> cashier swiping their own reward card, for your purchase...

TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:13 PM, updated 13y ago

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

i'm sure this has happened to you before. i just wanna know if any of you are equally pissed at this behaviour as i am. situation is like this:

reward cards are basically point redeem system which rewards you for being loyal. petronas has mesra card, shell uses bonuslink, aeon with its aeon card and so on. i noticed that when you forgot to bring your card or if you did not subscribe to the reward card system, the cashier will conveniently swipe their own card for your purchase.

to me, this is unacceptable. why are they benefiting out of my purchase? the reward points are the customers' regardless whether they want to claim it or not. at least ask for my permission because i do feel charitable most of the time. but never steal from me!

do you share the same feeling?
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:18 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(boyot @ Aug 15 2013, 02:17 PM)
Most likely you are cheapskate to even donate and you wanted to feel charitable without giving them a cent
Do you also rage if cat eat your dropped food on the floor?
did you miss the difference between stealing and charity?

charity is by choice. getting your selipar stolen at the mosque would force you to just give up and sedekah the selipar. sedekah is by choice, not by force.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:20 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 15 2013, 02:18 PM)
do you rage when ppl dun gip you 5sen cos they no change?  biggrin.gif
do they tell me or do they just shut up and let it go?
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:20 PM

10,672 posts

i find the "tak apa" attitude in this thread unnerving.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:23 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Aug 15 2013, 02:21 PM)
It's a non issue for me. I rather have a hardworking individual benefit from my purchase than have that "benefit" returned to big business.

You may want to have a reality check on what you deem as being "charitable".
i know exactly what charitable means, and how the whole voluntary nature forms the crucial difference between it and being strong armed to do so.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:25 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 15 2013, 02:24 PM)
the problem is i do notice the card is well worn from thousands of swipe.. it could be the station owners card earning dem alot of points.. then how?  brows.gif
this is exactly what i'm griping at. lagi2 muka ketat yang tak reti nak senyum.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:26 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Aug 15 2013, 02:25 PM)
u forgot to bring your card, they just making the best out of it la. Chill la bro, it's not as if you can get it back after that. Biar la people nak cari makan
cari makan cara yang halal bro. bukan makan tempias titik peluh orang lain.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:28 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(boyot @ Aug 15 2013, 02:26 PM)
There is a story where this kedai makan charged this poor traveller for even smelling his food
They argue, the the wise man came. The wise man heard both story and asked the poor traveller his life saving money. With just 3 coin, wise man hold his palm and began to shake it, which produce noise as coin collide with each other. He told the kedai makan owner whther he heard the sound, yes he said. That is the fair payment for someone smelling a food.
OMG i insaf already from that story...
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:31 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Aug 15 2013, 02:27 PM)
no, i dont. i find ur kiamsiapness.... disturbing.

wuts wrong with it?

if u hv the card (forgoten to bring) n she swipe hers, u blame the cashier

if u dun hv the card, u blame her for swiping her card

she manade steal from u? its ur fault. man it n move on la.

same like some race,

if they lazy, blame the pendatang

tak boleh berak, blame the floor hard
QUOTE(EthanWong @ Aug 15 2013, 02:27 PM)
small small thing like this also wanna calculate?

they gain abit only while you have nothing to lose for it
shall i provide the maths for you?

each RM1 spent usually accumulates to 1 point. and 1 point usually is valued at about 1sen (in reward). if u fill up petrol of RM100, that's worth RM1 in reward points. if we take a rough estimate of 100 person spending that much but not claiming, they will earn RM100 worth of reward points per day. that's RM3,000 of reward points per month.

yes, malaysia is so charitable. good for us.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:32 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(leetan33 @ Aug 15 2013, 02:29 PM)
I'm the one who shares your view biggrin.gif
thanks. jom minum. i got reward points to share.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:36 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Aug 15 2013, 02:34 PM)
indeed the cashier gets the free money but MANY allowed it to happen, wuts wrong with u? u do ur right to stop it, dah la

not like some race, lazy but blame the world
i am that some race. dont vroom here, coz i'll vroom back.

it's wrong, and i'm trying to rally the thoughts of good people in /k/. it seems that everyone is okay with it. which might mean general malaysians are also okay with it.

it's like alanyuppie said, if u donate 50sen to a beggar, nobody'll complain. but when u heard the beggar made RM3k per month just by begging, u'll be the first to be annoyed.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:38 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Aug 15 2013, 02:34 PM)
Personally, I don't mind if they do it, especially if they ask nicely. Of course, its totally understandable how you wouldn't accept such behavior. I suppose how you see it as stealing, I see it as taking what I don't need. In fact, I'm more inclined that my purchased can be exchanged to points regardless of whoever gets it, because its such a waste to leave the benefit to the big company like Aeon, bonuslink affliates, etc.

I once worked as a cashier at Ampang Point back when they launched the BonusLink card wayt back in the 1990s. Of course not many customers knew about it first, and majority of the sales staff already had their own and were eager to start cashing in on the points using their customer's purchases. While most of the sales promoter openly ask their customers if its okay to use their bonuslink card seeing that they don't have it yet, some sales assistant were quitely swiping the card behind the cashier's back. Of course situations incurred where agitated customers claimed they couldn't use their bonuslink card because its already been redeemed.

So the management gave out memos to us cashiers to never accept salesperson's bonuslink card. That shows that such actions doesn't forebode well with the management nor to some customers such as yourself. I think its a clear violations even in any membership card to redeem points on purchases not made by the owner of the card. So in terms of regulations, your stand is totally legit.
thank you for that perspective. gave me clearer insight on this matter.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 10:59 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Aug 15 2013, 02:48 PM)
u see, typical melayoo.

they even wanna remove the right to work hard n enjoy their fruit. they expect others to work hard n serve them on a silver platter.

if the begger is good at beggin, then its his spoil la.. u know he earns much from beggin, then dun donate la...

melayoo ni, so damn 79 kepoh nih... if they can focus their energy in improving themselves, we cainis need to balik caina la.. but for now....

there were alot of job available in malaya, but.....

british brings in cainis for mining

johor bring in cainis for PLANTATION!!!!

wut the fark r malays good for?!

when other toil n enjoy their fruit, all mata merah like c!ba!.... rape n cull the cainis. present history n past history has proven summore.
i told you not to vroom here.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 11:07 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Aug 15 2013, 03:05 PM)
so did you gave any 'advice' to the cashier ? or you're a hypocrite ?
i do whenever i had the chance.
TSazarimy
post Aug 15 2013, 11:12 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Aug 15 2013, 03:08 PM)
i find its gooding too. they worked for it, then they deserve la. anything wrong?

3rd world mindset like MALAYsial n INDON la... others work hard n enjoy. some pulak mata merah n blame the world.
im sorry. i pay particular attention to where the source of my income comes from to ensure it's as halal as possible. that's why i did not become an architect and focus on academia instead.

and i dont appreciate it if some idiot tries to skim off some of my hard earned money without my permission.
TSazarimy
post Aug 16 2013, 12:20 AM

10,672 posts

this is my fastest thread ever. and no drills.

although at the start i actually quite worry how most people did not care about this, but eventually i see more people actually understood my issue. like i said, being generous is a choice. i can choose to donate my points to others.

if i forgot to bring the card or the card is so new that i havent had the chance to acquire one, then all the cashier need to do is ask if he/she could swipe and take the points off me. establish a rapport, make the connection, smile. i cant imagine why i would say no to that.

but dont assume if i say "no i dont have the card" means "it's okay you may swipe yours instead".

ethics. malaysia needs it direly. at every level.
TSazarimy
post Aug 16 2013, 12:22 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 15 2013, 04:16 PM)
Why are you being selfish. If you dont redeem then let them redeem if not the purchase will go to waste. Please la bro. This is rich man thinking
ethics. business ethics, specifically. not about being selfish.

being poor or earning less doesnt allow the cashiers to earn off me. it's like, it's okay for all bumiputera to get benefits from the gov coz most of them are poor.
TSazarimy
post Aug 16 2013, 12:28 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Aug 15 2013, 04:23 PM)
Personally I think this case macam recycled cans.

You habis minum you campak, tak recycle and jual kat recycling centre.
Tapi bila orang kutip nak buat duit recyling tetiba you hangin.

Just halalkan je TS. Anggap sedekah atau amal jariah. Dapat jugak pahala.
you have a choice, when you throw the cans away, right?

like i said before, sedekah is about choice and totally voluntary. if your selipar got stolen at the mosque, people would advise you to "sedekahkan aje". and eventually you would, as you had no choice but to do so.

choice on my part, ethics on the cashier's part. simple.
TSazarimy
post Aug 16 2013, 12:34 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Aug 15 2013, 04:30 PM)
well if it really irks you than just write it to the sales dept manager or as other forumer mention before just ask them not to swipe anything with your transaction.
i have asked them not to swipe everytime i had the chance. i couldnt ask them if i'm behind the glass counter (at the petrol kiosk) because they usually just take the money and dont really care about what u said; and where other people are lining up behind me because it usually takes awhile to deliver my argument across especially if the cashier starts making face.

i've written to jusco long time ago but didnt receive a reply. but now i'm determined to write to every business i custom to ensure proper ethics are practiced.
TSazarimy
post Aug 16 2013, 12:37 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(hakimida @ Aug 15 2013, 04:33 PM)
in ethics there are many ways to define a action is ethical or not. 1st is called utilitarianism. which means if the actions bring more good than bad, then the actions is ethical. So for this type of action, it brings more good because the points do not to go to waste. And you did lose a single cent. so no harm for you also. So by using utilitarianism,this action is ethical and right.

in other view such as legal ethics, if the action is in the course of law, then it is ethical, if the action is outside the law, then the action unethical.

So we can choose which view we want to use in deciding an action is ethical or not! For me, i always refer to utilitarianism view because it is for greater good. smile.gif
dude, how is that utilitarianism? utilitarianism is always about the use and benefits of the users, and in this case it's the customers. merchants are on the other side of the equation.

and if u wanna argue about the greater good, then how do this "taking a customer's benefits without asking" benefits malaysian society as a whole?

3 Pages  1 2 3 >
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0261sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:34 AM