LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V27, all the older sifus went MIA liao :(

zero5177
post Dec 28 2013, 10:48 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

Hi Everyone, I need some sifus to enlighten me a few thing of my ride... I have a few issue with my Iswara the one with rear number plate at bottom(not really good in specifying the model)

1. The car die off at the 1st and 2nd cold start everytime its like not enough fuel supply to the engine, but the car get very smooth after 30 seconds idling.. anyone face this issue?

2. This issue is terbalik pula, sometimes after I switch off the engine, the engine dun want to mati pula... it will still "Run" a few more round before it goes off...

3. Headlamp is too high! Its not illuminating the floor but flashing other people's car, I tried to ask the workshop ppl to adjust but they said it cannot be adjusted but only have to replace with a new one... is there any solution to this?

4. Does adding a ground cable like the one supplied by EricTioh helps a lot to improve the car like air-cond, engine response and FC? please share your thoughts in here... Because I have tight budget not sure if this upgrade worth or not.

Note: I've gone thru some of the threads and couldn't get the answer for this and its too tired to gone through all the 27 threads, so I apologize if I've re-posted similar issue that has been solved earlier...

zero5177
post Dec 29 2013, 12:36 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(jedi_master @ Dec 29 2013, 12:03 AM)
Assuming your car is carb engine..

1. Retune the carb & check your autochoke.

2. Ignition timing too advanced / Spark plugs wrong heat range. Go and change to a new set of plugs heat range 6 and ask the mech to retard the distributor a bit.

3. Duno.

4. Helps a bit, not a lot.
Oh yeah, forgot to tell that what I've serviced so far

1. Just changed a new distributor but not Ori and also did some engine tuning, is engine tuning same with carb tune?
By the way how to check autochoke?

2. What mean retard the distributor? by the way its a new distributor...but not ori.

3. Its ok... Because I found this quite special for my case..

4. if its not worth the upgrade I may leave it aside first since my budget quite tight...

Updates : This morning I also just add in gas for my air cond because air cond is not cold and mech suspect compressor got leaking because it seems oily, was told to monitor the air cond, other than that just changed power windows motor also, total damage RM85

Next will plan to change lubricant fliud and air filter with this groupon deal, seems cheap to meEngine Oil Service

zero5177
post Dec 29 2013, 11:42 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 29 2013, 02:59 AM)
1) non ori distributor gives me too much headache and since then i only stick to proton (APM OEM) original distributors.
engine tuning by right is not carburetor tuning; however i believe most workshop/layman just bunch them both together.

for autochoke you'll have to ask for honest mechanics, get second (or more) opinions.

2) loosen the distributor housing (2 bolts) and adjust the distributor housing angles (towards the radiator direction is advancing while towards the firewall/driver/chassis would be retarding)
look up my post, i did a post of timing advancement for my track day pumping ron 97 + octane boosters

4) find out on your existing grounding resistance is the best to determine if a grounding cable replacement/addition is required (it isn't really an upgrade, more towards restoring lost performance)

also in general, cheap things no good, good things no cheap. groupon... most of them got their terms and conditions/mediocre product/services (you get what you paid for)
1) The distributor I think kena con a bit... my dad took it to service one and it cost him about RM280 for a replacement unit and then I found this is not ori from my mech cause he ask me how much I change that for...

2) Sounds like this steps can be DIY... I guess I have to change a new set of Spark Plug as well ?

3) the headlamp im not sure if it is ori cause i know it has been changed before due to accident and insurance comp service the car

4) Wow, if u say 3-4 years then mine might be in bad condition already since it is about 15 years car... But I need to get the meter to test out the resistance... wondering those mech will test that for me or not..

from what I see, they claim it is ori Idemitsu semi Syn oil 10w40 with ori Oil Filter la... But the 16 points inspection I think they will keep on telling you what parts is not in good condition and want you to change... Btw did u guys change gear box oil every 20k?

Oh yeah, in term of FC so far I get figure around 12km/L with 60% Highway and 40% city drive, I'l light-foot and my rpm usually does not exceed 2.5k except at 5th gear, no choice short gear ratio at 3k RPM only can run at 93km/h

This post has been edited by zero5177: Dec 29 2013, 11:47 AM
zero5177
post Dec 30 2013, 09:05 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 30 2013, 01:59 AM)
1) original distributor is rm4xx (can't remember exact, lazy dig receipt lol)

2) yes can diy. no only change the spark plug if it needs replacing; then again they aren't that expensive, so changing them anyways isn't entirely a bad thing.

4) yeap to be objective of your upgrade, do have a resistance meter to test and determine the existing grounding resistance smile.gif

no they didn't claim original filter, and even if so, rm8 for original proton oil filter, so what?
that particular idemitsu engine oil is not api certified... so be wary if it may be fake EO or just very low level EO that idemitsu themselves don't care about. (synthetic blend/semi synthetic/synthetic technology can be 99% mineral oil and 1% synthetic they still can call it semi synthetic btw)

my gear box is auto, so yeah regular should be around 20k km however i am using very expensive semi synthetic ATF with lubegard additives so i do change in between 20-40k km depending on how much i trash the car/go to track days.
Thanks for those advice! I'll take note on that. About the resistance meter I just went to ask about testing the grounding cable thingy and the mech tell me that is not really necessary one... hmm.gif

zero5177
post Dec 30 2013, 09:09 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Dec 30 2013, 10:58 AM)
12 km/l is quite good FC for 15 years old car. Most of us are around 10 km/l or less.
Ehh I thought I got terrible FC... Because I drove my gf 6 years old Maivee Manual it give me around 15-16km/L with same driving condition... but cannot compare also la myvi so light and got longer gear ratio and new tech engine (Even thou is 1997 year engine but still more advanced than iswara)
zero5177
post Dec 30 2013, 09:12 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Azure_01 @ Dec 30 2013, 12:15 PM)
Sory to ask, what is ICE? My mech tell me to get one of this, after I change my alternator..
I LOL at this! but no offense la... mayb the mech tell you to enjoy some music after u got a new alternator with better power supply thumbup.gif
zero5177
post Dec 30 2013, 09:30 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 30 2013, 03:17 PM)
rozz_1291 sinister_sid Shawnzz Notoriez Peekab0o
4g15 still very much alive bros!

Huge thanks to the guidance/help/advice etc i've received from you bros (among other people as well), else it would not be possible for me to achieve a podium finish yesterday during Speedfest 5.0:

http://twitpic.com/dqduab

http://twitpic.com/dqeu5d

notworthy.gif
Cool! You're the only Iswara there! Congratz! Wondering how much modification you're gone through shocking.gif
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 30 2013, 09:24 PM)
welcome.

well, obviously you don't have to do it, however it's just one way to assure that at least you know what you're spending on and if it is worth it smile.gif
Ya, every pennies spent must have some expected return from it since everything naik harga must spend them wisely
zero5177
post Dec 30 2013, 11:18 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 30 2013, 09:42 PM)
completely stock engine and stock 3 speed AT gear box, only have LCP.
suspensions minor mod, springs/absorbers mainly, and stiff ring/ultra racing chassis strengthening bars/anti roll/ strut bars etc.
probably the only "cheap car" that runs on real Yokohama Advan tires... while other just have windscreen stickers.

that's just about it.
So can say this as the Original Performance of Iswara? because all the stuff inside are nicely maintained! What your car mileage now? My dad's Iswara is over 400k.... 1.5 Auto but always have problem lately which is mainly from what u said "Not Ori Distributors" just changed not long ago but problem keep showing up
zero5177
post Dec 31 2013, 12:16 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 30 2013, 11:42 PM)
yes pretty much the original performance of an iswara. (posted pictures of engine internals before lol)
mileage almost 300k km lol...
Yeah!! I saw your Engine top before! It makes me feel like you're polishing it everyday hmm.gif
Mine is so much dirty compared to yours... btw 300k is a lot......... for the look of your engine...

Btw is it necessary to use those Iridium Spark Plug? I've seen many ppl say its so good, long lasting and blah blah blah while I just sitting there driving with my ordinary spark plug whistling.gif
zero5177
post Jan 1 2014, 12:28 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 1 2014, 12:20 AM)
happy new year 2014 biggrin.gif
Happy New year everyone!! Hope for a better year!
zero5177
post Jan 1 2014, 12:33 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 31 2013, 12:35 PM)
just being honest bro biggrin.gif

as for the inspira... twice the horsepower for only 100-200kg increased, 5 speed manual instead of the 3 speed auto iswara... man lol
>200km/h is EFFORTLESS

but eh whacking it on the very first day i got the car i already got goosebumps/cold sweat breaking (could be just the shitty cc5 tires though doh.gif)

the time i spent getting 200km/h is much lesser than the time it took my iswara to go >160km/h sweat.gif

overall, it's definitely the car i want to push with for sepang...
for the iswara, i can out corner a huge numbers of cars there...but once i reach the straights, every single car i overtook just destroys me effortlessly cry.gif

as the laps go by the ATF overheating and having clutch slips in the AT box doesn't help too... rpm exceeding the meter's limit of 8k rpm but i'm still stuck on 2nd gear unable to upshift doh.gif
Just wondering what is the reading of your RPM at 5th gear for inspira at 100km/h?
zero5177
post Jan 9 2014, 11:44 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

By the way, proton iswara aeroback using what size of rear speaker?
zero5177
post Jan 10 2014, 11:39 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 10 2014, 12:22 AM)
around/less than 4 or at most 5" diameter? non standard mounting at the rear plastic thing there near/under the c pillar at the trunk.

best is to ignore that, and install a decent component set speaker at the front doors smile.gif
But the odd thing is I do somehow feel its tiny speaker has better boom boom than myvi front speaker shakehead.gif
zero5177
post Jan 12 2014, 12:44 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Jan 11 2014, 08:10 PM)
but it still sounds bad to me... sad.gif
No doubt, it is still bad. But atleast better bass than Myvi front dashboard... After some period in Myvi, when I get back to Iswara I was like "Oh my old friend bass, it has been a long time I never feel it eventhou you're weak"

0.0567sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:05 PM