Ask a Mathematical Physicist

danny88888
post Dec 27 2013, 12:01 AM

321 posts

To find determinant of 4x4 matrices would it be very tedious then?
danny88888
post Dec 27 2013, 09:51 AM

321 posts

Thanks for the insight.

Anyway this is too advanced, 1st year uni calculus, cannot use calculator for exam.

To find the determinant for 4X4, the formula is cofactor-cofactor+cofactor-cofactor? Do you get what i meant?
danny88888
post Dec 28 2013, 11:24 PM

321 posts

Attached Image Attached Image come someone explain this? What is the use for this?
danny88888
post Jan 1 2014, 08:02 PM

321 posts

Let A be an (n x n) matrix satisfying 2I - A = A^5. Find an expression for the inverse of A.

2(AA*-1) = A*5+A
A*-1 = (A*5+A/2A)
A*-1= 1/2A*4 + 1/2

This is my answer, but the answer sheet says
A*-1 = 1/2A*4 +1/2I ( why is there an I?) anyone can explain it to me ? @Critical_Fallacy

danny88888
post Jan 1 2014, 11:26 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jan 1 2014, 10:45 PM)
As you probably already know, we don't actually divide matrices. Try this: sweat.gif

rclxms.gif , Master of mathematics, if only I were as good as you, my life would be much more easier...
danny88888
post Jan 2 2014, 10:31 PM

321 posts

Assume that the equation system
x*2 + sxy + y*2 - 1 = 0;
x*2 + y*2 - s*2 + 3 = 0
defi…ne x and y implicitly as differentiable functions of s.
(a) Differentiate the system (i.e. fi…nd the differentials) and fi…nd the values of x'(s) =dx/ds and y'(s)= dy/ds when x=0, y=1 and s=2

Can someone give me an insight of this?
danny88888
post Jan 2 2014, 11:56 PM

321 posts

Yeah, I know how to implicit differentiate, but I don't get differentials
danny88888
post Jan 3 2014, 01:29 AM

321 posts

From the question that I get, yeah it's just sxy.

Any insight from you?
danny88888
post Jan 3 2014, 10:38 PM

321 posts

Can someone share some insight on this video about matrices?

http://www.sophia.org/tutorials/using-dete...3x3-matrices--4

I don't understand what the video is trying to convey to me! sad.gif

Cheers
danny88888
post Jan 5 2014, 02:09 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(ailing tan @ Jan 5 2014, 12:39 AM)
i am here again! can you expalin  question 18 part a ? once i found dy/dx (gradient) then what should i do next ? i cant understand the equations of all asymptoes.
dy/dx is for the question for part 2, to find asymptoes, i think the denominator cannot be = 0, so you set (x+3)(x-1) = 0 and get the asymptoes points, which i think 1 of the asymptoes point lies at x=-3 and x=1, i'm not comfirm though hope some sifu can clarify this notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by danny88888: Jan 5 2014, 02:10 AM
danny88888
post Jan 5 2014, 11:00 AM

321 posts

Can someone explain to me what is envelope theorm? Cant understand this theorm from youtube, hope someone can help me!
danny88888
post Jan 7 2014, 07:41 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jan 6 2014, 10:05 PM)
Are you tackling economic optimization problems? sweat.gif

THEOREM ::
Let user posted image be a function in n variables user posted image that depends on a parameter a. For each value of a, let user posted image be a maximum or minimum point for user posted image. Then

Yup, it's about Economics, I still don't really get it how to use the envelope theorm cry.gif

This term i will be taking statistics too, are you good with stats too? cry.gif
danny88888
post Jan 9 2014, 05:57 AM

321 posts

My university teaching us on Stata. But 1st we will need to learn the basic, ahhh help me!!
danny88888
post Jan 11 2014, 10:25 PM

321 posts

Hi, came across my notes on matrices (Rules for determinants), the value of determinant of A is unchanged if a multiple of one row(or one column) is added to a different row( or column) of A. What does this mean?

Cheers
danny88888
post Jan 12 2014, 01:18 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Jan 11 2014, 11:58 PM)
Thorlong!

Q: The cost of an electronic calculator rose by RM6. As a result a shop could buy 5 fewer calculators for RM600. If the cost of the calculator was RM x before the rise, find expressions in terms of x, for the number of calculators which could be bought before and after the rise. Hence form an equation in x and show that it reduces to x2 + 6x - 720 = 0. Solve this equation and state the origin cost of the calculator.

What I did:
Num of cal before = 600/x
Num of cal after = 600/x+5

Then I'm confused rclxub.gif

You form ur equation wrongly.

danny88888
post Jan 15 2014, 02:50 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(maximR @ Jan 14 2014, 10:30 PM)
I'm not experienced enough to be able to provide a better system here , but I really think we should look at Singapore's curriculum . Our Maths education system is flawed from the beginning . Back when the syllabus wasn't revamped , Malaysian students ranked in the top ten list of countries for TIMMS 2003 .

And you're right , it's all about rote-learning . At the end of the day , as an ex-SPM candidate , I feel ashamed of my problem solving skills . I'm 18 and I should be ready to embark on more advanced Mathematics but I realise I was unable to proof simple things like the angles in a triangle add up to 180 , diagonals in a parallelogram bisect each other , Pythagoras' Theorem , radius of a circle bisects a chord perpendicularly , angle of a triangle touching a circle is 90 degrees , all these fundamental concepts which are so familiar to us . I am also against how the topics are arranged in our syllabus . All in all , I'm not happy with how our Maths curriculum has turned out to be .  shakehead.gif

Last year , my younger brother asked me a question which made me ponder for a bit . I knew how to answer it using algebra , but how do I teach him that method ? He hasn't learned algebra and doesn't have the basics . I then recalled that my teacher ( who taught me in Year 6 , by far the best Maths teacher I've ever encountered ) taught us basic algebra to solve a problem . At that time we thought it was some kind of magic , bringing 'a' from downstairs to upstairs from one side of an equation to another .

Here's a sample problem :

Ali has 300 sweets . He divides the sweets between Chong and Muthu . Muthu gets 145 more sweets than Chong . How many sweets did Chong get ?

The problem was a much harder example . In Singapore , primary school students are taught to visualise problems like these using geometrical 'block models' or 'bars' . In Malaysia , we are only given problems like these without being properly trained to solve problems .

What is your take on this ?
I fully agree with you that the Malaysian education system is lagging behind badly. I am a product of the Malaysian eduction system and is currently at university, the singaporean here much better in almost every aspect from problem solving to critical thinking. I felt ashamed on our education system that has not prepare me vigorously for university education system. Our not up to standard education can be felt strong in university levels and it will be an eye opener and eye opener. Singaporean tend to be better with problem solving, they know how to apply the concept to solve problems of different condition and their thinking process is much faster. I would strongly recommend anyone to pursue their education of any level, from primary to university at Singapore, although it may be costly, but i would say it will be worth it because you will no struggle much. I'm truly sad, dissapointed and frustrated with the Malaysian edu standard on being not on par to prepare the young talent of tomorrow leaders to compete in the world arena.
danny88888
post Jan 15 2014, 07:31 PM

321 posts

Hi guys, ytd i learned about skewness, i dont really understand postively skew and negatively skew involving the graph, and also about the relationship on mode median and mean relationship to the skewness of the graph. Can someone enlighten me with some example?
danny88888
post Jan 15 2014, 11:08 PM

321 posts

Hi guys, just studied probability, have a tough time with conditional probability and independent events, is there anyone here who have a technique on how to master this topic?? Dont mind treating them a drink for your effort!
danny88888
post Jan 19 2014, 02:51 AM

321 posts

Hello guys, I'm back with some maths difficulty
:'( , let's say you found the mean, variance and standard deviation for a set of data and if i were to add an extra number to the set of data, how would it affect the variance,sd etc. I'm pretty sure this question is very familiar to many of you, is there any notes for this kind of question? This is one example of question that i encounter: suppose there was a test and the mean mark for 100 student is 60 with standard deviation of 13. A new script is marked, without taking any calculation how do you think the standard deviation will be affected if the new script is marked at i)40 ii)48 iii)56 iv)64 v) 80. Here is my understanding on standard deviation since the mean is 60 and has a standard deviation of 13 which mean that the average mark lie between 47 to 73 (60-13, 60+13), so for 40 since it is below 47 hence the standard deviation rise, for 48 56 and 64 the standard deviation falls since they are closer to the mean value and for 80 the standard deviation rise because it is bigger than (73). Is my logic correct or wrong? If not how do i process this question? Thanks in advance! Cheers

This post has been edited by danny88888: Jan 19 2014, 03:28 AM
danny88888
post Jan 26 2014, 09:41 AM

321 posts

Can someone teach me how to start? I think i will need to find the weighted average if i an not mistaken, but how?

This post has been edited by danny88888: Jan 27 2014, 01:00 AM

0.0615sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:22 PM