?  Can't go JPJ PJ?

And wanna check how many times a year need to go JPJ actually. And what matters beside renew Roadtax or licencse (which can be done at PO).
Car accidents - only go Police Station right?

Last week I went to activate mySikap, was a nightmare, too many ppl and que for 3 hours...
Hi bro, congrats on your impending new ride.

For MySikap activation, actually just need to tell the counter where you collect number that you want to register, then pass on your email address and IC to the person to verify. I got my email within few mins and continued the rest of the registration at home.

Which outlet did you go to btw?

Anyhow, assuming you're getting a new car, the car registration will be settled by your Sales Rep/Agent etc. Just provide them the number or screenshot of the receipt and they will handle the rest. You can actually buy numbers for the other states, except for Langkawi/Labuan and the Fx plates for Putrajaya thru MySikap.

JPJ just once assuming you need to go back to perform stuffs like ownership change or your driving license has been blacklisted, etc.

Roadtax/Driver's License renewal can be done at the Post Office, as you said. Please note you can only renew your road tax once you renewed your insurance policy for the year.

woodentiger86
post Jul 16 2020, 01:32 PM

2,414 posts

QUOTE(PSS2020 @ Jul 16 2020, 01:29 PM)
Yea. Just the que to go in took so long. Luckily that day was nice weather. RMCO. Most stood queing outside without cover.

That was JPJ PJ (near Tmn Jaya LRT).

Ok thanks Bro!!!
Ah I see. That was the one I went to get my number too last year before I got the MySikap ID.

What time did you go? I went before their opening hours so not too long of a wait.

It was either that branch or the one in Padang Jawa. I opted for PJ cos Padang Jawa has even more folks... sweat.gif

Hope you manage to get the number you wanted.

Once you have that account you can actually search for the other states and pay for the number right away if you want it.

0.0186sec    1.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:46 PM