The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?

gerald7
post Aug 16 2013, 06:38 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

Nikon FE2 + 50mm by Cybreed, on Flickr

Finally got another roll developed... after 2 months hahaha
gerald7
post Aug 16 2013, 06:46 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 16 2013, 06:42 PM)
Long time no see sifu haha notworthy.gif
Great shot there man!
Taken with film summore! Guessed the settings?  shocking.gif
Nooooooo not sifu... still far from it...

I metered for the light... to catch the sparks.. and lock it down on manual .. lucky got decent results.. sweat.gif if not .. one frame wasted.
gerald7
post Aug 17 2013, 12:33 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 16 2013, 06:52 PM)
I really like the strobes on the face, and of course the sparks haha laugh.gif
Film really is challenging  thumbup.gif
I didnt expect the glow on the face... a bonus i guess

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Aug 16 2013, 07:28 PM)
Nice moment  notworthy.gif

Though I feel the picture is a bit underexposed , the sparks coming off should be a bit brighter though.

just my 2 cent  wink.gif
If only can pixel peep in filem wink.gif actually was shooting into sunset facing door...

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 16 2013, 07:30 PM)
Nice one bro... Always wanted to try using film camera but very lazy to go & purchase films doh.gif
dun lazy.. buy and shoot.. fun!

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Aug 16 2013, 08:07 PM)
Film...Geng la. if i shoot sure exposure salah d..cz i dun see ISO.. >< oni use auto iso
wont la.. not that hard since alraedy training in digital.. lessons less expensive one.

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Aug 16 2013, 10:04 PM)
Imagine sharing a room with these guys

Every.Single.Night.

I damn sien already I tell you  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

my room also same.. haiz.. mst be blood season!
gerald7
post Aug 17 2013, 10:00 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Aug 17 2013, 05:05 PM)
Mine too. 2 years into photog as well, seems like quite a number of us already jump to FX tongue.gif
and mine
gerald7
post Aug 18 2013, 02:09 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

JLOC ManePa Lamborghini GT3 by Cybreed, on Flickr

hah! finally develop my other roll of Fujifilm..... play filem anyone ?
gerald7
post Aug 21 2013, 06:29 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

130820-Alex-001 by Cybreed, on Flickr

Randomly was invited to join a group of guys doing a shooting of a retired Formula One car... Somehow they managed to bring the car up to 15th floor...
gerald7
post Aug 21 2013, 08:28 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Aug 21 2013, 06:33 PM)
Whoaaaaa...me jelly cry.gif
QUOTE(8sg9ft @ Aug 21 2013, 06:49 PM)
Can ma..bring all the parts up and assemble the car there.  tongue.gif
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Aug 21 2013, 08:15 PM)
I think is assemble on site  hmm.gif
yes it was broken into 3 sections.. but the catch was, it still could not fit the lift.... 15 floors . . . .
gerald7
post Aug 21 2013, 09:54 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Aug 21 2013, 09:04 PM)
Dimana ada kemahuan, disitu ada jalan laugh.gif
betul betul~

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 21 2013, 09:24 PM)
Where is this bro? hmm.gif
in Kuching
gerald7
post Aug 22 2013, 08:26 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 22 2013, 05:56 PM)
What is the name of the place? Might go there this weekend brows.gif Can be access by everyone? hmm.gif
no la! its his home la hahahaha but Im sure if you ask nicely he will allow you in.. u coming to Kch this weekend? we having a car event on Sat n Sunday at LePark... epic 300 car convoy... doh.gif

look for me at the time attack area~

This post has been edited by gerald7: Aug 22 2013, 08:37 PM
gerald7
post Aug 26 2013, 11:46 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 25 2013, 09:27 AM)
None of those are an issue once people understand how the factors affect those lens.

Yes, walkabout on a 50mm is a pain, that's why people buy 28 - 35mm range prime for APS-C walk about.
ehh not much trouble what.

a 17-50 lens, like say the Tamron, is a lot cheaper than say a Nikon 16-35 F4 VR.

I think it's fair to go for the APS-C alternative for lower cost.

There's no reason to splurge on high-grade lenses for anyone who's starting.

This applies to many brands too, Sony's 16-35 and Canon's 16-35, all cost a bomb.

There are other good APS-C alternatives that doesn't drill a big whole in a person's finance just to save that little trouble.
I fully agree here. Everyone situation is different, and not every one has a big budget. I decided to stay on DX in 2008 and I got my self the 17-55. Yes took me many months of eating instant noodle but I got it. I only moved to FX last year, but being the cheap skate that I am I still use my 17-55 & the 10.5 on the d600 in DX mode. LOL. heck I sometimes still use 50 in DX mode. I'm still waiting for Nikons next PRO-DX hahaha .. damn u nikon... I dun wan go FX! sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
gerald7
post Aug 27 2013, 07:09 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

i see a lot of words.. where are them photos ?
gerald7
post Aug 27 2013, 09:43 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Aug 27 2013, 08:03 PM)
Waiting for ur car show photos.... drool.gif I went there on Sunday and i think i saw u... icon_idea.gif
shakehead.gif stalker shakehead.gif
gerald7
post Aug 29 2013, 12:58 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 28 2013, 10:11 PM)

NIKON D7000
85MM 1.8G
she looks familiar.... from sabah is she ?
gerald7
post Aug 29 2013, 04:49 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

speaking of phone cameras.. I was doing a slideshow for a couple.. and nearly 90% of their photos were phone selfies...headache
gerald7
post Aug 29 2013, 06:24 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

i have a friend who uses 5dmk2 for selfies w/ wife. tat one ok.. high resolution... i like.. now he upgrade to 5dmk3... still does it.. hahaha!
gerald7
post Sep 1 2013, 06:31 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

Im using logitech k120 keyboard.. cost me RM 21.00
gerald7
post Sep 2 2013, 10:59 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Sep 2 2013, 09:31 AM)
I want to ask why many sifus recommend 565ex than 560ex?? 560ex also not bad based on what I read, and I can't tell the difference for the RM200 hike except for the high speed thingy..

[edit] never mind is the TTL is missing no wonder the Rm200 extra... sad.gif

[edit] how about YN468?? not bad leh.. smile.gif
Increase your budget. I always advise ppl, if their 1st flash get Nikon 700.. save a few more months. get a better one.. The power output and cycle time is good and most importantly reliable. third party flash are good but still ways to go. sb700 for me is the most value for money due to the amount of function that is build into it .. I'll probably get myself one soon, eventho I have the 800, 900... once I have save up enough
gerald7
post Sep 2 2013, 01:34 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Sep 2 2013, 12:26 PM)
http://speedlights.net/compare-speedlight-...00&model2=YN565

I'll have to disagree. An SB700 compared to the 565EX is underpowered yet twice the price, the only reason I see to go for it is if you need HSS and Commander modes from the get go.

For a beginner especially, paying RM900+ upfront for a first party flash is overwhelming especially since they do not know whether they will be using it all the time as well.

I strongly encourage beginners to flash getting third party speedlites albeit known ones like yongnuo since their build is just as solid as first party flashes. Things like power output and recycle times are on par as well.

I currently own 3 Yongnuo flashes, a 565EX and two 560III, the latter having built in radio triggering which you'll have to pay over 2K+ to get in canon's latest 600EX-RT versus just 250 bucks for a 560III.

Going to purchase a Phottix Mitros soon which has all the features of a flagship like HSS, commander modes. Yet is still half price compared to a SB-910.

I'm not saying first party flashes are not good btw, just saying that for most people, third party units are good enough for their needs already since not all first brand merchandise is appropriately priced.
Specs on paper is specs on paper... no doubt that recently the alternative flash units improved their capability and reliability but when it comes down to it... it is ease of use and reliability, color and cycle. I own 800, 900 and 3x YN flash units. on Canon side we have 4 canons (including the overpriced 600EX-RT, which I personally think is rubbish) and 3x YN flash units and a few third party radio triggers. Speed of use, and reliability. hands down is still on Nikon speedlights. especially when we are talking about off shoe lighting... in events such as wedding, we dont have much time to hunt around for the perfect ratio, CLS allows us to do that really quickly and effectively. All build into one package. No extra stuff to look after, no extra batteries to bring... That is from my experience in the field.

Dont get me wrong, I do like the newer YN's.. 1/3 of the price is always good in my books (planning to update my old YN's). All I'm saying is extend the budget, get the SB700 for reliability and capability ease of mind.
gerald7
post Sep 2 2013, 05:20 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Sep 2 2013, 02:05 PM)
I'm also talking about real world use bro, not just comparing specs on paper.

I also use Nikon(SB910, not mine) and Yongnuo flashes side by side at events. I dare say that reliability and cycle times is still on par la  laugh.gif
No misfires, and both flashes keep up even when I have to fire them at half and quarter power due to high ceilings.

Of course, to be specific I'm talking about an SB910 vs a 565EX here. Talking about ease of use, maybe it's just me but I find using buttons to adjust compensation easier than using the rotary dial on the SB910. But this is really down to user preference since I own the yongnuo in the first place so I feel more at home with it.

Speaking of wireless CLS, the 565EX model does have this feature, my D7000 can command both just fine with compensation done in camera.  icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm not questioning your experience in the field la, but I've been using the 565EX for over a year now and I still don't miss anything from Nikon, especially now that HSS and Commander mode are available in newer units like the 568EXII and Mitros for 600-700 bucks.

Since you mentioned that you use CLS on your events, I suggest you take a look at the 560EX flashes that are launched recently. These are manual flashes but have built in CLS capabilities for just RM299. Should be the perfect upgrade for your old YN flashes IMO  thumbup.gif
http://www.gstrapinuse.com/index.php?main_...products_id=723
I also have YN565EX its good but still not quite there for me. especially the swivel head. As I was saying, first flash I always recommend Nikon Speedlights, ease of use and reliable. No need to worry about if its going to work or not. Everything basically works right off the bat. I'm not saying that YN or other alternatives are bad. LOL. My SB800 is a bit loose but still works like a charm since 2008. My earlier YN, one cant zoom... one refuses to turn on. I'm still going to buy third party flashes. But I still recommend for first time owners of the magical light in a box to go for Nikon flash.

So lets agree to disagree that everyone has their own ideals and as long as it works, there is no wrong in it.

Im probably going to grab myself a n-flash

This post has been edited by gerald7: Sep 2 2013, 05:21 PM
gerald7
post Sep 3 2013, 10:50 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Sep 3 2013, 10:48 PM)
Officially joining this camp with d7000 and 80-200 2.8 =)

It's so so so so so so much heavier than my x100 =.=

Will try to give this combo a try when I have my vacation in Kuching this weekend, expecting myself to use my x100 more though
good timing.. .regata is happening this weekend... good time to test the 80-200

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0215sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:08 PM