19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.21, D610 and D5300 kambing soon!?

[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 08:16 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jul 28 2013, 07:58 PM)
Nope, but shot with DX Lens in FX mode.... laugh.gif
Maybe can consider selling off your D3200 and the DX lenses to fund for a FX lens? Imho it is abit wasteful for not being able to bring the out full potential of your D600 hmm.gif
The D3200 can be replaced with an APS-C mirrorless camera which is much more portable and performs almost similarly brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 08:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jul 28 2013, 06:33 PM)
Another pic... Edited almost the same way whistling.gif  cool.gif

Better, keep it up thumbup.gif
Can try and photograph just 1/3- 1/4 of the dish (just make sure the food is in focus- don't use too wide apertures haha), it will help~
I used to always "force" the whole dish into the photo and in the end also photographing people's arms too tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 08:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 08:33 PM)
It's not too expensive leh, used to be about 80 bucks, but I got mine for 59 at Viewnet shop in Lowyat Plaza.

Needed this since my cable would snag now and then, really irritating sometimes  sweat.gif
Ahh, RM59 is pretty cheap hehe, in that case its worth it laugh.gif
I remembered seeing those from Roccat and Razer, expensive like hell man LOL.. all that just for some lights, wire managing and extra USB2.0 ports hmm.gif

I know what you mean bro, I tie my wires up using rubber bands... not exactly a pleasing sight sweat.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 08:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jul 28 2013, 08:37 PM)
Thinking of purchasing a Tamron 24-70mm f2.8... Nikon one too expensive for me unless got good condition 2nd hand one... whistling.gif  cool.gif  But have to fund first cry.gif
Thanks for the opinion bro!
QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 08:39 PM)
Start with primes first maybe? Cheaper to boot, since a 24-70 is roughly equal (in price) that of a 35mm 1.4A Sigma + 50 1.8G Nikkor + 85 1.8G Nikkor. Plus you can get them in stages to boot thumbup.gif
+1!
pro3363 Go with primes first. They are much lighter and comfortable to use, not to mention extra bokeh lol~
And they also force you to compose better before you shoot, recommended if you want to push your skills further happy.gif

The only downside is that you need to switch lenses often, especially if you are shooting everything. Might miss important shots

5 Reasons why Primes are better than Zooms
*Sorry, forgot how to attach video already doh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 09:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 08:43 PM)
I did consider the Roccat version, but too bad is USB 2.0 not 3. Silverfire has it though, saw it when I was at his place last time  brows.gif

Summore less lights better, I already have too much coming from my keyboard and desktop doh.gif
Wah, making me curious what the sifus are using haha laugh.gif
We have already seen what Agito999 sifu uses- his desktop with super fast startup time haha~ Not sure about the others XD

I understand what you mean XD I very seldom use my keyboard lights also
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 09:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 08:54 PM)
I think it's better to focus on what the prime is able to capture and then utilize that capability to the max instead of worrying about missing other shots because you didn't have the right focal length.

If you chase two rabbits, you loose them both.  smile.gif
You are right on that one haha..
I was just referring to the time needed to switch lens, say 35mm to 85mm, which will take time, especially for spontaneous shots hmm.gif
Which makes me wonder, are there any records for "fastest lens changing"? laugh.gif laugh.gif Sure interesting XD
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 10:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 09:36 PM)
His comp gila lah, 4 or 5 TB space. Non of them backed up summore.  yawn.gif

I just added an SSD to my rig at the start of the year, now even my hybrid SSD ultrabook feels sluggish.  shakehead.gif

More lights I don't mind actually, IF they can be turned off. Very distracting since sometime I need to torrent at night while I sleep.  sweat.gif
Wah, plenty of space for prawns photos haha~
Just kiddin!
Well, like they say, once you go SSD, there is no turning back brows.gif
Buy cheap netbook for torrenting, save electricity, no lights, eco "friendly" laugh.gif

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jul 28 2013, 10:11 PM)
Ive watched that video too... Actually both 24-70 and 50 prime are on my list... But i plan to go for 24-70 first...
I have a 24-70 and a 50 F1.8.
Although the 24-70 is a really good lens, it sure is heavy haha. Don't say I no warn you tongue.gif
When you already have the 24-70, then there's no real need for the 50 F1.8 already, better use that money for a 85mm F1.8 instead brows.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Jul 28 2013, 11:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 28 2013, 10:39 PM)
i'm not using SSD, too expensive for me

still staying with my desktop running on core i5, 2 TB 3.5" 7200RPM HDD + 500GB 2.5" 5400RPM laptop HDD, GTX 560Ti, and of course my 31" LCD TV

Laptop is Sager NP8662, 500GB HDD, laptop running 24/7 for torrenting and download

desktop mainly for gaming, video and pictures viewing/editing
Wah, you have some serious rigs man LOL notworthy.gif
No worries, you could always throw in an SSD when budget allows. The performance gained is really phenomenal, try to believe brows.gif

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 10:41 PM)
Hehe, actually I can already do that with my ultrabook but sometimes I'm just lazy  brows.gif

I'm looking to get sigma's 18-35 myself since no budget to go FF for now  sweat.gif

Woah.... I don't know much about desktops, but looks really powerful haha
Your "lights" = different level already haha... I thought you were referring to normal keyboard backlits tongue.gif
After using FF for some time, I think its better to have a mirrorless for not-so-important-stuffs haha... back pain like hell tongue.gif
No rush, take it slow and slowly save money (and your back) XD

QUOTE(seather @ Jul 28 2013, 10:49 PM)

Weekend spam... something holy tonite  tongue.gif
Love the 2nd shot, really got holy feel rclxms.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2013, 10:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jul 28 2013, 11:34 PM)
Home made Lamp Chop!
Wah, home made one also can so nice!! wub.gif wub.gif
Hungry liao lol
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2013, 10:38 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 11:35 PM)
hahaha, don't say the D4, I use my D7000 for awhile d. Then hold the D5100 in Nikon TS, feels like a toy, so cute  wub.gif

Hard to believe I've been using it for 2 years+ before
Same here haha... I kind of miss my D90 sad.gif
I can't believe I used to complain that my D90 was heavy lololl laugh.gif

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jul 28 2013, 11:49 PM)
i have a few friends selling 70-200 f/2.8s (nikon n canon) due to the weight hahaha. glad i bought a 85/1.8 instead tongue.gif
Sometimes I wish I have a 70-200 F2.8/4 also since I love shooting nature stuffs..
I find chasing birds/animals with a 24-70mm is extremely challenging LOL tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2013, 10:40 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 28 2013, 11:52 PM)
Yeah, seriously heavy man, feels like I can snap my wrist off with the thing even with a D4 as counterbalance.  rclxub.gif

My rig not so different also last time. Also D5100+17-50(non vc)+flash. The small grip makes it really difficult to hold the camera for long periods of time.  doh.gif

Nowadays I just use this for casual shooting.  laugh.gif

Great photo man, looked through your Flickr, your shots damn pro man thumbup.gif

Ahh, can't wait for Nikon to come out with a good mirrorless system. That will solve all my back problems haha laugh.gif
How come Nikon is pretty much the only one still sticking to glossy and "trendy" looking designs for its mirrorless systems? sad.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2013, 12:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 29 2013, 10:50 AM)
Thanks man, saw your comments and replied some oh them as well.  thumbup.gif
Your photos are all damn awesome too, I jelly your D800  brows.gif

Nikon mirrorless is actually okay la, my V1 feels rugged enough, no glossy surfaces. Added a stick-on grip to improve the handling though  rolleyes.gif

One thing I hate about the V1 is the obvious amount of power under the hood, yet for some reason nikon choose to cacatkan the camera to such an extent.
It's like giving you a Ferrari with only 2 wheels  doh.gif

Thanks for the reply, appreciate it notworthy.gif
There's still so much that I don't know lei doh.gif

Just Googled the Nikon 1 V1, its pretty expensive when compared to other rivals... But I really love the design wub.gif
I hope Nikon will put a larger sensor into its mirrorless cameras so I noneed to wait already laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2013, 12:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Jul 29 2013, 12:33 PM)
It's just RM999 atm only  brows.gif I bought mine at 1129 when they announced a massive price drop from 2700++  rclxm9.gif

The sensor size is fine for me la, since it means that the lenses can be really compact. Results look good too, nothing I find lacking when used properly.

My gf wants the NEX F3 thou because of the reversible screen, I see your gf has it too.  drool.gif
OMG! Its so cheap only? laugh.gif
I think I see wrongly liao haha, should be Nikon 1 V2 (weird names tongue.gif ) Good buy mate, good buy~
Oh, that Sony NEX-3N with APS-C sensor? Really awesome and good looking camera, love it wub.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 29 2013, 07:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 29 2013, 06:50 PM)
Masjid Terapung by Calvin Kohlz, on Flickr

Yeapp sky was blurred..never had an ND filter..btw here's the unblurred one..this is better too not dizzy..haha
Great photo man, the mosque is so majestic thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 30 2013, 09:07 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Jul 30 2013, 05:28 AM)
errrrly morning spam laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
more image at >>>here<<<

This is special, I like the effects thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 30 2013, 10:26 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Jul 30 2013, 09:33 AM)
which one ?dust? whistling.gif
The lights laugh.gif

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 30 2013, 10:02 AM)
Wah, yummy yummy... but still a long wait sad.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 30 2013, 06:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jul 30 2013, 06:51 PM)
Nikon 35mm f2D can get new below RM1000? icon_question.gif
A quick search showed that most are around RM1.1k hmm.gif
Those cheaper than RM1k already sold sad.gif

Can consider getting a 50mm F1.8 first lol... with a FX there is no crop factor already, should be much easier for normal use laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 30 2013, 06:59 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 30 2013, 08:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(f5calvin @ Jul 30 2013, 07:23 PM)
i think a 35 on FF is better cz u get even bigger angle..35 1.8G? got vignette bt not so problem if shoot at 1.8..
Yeah you are not wrong haha, but it seemed like Pro3363 might be short on budget at the moment ma lol tongue.gif
A 50mm 1.8d/g is much cheaper, and imho, much more challenging to use = more improvements hehe~

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jul 30 2013, 08:15 PM)
Thanks for opinion bro... notworthy.gif  Will consider either 50mm f1.8 or 35mm f2... But both looks tempting... But i think i will go for 50mm... 35mm is kinda wide for me... whistling.gif  cool.gif
The reason why I voted for a 50mm is because its cheap haha laugh.gif
Its a very good prime lens but you might want to replace it with a 35/85mm later on after you have the 24-70mm (planning ahead tongue.gif tongue.gif )

[PF] T.J.
post Jul 31 2013, 09:52 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Jul 31 2013, 04:58 AM)
i just fall in love with kit lens wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
Mini Butterfly by alpha infinite, on Flickr
Just curious, how do you get those lens flares? Are they photoshopped? wub.gif
[PF] T.J.