Hobbies Air Brush Acessories, Airbrush hose etc.

ezCISS
post Jul 25 2006, 12:50 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jul 22 2006, 11:43 AM)
..whats the different between mini and normal compressor?
Mini is the smaller version of those industrial compressors commonly seen in Bicycle & Frame Shop.

Baby Compressor are those without air tanks - (they use only Diaphragm to pump air)

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jul 23 2006, 05:06 PM)
wat is pulse air?
Like a small hick-up when pumping air = not so consistent lah (It's really not that serious unless your a professional air brush user.

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 24 2006, 06:45 AM)
huh??just wanna noe if the sparmax compressor would run for about 2-3 hours straight
But seriously, will you be airbrushing for 2-3 hours straight? I doubt we can hold the airbrush steady for 15 minutes accurately without proper training. When you take a break, so can the compressor.

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jul 24 2006, 10:36 AM)
can anyone tell me what the use of the tank
and what if mini compressor without a tank?
Having a tank will reduce the "pulse".. super smooth and consistent flow of air. For model kit painting, nevermind lah.. the parts are so small and it's not like you gona be painting a huge mural. As long as it get the job done.

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 24 2006, 06:47 PM)
yup.btw guys how to go to petaling street with Putra LRT??
Stop at Pasar Seni (Central Market) station... the basic directions and pics i posted above should be sufficient to get you there.

------
For sure the best and top of the range equipment are ideal, but still you have to work within the investment and return you get. It's also about skill, as it's only as good as the users ability. Unless i'm gona use it every weekend for the next 3 years.. it may not be worth to invest in such high end equipment. That also means buying kits to airbush evey month! Got to strike an even and practical balance for "hobby" use lah.

This post has been edited by ezCISS: Jul 25 2006, 12:51 AM
ezCISS
post Jul 25 2006, 07:50 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Jul 25 2006, 04:36 PM)
yup, venus art a nanyang art at PS, but im not sure if they got sell, long time not being there...
Dont bother.. dont have. Info posted HERE already

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 25 2006, 07:40 PM)
boring liao.can't wait to get my AB after PMR.when are you guys getting yours??
Target and Budget Set already.. just a matter of fund allocation cry.gif

This post has been edited by ezCISS: Jul 25 2006, 07:51 PM
ezCISS
post Jul 26 2006, 11:27 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 26 2006, 08:19 PM)
btw ezCISS,does the sparmax compressor u found at VA (the rm 6xx one) comes with the airhose n moisture trap.i see the moisture trap,but don't see the hose.btw,while you were at at VA,did they sell any paints???if so,what brand???
If i remember correctly, for the unit WITH air tank, Pressure gauge & Pressure regulator only. (from the my PIC, i didnt see the moisture trap also), the set is with airhose (see the bunch of black hose eveywhere?). BUT no Airbush Hanger. Uncle said dont waste $$ to buy the Airbush Hanger.. just use some DIY wire for that. (airbrush hanger was RM7X !)

Please speak to the "Uncle" there.. very very friendly, and remember to ask for discount! (he did offer to me that time lah)

VA dun have acrilic paints, Hop over to "DaiSheng" down the road, TAMIYA paints and Thinner there.

You may want to compare VA & DaiSheng compressors 1st before plunking out your hard earned $$$.

This post has been edited by ezCISS: Jul 26 2006, 11:37 PM
ezCISS
post Jul 27 2006, 03:33 AM

50 posts

Best to compare for yourself bro.. RM6XX and RM7XX, but not necessary RM100 difference. As you can see they obviously from the Pics, they are different models. Maybe one is better then the other!

Yes.. 1 whole rack of spay can and 1 whole rack of bottle paints at DaiSheng to choose from. Alot of Tamiya RC cars there too tongue.gif
ezCISS
post Jul 27 2006, 10:36 AM

50 posts

I cant say if it single or dual piston as those models I saw cannot be found on www.sparmax.com.tw . Visually I noticed on the spot was that the Pressure gauge & Pressure regulator were different. There we some specification on the sticker though.

As you can see, It was a very very exhausing day scouting the whole of KL, so I didnt check it out 1000%. Just a preliminary survery to know where and what i could get.

For sure on my buying day, I will do an acoustic test in the shop to compare it's "Ooooi orang mau tidur lah" properties wink.gif

This post has been edited by ezCISS: Jul 27 2006, 10:37 AM
ezCISS
post Jul 27 2006, 07:04 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Jul 27 2006, 02:30 PM)
Nice survey on the AB set! I am actually looking for a set too. tongue.gif Btw are u aiming for the set in Venus Art? Do they come with any warranty with it?
At the moment aiming for fund allocation 1st.. so many priorities sad.gif Hobby stuff comes last. Given the current sellection between VA & Daisheng, when come buying time I'll restudy the full package & service they both can offer, best shop wins lah.. If no warranty I wont buy man, thats a piston motor in there wor!

At the moment I'm partial to VA lah, uncle very helpful, Daisheng ppl like very LCLY smoking in the shop oni.. look at ppl like got no $$ to buy, dun wan layan. Thats my RM1 Coin opinion lah (like DC in BB plaza fella.. some of you know what i'm talking about)

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 27 2006, 03:33 PM)
last week didn't go,had some things to do,but this week i will.btw,ezCISS,did VA sell the #11 X-Acto Blades in 100blades pack???
Alamak.. duno leh.. but I know got #11 baldes as posted HERE call uncle 1st if you want to prepare the necessary $$$ before going there lah, I posted his No. liao mah HERE. Even if it's in pack of 10 blades, buy 10 packs solve problem already. BTW - ACE Hardware shop also selling the blades!

This post has been edited by ezCISS: Jul 27 2006, 07:05 PM
ezCISS
post Jul 27 2006, 07:33 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 27 2006, 07:20 PM)
i noe ACE sells them.but when i went,they said no stock,then i ask to order,they said can.Now like 3 months not even a phone call from them yet  vmad.gif  btw,i'm sure the compressor have some sort of warranty.btw,izzit the name of the other airbrush that u post is Olympus???coz i've heard 2-3 users of it n the AB had served them well for over 5 years  shocking.gif  rclxms.gif
ACE at my place here got wor.. but since you going VA.. "tar-pau" one go lah. Yerp, Olympus.. didnt research that brand yet though.

Everyday I've been researching, and the conclusion is "Maintenance" ! Clean, Clean and Clean & it will last. Also, never use paint straight from the bottle, always "thinner" it. Even if it Teflon needle, I dont see a point as we may have to use sharpening stone to "fix" it anyways. In the end, I may end up buying a cheepo China AB instead to save RM100 plus. Reality check, models kit painting only.. somemore no "kung-fu" to paint those super eyepopping freehand graphic designs tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ezCISS: Jul 27 2006, 07:34 PM
ezCISS
post Jul 29 2006, 07:27 PM

50 posts

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Happy Day 4 U eh? Well with your mind at ease.. Do well in the next few months to go and U will be set!

Didnt hop to DaiSheng to see your paints?
ezCISS
post Jul 29 2006, 08:46 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 29 2006, 07:45 PM)
.....i thought the paint is the same place where they put the compressor n AB right???
Aiyaaa... at the back of the shop, near the RC stuff and pintu belakang.. Yerp.. it's a bit sorok, but 2 full trays of paint to choose from.
ezCISS
post Jul 30 2006, 12:53 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Jul 29 2006, 10:24 PM)
.......btw,what size is the bottle of the tamiya paints???
Bottle size = Small unsure.gif Is the normal tamiya paint bottle lah.. NVM, next time you pass any model shop, you can check it out yourself.. It's just the matter of finding the colour you need as not all shops have the the correct shades that you require.
ezCISS
post Jul 30 2006, 01:53 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 30 2006, 01:17 AM)
.., this olympus AB selling around. The compressor in the picture look like piston type. Is it very noisy one?
I think is "olympos" Duno lah.. very hard to find the manufacturers website. "Chap-lap" already?

I didn't test the Compressor.. ntc3freak did you give it a go? Word around the net says it quite silent, I only beleive when i hear it with my own ears whistling.gif
ezCISS
post Jul 30 2006, 10:42 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(JdOtL @ Jul 30 2006, 10:18 AM)
eh..guy do you think is a good idea to connect a air brush to a industrial use compressor ah.. I mean the one they use in motorcycle shop, but smaller.  unsure.gif
Technically it's possible as long as you can control the PSI. Practically be prepared to have the boys in blue knocking on your door for "distubing the peace" wink.gif
ezCISS
post Jul 30 2006, 02:12 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 30 2006, 01:28 PM)
... If you in KL/PJ, I can tell you where to buy...
Can you please share with us where to get the "good stuff", I've done my best to my knowledge of KL shops already

Cheers!
ezCISS
post Jul 31 2006, 09:44 PM

50 posts

sunnyboy
Thanks for the pointer.. I roughly know where that shop is. I will give it a scounting when the time come.

ozak
I've not seen any from the places I've been to in KL. I suggest you try ebay. I can see a variety of Badger items there. I also found a reputable Iwata seller there for price comparison. Hahah.. who knows, I migh end up ordering off ebay if it's cheaper.
ezCISS
post Aug 2 2006, 08:01 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Aug 2 2006, 07:26 PM)
btw guys,anyone noe where to get denatured alcohol/rubbing alcohol???And do you guys noe if this stuff is allowed to be touched for a muslim???thanks
I've been looking for "Isopropyl alcohol" = rubbing alcohol for ages! I cant seem to find it locally though.

BUT all is not lost. The next alternative is "Surgical Spirit" found very very easily in any Pharmacy. Though the chemically composition is slightly different (Ethanol if not mistaken) in "theory" it should surfice.

Err.. the touching portion I'm not sure lah sweat.gif BUT know that it is a type of alcohol.
ezCISS
post Aug 3 2006, 01:11 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 3 2006, 12:55 AM)
What alcohol is that? You need it for diluting? Just get the nail cleaning alcohol. that will do the job. ..
Consider it as poor mans thinner for model kits. I think nail cleaning alcohol is migh melt the models kits blush.gif

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 3 2006, 12:58 AM)
i m interesting in this...but can i know how hard is it to spray air brush? is the paint using normal automotive paint bought from paint supply or any other paint? erm...
U need some skills there.. and there is only one way to learn wink.gif Depending on your requirment and the correct tools, you can paint whatever you like. Model Kits users prefer to use those model kit paints.
ezCISS
post Aug 3 2006, 03:17 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 3 2006, 01:16 AM)
t...btw, how much is the normal kit cost? erm...kinda ex for me to play play with it le
info posted HERE already
ezCISS
post Aug 4 2006, 01:08 PM

50 posts

Ratatosk

Thanks for sharing your "survelance" info... that will save me the trouble of going to UE3 rclxms.gif

Cheers!

ezCISS
post Aug 4 2006, 09:55 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 4 2006, 08:08 PM)
Where is this ArtFriend? Singapore?
I think he indicated it located in UE3 = KL, Cheras

QUOTE(silllver @ Aug 4 2006, 08:44 PM)
can use the air brush tool to spray the whole car or not?
shocking.gif Whole car? It's technically possible, but will take forever to complete if you use the hobby version. Best that you look for the industrial type.

ezCISS
post Aug 6 2006, 11:44 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Aug 5 2006, 11:20 PM)
...what is the best way to avoid spiderweb when airbrushing?
1. Moisture trap
2. Clean surface
3. AB light layers (dont overspray)

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Aug 6 2006, 10:40 AM)
....Anyone know whether the uncle there gives out discount?

...another forum that is selling an AB set familiar to the one from Venus Art ...
Yes - Can negotiate with uncle

Which form?

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 6 2006, 11:19 AM)
Is there any airbrush that is maintenance free?
I havent seen needle-less type.. even though, it still cant be 100% maintenance free as you have to keep cleaning the AB after every use

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0394sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:56 PM