101 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V3, Manually Flash your Lumia 920 with Amber

mudster
post Aug 1 2014, 09:18 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(spirit breaker @ Aug 1 2014, 09:08 AM)
thanks.. gonna hard reset my phone.. live lock screen beta is causing laggy.. soft reset didn't do the job.. do you have any other solution be4 i hard reset my phone?
I replied to your question in the other tered, but just in case you didn't see it: http://www.wpcentral.com/tip-resuming-live...-beta-uninstall
rogrog
post Aug 2 2014, 01:25 PM

635 posts

QUOTE(spirit breaker @ Aug 1 2014, 09:13 AM)
still lag.. it loading everytime i unlock my phone...
Go active your kids corner, it would as you to turn off the lock screen app. icon_idea.gif
dgboy
post Aug 2 2014, 01:28 PM

5,073 posts

another way, set the lockscreen to Bing image temporarily.. that's how I solved the same issue
geniuz
post Aug 2 2014, 08:13 PM

402 posts

Guys.... Whats the advantage and disadvantage between android n windows phone? Is it worth if migrate from android to windows? Whats do u love most bout windows?
Rei7
post Aug 2 2014, 08:38 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Aug 2 2014, 08:13 PM)
Guys.... Whats the advantage and disadvantage between android n windows phone? Is it worth if migrate from android to windows? Whats do u love most bout windows?
Advantages: Live tiles, Action Centre, Cortana, Outlook, Office and universal apps from Microsoft, Camera technology from Nokia which beats the rest, XBox Games, have pretty much every essential apps built-in, Fast and responsive(never laggy, bloated or stuck)

Disadvantage: The AppStore is still behind but doing well, can't share videos due to security reasons(there are ways to bypass it by importing though).

If you are not into modifying the shit out of your phone and only use it for regular stuff, i'm pretty sure it's gonna be fine. If you like to tinker a lot of stuff then avoid it I guess, since there is no root or jailbreak for it which makes it very secure.

I tried Android 2 years ago on Nexus 7 after trying to ditch iOS, before deciding to go Windows Phone.
For me personally it's different in a lot of ways. Sure you might say lacking in apps and etc but now there are tons already. All the apps that isn't available has their own WP version already. The best thing about WP is that it's very unique in its own ways compared to iOS and Android counterparts. For someone who migrate from iOS to WP because I was damn bored about it since using iPhone 3G to 4S for 3-4 years..I've to say it's a breath of fresh air. Everything felt different an unique and has a sense of novelty. I use Android but felt something similar with iOS so I kinda skip Android to WP after that because boring.. same stuff all the time. It feels fast and responsive and with WP 8.1 the WP has already matured to a standard quite similar to the current iOS and Android but still lacking in some stuff of course.
Andrew Lim
post Aug 2 2014, 09:27 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Aug 2 2014, 08:13 PM)
First, I suggest you don't migrate just because you're bored with Android. Windows Phone evolves very slowly compared to Android. Sooner or later you'll probably be bored with Windows Phone as well. If you want to try out Windows Phone as a secondary backup phone that's better.

Disadvantages:

1) WP has the worst stock music player in the world - XBox Music. Even die-hard fans of Microsoft/WP will tell you the music player is bad compared to other platforms. It has few features and it lags.

http://www.wpcentral.com/xbox-music-awful-...-81-update-near
http://winsupersite.com/xbox-music/microso...her-platforms-0

2) Less customizability. You better like rectangles and squares on your homescreen because there's no way out.

3) Searching sucks. Apple has spotlight search and Android has Google Now but if you want to find anything on your phone don't rely on the Search button. It only searches Bing.

Advantages:

The UI is more consistent and all WP phones use the same official Windows Phone operating system. No bloated UI enhancements.

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Aug 2 2014, 09:28 PM
Rei7
post Aug 2 2014, 10:07 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Aug 2 2014, 09:27 PM)
First, I suggest you don't migrate just because you're bored with Android. Windows Phone evolves very slowly compared to Android. Sooner or later you'll probably be bored with Windows Phone as well. If you want to try out Windows Phone as a secondary backup phone that's better.

Disadvantages:

1) WP has the worst stock music player in the world - XBox Music. Even die-hard fans of Microsoft/WP will tell you the music player is bad compared to other platforms. It has few features and it lags.

http://www.wpcentral.com/xbox-music-awful-...-81-update-near
http://winsupersite.com/xbox-music/microso...her-platforms-0

2) Less customizability. You better like rectangles and squares on your homescreen because there's no way out.

3) Searching sucks. Apple has spotlight search and Android has Google Now but if you want to find anything on your phone don't rely on the Search button. It only searches Bing.

Advantages:

The UI is more consistent and all WP phones use the same official Windows Phone operating system. No bloated UI enhancements.
1. Agree the music player not the best. Thought they learned from Zune but I don't agree it lags not sure what Lumia or WP phone you are using but I've been using for 2 years already, first year on 920 and 2nd year on 1020. Both doesn't even lag at all. Either you must be doing something wrong or yours are buggy or something because I have yet to experience any lag at all.

3. This is no longer the case. Search button has been good for starting up apps and finding the apps you have on 8.1 with Cortona. A bit outdates about this point. Since the one you are talking about are the old 8.0.

Other points are good for me. But I don't agree that you will get bored with WP that easily. If he can get bored with Android why are you asking him to stick with it. Should be good to ask him to change. It's not like WP is a downgrade. It has matured pretty well and everyone has recommend WP 8.1 by pretty much a lot of tech reviewers. The updates is getting better and faster now as well not that slow like before.

WP 8.1 is something that people should look at. 8.0 is not good but 8.1 is a totally different experience. Well polished, all missing features have been added, a lot of improvements compared to 8.0 and Cortana is the best thing which competes pretty well with the likes of Google Now and even Siri.

This post has been edited by Rei7: Aug 2 2014, 10:10 PM
Andrew Lim
post Aug 2 2014, 10:41 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Aug 2 2014, 10:07 PM)
This is no longer the case. Search button has been good for starting up apps and finding the apps you have on 8.1 with Cortona. A bit outdates about this point. Since the one you are talking about are the old 8.0.

I stand corrected. I didn't know they added Universal Search in 8.1. I never got to update my Lumia 920 to 8.1 because the phone screen lasted less than a year before it had issues and now the screen no longer turns on.

Edit Wait, what exactly does the 8.1 universal search do? Does it search contacts, music as well as apps?

This post has been edited by Andrew Lim: Aug 2 2014, 10:43 PM
dgboy
post Aug 2 2014, 10:48 PM

5,073 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Aug 2 2014, 10:41 PM)
Wait, what exactly does the 8.1 universal search do? Does it search contacts, music as well as apps?
Yes, contacts, music and certain settings.
Andrew Lim
post Aug 2 2014, 10:51 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Aug 2 2014, 10:48 PM)
Yes, contacts, music and certain settings.
How do you trigger the universal search? The Search button or through Cortana? Is Cortana available in Malaysia?
Rei7
post Aug 2 2014, 11:00 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Aug 2 2014, 10:41 PM)
I stand corrected. I didn't know they added Universal Search in 8.1. I never got to update my Lumia 920 to 8.1 because the phone screen lasted less than a year before it had issues and now the screen no longer turns on.

Edit Wait, what exactly does the 8.1 universal search do? Does it search contacts, music as well as apps?
That is sad to hear.

Yup you can search for the apps you have on your phone and the web now with the search button powered by Cortana. It has Universal search but how in depth it is i'm not quite sure as mine is still Cortana Beta running on Beta preview for 8.1. Yes you can search contact, music as well as apps. I usually just hold the search button to open apps now. No need to unlock screen and tap and search for apps or look at the live tiles anymore.

Everything you need to know about Cortana http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/how-to/w...na/meet-cortana

The thing that makes the WP mature is Cortana itself which adds a lot of features that are missing as well as other stuff of course other than Cortana.
Rei7
post Aug 2 2014, 11:05 PM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Aug 2 2014, 10:51 PM)
How do you trigger the universal search? The Search button or through Cortana? Is Cortana available in Malaysia?
Just speak or type to Cortana for things you wanna search. Cortana will list web results as well as apps results.
Other stuff that is good about Cortana is that it personalize what you like as well. Open Cortana and it will fetch you the latest news, weather or anything that you personalize her to do.

For now only in the US(not sure about EU or any other region). Most people just set the region to US and language as well. I don't see why someone should stick to Malaysian region as it lacks apps and a lot of stuff.
geniuz
post Aug 2 2014, 11:24 PM

402 posts

Thanks a lot #Rei7 and #Andrew Lim..... Very well explanation...

1. Referred to searching, can 8.1 search phone things like contact and also searching web... What I'm trying to say whether it has universal search? Even word in sms? Like blackberry.

2. How bout features in famous app like whatsapp, facebook, instagram, waze etc? Do 8.1 act like android?

3. For maps... Android have google maps and also can act as gps navigator. How bout 8.1?

4. Contact/phonebook, can 8.1 retrieve contact from android and vice versa? Or how to transfer it?

5. Memory/ram, my android phone hv 2gb of ram and lately frequent hang. How bout 8.1 (lumia 930) can perform well since it also hv 2gb of ram?

6. Can 8.1 sync contact between phone and outlook.com account? android can sync contact between phone And gmail account.

Thats all for now, hope sifus out there can enlightenment me. Tqvm

Rei7
post Aug 3 2014, 12:31 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Aug 2 2014, 11:24 PM)
Thanks a lot #Rei7 and #Andrew Lim..... Very well explanation...

1. Referred to searching, can 8.1 search phone things like contact and also searching web... What I'm trying to say whether it has universal search? Even word in sms? Like blackberry.

2. How bout features in famous app like whatsapp, facebook, instagram, waze etc? Do 8.1 act like android?

3. For maps... Android have google maps and also can act as gps navigator. How bout 8.1?

4. Contact/phonebook, can 8.1 retrieve contact from android and vice versa? Or how to transfer it?

5. Memory/ram, my android phone hv 2gb of ram and lately frequent hang. How bout 8.1 (lumia 930) can perform well since it also hv 2gb of ram?

6. Can 8.1 sync contact between phone and outlook.com account? android can sync contact between phone And gmail account.

Thats all for now, hope sifus out there can enlightenment me. Tqvm
1. Not sure about words in sms.

2. Features are there for famous apps but some are behind in updates like Instagram which is still in beta. Why should WP needs to act like Android?

3. There is Nokia Maps which is now called Here Maps, which is just as good and even better got offline mode.

4. Transfer My Data(built in app) can do that via Bluetooth as far as I know. That is how I do it on iOS, should work the same with Android.

5. It's not the same. 2gb or less than 1gb also WP8 is very smooth and responsive. It's not the same like Android which is power hungry. WP can do just the same with less ram. It's the same like iPhone which is not power hungry. Well optimized OS is the key for good performance, not more ram means better.

6. Yes it syncs with outlook/hotmail account using the internet. The same like Android.
Boom Mortar
post Aug 3 2014, 09:23 AM

227 posts

Hi guys,wan to know is wp have apps to convert flv format to mp4 like android offer?

sori if ask at wrong place,cheerssss.....
Rei7
post Aug 3 2014, 10:03 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Aug 3 2014, 09:23 AM)
Hi guys,wan to know is wp have apps to convert flv format to mp4 like android offer?

sori if ask at wrong place,cheerssss.....
Don't know why you need to convert flv videos when you can download videos directly from youtube for example with Metrotube, Youtube Pro, Tube Download and a lot of other apps that does the same.

I think there isn't any app that lets you convert it on the phone itself but there might be one that does it online though so need to check that back for you. WP8 has a very tight security and doesn't allow such things.
geniuz
post Aug 3 2014, 11:26 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Aug 3 2014, 12:31 AM)
1. Not sure about words in sms.

2. Features are there for famous apps but some are behind in updates like Instagram which is still in beta. Why should WP needs to act like Android?

3. There is Nokia Maps which is now called Here Maps, which is just as good and even better got offline mode.

4. Transfer My Data(built in app) can do that via Bluetooth as far as I know. That is how I do it on iOS, should work the same with Android.

5. It's not the same. 2gb or less than 1gb also WP8 is very smooth and responsive. It's not the same like Android which is power hungry. WP can do just the same with less ram. It's the same like iPhone which is not power hungry. Well optimized OS is the key for good performance, not more ram means better.

6. Yes it syncs with outlook/hotmail account using the internet. The same like Android.
Thanks for the explanation bro.... Still need to dig before i decide to jump ship
Rei7
post Aug 3 2014, 11:32 AM

1,669 posts

QUOTE(geniuz @ Aug 3 2014, 11:26 AM)
Thanks for the explanation bro.... Still need to dig before i decide to jump ship
Do it because i've seen some people who simply just don't like it just because it's not Android or iOS.
In less than a week, they just sold it. It is just a few people though, most stick with it pretty well.
Just give Windows Phone a chance and I think you'll love it.

This post has been edited by Rei7: Aug 3 2014, 11:33 AM
TSevilpuppy
post Aug 3 2014, 11:59 AM

4,092 posts

1st week you will feel boring with WP (thinking of get rid of it, because you are yet to know each other)
2nd week you will start to like your WP (you will get to know cortana..etc)
3rd week you will slept with your WP (you began to explorer more and more, get to know cortana WP more deeper)
4th week you will LOVE your WP ( stat to buy her some cloths and glass protector)
5th week you will married your WP!!! (hahahahah)

simply said, give it a try, get to know her(WP).. spend more time with her (WP). rolleyes.gif

kslee79
post Aug 3 2014, 12:03 PM

448 posts

So noob laa me, didn't know a thread like this exist in LYN! Sigh, been long time with Windows Phone since even before Mango 7 heydays.... Now on SAMSUNG Ativ S, yah - quite rare! First Windows Phone? HTC Mozart...

101 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:07 AM