15 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra, Official Thread V2, The only Snapdragon™ 800 ~ 6.44" Beast!!

TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 04:14 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 31 2013, 04:10 PM)
so palm rejection now works? Its awesome then  rclxms.gif
Yup, consider. smile.gif I try rest my left finger at screen and I can still touch anything via my right finger, but not working when I try touch with pencil.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 31 2013, 04:14 PM
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 04:16 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

Current Firmware: 14.1.B.0.471 improvement/fixed:
  • Increase performance and much smoothness. My Antutu score increase from previous 30k to current 33k.
  • Better stylus input now! You can touch everywhere you want now with pencil and responsiveness.
  • Screen is touchable when your finger/palm resting at screen now! But not working with stylus-pencil.
  • Still old UI without X-Reality support yet.

TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 04:19 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 31 2013, 04:17 PM)
can try with mechanical ball pen?
test it with and without the pen head
I don't have screen protector, not feel to touch with ball pen. hehe...
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 04:39 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(shien @ Jul 31 2013, 04:25 PM)
(Better stylus input now! You can touch everywhere you want now with pencil and responsiveness.) do u need to active any stylus input in order to use pencil to write?
Still need, Chinese keyboard can switch to full page screen but can only insert one alphabet per alphabet for ABC... rclxub.gif

International keyboard cannot switch to full page but can write continue a complete wording.

QUOTE(ohde @ Jul 31 2013, 04:36 PM)
wondering how to carry the Z Ultra when go out, especially for guy? i don't have a big pocket to slot it in  laugh.gif
My working pants can fit in nicely. By the way I always use bag, so is ok for me.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 31 2013, 04:41 PM
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 04:56 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jul 31 2013, 04:49 PM)
Well if the stylus input improves and the sketch app can be treated like a piece of paper, it will be interesting.

However it looks like u need to carry a standard lead pencil around to make it work properly. My concern is still proper palm rejection. Andrew said the stylus wont work if u have a finger or palm on the screen.
Actually I find the handwriting work much better with finger than pencil or any stylus, and I don't feel the finger/palm on screen is an issue, I never touch the screen during usage, I test out by purposely put my left hand/finger on screen.

For now in new firmware, you can use finger to operate anything when one of your finger/palm on screen. Not workable yet for stylus input like pencil.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 31 2013, 05:02 PM
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 05:43 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(jegley23 @ Jul 31 2013, 05:41 PM)
Got mine today white color:)..will try to update it after charging
Done update to owner list at 1st page. smile.gif
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 06:39 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Jul 31 2013, 05:50 PM)
the clear audio + really worked it's magic when ur listening on a earphone, sounded so much better than my note 2.
Actually I don't like it, I find it too high pitch - over treble. I prefer more bass, Haha!
TSAndrewtst
post Jul 31 2013, 10:23 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

Just try out bluebox security scan. Cool! Latest firmware is secure. smile.gif

TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 02:07 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

Did anyone facing vibration sudden not working issue?

I face mine twice already!

The symptom is exact like below thread where his Z got such issue as well.

The vibrator sudden not working, shake the phone alive back...

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2211553
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 09:28 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Aug 1 2013, 05:49 AM)
seems SONY still have to release new firmware to fix bug
I hope it is not hardware issue, two times I face also is during charging and press too often/fast the navigation button, then out of sudden it stop vibrating. Restart the phone never solve the case. Then I Google and found actually a lot people facing this issue at Z, and as that person at XDA mention, either let it cool down (I never try) or shake your phone it will alive back. hmmm..... rclxub.gif

By the way, not sure why my Alarm button also missing at status bar now, it is same issue during i use Honami ROM at Z, out of sudden, haizz...... probably certain apps I install affecting it but I not sure which app, the alarm still work just the icon at status bar will get dismiss after some times.
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 09:46 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

Also, I notice new firmware loud speaker is much louder now. smile.gif
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 09:51 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(lee480;44146228)
14.1.B.1.414 and onwards will have the new UI and X-Reality display.

Sent from my LT28h using xda app-developers app
Message from XDA Z thread. smile.gif
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 10:08 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ Aug 1 2013, 10:05 AM)
Yes like I said it's much louder now.

After I stop whitelisting all the apps, the drain is much better overnight, just 5% compare to previous 29%
[attachmentid=3564682][attachmentid=3564683]
Yaya! I also notice it, I know you said b4, haha! but that time never really sure yet and I lazy flip back your post, it is far far over already. tongue.gif

Lucky it is much louder now. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 1 2013, 10:15 AM
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 10:19 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 1 2013, 10:15 AM)
Message from XDA Z thread. smile.gif

That is good news

Indeed. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(h11g @ Aug 1 2013, 10:17 AM)
So is my drain normal for stamina mode now?

Give it some cycle charge, I notice it is always like that, at least it is for all phone I use before, battery life always did much better after around a week usage. Sometimes new firmware updates, also need some time cycle.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 1 2013, 10:19 AM
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 10:44 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 1 2013, 10:37 AM)
Tested camera last night with minimal light. Is a disaster n can forget taking shots without flash
Try SCN - Night Portrait mode. This Z Ultra is same behavior as Z, only SCN - Night Portrait mode work under low light condition.

Snapping my favor never wear shoe in low light area (under table corner), haha! tongue.gif

I find the result is much better than my previous Z, this is something great. biggrin.gif

Tonight will try snap more night shoot.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 1 2013, 10:46 AM
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 11:09 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 1 2013, 10:48 AM)
I did test using night portrait n pics very slightly better but still poor. All shots taken outside at night
O, tonight I go try out, hope at least can see la, don't be too bad output, even though I seldom snap night shoot using phone.
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 11:12 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(remonx @ Aug 1 2013, 10:40 AM)
Im still pondering about the so-called "WATER-PROOF" features. If anyone have a solid and concrete experiment with it do share it here. tongue.gif
Shall be no issue, I did try in my Xperia Z. But didn't try yet on Tablet Z and this Z Ultra, no more fun on it anymore, so not plan to try. Haha!

QUOTE(shockk @ Aug 1 2013, 10:52 AM)
Normally if a friend ask me to do that, I will ask them to buy their own XZU and I will help them 'submerge test' instead.  rclxms.gif

Haha! lol...

QUOTE(Fasap @ Aug 1 2013, 10:54 AM)
I see, thanks for the info uncle!  thumbup.gif 

Was wondering the quality and camera capability as I often take pics with my XZ on Superior Auto in low light conditions and most of the time satisfactory for me. Example of lowlight condition i get good results with superior auto; KLCC park at night around 9pm.

I think i wont be needing a flash on my XZU as planning to use it only as a secondary backup gadget/device, as my XZ will be my daily driver.
Without flash never issue for me, I never take any photo with flash one, as I hate flash from phone, it just look way to fake even though it is clear.

QUOTE(yet_twy88 @ Aug 1 2013, 10:54 AM)
If only if its waterproof capability is the same as Xperia Z, since on paper, it should be better than XZ. I wash my XZ on daily basis using soap as I didn't use any case. Wouldn't bother it gets dirty or oily, hahaha. And I also submerged it inside water and take photos underwater. Just that the speaker will be muffled and have to wait for around 2 hours to let it dry up. So I have confidence in XZU's waterproof capability, couldn't wait for LTE models in SG!
Soap! wow! I never do that, but play with water twice before for my Z.
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 11:16 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

Finally sony.com.my site list Sony Xperia Z Ultra price and as new, no more coming soon.

http://www.sony.com.my/product/xperia+z+ultra

Nothing appear at http://www.sonymobile.com/my/ site yet.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Aug 1 2013, 11:17 AM
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 11:20 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Aug 1 2013, 11:19 AM)
Nice. Now I just wish the accessories would arrive soon, especially the magnetic charging dock!  rclxm9.gif
Yaya, I am waiting that as well. biggrin.gif
TSAndrewtst
post Aug 1 2013, 12:09 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,773 posts

QUOTE(remonx @ Aug 1 2013, 11:26 AM)
Is the charging adapter embedded with usb port? Or it is something like this?
If it is something like the pictures shown i think is much better because the connector is solid and wont easily break.

Nope, seperate USB cable.

QUOTE(marquis @ Aug 1 2013, 11:35 AM)
Bro, have you tried using the pie-launcher thingy? It would greatly help in one handed operation since the only part that's difficult to reach for me is the app drawer.

Do a review like last time you did with the Z la laugh.gif

Cons - Sound output soft
Fix - Install the audioboost thingy

Then post on the first page. Damn helpful wei biggrin.gif
Is it now? To think I was gonna jump ship to them. Have to rethink it seems. Hmmm...

LTE for mobile device is only offered by Maxis though atm right?
Please don't stop posting technical stuff like this. That's why we're a tech forum...we share cool stuff like this thumbup.gif

No root yet, all you mention cannot do, hehe.

QUOTE(marquis @ Aug 1 2013, 11:36 AM)
With the higher IP rating of the Ultra, I don't think it would pose a problem. The Z was marketed as "Water Resistant" whilst the Ultra as "Water Proof".
That looks pretty alright actually...especially for a phone. Though what uncle Benny said about taking photos outside kinda worries me.

How bout mamak or food joints like TR/Chillis/Friday's? Anyone can do a sample shot?
How do you mean? Water enters a waterproof device under the controlled conditions is not covered under warranty?

On a different note, anyone remember who posted the link about the V being lost at sea for a couple of days but it still worked? Even had footage of the whole thing. Happened in Japan iirc

-----------------

LYN doesn't encourage multi quotes anymore huh? Had to separate this into two posts sweat.gif

Ya, I like it, it seems better than Z.

QUOTE(alfredtwl @ Aug 1 2013, 11:56 AM)

what ?? free ?  shocking.gif , magnet dock or the new SBH52 ??
It said free Case + 8GB SDcard + T-Shirt.

15 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:54 AM