Discussion Goalkeeper's thread, Goalies welcomed...football, futsal...
vincent_lms_3366
Jun 14 2006, 10:38 AM
I started playing goalkeeper at the age of 12, since that day, i have been playing in the position for 8 years. Bought my first gloves when i was 19 years old. It was an Umbro and it does not last long, only 2 months in use, the rubber part torn off. I think i must have wached it with soap powder.
I now currently using Puma gloves with rough surface (normal gloves have a smooth letax like surface to catch the ball), i prefer the rough surface because it lasted longer. Btw, i play futsal often. I have not been playing in large football pitch for two years.
I have a question to all goalie, do you wash your gloves after use? I used to and the gloves didn't last long.
vincent_lms_3366
Jun 14 2006, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(tenno @ Jun 14 2006, 11:31 AM) I wash all my gloves after each use. If U go to keeper's websites, most of them will recommend washing the gloves after every use. It will make the latex last longer, & it will provide U with a clean latex surface for every game. I wash my gloves with "sabun buku", just rub a little soap on it, then I use "berus sabut", the normal laundry brush, not the plastic ones. Some gloves U can clean by just rubbing it under running water (like my Puma KSL). To dry it, I put some newspaper on the insides, let it dry naturally. Gloves with hard latex palm lasts long, but don't grip as well as soft or supersoft latex. But if U play futsal, where U catch the ball less, then hard latex is suitable. Moisten the palm before use to make it soft and makes the latex lasts longer Thankz for the info! Appreaciate it.
vincent_lms_3366
Jun 21 2006, 05:06 PM
Currently, Buffon is the world most expensive goalkeeper right? May i know who is the second most expensive goalkeeper after Buffon?
vincent_lms_3366
Jul 19 2006, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(mxxuang @ Jul 18 2006, 10:07 PM) Erm...Futsal also better to have gloves la... The ball move so fast, kena your palm sure pain one. And also once your hand start to sweat it's harder for you to catch the ball. If got gloves, your gloves more wet, the better Value for money arrr... Hmmm... My friend using a Puma V5.06 which cost RM55... It looks good but the palm surface very small la... It is much more harder to catch futsal ball. The ball move faster and it is better to punch the ball out. As for my gloves, i use a Puma gloves with hard leather surface. Been using for half a year and now it start to tore. At least it is much more durable than normal football gloves. For futsal goalies, go for the rough leather surface, much more durable altough the grip is not as firm as normal gloves. I manage to catch a few shoots from the opposition. In the end, it is better to punch the ball rather than catching it.