LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Driver's Thread! V27, all the older sifus went MIA liao :(

muyo
post Oct 20 2013, 11:19 PM

34 posts

I've been driving my LMST for about 6years. Mileage runs about 106,000km. I never done any overhaul before. Parts that changed are the front radiator motor to APM motor and belting thats all. Recently found my car drink alot of petrol, loss its power and also easily get heat up while idling. I maintain my car very frequent, change engine oil and all. Another question is i wanna ask how often we need to overhaul the engine and change the gasket? And how often we need to service the A/C? I never service since i bought the car cause the A/C now is still very cold. And how to reduce the engine vibration each time we start the car?

So about performance, i wanna upgrade some stuff that need ask sifus here for advice. Im not a racer or what, i just wanna make my car slightly responsive and reliable. In my mind i thought of change the air filter into drop in air filter. But for the cold intake can i place it at the left fender hole and connect to the hole to the air filter hose that mounted infront? I heard people says aluminium radiator will improve cooling. If it is which type of brand is suitable? For braking, whats the purpose of changing to steel braided hose? Does this help to improve stopping power? Does those disc rotor have holes will reduce heating? If it is where i can get one? An which brake pad is good for down slope and up slope? I want a good handling too, im not going for those sport adjustable but want to have a good springs that improve connering.

Tqs.
muyo
post Oct 23 2013, 11:38 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2013, 09:16 AM)
usually people top overhaul at 100k km
however before doing that, consider cheaper fixes such as engine flush/fuel system flush (and after that replace fuel filter, rm7 or something iinm lol)/carburetor cleaning first.
if it solves your problem, then you don't need to spend expensive cost for top overhauling smile.gif
for gasket, replace when it is leaking, simple as that.
AC service is every 30-50k km or 1-2 years depending on your budget and/or how cold the ac is. the longer it is delayed the poorer the performance and the more work the compressor has to do (which will hasten it's deterioration) not to mention extra load on the engine. (as the compressor magnetic clutch engages more often/permanent)

for vibration, check engine mountings, and tune carb idles to suit your needs. check if the thermostat is functioning properly since you also mention that the heat goes up...
actually the car by default comes with drop in, those performance mods are typically open pods which i find not very good for our car since we can't really get a space with good CAI and our engine bay is REALLY hot especially with modded/exposed exhaust extractors sad.gif

for cooling, suggest you properly diagnose your existing system/flush the radiator first smile.gif

steel braided hose improves braking response and prevent hose expansion which will have spongy braking if it really gets heated up/hose expanded. it doesn't quite improves stopping power, though theoretically if you can brake faster you do brake better.

x drilled rotors that have holes aren't really for cooling, vents does most of the job which our car can't directly mod plug and play vented discs (afaik, need half cut parts and may require some mods at the knuckle)
they are mainly for more aggressive shaving of the pads (which could offer slightly better braking power) as well as removing gases that may accumulate when the pads get hot. (slots perform similar functions as well)
the cooling effect of the drilled holes are minimal.
(do google up on rotors and their characteristics such as slotted/x drilled)
if you're "not a racer", stock blanks are enough smile.gif

for handling, try something like progressive springs + short stroke absorbers such as improve propex.
the rear however don't go with short strokes, and don't get too stiff of an absorber.
try to get the spring harder though
Hi, just got my carburetor cleaned today, and change new radiator hose and flushed down, also added coolant in it. The heat up caused by the radiator sensor, it has a tiny leak at the sensor part and now i can see the fan running all the time compare last time. Changed 2 pcs front and rear engine mounting now the car is not so vibrate anymore. 1 spark plug loosen its spark caused by the cable is not tighten. Changed 4pcs of them and done servicing, change oil filter, air filter and topped up with Lucas semi oil (gives me extra 2k of mileage compare to last time) . Response of the car is slightly better and smoother. Now i have another issue is whenever my A/C kicks in while idling it still have a slightly vibrate, once i step the throttle abit and let go the vibrate gone. How to solve this? I've seen my workshop friend's car his wira front brake modded with evo brakes (2pot) but he say need to change the rim to bigger to fit that disc. Our car izit possible to fit 2pot? Although my car is not fast but im looking for better brake performance. All the maintenance spenT RM600++
muyo
post Oct 24 2013, 01:47 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 24 2013, 04:21 AM)
For the ac idling, consider increasing the air cond idle rpm from carburetor, and/or check on your car existing grounding conditions (if bad, replace/add more grounding cables on points such as the alternator to chassis & battery and the aircond compressor towards chassis)

for caliper modding, best if you mod the brake servo/master pump as well. only modding caliper *MAY* result in poorer braking as there isn't enough clamping force from the master brake pump

for better braking without much modding, can consider better brake pads smile.gif
Any recommendation? Any good workshop for this kinda modding? roughly the price? Tqs. Will upload some pictures soon.

0.0452sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:34 PM