Fundsupermart.com v4, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

cheahcw2003
post Aug 8 2013, 07:17 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Aug 8 2013, 02:03 PM)
Haha.. Holiday you also look at market ar?!

Today quiet here....
U guys monitor mutual funds like monitoring stocks.
I tot for fund investment u only monitor it every quarterly?
cheahcw2003
post Aug 8 2013, 10:41 PM

5,379 posts

Hmmm... Discussion for the sake of discussion....just to kill time in order not to feel lonely?
I rather invest in other asset, like prop, no need to check market every week, i can sleep well and awake after 2 years, that is just me...don't shoot me

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Aug 8 2013, 10:46 PM
cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 02:08 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2013, 07:53 AM)
hmm.gif u are right for the 1st part. but I think you will need to monitor some items too like,
the crime rate in the area,
the type of people building up to live in the area,
any new property development coming up in the area that could be + or - impact
and many things else....
else one might say "OMG what happened to my properties in just 2 years while I slept". ha-ha  icon_rolleyes.gif  tongue.gif
i am referring to the property under construction purchased from developer.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 02:56 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Aug 9 2013, 10:48 AM)
Do you not rent out your property? If you do, managing renters can be just as troublesome. Confrontations over slow payment or unpaid rent, property damage, snowballing utilities bills, negotiations over rental rate increases, maybe worrying about tenants sub-renting rooms to others you don't know etc.
what I mentioned is invest in the property for capital gain....
All the above that u mentioned in rental property are manageable.

I have vested in Mutual funds for > 10 years. In average I would say, Mutual fund returns are not that attractive compared to my property portfolios.

I started to invest in Public Mutual since year 2000, became Mutual Gold member in 2005, and then to Mutual Gold Elite.
I started to invest thru Fundsupermart in 2006, by opening an account in their Hong Kong branch when FSM hasn't been opened its branch in Malaysia.

This is just my personal experience.

cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 03:01 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2013, 02:54 PM)
some of the concerns mentioned also applies to new project under construction, + possible interest rate hike + http://www.consumer.org.my/index.php/devel...lawless-country

what I am saying is should not leave any investment unattended for 2 years,...because it is your money. nod.gif
Yes I know...
I have 13 years investment experience in Mutual fund and I compare both property and investment and I can concluded that Mutual fund long run can't make much, mutual fund companies make money first and historical proven they make more than the investors in long run.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 03:06 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Aug 9 2013, 02:54 PM)
Yes, these problems can be solved but they take time and effort. I only mean to say that it is not true that the only downside of property investment is that it needs more initial capital. All types of investments have different risks, effort involved etc. This is why these days I prefer to invest in REITs and unit trust funds. Less troublesome, no need to constantly follow up on tenants, trouble with maintenance and utilities, etc. Note: I currently have three properties rented out: a condo, a low-cost flat and a house in Shah Alam. But my investments in stocks either directly or through unit trust funds still exceed the value of my property investments.
The BOLD one I agree...u can start from small value property, say RM100K property, pay 10% and rent it out or etc.
Once u make, then increase the investment value of property to RM200K.
The beautiful of prop investment is leveraging, u just need to pay deposits and the bank will loan u the different...
LEVERAGE IS MY FAVORITE BEVERAGE.

cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 03:17 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2013, 03:12 PM)
what is yr idea on residential property of let say higher than RM 400, 000? what is the rental yield? can it cover the loan repayment?
else the appreciation is the only chance of going up the higher value property....should one go up the value property or buy more unit of lower cost?
You can refer to the property discussion thread in LYN.
There are many discussions on going.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 03:35 PM

5,379 posts

Not to make things complicated here, since this thread is about FSM and about Mutual Funds investment, we shall not talk Property investment in details here.

What I felt is that if u want to monitor the stocks/ index movement every day, need to wake up in the midnight to monitor the down jones index, might as well u invest in stocks direct. Cheaper and have better control. Just take the annual report of the Mutual fund and follow the fund allocation for each stocks will do.

If u choose to invest in mutual funds, monitoring once a month will is making sense (if u are employed u get your pay cheque once a month anyway, thus can decide whether to top up or sell it with extra cash on hand each month), or monitor every quarterly is good enough.

Mutual Fund investors don't have to be over-reacted to any announcements, news and etc. You have paid the annual fees to the fund manager to do so for you.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 08:00 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 9 2013, 07:08 PM)
sorry howzat, I think maybe he started with PM then over the years got into property than realized that property has better ROI or maybe both at the same time more or less, I guess.
U got me right.
I can't say for all. My experience dealing with property and mutual funds, the earlier gave me better return.
I made more in property not just because of luck, a lot of hard work though.
As I said earlier, the rich in the world has 2 things in common, they either make their fortune from real estate, or they keep their wealth in the form of real estate. There is no exception.

cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 08:32 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Aug 9 2013, 08:17 PM)
Yes, no shortcuts. To make money in properties, work is required.

Properties is one of those vehicles that make people rich, but it is hardly exclusive. There are plenty of others whose wealth don't involve properties, exceptions like Buffet and Gates.
Do u know how many properties Buffet and Bills Gates own to conclude that?

cheahcw2003
post Aug 9 2013, 11:20 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 9 2013, 09:04 PM)
I feel tempted to lend a word or two into this argument:

Traditionally, stocks mean ownership of a company. Only wealthy ppl and/or ppl with excess wealth would purchase stocks, to own a certain % of a company and to participate in its profits and decision-making. Hence, if stock prices went up, it's bcos ppl are willing to pay more to own it. If u can't afford it, then don't buy, u won't die/suffer without owning stocks.

Whereas for properties ESPECIALLY residential properties, the original intention/purpose of residential properties is to provide a shelter to ppl. But greedy ppl went to speculate and push up property prices, causing ppl who need a house to pay more. Don't u property investors believe in karma?
I just merely shared my personal experience.
I said I vested in mutual funds for 13 years, my conclusion based on my experience is my other investment give me better return. I m not here to inviting debate. You can share your experience as well to prove the otherwise.

About karma thingy, a lot of ppl speculate on stocks also especially fund managers. Not only property, gold, petrol, commodity like rice, garlic also open for speculation, so we can't say karma. If u want good karma then better put money under the pillow.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Aug 9 2013, 11:22 PM
cheahcw2003
post Aug 10 2013, 12:59 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(birdman13200 @ Aug 10 2013, 09:01 AM)
Hi Cheah, I am not to enter the debate, but want to ask ur experience on mutual funds. Along 13 years, how is ur investment strategics? Do u lower or exit the equity fund during downturn? As I learn from some book, if u put ur money in UT without "touching" it all the way, ur profit will be very minimal. It is just like a cycle of earning, lose out the earning, earning, lose out the earning and end up with minimal profit or even no profit.
I monitored the funds monthly/ quarterly and switch in between bond and equity funds. As a public mutual gold member, I enjoyed 12 free switchings per year, also for FSM- HK, they also offer unlimited switchings as well.
I would say for the last most active 10 years, I made around 8% p.a. in average only. Not outperform my other investment.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 10 2013, 02:35 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Aug 9 2013, 08:45 PM)
Same question for you - you said "There is no exception." How do you know?

On the other hand, I'm pretty sure Gates made his money from a software company called Microsoft. Buffet invests in a wide range of companies, eg like Coca-Cola, Goldman Sachs. I'm sure they own some properties, but is that what they make their fortunes from?
If u check my previous statement I did mention that the rich either made their fortune from real estate or KEEP their wealth in the form of REAL ESTATE. The 2 tycoons u mentioned keeps their wealth in the form of real estates. They own office buildings, houses, blocks of condos, hotels and resorts, land, private jets directly or indirectly. That is why I said no exceptions.

Even MNC like Mc Donald, if u study their annual reports, they do not make much from their franchise fast food biz, main chunk of their profits are from real estates capital gain, they own most of the restaurants they have worldwide. And investment Guru like Buffet has exposure to Mc D' blue chip stocks and also other REITS stocks.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 10 2013, 08:49 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Aug 10 2013, 08:24 PM)
nod.gif Agreed. Property Investment yield much better than UT no doubt, but then property price tag doesn't come cheap, UT is affordable to most of this thread follower.
As I said start from small investment. If u can't afford a RM100k property with 10% deposit, JV with the family members or friends. Pool some funds from others and invest together. U don't hv to buy a million ringgit property for a start.
Or invest direct in REITS, the cost to invest and maintain it is lower with proven/ consistent track records. This is the cheaper way to "own" properties.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 11 2013, 12:03 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Aug 10 2013, 10:58 PM)
But if you mean it in a general sense (without the word MOST/MAJORITY), then of course, rich people tend to have lot of properties.
Exactly...Rich people tends to own lots of properties.
I did not study how much % they keep their wealth in real estate, as the rich have never officially declare how they allocate their wealth.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Aug 11 2013, 12:23 AM
cheahcw2003
post Aug 11 2013, 12:08 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(EddyLB @ Aug 10 2013, 10:36 PM)
I agree property return is higher. But it comes back to the simple and trusted formula - high risk high return. Property unless you buy it for cash, otherwise there is always a liability on the opposite side of the asset. If something wrong happens, then you lose everything. It is possible to get into bankruptcy at the worse case scenario
Whereas UT you use cold hard cash to buy. There is no liability. The worse case is you lose 100% of the money.
It is not fair to compare UT vs property because of the difference in risk profile. Although I prefer property over other investment tools, but I still keep some UT to diversify

You can also leverage to invest in UT. Some banks offer loan to invest in Unit trust/ Mutual Funds.
You can also buy property in cash.

Let me emphasize again. I am not comparing UT and Property investment.

I just shared my personal experience that my UT investment return merely 8% p.a. in average, and I am not satisfy with it as other investment give me better returns.

This post has been edited by cheahcw2003: Aug 11 2013, 12:28 AM
cheahcw2003
post Aug 11 2013, 12:45 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 11 2013, 12:36 PM)
Got meh? fast fast tell me lar... I want oso wor.

Xuzen
We have discussed it before.
U can pledge your public mutual funds with public bank, get OD facilty up to MOA 80%, rate blr-1%, can withdraw the OD to invest in mutual funds.
I know other banks like OCBC, Cimb also offer this but lower MOA.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 11 2013, 12:49 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(EddyLB @ Aug 11 2013, 11:26 AM)
Which bank give credit line to invest in unit trust ? Those ASB and AS1M ? If I want to invest in PM or FSM using loan, can recommend some banks ?

We should actually compare apple to apple. If you buy property using cash, then compare to you buy UT using cash. If you use cash to buy property, then your return in % will be reduced substantially
I know how to differentiate ROI and COCR.
AS1M can't be pledged for OD facility.
I got 8% pa return due to active monthly and quarterly monitoring and switching, otherwise I expect I will only get 4% pa in average. As for other investment I don't hv to do that.

cheahcw2003
post Aug 11 2013, 01:07 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 11 2013, 12:53 PM)
BLR minus 1% is effective rate 5.6%, sales charge is 5.5%, MER another 1.5%. Total for first year is 13%. Thereafter every year is 7% cost of investment.

Eeeeeee, tak mau liao. Sure kalah wan liek dis.

Xuzen
I pledged my bond funds for OD facility back in 2008 where PB Islamic bond gave 8-10% return until year 2011.
The initial charge of bond fund is 0.25% which is still doable. After minus out the 5.6% OD interest I still hv a positive return of around 4% with minimal risk. And I reinvest the OD into same bond fund and repeated the same formula... But now bond fund is not doing good, so I cancel all facilities and withdraw all my funds.

We all know for mutual funds investment, fund managers make on sunny day and rainy day without fail. Unlike investors need to take the risk. That is why I prefer to invest direct now. Historically and statistically proven 90% of the funds can't beat the index funds or index ETF in long term partially due to the cost of investment.
cheahcw2003
post Aug 11 2013, 01:53 PM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 11 2013, 01:35 PM)
FSM's ever-popular equity fund Kenanga Growth Fund has beaten its benchmark since ages
So does OSK-UOB KidSave Trust
And Hwang Select Opportunity Fund
And Hwang Select Income
And AmDynamic Bond
And I could go on and on with the list...
Well I should replace the 90% with "majority". As forumers here likes to catch my words as an English teacher.

Try to google the key word "mutual fund outperform" and u may find the answers.

Most of the local mutual funds when they published their performance they only show gross return but not the net return. Investment cost like initial charge, annual admin fee, performance fee, trustee fees all shd be included when calculating and comparing the net to net return.

We hope to have a healthy discussion here.

0.0501sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:47 AM